Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Why doesn't FOX just use the WYDO tower for HDTV? They could put it up about 1000ft higher and go with 500,000 watts. I would think this would be cheaper than using 2 short towers...
jspENC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken,
Just one question, Why is UPN 12-3 and not 12-2?


Also any chance of WCTI adding ABC NEWS NOW?

Ken you should change 12-3 call sign to UPN48 instead of WCTI DT

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #273 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Because when I set it up I set it for -3. The official Call Sign is WCTI DT I am not going to change it until I'm sure I could do so legally. We have talked about ABC news Now and a 24 hour weather channel. But until the technology is good enough that I don't degrade ABC or our UPN signal I am totally against adding another channel

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #274 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

I have a question about that and hope you can give me insight that I don't have. For instance, WTVD has their primary HD channel and 2 subchannels. Do you suppose they allocate that certain amount of bandwith for HD and split the remaining between the 2 remaining channels? I'm asking because I wouldn't want to sacrifice the quality of UPN 48. I usually watch Star Trek Enterprise on UPN 48 instead of the 2 UPN's I have on satellite. On satellite, the compression is awful and the picture quality, while no pixelation is apparent, is not as crisp and clean as UPN 48. How much bandwith is required for an HD channel and SD channel. You only have like 15 megs to work with, right?

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #275 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jspENC
Why doesn't FOX just use the WYDO tower for HDTV? They could put it up about 1000ft higher and go with 500,000 watts. I would think this would be cheaper than using 2 short towers...

I think this is because somewhere along the way, the signal would interfere with a neighboring market or they (WFXI/WYDO) wouldn't be able to cover the entire DMA. But if you look at their signal, it actually spreads out offshore. At least the fish in the ocean, could watch Fox, if they had tv's i mean... *LOL*

But seriously, I am kinda surprised since they are partnered with WNCT for news that they haven't talked about climbing on their tower. Up in NYC, WCBS is utilizing a combiner to allow the "big 6" to share their tower space on the Empire State Building. In fact, I think they are all testing their full power this week or by the end of the year. Seems to me, it would be cost effective for both WNCT and WFXI/WYDO. But what do I know? *LOL*

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #276 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken12
Because when I set it up I set it for -3. The official Call Sign is WCTI DT I am not going to change it until I'm sure I could do so legally. We have talked about ABC news Now and a 24 hour weather channel. But until the technology is good enough that I don't degrade ABC or our UPN signal I am totally against adding another channel

Ken

About the call sign, WITN7.2 uses RADAR
WRAL 5.2 uses WRAL NC (news channel)
UNC KD (KIDS)
UNC HD
UNC ED (EDUCATION)
UNC NC (NORTH CAROLINA)


Channel 17.1 17.2 17.3 WNCN Raliegh Durham
There 17.2 NBCSD looks compressed but 17.3 the new weather plus from NBC is sharp.
I could live with ABCHD UPN and ABC NEWS NOW COMPRESSED.

I thought 4 SD were all you could air at once but on a site I saw they show 6 at once.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #277 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jamielee
Ken you should change 12-3 call sign to UPN48 instead of WCTI DT [/b]

I was wondering about this too. On Dish Network, UPN 48 is advertised as GCTI. What's up with that? GlobalCTI? Just weird. *LOL*

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #278 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using 5 mbit for Upn and 14 for ABC 14 is good for a 720P signal you would need a little more for a 1080i signal. I've tried using 2.5 for UPN and there were to many digital artifacts for me. Although I do know that across the country there are a lot of stations using 2mbit. I'm not going to say we will not do it a some point in time but until the technology improves I'm against it. I believe Directv and Dish both use about 2mbit for locals and about 5mbit for premiums

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #279 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think dish uses GCTI for Greenville CTI, cause UPN48 WCTIDT may mix up with WCTITV12
Directv just uses UPN as its call sign.

heres a link
www.myfreehdtv.com/index.html

scan down to see multicasting

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #280 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jamielee
About the call sign, WITN7.2 uses RADAR
WRAL 5.2 uses WRAL NC (news channel)
UNC KD (KIDS)
UNC HD
UNC ED (EDUCATION)
UNC NC (NORTH CAROLINA)


Channel 17.1 17.2 17.3 WNCN Raliegh Durham
There 17.2 NBCSD looks compressed but 17.3 the new weather plus from NBC is sharp.
I could live with ABCHD UPN and ABC NEWS NOW COMPRESSED.

I thought 4 SD were all you could air at once but on a site I saw they show 6 at once.

Jamielee,

You are right about NBC 17, it looks alright. I'm kinda not satisfied with their 17.2 channel. It looks kinda blocky with fast motion, etc. But it looks like their Weather Plus is bandwith intensive.

If you look at WRAZ Fox 50. Their primary HD and 2 subchannels look great imho. You can tell their Weather Center channel doesn't require as much bandwith as Weather Plus. That's why their 50.2 looks so good and HD channel looks fantastic. When they are running football, you will occassionally catch a glitch or two (jerkiness) in the Weather Center Channel.

I do agree about the WCTI branding. Maybe WCTI HD and WCTI DT would be more appropriate for 12.1 and 12.3. And one day on down the road, WCTI WX on 12.2. *LOL*

BTW, have you heard anything more about WITN's plans for a news/weather channel around the first of the year?

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #281 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken you cant please us all, Keep up the good work!!!

WCTI has the best track record for getting HD up most of the time.
UPN seems to be better on Directv, still every so often we get a flicker but no wheres as bad as it was, the PQ is good.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #282 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jamielee
I think dish uses GCTI for Greenville CTI, cause UPN48 WCTIDT may mix up with WCTITV12
Directv just uses UPN as its call sign.

heres a link
www.myfreehdtv.com/index.html

scan down to see multicasting

Duh! Ok, that makes sense! I like it when we all talk. *lol*

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #283 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree, it's very rare for WCTI to drop the ball when it comes to "flipping the switch" for HD programs. And Ken does his best to let us know what happened and why. There have been many, many problems here lately with the other locals, but it's new tech. I guess we have to give them a break once in a while. At least we don't trash them like some other threads I've read on here. Some of those other markets have some nasty mouthed people busting the engineers chops!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #284 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just made some changes to the channel name for UPN that I can change I don't have a way to look at it right now to see how it works will check it out when I get home

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #285 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Call signs and channel names are two different things

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #286 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
12.3 is branding as UPN48 now.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #287 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV is still working on UPN I believe they will get it fixed just might take them a little while I had my assistant go up there and check the signal on the sly and it was pretty poor we informed them of the problem and offered to help in any way that we can.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #288 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

Just a heads up on UPN 48... Just to let you know, the guide is no longer showing Default Event for the "listings." It's now showing No Data. Like I said, just a head's up for you.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #289 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What ever you did, when I go to 12.1 it now shuts off my reciever, I can go to 12.3, UPN 48 is showing. But still cant tune to 12.1, shutting me down.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #290 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now working! must of had to get the updated PSIP.
Are titles coming soon?

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #291 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jamielee
What ever you did, when I go to 12.1 it now shuts off my reciever, I can go to 12.3, UPN 48 is showing. But still cant tune to 12.1, shutting me down.

Jamilee,

Have you tried rescanning for your channels to see if that corrects the problem? Do you notice the scratchiness in the sound on UPN 48 or is just my system?

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #292 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by easternncnewswat
Ken,

Just a heads up on UPN 48... Just to let you know, the guide is no longer showing Default Event for the "listings." It's now showing No Data. Like I said, just a head's up for you.

Ken,

Back to default event as opposed to no data. Thanks for your efforts and bearing with us!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #293 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Titles have to be discussed yet we will either have to do it manually or subscribe to a data service which is kind of costly I'm not sure when they will do it. I will push for it and keep you updated on what is going on.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #294 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HIRE ME I key the titles in manually. HA HA!

As far as WITNs weather channel, Mike Riddle as 7 emailed me said they are evaluating WEATHER PLUS from NBC. Its only been tested in about 10 markets now, will expand in early 2005, may add then.

I like it, hope WITN adds it.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #295 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The scratchiness you hear is when my operators don't set there record levels properly when the record the shows and it is a lot more unforgiving on digital then analog. I'll get on there ass some more about watching levels

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #296 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm headin home to watch my HDTV If I see any problems I will correct them from home

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #297 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here 10 miles NE of washington FOX 8 with a 100 mile ant and preamp NO SIGNAL.
14 fuzzy, better in the last few weeks, still snowy.
in side of washington with a small antenna its clear.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #298 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

Thanx for everything today. The default event at least works with my stb so that I can "tune" to your channel automatically. I wish the other stations would all do this so we could use the "reminder" function that is built in to our systems. Now, I at least have a CBS, ABC, UPN, PBS, and ABC News Now.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #299 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken while youre playing with your new toy, how about lable 12.1 WCTI HD.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #300 of 9185 Old 12-06-2004, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Done

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off