Erie, PA - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 3501 Old 02-14-2006, 01:52 AM
Member
 
wavest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cordobaman View Post

I leaned the 4228/7777 up against a rafter in the attic for fun. For about an hour I got Buffalo Ch4 (CBS), PBS, and Fox...then the clouds rolled in and I lost them all. Even being SD, they were pretty good quality...especially Ch4 and PBS.

Not even a blip on an ABC channel.

Did you get a chance to install the antenna outside? Just curious to see what the difference would be.
wavest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 3501 Old 02-14-2006, 06:02 PM
Member
 
mbakes1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a newbe and have been thinking about purchasing a HD Television. I live in southeast Millcreek and currently have Adelphia. From what I am gathering, there is not a whole lot of HDTV in our area. Is it true that even though the TV show is broadcast in HD, because our local station WJET,WICU,FOX etc isn't passing through the HD signal, you won't get a HD picture on your TV?
For example, the Super Bowl was broadcast in HD on ABC. If I would have purchased an expensive HD TV set, I would not have been able to appreciate the HD picture because WJET is not passing the HD signal through? Is this true. Please let me know as I am a little confused.
If this is true, it doesn't seem to make much since to buy an expensive HD TV right now. Thanks
mbakes1959 is offline  
post #183 of 3501 Old 02-14-2006, 07:59 PM
Member
 
tjennings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are correct, but all of the local stations have their upgrades pretty much in-process... by the summer or by fall, we should be all set.

-- Tom --


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tjennings is offline  
post #184 of 3501 Old 02-15-2006, 03:41 AM
Member
 
cordobaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Erie, PA USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavest View Post

Did you get a chance to install the antenna outside? Just curious to see what the difference would be.

Here's my personal HD update...

No, not yet on the antenna going outside. From the attic I have yet to catch any Buffalo stations again (since that first day I tried).

I noticed that WQLN-dt passed thru HD for NOVA last night, looked OK.

I broke down and had my Dish Network upgraded to the HD package. The few HD channels look beautiful! The channel/program selection is pretty lame for now, but without subscribers they can't add on...so I'm one of the pioneers I guess. At least it helps feed my thirst for HD (for now).
cordobaman is offline  
post #185 of 3501 Old 02-15-2006, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbakes1959 View Post

I am a newbe and have been thinking about purchasing a HD Television. I live in southeast Millcreek and currently have Adelphia. From what I am gathering, there is not a whole lot of HDTV in our area. Is it true that even though the TV show is broadcast in HD, because our local station WJET,WICU,FOX etc isn't passing through the HD signal, you won't get a HD picture on your TV?


You have it pretty right and the stations are planning HD (WSEE we never know about) But it is not all guaranteed. with Adelphia, you are right there is not much to offer. However with DISH (and I am not pushing it) you have 25 HD channels but none of the major neworks. I am also in South East Erie. Feel free to contact me at gut48@yahoo.com if you want to discuss more.
jtirak is offline  
post #186 of 3501 Old 02-15-2006, 03:46 PM
Member
 
mbakes1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone who responded. One of the new TV's I've been looking at is the Sony Rear Projection LCD KDF-E42A10. It has an integrated ATSC Tuner that allows receipt of free, over the air network programming without a set top box.
With this tuner are you able to get HD stations out of Cleveland,Buffalo, or Pittsburgh,Canada,etc?
Is the picture quality very good or is it dependent on location? I live in a wooded area just north of I-90 and Rt 8,Millcreek Township,Erie,PA.
Does the weather impact the signal?
Thanks for any information. I think I will hold off on a new TV at least until the end of the year but I'd like to know a little more about the HDTV in our area before making a purchase. Hopefully our local stations will get on the stick. Thanks again.
mbakes1959 is offline  
post #187 of 3501 Old 02-15-2006, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mbakes1959...if you read through the last 2 or 3 pages, you will see that we all want to know exactly the same thing. If it is possible you will need a very directional rotary antenna to even attempt to pull stations in from 100 miles away. Forget Pittsburgh, Cleveland is possible as I have pulled some of their HD stations in but not very often. The rule is it is either you get a clear signal or no signal at all. It is not like analogue where you might get a snowy picture. Digital is one or the other. I am in Millcreek not that far from you. I am thinking of changing antennas myself. From your note, you probably would be happier to wait. But don't buy an analogue now.
jtirak is offline  
post #188 of 3501 Old 02-16-2006, 02:09 PM
 
Pigeonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that Erie stations brodcast in digital ? What dose that do for me? The only HD is WQLN - WHy would anyone wan't to watch WQLN in HD?
Pigeonest is offline  
post #189 of 3501 Old 02-16-2006, 03:54 PM
Member
 
cordobaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Erie, PA USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigeonest View Post

WHy would anyone wan't to watch WQLN in HD?

Nature and science shows like Nova are very enjoyable in HD. The HD actually compels my kids to watch something educational instead of brain-dead cartoons.
cordobaman is offline  
post #190 of 3501 Old 02-16-2006, 04:18 PM
Member
 
mbakes1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtirak View Post

Mbakes1959...if you read through the last 2 or 3 pages, you will see that we all want to know exactly the same thing. If it is possible you will need a very directional rotary antenna to even attempt to pull stations in from 100 miles away. Forget Pittsburgh, Cleveland is possible as I have pulled some of their HD stations in but not very often. The rule is it is either you get a clear signal or no signal at all. It is not like analogue where you might get a snowy picture. Digital is one or the other. I am in Millcreek not that far from you. I am thinking of changing antennas myself. From your note, you probably would be happier to wait. But don't buy an analogue now.

Would living in a wooded area affect the chance of picking up the HD stations from Cleveland?
I'll have to check with my wife's friend again. She has a Sony KDF-E50A10 with the ATSC tuner, and I think she said she was able to get a lot of prime time HD shows from the over the air broadcasts from Cleveland. The stations(s) she was getting were not part of the Adelphia Digital cable package so I believe she was getting them free through the tuner. I'll let you know.
mbakes1959 is offline  
post #191 of 3501 Old 02-16-2006, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbakes1959 View Post

Would living in a wooded area affect the chance of picking up the HD stations from Cleveland?

It sort of depends on how many trees and if your antenna is above the tree line. Remember that UHF is very line of sight All HD stations in Cleveland except one are UHF. The other thing is that I am not sure how many digital stations in Cleveland are currently broadcasting at their full power. The Erie digital stations are using only a fraction of the power they have been authorized. You might want to look at the Cleveland thread to get a better idea of that. I might do the same.
jtirak is offline  
post #192 of 3501 Old 02-17-2006, 02:13 PM
 
Pigeonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still not sure what the digital is all about? Anyone?
Pigeonest is offline  
post #193 of 3501 Old 02-17-2006, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
slaminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital is what the FCC is forcing all OTA stations to go to. Digital frees up the old analog channels so the FCC can sell the bandwidth for wireless internet, cellular, etc. Helps pay for the war and all that. Digital also allows stations to broadcast HD if they choose, OR to broadcast "extra" channels with smaller audiences (WB, UPN etc.) or even private scrambled broadcasts. Satellite programmers take local analog signals, convert it to digital to send to you as "digital" but it's not the same as OTA (Over The Air) digital. Similar to when they went to UHF a few decades ago, and a lot of people with sets that only picked up 2 thru 13 were trying to figure out what they should do. In another year or two, digital and HD will be a little more realistic. We early adopters are sort of out in the cold for now...
slaminal is offline  
post #194 of 3501 Old 02-18-2006, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaminal View Post

We early adopters are sort of out in the cold for now...

You got that dead on. That is why we got to fight for what we want. I really want to check on an antenna that might give me Buffalo or Cleveland at least 60% of the time. I know it is a long shot for 100 miles plus on digital.
jtirak is offline  
post #195 of 3501 Old 02-18-2006, 08:22 PM
 
Pigeonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You know whats funny, I used to work at Rex TV like 8 years ago, and I used to get people comming in all the time saying they wouldn't buy a tv thats not HD cause it'll be useless in less than 5 years. Just to think after 8 years I still can't even watch the superbowl (the biggest brodcasting even in the nation) in HD no matter how much $ I spend or what programming I subscribe to. What a joke! Buy the time we can get HD it'll be out dated.
Pigeonest is offline  
post #196 of 3501 Old 02-22-2006, 06:57 PM
Member
 
mbakes1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtirak View Post

It sort of depends on how many trees and if your antenna is above the tree line. Remember that UHF is very line of sight All HD stations in Cleveland except one are UHF. .

We have trees surrounding our house on all sides. We are only about 130' from the road but when we built the house we pretty much cut a hole in the woods to clear out that area for the house. The house is a two story so it's about about 26-28 feet tall. I would say many of the trees are at least 50 to 60 feet tall and they are within 30-40 feet from the house at ground level on three sides. So I would guess that I am probably not a very good candidate for an antenna or for satellite.
mbakes1959 is offline  
post #197 of 3501 Old 02-22-2006, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbakes1959 View Post

We have trees surrounding our house on all sides. We are only about 130' from the road but when we built the house we pretty much cut a hole in the woods to clear out that area for the house. The house is a two story so it's about about 26-28 feet tall. I would say many of the trees are at least 50 to 60 feet tall and they are within 30-40 feet from the house at ground level on three sides. So I would guess that I am probably not a very good candidate for an antenna or for satellite.


For Satellite you may not be. I had to cut one tree down in order to get regular DISH and I had the dish on top of my house. The trees will also cut the signal for some antennals. especially the distant channel. Howerver, I would suggest you contact an antenna specialist to survey your situation. It shoudn't cost you anything. I know that DISHNET won't even attempt to put up a dish if the line of site from the dish to the Satellite is blocked by trees.
jtirak is offline  
post #198 of 3501 Old 02-23-2006, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtirak View Post

It sort of depends on how many trees and if your antenna is above the tree line. Remember that UHF is very line of sight All HD stations in Cleveland except one are UHF.

Two - WKYC/3 (DT 2) and WOIO/19 (DT 10). Of the two, WKYC is of course the most problematic, being a low-VHF allocation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtirak View Post

The other thing is that I am not sure how many digital stations in Cleveland are currently broadcasting at their full power. The Erie digital stations are using only a fraction of the power they have been authorized. You might want to look at the Cleveland thread to get a better idea of that. I might do the same.

I haven't checked recently, but I believe all the operating Cleveland market DT stations are at full power, save for the anemic temporary allocation for WVIZ-DT 26 (PBS). Even the home shopping channel, WOAC-DT 47 Canton, is getting their stick up to full power even as we read this.

The WB and PAX/i stations are not on the air at all, digitally, due to Canadian issues. The WB folks hope to be on by July 1st (the deadline).
Inundated is online now  
post #199 of 3501 Old 02-24-2006, 04:06 AM
Member
 
gharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, my two cents. I have Directv and Adephia cable, switching to Dish for more HD. I also have a small, 6 foot antenna up, in s.w. Millcreek, clear view of the sky and I have some difficulties with getting LOCAL digital. I do get it though with proper oientation. I DID try a 160 inch antenna to get Cleveland, moving the antenna 5 degress variation (and I also knew the directions to point via a compass and using the Cleveland analogs as a guide). I did not get any CLeveland channels on a good clear day. Actually, I was surprised at that.

March 1, I am going to Dish with their new release of not ready for primetime mpeg4 and their new release of their mepg4 hd receiver dvr VIP 622. Oh boy, oh boy. I have 2 Sony HD sets, 3 HD OTA receivers.
gharris is offline  
post #200 of 3501 Old 02-25-2006, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gharris View Post

Hi all, my two cents. I have Directv and Adephia cable, switching to Dish for more HD. I also have a small, 6 foot antenna up, in s.w. Millcreek, clear view of the sky and I have some difficulties with getting LOCAL digital. I do get it though with proper oientation. I DID try a 160 inch antenna to get Cleveland, moving the antenna 5 degress variation (and I also knew the directions to point via a compass and using the Cleveland analogs as a guide). I did not get any CLeveland channels on a good clear day. Actually, I was surprised at that.

March 1, I am going to Dish with their new release of not ready for primetime mpeg4 and their new release of their mepg4 hd receiver dvr VIP 622. Oh boy, oh boy. I have 2 Sony HD sets, 3 HD OTA receivers.

You and I are probably not far from each other and experince the same when trying to get Cleveland. What kind of Antenna do you have? Brand name and model? Iwonder how the big Channelmaster would work?

If you are expecting to add DISH and want to discount coupon, let me know.
jtirak is offline  
post #201 of 3501 Old 03-01-2006, 05:36 AM
Member
 
gharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Jack,
I "tried" the 160" radio shack model...with their powered amp. I used my hand to rotate the antenna, recieved fuzzy analog and then tried a digtial auto tune on the tv. I really thought that I would get 1 station somewhere, but did not...other than the local digitals. So I returned the antenna and put back up my little 6' antenna for local digital.
gharris is offline  
post #202 of 3501 Old 03-03-2006, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gharris View Post

Hi Jack,
I "tried" the 160" radio shack model...with their powered amp. I used my hand to rotate the antenna, recieved fuzzy analog and then tried a digtial auto tune on the tv. I really thought that I would get 1 station somewhere, but did not...other than the local digitals. So I returned the antenna and put back up my little 6' antenna for local digital.

I was afraid of that. I wonder if anyone has tried the big channelmaster.
jtirak is offline  
post #203 of 3501 Old 03-17-2006, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump..just didn't want this thread lost. come on guys. post.
jtirak is offline  
post #204 of 3501 Old 03-17-2006, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
slaminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else notice that OTA reception's been going downhill since late January? Didn't think UHF was supposed to be susceptible to bounce/skip and all that.
Any more word on what WSEE plans to do? I see they still haven't gotten around to any digital signal whatsoever. Deadline on their extension should be coming up soon...
slaminal is offline  
post #205 of 3501 Old 03-19-2006, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not heard but they are supposed to be on the air with digital by the end of May I thought. Doesn't mean it will be HD and really don't expect that. Most of the stations are broadcasting digital at very minimual power. That shoud also change with the new mandates this summer.
jtirak is offline  
post #206 of 3501 Old 03-20-2006, 11:11 AM
Member
 
ken164's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: erie pa
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what are the new mandates???
ken164 is offline  
post #207 of 3501 Old 03-20-2006, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken... I am trying to find where I found those mandates. However take a look at this FCC file for WSEE. It states July and you can learn why WSEE has not been able to go digital . http://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/prod/cdbs...ibit_id=368665


This extention was granted on March 1st, 2006 by the FCC and is in effect until September 1st. I would not be suprised to see them file yet another request for an extention. Just because the date says July for completetion does not mean it goes on the air that date. there is usually a period of testing. it would be interesting to drive by WICU towers on Donation Road to see if anything is happening.
jtirak is offline  
post #208 of 3501 Old 03-21-2006, 05:57 AM
Member
 
ken164's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: erie pa
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtirak View Post

Ken... I am trying to find where I found those mandates. However take a look at this FCC file for WSEE. It states July and you can learn why WSEE has not been able to go digital . http://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/prod/cdbs...ibit_id=368665


This extention was granted on March 1st, 2006 by the FCC and is in effect until September 1st. I would not be suprised to see them file yet another request for an extention. Just because the date says July for completetion does not mean it goes on the air that date. there is usually a period of testing. it would be interesting to drive by WICU towers on Donation Road to see if anything is happening.


thank you for the reply!!!!!!!!
ken164 is offline  
post #209 of 3501 Old 03-22-2006, 02:54 PM
Member
 
cordobaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Erie, PA USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was a studio sit-in at 24/66 yesterday with the CubScouts...asked when they plan to be "HD". The answer was "hope to by years end". We'll see.
cordobaman is offline  
post #210 of 3501 Old 03-22-2006, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jtirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just spoke to toa friend of mine at 24 and he confirmed what cordobaman said. Sounds like 4th quarter most likely.
jtirak is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off