Nashville, TN - OTA - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by leewcraft
I think so. I'm surprised that NBC is such low power, but I guess VHF must not require as much power as UHF.

Is this why I cant get 4.2? I'm new to Voom from Comcast and still learning OTA's. Thanks.

Jerry

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you get 4.1 ok? If so, you shouldn't have a problem getting a subchannel. If you can't get either, then you should look into a good VHF/UHF combo antenna. Some UHF antennas will pick up channel 4 ok, but some won't.

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #33 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get 4.1 okay. I havent been able to receive the HD channell since VOOM put in the antenna. I'm not sure what the problem is.

Jerry

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
post #34 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like more of a configuration problem on your box, maybe (?) 4.1 is the HD channel. 4.2 is the upconvert of the analog channel.
leewcraft is offline  
post #35 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to get the race today in Widescreen on 4.1. At least I get HD content looks like its all on one channel.

Jerry

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
post #36 of 3631 Old 07-10-2004, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's no such thing as 4.2. You should get the HD content on 4.1.

We had two subchannels for awhile, but shut down the SD simulcast a few months ago so 4.1 is the only one you should get.

(incidentially, last week we hooked up the 5.1 Dolby audio encoder - some of the Olympics will be in 5.1 surround, along with some other NBC programming - we're hoping all is OK with the audio but if it isn't please drop me a line at dsmith1@wsmv.com...)

The 42.whatever kw power we're running is the maximum permitted on VHF channel 10. VHF "gets out" a lot better than UHF for the same power. Among analog stations, the FCC limits channels 7-13 to 316kw; UHF stations are allowed up to 5000kw. They figure both stations will have the same coverage. Our 42kw on channel 10 is analogous to about 600kw on channel 27.

At my location in Cheatham Co., our signal is at a par with WKRN's 900kw on channel 27. (WKRN's DTV works a LOT better than their analog!) WTVF comes in second with their 400+kw on channel 56; then, WB on channel 23, then Pax on 36 (there's a lot of interference from Kentucky on 36 up here), then PBS on 46. Fox and UPN on 15 and 21 can be seen under good conditions but it's tough. I've seen the religious station on 38 and the home-shopping on 44 but both only once. I know the religious station on 51 is on with their 400 watts (seen while visiting the base of their tower!) but not a hint up here.

(but UPN has a directional antenna and has less than 1kw in my direction. A 1kw analog on channel 21 would be completely invisible at this distance!)

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
w9wi is offline  
post #37 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info, Doug. My CM amp should show up today and I will see if that helps pick up the 4.1 signal - it comes and goes for me, but I have just a UHF up at this point.

Just curious, did you guys have any say-so in the channel you got for HD? With all the others up on UHF it makes having you on VHF a bit of a pain - antenna-wise.

I had never gotten anything on 4.2 either, my HDTivo "knew" based on my location that it was supposed to be there - but I could never find a signal on it even when I had a solid lock on 4.1 . Now I know why

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #38 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Doug,

Here's yet another signal strength report from me (BG, KY).

I picked up a new STB (the MIT MDR-200) and when connected to my VHF attic mounted antenna I can get WSMV perfectly with no dropouts ever. This is a slight improvement from my Tosh DST-3000 which had the occaisonal dropout (and would never give up the idea that there wasn't a channel 4.2 even after it was turned off).

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #39 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
durl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 4 is one of the weakest signals for me and I live just north of Nashville. That power figure explains that one, I guess.

Meanwhile, I anxiously await HD from Fox17.
durl is offline  
post #40 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
durl,
Are you using a VHF antenna? It makes a big difference for WSMV.



Doug,
Great news on the 5.1. Thanks for the info.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #41 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to try to get by w/o a VHF antenna. I will know if this will work after I hook up the 7777 amp (maybe tonight after work).

Questions:

In 7777 amp pictures I have sometimes seen a weather cover for the unused (for now) VHF input. My 7777 did not include such a device, just f connector weather boots. I assume I need to close off this port with something?

Also, anyone knows of a good source for a SMALL channel 10 antenna in case I need one. Stark carries some TACO antennas but they are 5 element - so the channel 10 has a boom of 2' 8". This might be fine for Reagan in KY, but I don't need anything that big

I was thinking just a 2 element antenna would be more than enough and would be a lot smaller.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #42 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the inherent problem with VHF...antennas have to be big to be good. I was able to pick up NBC with one UHF antenna but not with another, so it's sort of a crapshoot whether you can get it with a non-VHF antenna. You can get an indoor VHF antenna, but it's usually the big rabbit ears type.

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #43 of 3631 Old 07-12-2004, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can also get spotty reception of WSMV with a 3x3 foot CM4228 UHF antenna. Given that you're a lot closer to the tower, it may work for you.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #44 of 3631 Old 07-13-2004, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
durl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reagan,

I use an HDTV-UHF antenna. It's a Zenith ZHDTV1 indoor. ABC comes in very strong and CBS comes in good as well. NBC falls in the medium range. Fox, UPN, even the PAX locals come in much better than NBC.

I figured that NBC just didn't hit my house as well as the other channels.
durl is offline  
post #45 of 3631 Old 07-13-2004, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at a loss for a solution then. Sorry.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #46 of 3631 Old 07-13-2004, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by durl
Reagan,

I use an HDTV-UHF antenna. It's a Zenith ZHDTV1 indoor. ABC comes in very strong and CBS comes in good as well. NBC falls in the medium range. Fox, UPN, even the PAX locals come in much better than NBC.

I figured that NBC just didn't hit my house as well as the other channels.

NBC is the only local HD NOT on UHF - they are on VHF channel 10. So you (and I) are trying to fit a round peg into a square hole when we use a UHF antenna to pick them up.

There may be only one channel number difference between VHF channel 13 and UHF channel 14 but there is a BUNCH of difference in the frequencies - 211.25 mhz VS 471.25 mhz! So having an antenna tuned to pick up 471.25 mhz to 801.25 mhz is not likely to make a good antenna to pick up 211.25 mhz.

I am going to have to put up some kind of VHF antenna to go with the UHF CM 4 bay - channel 4 (on channel 10) just does not have a solid signal using the UHF antenna - even with an amp. Sounds like you need to do the same.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #47 of 3631 Old 07-13-2004, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by w9wi
The 42.whatever kw power we're running is the maximum permitted on VHF channel 10. VHF "gets out" a lot better than UHF for the same power. Among analog stations, the FCC limits channels 7-13 to 316kw; UHF stations are allowed up to 5000kw. They figure both stations will have the same coverage. Our 42kw on channel 10 is analogous to about 600kw on channel 27.

I think I know the answer to my own question

While being on VHF 10 may not be ideal for folks trying to PICK UP your signal, being limited by the FCC to 42kw is a HUGE bonus to your station in that you have a TON lower costs for amps and electricity.

A friend works at WTVF and he was talking about the water cooled, tons of money stuff they have to run to crank out the power that they have to have on 56. I think they were originally slated to get the channel 10 slot (2 x 5 = 10) but somehow that got changed. We folks trying to watch OTA may be dissappointed, but your station is probably really glad you got the channel that you did

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #48 of 3631 Old 07-14-2004, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking strictly for myself (as I doubt the company has any official opinion on the matter!) the channel 10 assignment was indeed a financial bonus. We were honestly surprised by the assignment; it wasn't anything we asked for. The assignments were made automatically by computer. After the table came out, stations were allowed to ask for changes.

I don't recall why they did it, but the FCC ran the entire assignment table twice. As I remember it, we drew channel 42 the first time around; then, they reran it and we got channel 10. There were a LOT of other changes, nationwide.

Quite a few stations have successfully petitioned the FCC to change their digital assignments. These changes have all happened after the original table was released. If I recall properly there have been no changes in Middle Tennessee; everyone has built on the channel they were originally assigned.

Actually the channel 10 slot is *not* twice channel 5 -- channel 5 is 76-82MHz, while channel 10 is 192-198MHz.

Right now it looks like WTVF will end up moving back from channel 56 to channel 5 at the end of transition; channels 52-69 are going away at the end of analog. However, there may end up being an "out" for that, and they may be able to pick up one of the UHF channels abandoned by one of the other stations.

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
w9wi is offline  
post #49 of 3631 Old 07-14-2004, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Durl, what part of town are you in? There are some pretty dramatic differences in reception depending on terrain. And Nashville is unusual in that the transmitters are spread around town. (in most cities, all TV towers are within 2-3miles of each other)

UHF antennas are going to be hit-or-miss on channel 10. Amplified UHF antennas are less likely to work on channel 10 than unamplified ones. (I'm hard-pressed to think of a place in Davidson County where an amplifier should be necessary)

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
w9wi is offline  
post #50 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Doug,

You mentioned that channels 52-69 will be going away, what about 2-6? Any new information on that front?

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #51 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


You mentioned that channels 52-69 will be going away, what about 2-6? Any new information on that front?

Nope... right now the official line is still that 2-6 will be staying with us.

There has been a release that suggests stations will be allowed to pick a channel freed up by some other station as their permanent DTV channel.

For example, WTVF's DTV channel is 56 and their analog channel is of course 5. WZTV's digital is 15 and analog 17. At the end of transition, WZTV will be required to return either channel 15 or channel 17.

Since 56 is "outside core", theoretically WTVF will be required to move their DTV to channel 5 at the end of transition.

Under the recent releases, it looks like WTVF will be allowed to request either channel 15 or 17, whichever one WZTV doesn't keep. Or, they can stick with channel 5.

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
w9wi is offline  
post #52 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dkomisar
Nashville Fox 17 Sinclair owned. Now that Fox network has stepped up to the plate with HD football is there anything we can do to hurry along local Fox affiliates owned by Sinclair. Nashville Fox 17 does not have a clue as to when it will be able to pass HD signals from the network.

When does Halley's Comet come back by again???

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #53 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just learned a little bit from the Fox HD - Cities that are HD / DD 5.1 Ready thread on HDTV Programming. I think this thread erroneously lists Nashville as broadcasting in 720p w/o a splicer. Someone correct me if we are actually in 720p now.

Fox's priorities for installing the splicers are NFC football cities and Fox O&O stations before other stations (we don't qualify as either). There are 3 NFC cities that still need the splicer (Philly, Milwaukee, Detroit) and 2 additional O&O cities (KC, Salt Lake City) that are definitely ahead of us on the list.

There are also 4 other cities that are bigger than Nashville that don't fall in either category. As of now, Nashville is the 7th largest Fox market without a splicer installed.

So, there are at least 9 stations that have a good likelihood of getting their splicer before Nashville. Of course, that doesn't include any predictions on the Sinclair factor.

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #54 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 10:38 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:


Originally posted by leewcraft
I just learned a little bit from the Fox HD - Cities that are HD / DD 5.1 Ready thread on HDTV Programming. I think this thread erroneously lists Nashville as broadcasting in 720p

Has anyone heard anything from your local Fox engineer? I received a PM from a Nashville resident that stated Nashville went 720p for a day or two. If that's true, they may have decided to keep the 720p signal offline until closer to the scheduled splicer install.

If they never went 720p, let me know and I'll adjust the list.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #55 of 3631 Old 07-15-2004, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't heard anything. I get my locals through Comcast, but I do have a STB. I'll test it out this weekend to see if it's in 720p, but I haven't heard anything about a 720p test.
leewcraft is offline  
post #56 of 3631 Old 07-17-2004, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Southern Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: White Bluff, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doug,

The time signature is an hour off on channel 4. Also, there is no PSIP data. Do you know when these things will be addressed? It's not a big deal, really. But, I have to change the channel to 5 before powering off my stb or else I'm late for everything

"...but these go to eleven. One louder."
Southern Soul is offline  
post #57 of 3631 Old 07-22-2004, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Again?.... drat.

I noted a problem with that the other day (a couple of weeks ago) & fixed it - it's off again? Will take a look tomorrow. My PC card at home doesn't look at the STT so I tend not to notice unless someone complains...

I don't know what plans management has for PSIP.

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
w9wi is offline  
post #58 of 3631 Old 07-23-2004, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone spoken to the tech's at Fox lately for an update as to when 720p will be available?
My contact is on vacation.
??????????????????
stsrep is offline  
post #59 of 3631 Old 07-25-2004, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure haven't. We're up to the 3rd largest market that doesn't have the splicer installed. Come on, Fox17.

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #60 of 3631 Old 07-26-2004, 04:16 AM
Member
 
Southern Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: White Bluff, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's fixed! Thanks, Doug!!!

"...but these go to eleven. One louder."
Southern Soul is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off