Erie, PA - HDTV - Page 112 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3502 Old 10-16-2010, 07:51 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i keep asking DTV by twitter about our locals and keep getting "@lacubs That date has not been determined."
lacubs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3502 Old 10-21-2010, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have you noticed how bad Fox's picture is this week for the playoffs?
http://www.tvpredictions.com/foxpix102110.htm
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3333 of 3502 Old 10-21-2010, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Have you noticed how bad Fox's picture is this week for the playoffs?
http://www.tvpredictions.com/foxpix102110.htm

For which provider? it's looked pretty good to me on Dish.

guess I'll pay closer attention to it now.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3334 of 3502 Old 10-21-2010, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

For which provider? it's looked pretty good to me on Dish.

guess I'll pay closer attention to it now.

I noticed it on TW. Not sure if it affects all their feeds or not.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3335 of 3502 Old 10-22-2010, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

I noticed it on TW. Not sure if it affects all their feeds or not.

the article specfically mentioned TWC and DirecTV, so I would have thought that it would affect Dish as well and I watched the game last night and It looked like a regular HD feed to me. I was looking at it closely and unless my eyes were playing tricks on me it looked fine. so maybe Dish is somehow not affected, but if it's a camera issue like the article suggests that can't be the case. oh well.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3336 of 3502 Old 10-22-2010, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

the article specfically mentioned TWC and DirecTV, so I would have thought that it would affect Dish as well and I watched the game last night and It looked like a regular HD feed to me. I was looking at it closely and unless my eyes were playing tricks on me it looked fine. so maybe Dish is somehow not affected, but if it's a camera issue like the article suggests that can't be the case. oh well.

Here's a followup article on this:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/morefox102210.htm
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3337 of 3502 Old 10-25-2010, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Here's a followup article on this:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/morefox102210.htm

Interesting, just seems odd all together.

One thing I noticed is most of Fox's HD shows you don't get the full picture. Everything in HD (at least for me) I only get about half of the Fox logo in the corner. Like when an SD feed is "upconverted" and it's like that on my Dish and Over-the-air so not sure if it's just our local Fox here of if all Fox stations are like that.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3338 of 3502 Old 10-27-2010, 08:14 AM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for Directv user, we got are locals today, but its only PBS,ABC,FOX it make mad!
i asked them on twitter why no NBC OR CBS. DIRECTV @lacubs We do not have agreements with those stations at this time, if this changes we will be sure to let you know.
lacubs is offline  
post #3339 of 3502 Old 10-27-2010, 08:40 AM
Member
 
jacko15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North West Millcreek, PA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TWC NEO pushed new software to our boxes last night. Besides fixing some glitches in operating the DVR and guide improvements, new features are now available in the search function. Check them out.
jacko15 is offline  
post #3340 of 3502 Old 10-27-2010, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
shooter21198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Erie (Millcreek) Pennsylvania
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On or after November 22, 2010, YES, NESN, ESPN Goal Line and Sportsman Channel will be added to the Sports Pass

Time Warner Cable North East Ohio
SA 4250 HDC
Let's Go Bucs!
shooter21198 is offline  
post #3341 of 3502 Old 10-27-2010, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
wabbit01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

for Directv user, we got are locals today, but its only PBS,ABC,FOX it make mad!
i asked them on twitter why no NBC OR CBS. DIRECTV @lacubs We do not have agreements with those stations at this time, if this changes we will be sure to let you know.

DirecTV was of no help when I inquired about this except that DTV asked if I wanted to apply for a waiver to get the distant CBS and NBC affiliates.

All i can suggest is to contact Lilly Broadcasting Co. and let them know how you feel about this.
wabbit01 is offline  
post #3342 of 3502 Old 10-28-2010, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

Interesting, just seems odd all together.

One thing I noticed is most of Fox's HD shows you don't get the full picture. Everything in HD (at least for me) I only get about half of the Fox logo in the corner. Like when an SD feed is "upconverted" and it's like that on my Dish and Over-the-air so not sure if it's just our local Fox here of if all Fox stations are like that.

There are still problems with Fox's baseball coverage:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/foxpix102810.htm
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3343 of 3502 Old 10-28-2010, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shooter21198 View Post

On or after November 22, 2010, YES, NESN, ESPN Goal Line and Sportsman Channel will be added to the Sports Pass

Wow - can it be that we'll get all the Red Sox and Yankee games? Now I won't need the $300 Extra Innings package to watch the Sox?
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3344 of 3502 Old 10-28-2010, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ErieMarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Wow - can it be that we'll get all the Red Sox and Yankee games? Now I won't need the $300 Extra Innings package to watch the Sox?

I can't imagine that you will be able to watch Boston and Yankees games..since we are in the Pittsburgh/Indians Market.

Now the replay of them different story but not live..

if that was the case you are right there would be no reason for Yankees or Boston fans in this area to spend $300 on the Extra Inning package

I have no idea what other stuff they have on those 2 channels that wouldn't be blacked out...
ErieMarty is offline  
post #3345 of 3502 Old 10-28-2010, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErieMarty View Post

I can't imagine that you will be able to watch Boston and Yankees games..since we are in the Pittsburgh/Indians Market.

Now the replay of them different story but not live..

if that was the case you are right there would be no reason for Yankees or Boston fans in this area to spend $300 on the Extra Inning package

I have no idea what other stuff they have on those 2 channels that wouldn't be blacked out...

I will email NESN and report back on what they say.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3346 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

I will email NESN and report back on what they say.

I'm fairly sure you'll get all the NESN programming but the games will be blacked out. That's how it is on my parents DirecTV You get all those stations, their programming, pregame and post game but the actual game is blacked out.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3347 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

I'm fairly sure you'll get all the NESN programming but the games will be blacked out. That's how it is on my parents DirecTV You get all those stations, their programming, pregame and post game but the actual game is blacked out.

Great, oh well.... Are you speaking of NESN in particular, or all the regional baseball networks?
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3348 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3349 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 10:55 AM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Great, oh well.... Are you speaking of NESN in particular, or all the regional baseball networks?

if you don't pay for the baseball package, the baseball game will be blackout
lacubs is offline  
post #3350 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Great, oh well.... Are you speaking of NESN in particular, or all the regional baseball networks?

all regional networks. it's the same for Basketball and hockey as well. Usually there is a note saying that black out rules apply and unless you get the channel but unless it is one of your designated regional sports networks, then the games will be blacked out.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3351 of 3502 Old 10-29-2010, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Fox and Dish have made an agreement:
http://www.multichannel.com/article/...trans_Deal.php
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3352 of 3502 Old 10-30-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
scampbell100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TWC 8300 HD DVR just died. It was the only one that worked with my 1 TB eSATA external HD. (I tried teh 8300 HD-C and the eSATA port is disabled.). Anyone know if TWC NEO has gotten any newer DVRs? I heard at one time they were getting the Samsung.
scampbell100 is offline  
post #3353 of 3502 Old 10-30-2010, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by scampbell100 View Post

My TWC 8300 HD DVR just died. It was the only one that worked with my 1 TB eSATA external HD. (I tried teh 8300 HD-C and the eSATA port is disabled.). Anyone know if TWC NEO has gotten any newer DVRs? I heard at one time they were getting the Samsung.

I heard that the external drives will now work with the HDC boxes, but I still use the 8300HD. I would think TW would still give you an HD box if you ask them.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3354 of 3502 Old 11-01-2010, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Fox and Dish have made an agreement:
http://www.multichannel.com/article/...trans_Deal.php

Cool, now if they could just work out a deal with MSG.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3355 of 3502 Old 11-11-2010, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3356 of 3502 Old 11-22-2010, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Red Sox and Yankee fans:
NESN and Yes are now on TW in the 340's.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3357 of 3502 Old 11-27-2010, 07:29 PM
Member
 
scampbell100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can no longer get QAM channel for WJET-TV. Used to be 104.1. Is it still available on direct cable connection with TWC?
scampbell100 is offline  
post #3358 of 3502 Old 11-27-2010, 08:29 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scampbell100 View Post

I can no longer get QAM channel for WJET-TV. Used to be 104.1. Is it still available on direct cable connection with TWC?

try 24.1
lacubs is offline  
post #3359 of 3502 Old 11-29-2010, 11:53 AM
Member
 
bry422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

for Directv user, we got are locals today, but its only PBS,ABC,FOX it make mad!
i asked them on twitter why no NBC OR CBS. DIRECTV @lacubs We do not have agreements with those stations at this time, if this changes we will be sure to let you know.

Thank you Lilly Broadcasting and/or DTV. What a pain in the ass. After five years of dealing with rabbit ears, I finally thought I'd be able to throw them away and as a result get rid of two more wires behind the entertainment center, but no. We only get half the locals.

I watched ten straight minutes of the Auburn/Alabama game last Friday in SD OTA. I thought we were past the "forgot to push the HD" button issue 16 months ago. I guess not.

There is just no winning in this city. If it's not TWC screwing us over, it's DTV, or Lilly or take your pick.
bry422 is offline  
post #3360 of 3502 Old 11-29-2010, 12:52 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and i wonder if D know would happen if we they would still add our locals? i cant Imagine too many people paying for locals without CBS OR NBC
lacubs is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off