Fargo, ND - HDTV - Page 70 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2089 Old 03-13-2015, 04:29 AM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My TiVo (and the Zap2it website) now have listings for the 4's. All of them seem accurate except for 4.1 -- where 4.1 seems to have the listings for the 'Heroes & Icons' channel rather than the infomercials that are there now.
eherberg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2089 Old 03-17-2015, 08:09 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Noticed tonight that Cozi is not on 4-2 now. Instead, 'Heroes & Icons' is on 4-2. The Tribune listings still show 4-1 as the channel for H&I
eherberg is online now  
post #2073 of 2089 Old 03-17-2015, 08:18 PM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
And I was just getting into reruns of Miami Vice and Knight Rider I haven't seen for 30 years, then they pull it away...but I won't complain too much since the first reports said channel 38 was going to be religious/south Asian programming..H/I is better than more infomercials or a TBN type channel...
egftechman is offline  
post #2074 of 2089 Old 03-17-2015, 08:42 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah - I was enjoying Cozi. I'm still wondering if the final lineup will be what is currently reflected by Tribune. They got that lineup from somewhere.

I suppose I could just contact the station using their contact info to ask them about ...

Oh yeah ... forgot ... :-)
eherberg is online now  
post #2075 of 2089 Old 03-18-2015, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
krdk lineup

Hi, we are getting 4-2 now as Heroes and Icon instead of Cozy. We get at night all the way up in Pembina ND. Nothing on 4-1 at all no infomercials on my plasma or with converter box on older TV.? Decades, Movies, Grit, Escape all work fine. any suggestion why my TV's don't show 4-1 or has that disappeared?
michaelrodents is offline  
post #2076 of 2089 Old 03-20-2015, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: 47N 97W
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelrodents View Post
Hi, we are getting 4-2 now as Heroes and Icon instead of Cozy. We get at night all the way up in Pembina ND. Nothing on 4-1 at all no infomercials on my plasma or with converter box on older TV.? Decades, Movies, Grit, Escape all work fine. any suggestion why my TV's don't show 4-1 or has that disappeared?
Yep. 4.2 is now H&I Unsure if it's a hiccup or what (COZI being replaced) 4.1 has been blank for a while now. Noticed a few days ago some update screen (looked to be some internet equipment) for a while, then back to programming.
Pembina(?) what are U using for an antenna?
Sorry, but they need a website, with contact info.
FaT Air is offline  
post #2077 of 2089 Old 03-20-2015, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: 47N 97W
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Infomercials came back within the last hour
FaT Air is offline  
post #2078 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just read an article from the Forum a couple weeks ago, and I see CableOne is adding WDAY-CW and WDAY'z Extra in HD. Does WDAY broadcast these in HD, or are they just providing an HD feed to CableOne?

I sent Midco a message about it, and they said they have no plans to add them. I sure hope they do.
dandeson83 is offline  
post #2079 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 08:05 AM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
6-1 (ABC) is in 720p
6-2 (CW) is highly compressed 480i widescreen
6-3 (WX/XTRA) is highly compressed 480i wide
6-4 (XTRA) is in 720p

8-1 (ABC) is in 720p
8-2 (CW) is highly compressed 480i wide
8-3 (XTRA) is in 720p (and looks better than 8-1 during newscasts and other times they are simulcasting, so less compression here?)
egftechman is offline  
post #2080 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
How recent is this? Could they still be working on it?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2081 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 08:19 AM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I verify 8 every day from East Grand Forks....Had to move my antenna, so don't get WDAY at the moment, but a couple of weeks ago the above was the case. 8-3 going 720p (and addition of 6-4) happened a bit over a year ago, when WDAY won the TV bid for the ND high school tournaments. Part of their bid was coverage in HD, and some regular season game coverage and they use the XTRA channel for some of that (they also use the XTRA channel to carry programming displaced by games coverage on main channel)

Last edited by egftechman; 03-23-2015 at 08:25 AM.
egftechman is offline  
post #2082 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 08:32 AM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FaT Air View Post
Yep. 4.2 is now H&I Unsure if it's a hiccup or what (COZI being replaced) 4.1 has been blank for a while now. Noticed a few days ago some update screen (looked to be some internet equipment) for a while, then back to programming.
Pembina(?) what are U using for an antenna?
Sorry, but they need a website, with contact info.
https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws...&fac_num=49134

Section IV has some contact info...The phone number listed seems to be Ravi's personal number...
egftechman is offline  
post #2083 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egftechman View Post
I verify 8 every day from East Grand Forks....Had to move my antenna, so don't get WDAY at the moment, but a couple of weeks ago the above was the case. 8-3 going 720p (and addition of 6-4) happened a bit over a year ago, when WDAY won the TV bid for the ND high school tournaments. Part of their bid was coverage in HD, and some regular season game coverage and they use the XTRA channel for some of that (they also use the XTRA channel to carry programming displaced by games coverage on main channel)
Right now Midco has Extra on channel 596, but it must be 6-3 and not 6-4, as it is over compressed and very grainy. Lats time I watched, I could hardly make out the score bug on the screen. Not sure why they don't just switch over to 6-4 and carry it in HD.
dandeson83 is offline  
post #2084 of 2089 Old 03-23-2015, 03:34 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't get why they have a 6-4 at all. What could their reasoning be for having the identical programming on 2 sub-channels on the same frequency? I was thinking about that when I also saw the Forum article about the CW and Xtra being in HD at the end of March on CableOne - and wondered about what would happen to the OTA signal when that happened.

Maybe I'll post a question for those wacky Forum engineers at the end of the month. :-)
eherberg is online now  
post #2085 of 2089 Old 03-26-2015, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dandeson83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe the OTA signal is changing on March 31. Not sure if they could do three 720p signals OTA, or if the CW HD feed will be seperate.
dandeson83 is offline  
post #2086 of 2089 Old Today, 08:52 AM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They will probably do a microwave point to point feed of the CW signal to the cable headend, allowing for an HD feed to the cable system. I would imagine that they would do an SD downconvert for broadcast. It's become the norm (at least in bigger markets) to feed the major cable companies directly, allowing programming to continue in case of transmitter/tower/antenna failure or maintenance.

Val
valvashon is offline  
post #2087 of 2089 Old Today, 02:57 PM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by valvashon View Post
They will probably do a microwave point to point feed of the CW signal to the cable headend, allowing for an HD feed to the cable system. I would imagine that they would do an SD downconvert for broadcast. It's become the norm (at least in bigger markets) to feed the major cable companies directly, allowing programming to continue in case of transmitter/tower/antenna failure or maintenance.

Val
Likely a fiber connection to an ASI port at the studio, how most cable systems get their signals from locals now.
egftechman is offline  
post #2088 of 2089 Old Today, 02:58 PM
Member
 
egftechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone notice there is a KRDK twitter handle now: https://twitter.com/KRDKTV
egftechman is offline  
post #2089 of 2089 Unread Today, 09:49 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by egftechman View Post
Anyone notice there is a KRDK twitter handle now: https://twitter.com/KRDKTV
I noticed the intern that is likely running it (assuming it's somebody even associated with the station) has followed Cozi.

@krd KTV has apparently not looked at the lineup recently. :-)
eherberg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off