Nashville, TN - OTA - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 37Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3671 Old 07-26-2004, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the CPanther thread on the HD Programming Forum,the ready stations are listed and updated as they come on board.
Fargo,ND is ready.Huntsville AL is ready.
Are we in Nashville ready?
Hell no we're not ready.
Why aren't we ready if we are the number 30 DMA ?
This one ain't Eddie's fault-he's gone to Dallas.
Sinclair,your weak ass still sucks.
What does it take for management to open their f***ing eyes and get the upgrade done?
Get off your ass and do a little customer service for a change.
stsrep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3671 Old 07-26-2004, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mitchrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox is not installing the gear based on market size. This has nothing to do with Sinclair. Fox, in general, is working their way west to east. And even if they turned it on tomorrow you still wouldn't be getting HD. Fox doesn't begin HD until September.

Mitch
mitchrc@mac.com
mitchrc is offline  
post #63 of 3671 Old 07-26-2004, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is that all there waiting on(splicer)? I havent heard anything solid that they have compleated there internal upgrades. If so thats great.

Jerry

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
post #64 of 3671 Old 07-26-2004, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
Wilsonnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
email them repeatedly
Wilsonnn is offline  
post #65 of 3671 Old 08-02-2004, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dkomisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke with engineering department today and was told they would be ready for HD football by September 12th. They are waiting on the splicer install. They did not, however, have a firm install date.
dkomisar is offline  
post #66 of 3671 Old 08-02-2004, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dkomisar
Spoke with engineering department today and was told they would be ready for HD football by September 12th. They are waiting on the splicer install. They did not, however, have a firm install date.

Any idea when (if) they will crank up the power? I spot check their current SD digi signal from time to time and it was pretty crappy the other day - nothing that more power would not cure

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #67 of 3671 Old 08-03-2004, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
durl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So here we are asking when Fox17 will go HD but I'm still upset about the All-Star game in July. When I called Fox17, I spoke to a real person and asked them if they would be broadcasting the game in HD, and I was told "yes, we will." I called some friends and told them what I had been told and they came over to watch the game in glorious HD. But when the game started, I realized that the wonderful employee had told me something that wasn't true. I'm not so upset that they didn't carry the game in HD, but I really AM bothered that I was told something that wasn't true.

There. That's my rant for the day.
durl is offline  
post #68 of 3671 Old 08-05-2004, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Any idea when (if) they will crank up the power?


Looks like the FCC is giving the big four stations in the top 30 markets until July 1st to crank it up to full power. Let's hope it's sooner rather than later for WZTV.

One thing I find strange is that WZTV is licensed for 1000kw which would be serious overkill. I'd be happy with 200kw. They are currently at 24kw.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #69 of 3671 Old 08-05-2004, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I last talked to someone at WNPT he said they would be expanding the hours they broadcast DTV. I checked last night around 9pm and they were will up (used to shut down at 6pm). I still think they have 0 HD content, however......

I better get busy on my channel 4 HD wire dipole, the Olympics are coming up soon and I may want to HDTivo some of them.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #70 of 3671 Old 08-25-2004, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
stsrep and others have reported in HDTV Programming that Fox 17 is now stretching their DTV picture to fill the screen. Several of us have seen the HD indicator light on our STB's, so it's likely they're broadcasting at 720p (although that doesn't necessarily mean that the splicer is installed for true HD). Does anyone have a STB that tells you what you're receiving, and can you confirm or deny?

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #71 of 3671 Old 08-25-2004, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
oe800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I am recieving a 720p signal from fox nashville.
The content is a stretched talk show.
oe800 is offline  
post #72 of 3671 Old 08-25-2004, 06:51 PM
Member
 
pmm8647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clarksville, Tn
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could have swore I just saw a hi-def commercial come thru on Fox. Could it actually have happened?!!!!!

Is Fox HDTV compliant FINALLY?!?

arrrrggghhhhh.......heart attack

Family Guy is so crisp......


patrick
pmm8647 is offline  
post #73 of 3671 Old 08-25-2004, 07:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by pmm8647
I could have swore I just saw a hi-def commercial come thru on Fox. Could it actually have happened?!!!!!

No.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #74 of 3671 Old 08-25-2004, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's not stop now. Go ahead and get UPN up and runniong whilw you're at it.



Jerry

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
post #75 of 3671 Old 08-26-2004, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dkomisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke with an engineer at 17 yesterday. The splicer is not installed. They are getting ready for the install and have now done all preliminary work necessary for the splicer install. The signal sent last night was upconverted something of which 17 previously was unable to do. It now appears that 17 will deliver on its promise to be good to go on September 12. I wonder what Stsrep will have to complian about now?
dkomisar is offline  
post #76 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Southern Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: White Bluff, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you guys lose 17 for a couple of days? I rescanned this morning and was able to pick it back up and noticed the stretch (hooray!). However, it did not remap to 17, but says 15-02. Anyone know whats happening.

...If I could just pull UPN in I'd be set.

"...but these go to eleven. One louder."
Southern Soul is offline  
post #77 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Southern,

Yeah, I lost 17 (15) for Monday and Tuesday. When I got it again on Wednesday, it was a 720p signal. Looks like everything is on track.

It's mapping to 17-1 on my box.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #78 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only on-going complaint will be dkomisar's annoying posts!
Must be a lawyer of some sort.
No offense to other lawyer's intended.
stsrep is offline  
post #79 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 07:49 PM
Member
 
Southern Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: White Bluff, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Reagan.

I am mapping to 17-01 and 17-02 now. I guess my box (Motorola HDT-100) had to think for a while...

"...but these go to eleven. One louder."
Southern Soul is offline  
post #80 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NFL pre-season game looks nice on Fox tonight. Not widescreen, but looks better than the analog signal. They are still not running a lot of power, though.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #81 of 3671 Old 08-27-2004, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
durl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad we're finally seeing some signs of HD. I noticed the 720p signal tonight then when I read these posts I did a scan with my receiver and picked up 17.2. I'm getting antsy to see some HD from Fox17.

The 420p signal appears a little grainy at times on my set. Signal strength is good though.
durl is offline  
post #82 of 3671 Old 08-28-2004, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Southern,

When I came home last night it was mapping the 720p signal to 17-1 and a 480i simulcast to 17-2.

changes every day...

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #83 of 3671 Old 09-01-2004, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Splicer been installed yet?
stsrep is offline  
post #84 of 3671 Old 09-01-2004, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched some of the primetime on Monday to look for signs of a splicer, but no luck. Apparently the sign we're looking for is the Fox17 logo overlapping the 4:3 frame during upconverted SD programming.
leewcraft is offline  
post #85 of 3671 Old 09-01-2004, 03:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by leewcraft
I watched some of the primetime on Monday to look for signs of a splicer, but no luck. Apparently the sign we're looking for is the Fox17 logo overlapping the 4:3 frame during upconverted SD programming.

Actually you will only see it during network programming. If during network you do NOT see a FOX bug, but you DO see your local stations bug, then the splicer is on line.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #86 of 3671 Old 09-02-2004, 07:31 PM
csd
Member
 
csd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm wathcing Big Momma's House and it looks like the splicer is in. It's in widescreen and there's a FOX 17 logo waay over to the bottom right and no netowrk bug. For a second, it also switched back to pillar boxed and the logo was in the black bar on the right and the network bug was back. Go Fox HD.

edit: I should clarify that I'm only watching Big Momma's House to see if the splicer is online.

charlie
csd is offline  
post #87 of 3671 Old 09-02-2004, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed it is. Whoooooooo!
leewcraft is offline  
post #88 of 3671 Old 09-14-2004, 07:17 PM
Member
 
dcbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about the raising of power, when is that to happen?
dcbag is offline  
post #89 of 3671 Old 09-14-2004, 09:21 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Now that Fox Nashville is in HD and the only official Nashville thread is dedicated to Comcast, I'll make this the official Nashville OTA thread. There's about 10 threads about specific Nashville OTA issues, but none seem to have developed a lot of participation. If we direct all further issues here, hopefully we can generate enough participation to be helpful.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #90 of 3671 Old 09-14-2004, 09:57 PM
Member
 
adam8833's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WZTV digital is still off the air. They have been off for a day or two. I hope they will get it back up and running again.

Zenith SAT-520 shown on a Pioneer Elite PRO-620HD connected by Better Cables Silver Serpant VGA
Pioneer Elite DV-45A DVD Player
Pioneer Elite VSX-45TX A/V Receiver
adam8833 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off