Nashville, TN - OTA - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3596 Old 09-15-2004, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I emailed FOX-17, and here was their response:

Mike, as of Monday 09/13/04, WZTV-DT channel 15 is off the air with antenna problems. It was on until Monday morning, so you should have seen it prior to that and should be able to see it when we return to the air (hopefully sometime this week).
Thanks for writing,
Gibson

-----------------------------------------

I am a new HD OTA user (started Sunday), so I am glad there a thread here for Nashville OTA issues.

I live in the Percy Priest Lake area (southeast), and I can get all of the digital channels with an indoor Silver Sensor antenna.
snowcat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3596 Old 09-15-2004, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
mitchrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome snowcat!

Mitch
mitchrc@mac.com
mitchrc is offline  
post #93 of 3596 Old 09-15-2004, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by snowcat
I emailed FOX-17, and here was their response:

Mike, as of Monday 09/13/04, WZTV-DT channel 15 is off the air with antenna problems. It was on until Monday morning, so you should have seen it prior to that and should be able to see it when we return to the air (hopefully sometime this week).
Thanks for writing,
Gibson

-----------------------------------------

I am a new HD OTA user (started Sunday), so I am glad there a thread here for Nashville OTA issues.

I live in the Percy Priest Lake area (southeast), and I can get all of the digital channels with an indoor Silver Sensor antenna.

Welcome aboard!

Write them back and ask them when they are going to increase the power I live in Hermitage and had to use an outdoor antenna (CM 4 bowtie) to get low-power 8 and 17. Full power 2 and 5 came in fine in my basement on a back-of-set single bowtie. I made a wire dipole for channel 4, since their VHF digital singal did not come in too good on my UHF antenna.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #94 of 3596 Old 09-15-2004, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks for the welcome.

I will see what I can do about your request, dwynee.
snowcat is online now  
post #95 of 3596 Old 09-15-2004, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me also suggest that you (all of you) contact MisterDTV (the Sinclair executive) and let him know that we need more power on WZTV. It's in Sinclair's hands.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #96 of 3596 Old 09-16-2004, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any update as to antenna problems at WZTV?
Sunday's not far off.
Thanks to Panther for getting this thread organized.
stsrep is offline  
post #97 of 3596 Old 09-16-2004, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Jim2928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Franklin Tennessee
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 17 has been on a couple of times this afternoon with increased power.
Jim2928 is offline  
post #98 of 3596 Old 09-17-2004, 08:00 AM
Member
 
jdm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Today I called WB58 (WNAB-DT) about when they'd be broadcasting OTA in HD. They said no specific date, but they were working on it and expected to be broadcasting HD OTA by end of year. That's more-or-less a technical issue.

Re when the various cable and satellite carriers provide WB in HD, that's a combination of technical (bandwidth issues) and non-technical (contractual negotiations).

It's unfortunate since 2/3 of the WBs new shows are in HD, and they're publicizing their upcoming HD broadcast Lord of the Rings in November. I guess better later than never
jdm1 is offline  
post #99 of 3596 Old 09-17-2004, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jim,
Thanks for the update on 17. Must have missed it yesterday. Can't wait for the increased power.

jdm,
Thanks for the good news on the WB. That should really be something.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #100 of 3596 Old 09-17-2004, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Jim2928
Channel 17 has been on a couple of times this afternoon with increased power.

I checked last night an they were off the air - or too weak for me to see anything.

They are missing out, as I tend to "try" new shows just because I can Tivo and watch them in HD. NBC's new "Hawaii" for example is an early start new show in HD. The scenery in Hawaii looks nice - the show is not that good, however. But I at least TRIED it since it was in HD.....

The Titans will be on CBS Sunday and the only local Fox game is slated to be the Seahawks at Tampa Bay in a late game. Does not sound like a big loss if we can't see that epic matchup in HD

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #101 of 3596 Old 09-17-2004, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sevenfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I suspect that most of the country will see the Titans vs. Colts. That's a marquee matchup.

Rick
Sevenfeet is offline  
post #102 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I am able to get Fox-17 this morning.

But now I can't WB.
snowcat is online now  
post #103 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting WZTV too and the signal appears to be much more powerful. Actual reliable daytime reception. Amazing. WNAB is off the air for me too. Must be doing all kinds of work.

Anyway, WZTV is just about perfect. Assuming the increased power stays around.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #104 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if WNAB is getting ready for HD and that's why it's down.
Wouldn't that be nice.
And if that is the reason,UPN should ready to go right behind it.
Aren't all three Sinclair's on the same tower?
stsrep is offline  
post #105 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jl1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having trouble pulling in WKRN today? I have been unable to recieve a signal all day.

Jerry
jl1718 is offline  
post #106 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:


Originally posted by jl1718
Anyone else having trouble pulling in WKRN today? I have been unable to recieve a signal all day.

I didn't have any issues with it today.
snowcat is online now  
post #107 of 3596 Old 09-18-2004, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Sevenfeet
I suspect that most of the country will see the Titans vs. Colts. That's a marquee matchup.

Should be in HD. I saw a promo that said the Colts/Titans and Ravens/Steelers would be the early games in HD Sunday on CBS, then the Browns/Cowboys in HD for the late game.

Dennis
dwynne is offline  
post #108 of 3596 Old 09-19-2004, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by stsrep
I wonder if WNAB is getting ready for HD and that's why it's down.
Wouldn't that be nice.
And if that is the reason,UPN should ready to go right behind it.
Aren't all three Sinclair's on the same tower?

They are. (for digital. Fox analog is on the channel 4 tower.)

I'm not too sure that would result in all three stations going HD at the same time though. The vast majority of the tower site work had to be done to get a digital signal on the air at all; the vast majority of the work to convert from SD digital to HD is done at the studio.

Interesting to see the comments about WZTV's signal improving -- from here, it's looked like they've been at higher power for several weeks.

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66
http://www.w9wi.com
w9wi is offline  
post #109 of 3596 Old 09-19-2004, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
RaggedEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can ya'll please share what kind of antenna you are using to pick up WSMV? I've used a bunch and am still having some problems.

Alex
RaggedEdge is offline  
post #110 of 3596 Old 09-19-2004, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSMV is on the VHF spectrum (channel 10), so that's probably the cause of your problems. There are some combo antennas out there that will pick up VHF and UHF. I can pick up that station with a particular UHF antenna, but not with several others. The one that works for me is a Zenith Silver Sensor.

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #111 of 3596 Old 09-20-2004, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:


Originally posted by leewcraft
WSMV is on the VHF spectrum (channel 10), so that's probably the cause of your problems. There are some combo antennas out there that will pick up VHF and UHF. I can pick up that station with a particular UHF antenna, but not with several others. The one that works for me is a Zenith Silver Sensor.

Lee

I can get WSMV through a Silver Sensor too. But why does it work? If it is UHF only, how can it pick up VHF signals? I am not complaining, but I am curious.
snowcat is online now  
post #112 of 3596 Old 09-20-2004, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by snowcat
But why does it work?

Well, antennas are really just glorified coathangers. UHF antennas are the right length and size that they pull in the whole UHF spectrum pretty well, but they also capture signals outside of that range. Apparently this design is one that pulls in signals from the high VHF range pretty well.
leewcraft is offline  
post #113 of 3596 Old 09-21-2004, 08:11 AM
Member
 
jdm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by RaggedEdge
Can ya'll please share what kind of antenna you are using to pick up WSMV? I've used a bunch and am still having some problems.

I'm about 2 mi S of Franklin, and I use a Channel Master 4221 4-bay bow tie UHF antenna mounted in my attic. Feed line is RG-59 and I use a mast-mounted Channel Master Spartan preamp, model 0064DSB. Receiver is a DirecTV HR10-250. I get all local UHF digital channels perfectly, also WSMV-DT, which is VHF high band, channel 10 frequency.

A UHF antenna is certainly not optimal for VHF, but often will work mediocre on VHF high band. For VHF low (channels 2-6) a UHF antenna typically doesn't work very well.

If you have trouble with VHF reception of WSMV-DT and outside mounting is OK, try a larger UHF/VHF combo antenna like a Radio Shack VU-120.

According to www.antennaweb.org, at your location and zip code a medium directional VHF antenna is required for WSMV-DT at your location. However that assumes no major obstructions or other problems.

There are USGS topographic maps you can view on line at www.topozone.com. Find your location and determine your approximate elevation. Scroll S toward Nashville and see if there are any tall hills between you and the station.
jdm1 is offline  
post #114 of 3596 Old 09-21-2004, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Reagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a response from the engineer at WZTV. As of last week, they've been broadcasting their digital channel (15) at 1,000kw. So that's a move to HD and full power all in the same week. Not too shabby.

-Reagan

The truth doesn't care whether you believe it.
Reagan is offline  
post #115 of 3596 Old 09-21-2004, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow....this is just shocking....I'm....shocked.....I'm....wow.....

Lee
leewcraft is offline  
post #116 of 3596 Old 09-22-2004, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
 
McTNN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]Originally posted by RaggedEdge
Can ya'll please share what kind of antenna you are using to pick up WSMV? I've used a bunch and am still having some problems. [/QUOTE


I seldom watch any OTA anymore, but honestly, an old set of rabbit ears that would sell for $10 at Walmart pulls in 2,4,5,8,17,28,30,39,44 and 58 at my place near Hermitage. Funny thing is that the same antenna performs like crap on analog signals....ghosts, snow, interference. It looks very 1950's sitting next to the HD box, but I will hang onto it until Comcast and Sinclair work out their differences.
McTNN is offline  
post #117 of 3596 Old 09-22-2004, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sevenfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:


Originally posted by jdm1

There are USGS topographic maps you can view on line at www.topozone.com. Find your location and determine your approximate elevation. Scroll S toward Nashville and see if there are any tall hills between you and the station.

This is an interesting web site and basically confirmed to me what I already knew. Nashville is at about 444 ft above see level and my house in Bellevue is at about 700-740 ft above sea level. But there is a 800 ft hill in my neighborhood 1/4 mile from my house right on the 29 degree axis between me and CBS, NBC, FOX, UPN and WB. There are 800-900 ft hills near 1-40 and Old Hickory Blvd on or near the same vector.

The first hill I mentioned and nearby hills also are responsible for the terrible cell phone reception we get in this area. Regardless, I hope that something like a 4 or 8 bay Channelmaster can solve this problem. I'd like it to be in the attic, but I think I'm going to need all the gain I can get.

Rick
Sevenfeet is offline  
post #118 of 3596 Old 09-22-2004, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by snowcat
I can get WSMV through a Silver Sensor too. But why does it work? If it is UHF only, how can it pick up VHF signals? I am not complaining, but I am curious.

Any piece of electrically conductive material (metal) will pick up TV signals, on any channel. I work for WSMV; when testing a DTV set-top box recently, we just stuffed a paper clip in the antenna jack - and received our own signal just fine. Of course, we were 1500 feet from the transmitting antenna! (though we did pick up three competitors from as far as five miles away...)

The idea of the Silver Sensor (and indeed pretty much every worthwhile UHF antenna) is to connect several antennas together. By carefully arranging the size of these antennas and the connection arrangement, it's possible to cancel out unwanted signals and noise coming in off the sides and back, and reinforce signals coming from the desired direction.

The Silver Sensor is a "log-periodic" design. This means that it works as intended across a range of frequencies, roughly a 2:1 range. This is enough to cover the UHF TV channels, which lie between 470 and 890MHz. (OK, that includes obsolete channels 70-83) Larger log-periodic antennas are used by hams to cover the 14-30MHz shortwave spectrum.

VHF TV is much lower in the spectrum. Channels 2-6 are 54-88MHz; channels 7-13 are 174-216MHz. These frequencies fall well outside the 470-890 range where the Sensor is designed to operate. In fact, no single log-periodic antenna would behave as a log-periodic in any two of these channel ranges.

The Silver Sensor *does* still pick up VHF signals - after all, it *is* a chunk of metal. It just doesn't exhibit the predictable cancellation & reinforcement properties it does for UHF. It will likely pick up interference and noise from other directions. It's also too small to be really efficient at picking up the longer waves of VHF stations. (the length of a radio wave grows with decreasing frequency/channel number; channel 10/200MHz signals are about 1.5m/5' long, while channel 17/500MHz signals are more like 2' long)

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66
http://www.w9wi.com
w9wi is offline  
post #119 of 3596 Old 09-22-2004, 12:19 PM
Member
 
adam8833's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
w9wi,

Since you work for WSMV, I have a question for you. I was wondering something when WSMV airs HD shows with Dolby Digital 5.1, such as LAX or Las Vegas. Why is it that the dialog of the shows seem to come out of all three of the front speakers and slighty in the rear. It seems that the DD5.1 mix isn't right or something. I noticed this also when the olympics were on. This was not the case when I switched to the Directv NBC-HD feed during the olympics. The dialog came out of the center channel and the other sound effects such as music came out of the left and right channels. The sound is fine when WSMV switches back to Dolby Digital 2.0. It's only on the 5.1 when the dialog of programs doesn't seem to be in the correct channels. I wasn't sure if you could do anything about this or not.

Zenith SAT-520 shown on a Pioneer Elite PRO-620HD connected by Better Cables Silver Serpant VGA
Pioneer Elite DV-45A DVD Player
Pioneer Elite VSX-45TX A/V Receiver
adam8833 is offline  
post #120 of 3596 Old 09-22-2004, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks, w9wi! That was a great explanation.
snowcat is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off