Erie, PA - HDTV - Page 113 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3501 Old 11-29-2010, 04:12 PM
Member
 
bry422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post
and i wonder if D know would happen if we they would still add our locals? i cant Imagine too many people paying for locals without CBS OR NBC
Exactly. I'm not paying the extra cash for just two of the four, and having to still keep the rabbit ears on the TVs.

Now that DTV came and went and is now working on other markets, I fear that their interest and Lilly's interest has probably passed.
bry422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3501 Old 12-14-2010, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
ErieMarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
today...

I forgot about it..until i was looking to see what was on HBO..and now I have 3 or 4 HBO HD channels..
ErieMarty is offline  
post #3363 of 3501 Old 12-22-2010, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErieMarty View Post

today...

I forgot about it..until i was looking to see what was on HBO..and now I have 3 or 4 HBO HD channels..

one of the main reasons why I don't want to Switch from dish to DirecTV, With Dish I get like 10 HBO's and about 10 more Cinemax's all in HD while DirecTV only really gets 3.

But I think Dish has given up on getting MSG back as the channel has now been totally removed and you no longer get their little 5 min infomercial on why the channel was lost and how they're working hard to get it back.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3364 of 3501 Old 12-23-2010, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
N3NTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does TWC charge extra for YES Network if you have Digital Cable in Erie? I see it's on ch. 341.
N3NTJ is offline  
post #3365 of 3501 Old 12-24-2010, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
ErieMarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3NTJ View Post

Does TWC charge extra for YES Network if you have Digital Cable in Erie? I see it's on ch. 341.

package to get it...as I have Digital package and I can't get it.

You won't get any of the live sporting events on there or NESN..unless you order the MBL Extra innings or others like that
ErieMarty is offline  
post #3366 of 3501 Old 12-26-2010, 03:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to order the Sports Pass package, that includes NESN, YES, NBA, and about 20 other channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErieMarty View Post

package to get it...as I have Digital package and I can't get it.

You won't get any of the live sporting events on there or NESN..unless you order the MBL Extra innings or others like that

scnrfrq is offline  
post #3367 of 3501 Old 12-31-2010, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Browns-Steelers fans -
Don't forget you can probably catch the game at Channelsurfing.net. It's been pretty reliable this year.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3368 of 3501 Old 01-01-2011, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ErieMarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is availabe on channel 152 for those who might be interest
ErieMarty is offline  
post #3369 of 3501 Old 01-05-2011, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
N3NTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErieMarty View Post

package to get it...as I have Digital package and I can't get it.

You won't get any of the live sporting events on there or NESN..unless you order the MBL Extra innings or others like that

Yeah, I know you won't get the Yankees games, as you need MLB EI, but my parents may want to watch Yankeeography or some of the other programming. I keep telling them to ditch TWC and get DirecTV so they can get all of the Yankees games in HD from MLB EI. I would expect that TWC's version of MLB EI only has 2 or 3 HD games per night, eh?
N3NTJ is offline  
post #3370 of 3501 Old 01-08-2011, 02:25 PM
Member
 
kayfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed over the last week how seriously degraded the transmissions have been from these 2 stations? At first I thought it was strictly weather related to my over the air reception until I noticed the same program my wife was watching in another room was experiencing the same issues at the same exact time on TWC's HD feed. All I can say is unbelievable. I know the 2 use the same transmission tower, but supposedly use separate transmitters. So here I am tonight trying to watch a playoff game and it's full of stops, stuttering, and massive pixelation. Also the dropouts occur on both stations at the same time which leads me back to are they really using a separate transmitter and what happened to the dedicated feed they had originally to Time Warner? Most here are familiar with Lilly Broadcasting's reputation of running stations into the ground, but I had hoped I'd never witness it and the FCC turns a blind eye to it. Maybe my age might be showing but at one time there were rules against ownership of more than one station in any given market and for good reason.
Sorry for the rant folks, but I just cant believe how low the media segment of Erie has sunken to.
kayfam is offline  
post #3371 of 3501 Old 01-09-2011, 03:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3NTJ View Post

Yeah, I know you won't get the Yankees games, as you need MLB EI, but my parents may want to watch Yankeeography or some of the other programming. I keep telling them to ditch TWC and get DirecTV so they can get all of the Yankees games in HD from MLB EI. I would expect that TWC's version of MLB EI only has 2 or 3 HD games per night, eh?

Yes, only 2 per night. I did buy the package for 1/2 of last year, and was very satisfied.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3372 of 3501 Old 01-09-2011, 03:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayfam View Post

Has anyone noticed over the last week how seriously degraded the transmissions have been from these 2 stations? At first I thought it was strictly weather related to my over the air reception until I noticed the same program my wife was watching in another room was experiencing the same issues at the same exact time on TWC's HD feed. All I can say is unbelievable. I know the 2 use the same transmission tower, but supposedly use separate transmitters. So here I am tonight trying to watch a playoff game and it's full of stops, stuttering, and massive pixelation. Also the dropouts occur on both stations at the same time which leads me back to are they really using a separate transmitter and what happened to the dedicated feed they had originally to Time Warner? Most here are familiar with Lilly Broadcasting's reputation of running stations into the ground, but I had hoped I'd never witness it and the FCC turns a blind eye to it. Maybe my age might be showing but at one time there were rules against ownership of more than one station in any given market and for good reason.
Sorry for the rant folks, but I just cant believe how low the media segment of Erie has sunken to.

I noticed the same problems last night on TW WICU. Pretty pathetic......
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3373 of 3501 Old 01-11-2011, 10:30 AM
Member
 
AB8MO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newbury, Ohio
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At one time WSEE had an original CP for 200KW with a much higher antenna high, but for some reason they asked for a modification that dropped the profile to where it is today. .WSEE analog was never very good at my location (although I am a pretty good distance from Erie anyway), but I seldom get their DTV signal, and WICU isn't much better since they went digital. .I fortunately have some backup networks to turn to. .I'm sorry that you folks are having such a hard time.
AB8MO is offline  
post #3374 of 3501 Old 01-24-2011, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
junglalien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why is TWC 1012 NBC HD zoomed in?
junglalien is offline  
post #3375 of 3501 Old 02-02-2011, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well no more streaming live sports...

http://atdhe.net/

http://channelsurfing.net/

Quote:


This Domain name has been seized by ICE - Homeland Security Investigations, Special Agent in Charge, New York Office, in accordance with a Seizure warrant...

It is unlawful to reproduce or distribute copyrighted material, such as movies, music, software or games with out Authorization....

quite a few others were hit as well.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3376 of 3501 Old 02-07-2011, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
P51-SN95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone else notice last night during the superbowl that when ever anything local appeared the feed cut from HD to SD?

any local commercial (which I get) but even when they just put up the Fox 66 logo in the corner of the screen, or did the ticker across the bottom saying that the news would be on after Glee. The feed switched to SD.

kinda annoyed me.
P51-SN95 is offline  
post #3377 of 3501 Old 02-08-2011, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
N3NTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post

anyone else notice last night during the superbowl that when ever anything local appeared the feed cut from HD to SD?

any local commercial (which I get) but even when they just put up the Fox 66 logo in the corner of the screen, or did the ticker across the bottom saying that the news would be on after Glee. The feed switched to SD.

kinda annoyed me.

That's because Fox66 doesn't have the necessary equipment to do crawls and local graphics in 16:9.
N3NTJ is offline  
post #3378 of 3501 Old 02-09-2011, 09:57 AM
Member
 
hoodski699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSEE is the only station that can crawl in 16:9hd. School closings ect.
hoodski699 is offline  
post #3379 of 3501 Old 02-10-2011, 10:55 AM
Member
 
AB8MO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newbury, Ohio
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that was a big thing for WFMJ in Youngstown. A few months back they completed some kind of interface that allows them to put graphics on the screen without downscaling to SD.
AB8MO is offline  
post #3380 of 3501 Old 02-11-2011, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
JFC-SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Corry, Pa.
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I JUST WENT BACK TO TWC TUESDAY TO GET NBC AS ON DTv ERIE WICU WOULD NOT LET ME GET NBC ON THE DNS NEW YORK FEED ON SAT. SO HERE I AM AND BEEN REALLY GIVING EVERYTHING THE GOING OVER ON THE DVR(8300HDC) AND HD RECEIVER (SAMSUNG SMT-H3260) WHICH BOTH GO INTO 2 DIFFERENT HDTV (60C630 AND 40C630 SAMSUNGS). I FIND ERIE CHANNELS TO COMPARE WITH SAT WHEN THEY ARE OUTPUTTING NETWORK PROGRAMS, SUCH AS NBC NEWS, TODAY ETC, BUT ON LOCAL NEWS AND LOCAL OUTPUT ITEMS TO BE NO BETTER THAN SD ON SAT. I SURE WILL ENJOY THE NFL GAMES ON ERIE CHANNELS AND ALSO MLB EXTRA INNINGS BEING AVAILABLE AS 3 YRS AGO I LEFT TWC BECAUSE THEY STOPPED THE MLB EI OFFERING. I'M IN CORRY AND FEEL SIGNALS ARE GOOD DOWN HERE COMPARED TO 3 YRS AGO.
JFC-SMC is offline  
post #3381 of 3501 Old 02-15-2011, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you considering switching to DirectTV:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/directvhate021511.htm
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3382 of 3501 Old 02-15-2011, 02:59 PM
Newbie
 
jsab4807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a reason Wheel and Jeopardy STILL aren't in HD on TWC???

Kinda stupid/ridiculous.
jsab4807 is offline  
post #3383 of 3501 Old 02-16-2011, 05:12 AM
Member
 
MattDing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NW Pennsylvania
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure. A good reason. It's not TWC. It's the local stations.

The local stations lack the equipment to broadcast the syndicated HD feeds. They only show the network stuff in HD because the network sends it down live and simply pass it right through.

The local stations need to spend the bucks to upgrade their equipment. Not only for syndicated programs like Wheel and Jeopardy but there are real cities out there that actually have local news and other programming in HD.

But it all comes down to money and the local stations don't have it so I've given up hope they'll ever put out a quality product.
MattDing is offline  
post #3384 of 3501 Old 02-23-2011, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
wabbit01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of today, we now have WICU and WSEE on DirecTV in HD. Still don't have the local CW yet.
wabbit01 is offline  
post #3385 of 3501 Old 03-01-2011, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone notice that our friends at TW flip-flopped WQLN and WFXP on the QAM channels? WUWT? Fox is now on 54.1 and WQLN is on 66.1.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3386 of 3501 Old 03-01-2011, 06:54 PM
Member
 
lacubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post

Did anyone notice that our friends at TW flip-flopped WQLN and WFXP on the QAM channels? WUWT? Fox is now on 54.1 and WQLN is on 66.1.

just looked and not for me
lacubs is offline  
post #3387 of 3501 Old 03-03-2011, 03:19 PM
CMB
Member
 
CMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Erie, PA, USA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbit01 View Post

As of today, we now have WICU and WSEE on DirecTV in HD. Still don't have the local CW yet.

Does this mean Erie finally has all the major networks in HD on DTV?

Also, are the channels strong or are they blocking like the Cleveland ones do for me? I have had the Cleveland HD locals for years because Erie wasn't on DTV but if they are there now and in good quality, I can change to my hometown...

Please give me some feedback...
CMB is offline  
post #3388 of 3501 Old 03-03-2011, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacubs View Post

just looked and not for me

Turns out this only happened on one of my TV's. No idea why, but I fixed it by rescanning.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #3389 of 3501 Old 03-04-2011, 05:08 AM
Member
 
MattDing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NW Pennsylvania
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMB View Post

Does this mean Erie finally has all the major networks in HD on DTV?

Also, are the channels strong or are they blocking like the Cleveland ones do for me? I have had the Cleveland HD locals for years because Erie wasn't on DTV but if they are there now and in good quality, I can change to my hometown...

Please give me some feedback...

I'd be interested in knowing this as well. It would be nice to "move" back home.
MattDing is offline  
post #3390 of 3501 Old 03-07-2011, 03:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone attend the public hearing in Erie for TW's contract extension? Anything new come out of it?
scnrfrq is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off