Fargo, ND - HDTV - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 2005 Old 02-06-2006, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the Olympics almost here, has anyone heard any news/rumors, regarding CableOne & KVLY? I sure hope they are close to getting something done.
dandeson83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 2005 Old 02-07-2006, 09:46 AM
Member
 
GCWaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my monthly bill and only had a $5.00 increase, so not so bad after all...can't find last month's bill, with the details, so I can't do a direct comparison...
GCWaters is offline  
post #423 of 2005 Old 02-07-2006, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe the mailing was wrong and The Forum was right, that the DVR charge was remaining the same...
puck71 is offline  
post #424 of 2005 Old 02-07-2006, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gottahavapj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandeson83 View Post

With the Olympics almost here, has anyone heard any news/rumors, regarding CableOne & KVLY? I sure hope they are close to getting something done.

I went to CableOne's page this weekend and sent a comment to the Fargo office through the "contact us" link. I basically stated to them the same thing as I did in this post on the last page- also throwing in that I was aware that people in Horace on Midcontinent are getting 11 non-premium HD channels (including KVLY & KXJB) and we get 4. I am assuming INHD & HDNet are not premium channels.

They did respond back to my comment and stated "KVLY would not begin negotiating with us until the deal was done with MidCo. Since you have our HD service- KVLY will be made available to you at no additional cost." Great- that will someday bring us to 6 channels while the good folks in Horace get 11. The clock is ticking for me...
gottahavapj is offline  
post #425 of 2005 Old 02-09-2006, 05:29 PM
Member
 
trizip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah man cableone is such a joke that any where else in ND you can enjoy hockey on OLN or even order the Center Ice package and get games in HD... or even on HDNet. Instead youre stuck with getting a wild game a few times a week if that. You would think the biggest city in the state would be ahead of a town with a population of 30. sigh...
trizip is offline  
post #426 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sad part about it is if you discuss it for any length of time with anyone at CableOne, it's obvious that they don't have OLN just because they don't "like" OLN. They don't seem to care at all whether or not the people want to have it or not. Then they pull out that lame "vote" they did a couple years back to say that people don't want OLN...but that was before OLN had any programming that people would want to watch (Survivor replays, NHL, etc.)
puck71 is offline  
post #427 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
SpedInFargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hockey? Who watches that lame sport?

Speaking of hockey - I noticed in the Flargo Florum this morning that 490 (UHD) will be playing quite a bit of HD Olympics. Seems to be exclusively hockey (much of the games live). Of all of the televised sports that benefit most from HD, I would have to say that hockey has the most to gain.

Chances of me getting my new video card installed, purchasing a new antenna, placing that antenna in some ad hoc place to get NBC reception in time for the opening ceremonies tonight: 12% and dropping fast. Looking like SD for me tonight...

Hell, maybe I'll just skip it and watch the Arrested Development finale...

Quote:
Originally Posted by puck71 View Post

The sad part about it is if you discuss it for any length of time with anyone at CableOne, it's obvious that they don't have OLN just because they don't "like" OLN. They don't seem to care at all whether or not the people want to have it or not. Then they pull out that lame "vote" they did a couple years back to say that people don't want OLN...but that was before OLN had any programming that people would want to watch (Survivor replays, NHL, etc.)

SpedInFargo is offline  
post #428 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 11:50 AM
Member
 
DustyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by puck71 View Post

The sad part about it is if you discuss it for any length of time with anyone at CableOne, it's obvious that they don't have OLN just because they don't "like" OLN. They don't seem to care at all whether or not the people want to have it or not. Then they pull out that lame "vote" they did a couple years back to say that people don't want OLN...but that was before OLN had any programming that people would want to watch (Survivor replays, NHL, etc.)

That is the same lame answer they give me...We did a survey and nobody wanted it.

I told them that the survey was done before OLN got the NHL rights and they say that they may think of it "in the future".

I may have to buck up and get DSL, so I can drop Cableone and get a dish...
DustyT is offline  
post #429 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 12:24 PM
Member
 
paulbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyT View Post

I may have to buck up and get DSL, so I can drop Cableone and get a dish...

I made that call about a year ago except I didn't switch to DSL. I just signed up for a new one year Cable internet commitment for $29.99 per month then dropeed the TV service. They didn't charge me any more for my internet despite dropping their TV service.

Now I'm using DirecTV and very happy with my HD channels. The only one I miss from CableOne is TNT HD.

I have a Media Center PC so don't use the HD PVR, but I understand that if you call up DirecTV and tell them you're thinking about switching they'll make it pretty easy/cheap to get into an HD PVR.
paulbram is offline  
post #430 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 12:33 PM
Member
 
GFJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You won't miss TNT-HD much longer! It's launching on DirecTV next week.
GFJay is online now  
post #431 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpedInFargo View Post

Of all of the televised sports that benefit most from HD, I would have to say that hockey has the most to gain.

I've heard that from people who've watched it, but I haven't seen that from watching NBC's crappy HD game a couple Saturdays ago. Hopefully their Olympic coverage will be great on UHD!
puck71 is offline  
post #432 of 2005 Old 02-10-2006, 02:44 PM
Member
 
DustyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbram View Post

I made that call about a year ago except I didn't switch to DSL. I just signed up for a new one year Cable internet commitment for $29.99 per month then dropeed the TV service. They didn't charge me any more for my internet despite dropping their TV service.

Now I'm using DirecTV and very happy with my HD channels. The only one I miss from CableOne is TNT HD.

I have a Media Center PC so don't use the HD PVR, but I understand that if you call up DirecTV and tell them you're thinking about switching they'll make it pretty easy/cheap to get into an HD PVR.

The ONLY other thing holding me back on Cableone is the Fighting Sioux Sports Network.
DustyT is offline  
post #433 of 2005 Old 02-11-2006, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD coverage of the Olympics is looking good so far. Everything I've seen on NBC has been in HD, and the women's hockey on Universal HD looked great! Of course there's stuff on CNBC and USA that can't be in HD, but there's a lot of events that are all in HD.
puck71 is offline  
post #434 of 2005 Old 02-11-2006, 07:56 PM
Member
 
GFJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been surprised a how many commercials have been in HD! Normally I just fast-forward through them, but not the HD ones. I guess I'll watch anything that's in hi def!
GFJay is online now  
post #435 of 2005 Old 02-13-2006, 07:18 AM
Member
 
DustyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Bud Shootout looked good on TNTHD yesterday. I can't wait until the Daytona 500. Too bad I have to watch FOX the first half of the year.
DustyT is offline  
post #436 of 2005 Old 02-14-2006, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Glaeske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard that CableONE and KVLY/KXJB are in formal negotiations now, rather than just complaining informally about each other. Obviously, they did not start this process soon enough for people to see the Olympics.

Frankly, with the recent rate increases from CableONE, I don't really know how one can afford to pay HD anyway. Other than sporting events most of the content is going to be on DVD in nearly as good a quality as HD and you'll probably save some money in the process.

Speaking of quality, looking at the official Olympic thread on the programming forum, I see that it is not just me and my equipment that has troubles with the NBC PQ. During the opening I was continually distracted by the macro blocking during fast motion; the same macro blocking I see during fast motion on normal NBC programming (like ER). Essentially, NBC is limiting the bandwidth somewhere. Based on the comments from others, I don't think this is KVLY limiting the bandwidth, but NBC corporate.

I will, however, give NBC a break on the half-pipe coverage. Taking a good still picture in the snow, facing the sun with lots of shadows is a nightmare. Imagine trying that with someone who is going in and out of the shadows, occasionally being framed by the sun.

On another note, I cannot get KXJB at all right now, and since I'm pretty sure I'll slip off my roof if I try to fix my antenna, I guess I'll be waiting until spring to get this problem fixed.

Later,
Brian G.
http://brian.glaeske.name/
Brian Glaeske is offline  
post #437 of 2005 Old 02-15-2006, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Glaeske View Post

Frankly, with the recent rate increases from CableONE, I don't really know how one can afford to pay HD anyway. Other than sporting events most of the content is going to be on DVD in nearly as good a quality as HD and you'll probably save some money in the process.

DVD is not nearly as good quality as HD. DVD is 480i or 480p, and HD is 720p or 1080i, which is a lot better. HD DVD's are on the horizon which will actually have content in HD resolution, but current DVD's, while good, don't approach HD quality.

Also, the rates did recently go up but despite what the bill insert said, the HD rates appeared to stay the same.
puck71 is offline  
post #438 of 2005 Old 02-15-2006, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just read a post on a Minneapolis HD forum, that is indicating there might possibly be 53+ Twins games this year in HD.

http://www.hdtvtwincities.com/forumb...pic.php?t=1958

If this info is accurate, we all need to e-mail CableOne, and persuade them to pick up FSN North HD.
dandeson83 is offline  
post #439 of 2005 Old 02-16-2006, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
po2ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would bend over backwards for the Twins in HD. I'm on DirecTV and if i'm correct the sports package with FSN's doesn't include any HD?

One other thought that I am curious about...

I requested a waiver through DirecTV to the local channels here to receive the HD broadcasts from NYC and LA (channels 80-89). Has anyone had any luck with this?
po2ter is offline  
post #440 of 2005 Old 02-16-2006, 09:29 AM
Member
 
paulbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by po2ter View Post

I requested a waiver through DirecTV to the local channels here to receive the HD broadcasts from NYC and LA (channels 80-89). Has anyone had any luck with this?

You're unlikely to have any luck with that. It's my understanding that if you're capable of receiving the local stations (even if they're not in HD) then they won't approve your waiver. I've not tried this so maybe you'll get lucky.

A better (less ethical) way to do this is to "move". If Chicago is in our same spot beam you could theoretically call up DTV and tell them you've moved to Chicago. They'll then turn on the Chicago HD channels for you. Then, sign on to your account online and change your billing address back to Fargo. I've not tried this either, but every time I find myself watching WDAY I'm tempted. Oh, keep in mind that I think you'll need one of the newer MPEG4 receivers to pull in the Chicago HD signal.
paulbram is offline  
post #441 of 2005 Old 02-16-2006, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbram View Post

You're unlikely to have any luck with that. It's my understanding that if you're capable of receiving the local stations (even if they're not in HD) then they won't approve your waiver. I've not tried this so maybe you'll get lucky.

That's pretty much what I've heard too. From what I understand, you actually have to get the waiver from your local affiliates, not from DirecTV. The waiver basically is from your local affiliate authorizing DirecTV to give you the national network feed. There's no real incentive for the affiliate to approve this, so the approval rate is quite low.
puck71 is offline  
post #442 of 2005 Old 03-03-2006, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
krisschiele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,
I've been reading this forum for a while and I like all the local information it contains. I thought I'd let you all know that I turned my TV on to Fox's digital signal tonight to discover it's in HD. My TV says it's a 720P HD signal. I also thought I'd let you guys know I subscribe to CableOne's basic 29.99/month cable and I can receive ESPN, TNT, UniversalHD, and PBS using my TV's built in QAM tuner, so that might be an option for people not willing to pay for the digital box.

Kris
krisschiele is offline  
post #443 of 2005 Old 03-04-2006, 09:47 AM
Member
 
GFJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What frequency/channel are you seeing Fox on?
GFJay is online now  
post #444 of 2005 Old 03-04-2006, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
krisschiele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The actual digital channel is the one Fox has been broadcasting on, 19.1. It shows up on my TV as 15.1 though.

Kris
krisschiele is offline  
post #445 of 2005 Old 03-04-2006, 09:55 AM
Member
 
GFJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the signal isn't powerful enough to make it to Grand Forks. That's sad!
GFJay is online now  
post #446 of 2005 Old 03-04-2006, 11:55 AM
Member
 
paulbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shoot. I'd love to test this but it looks like the next program in HD isn't until Sunday night.
paulbram is offline  
post #447 of 2005 Old 03-04-2006, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NASCAR Busch series race Sunday afternoon should be in HD. If it is, this is great news about KVRR going HD.
dandeson83 is offline  
post #448 of 2005 Old 03-05-2006, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
puck71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The FOX signal is very weak but I did just get it tuned in. They are broadcasting a 720p signal but not the HD feed. Malcolm in the Middle and Bad Boys II are both supposed to be in HD tonight, but I'm getting them in pillarboxed 4:3 - but the signal IS 720p which is a step in the right direction. I wasn't around during the race today - can anyone report on if it was in HD or not?
puck71 is offline  
post #449 of 2005 Old 03-05-2006, 10:41 PM
Member
 
DustyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by puck71 View Post

The FOX signal is very weak but I did just get it tuned in. They are broadcasting a 720p signal but not the HD feed. Malcolm in the Middle and Bad Boys II are both supposed to be in HD tonight, but I'm getting them in pillarboxed 4:3 - but the signal IS 720p which is a step in the right direction. I wasn't around during the race today - can anyone report on if it was in HD or not?

The race was also letterboxed, but the picture quality was much better than a week ago.
DustyT is offline  
post #450 of 2005 Old 03-06-2006, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Glaeske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good catch krisschiele on noticing KVRR's new capability. I've updated the page to indicate that it seems like they're up to something.

I finally got my tuner up and running, yes I need a new tuner real bad. Quickly checking 24 I noticed that they seem to be broadcasting in HD (I would hope 720p) as they had a channel bug in the lower right of the screen, but alas 24 was in window-boxed 480i.

The PQ of the new seemed to be on par with KVLY's PQ.

Brian G.
http://brian.glaeske.name/ht
Brian Glaeske is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off