Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

Maybe you can take 1 meg and give us the "SkyCam 12" channel on 12.2! *ROTFLMAO* That would be a hoot!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then I couldn't zoom in on the girls on the beach without getting in trouble

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #303 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*ROTFLMAO* So, that's what you do in your down time!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #304 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See, with the SkyCam 12 Network channel, the station could partner with a radio station, overlay some music, and market it as a tour of eastern NC. Think of it, partner with top 40 and you got the Summer Scenes channel, partner with elevator music, and you got the Relaxation channel, etc. The possibilities are endless! *LOL*

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #305 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by jamielee
Ken while youre playing with your new toy, how about lable 12.1 WCTI HD.




Thanks Ken


Im all for the SKY CAM NETWORK!!!

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #306 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sky Cam net sounds like a great idea Ken!!
jspENC is offline  
post #307 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had a problem at the transmitter for analog all fixed now.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #308 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I noticed it was out during news time.
jspENC is offline  
post #309 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Question for anyone who knows...
Does WNCT own the Tower in Grifton or is it WITN? I know there are FM radio stations on that tower - WNCT FM and WITN FM or is it WERO 93.3

From the FOX discussion earlier...
I would think WYDO could get a different frequncy allotment if interferenc is an issue and get on a taller tower and make it directional toward the Southeast. Then everyone would have a chance for a signal.
jspENC is offline  
post #310 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jspENC,

Afraid I don't know. You could probably find out by punching in the call letters on the FCC website. But the whole idea sounds great about them getting on one tower as opposed to two, but I've been wondering why they were on two since they first signed on years and years ago. Although I believe at that time, WYDO didn't even exist. It was just WFXI.

It would be cool if some of the other station engineers would look in and join in on the discussion. The Norfolk market has an awesome discussion thread where the engineers from all the stations participate in the thread. I think they feel it's very beneficial to hear what their viewers have to say. At least we're fortunate enough to have one who takes our comments, suggestions, etc. and participates with us.

It's awesome that we're now up to 16 pages on this thread. I remember a time when Jamielee was wondering if anyone would ever participate. And look where we are now!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #311 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
easternncnewswat
I didn't know this place existed. It was just luck I found it. I saw Jamielee posting over at dbstalk and searched for discussion boards and ended up here. Maybe the other station engineers don't know about this place like Ken12 does?
You are right about 14 not coming on at the same time 8 did. 8 came on in 1989 and 14 came on in 1992. Both towers are barely over 500' high.
jspENC is offline  
post #312 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Oh I was going to mention also that I have heard the PAX 38 engineer on another board say that their tower is the shortest UHF tower he has ever seen, yet it comes in almost clear down here and 14 doesn't come in at all.
jspENC is offline  
post #313 of 9284 Old 12-06-2004, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting you mention this about Pax, because you are right. I get Pax 38 clear as a bell here in Gville. Fox 14 is not even watchable with an indoor amplified antenna. Yet Fox 50 from RDU comes in better at my house. Go figure.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #314 of 9284 Old 12-07-2004, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken12,

Is there anyway to keep the "Default Event" in the program guide instead of "No Data?" I really want to be able to use the reminder function in my system and it doesn't work with "No Data." Or does this info have to be entered manually? If so, I can understand why you wouldn't want to plug that in every day. Thanx for the info in advance!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #315 of 9284 Old 12-08-2004, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to do just that. I do have to do it manualy but it is not that big of a deal.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #316 of 9284 Old 12-08-2004, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ken12,
Can you help the folks over at FOX 14 or would that get you in trouble with 12? They seem to need some guidance on how to provide a decent signal...

I also have another question if you can answer it. Why was it so difficult to get the UPN signal up on cable down here in Jacksonville? I remember when 48 first went up that Cox cable got the signal up fast, but TW drug their feet. IT made me so angry that time the Carolina basketball game was blacked out. The company tried to blame your station for the problem. That is when I got rid of the cable and got Directv and a antenna. Then TW finally turned 48 on. They cancelled out the stereo signal, so when I saw it on a friends TV I decided I didn't want it anyway. Cox cable allows the Stereo sound to pass through. TW also cut the Stereo sound on Pax 35 and FOX 8.
jspENC is offline  
post #317 of 9284 Old 12-09-2004, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe any engineer at a station in our market would help out the others if needed. And I would guarantee that all the engineers in this market do everything possible with the resources they are given to put out the best quality signal that they can. Even with fox I feel he is putting out the best possible signal with the equipment that he has.

As far as TW and UPN there were no technical issues delaying it just contract negotiations which I was not in the loop on and even if I was I couldn't talk about it.

Sorry about hitting late on Lost last night. (operator error) I have a lot of shift changes going on right now with people taking vacations for the holidays which is causing a few more errors than normal.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #318 of 9284 Old 12-09-2004, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Ken, I figured the cable thing was something you would not be able to answer. I guess the public is never let in on these things, even though we are the ones who keep cable going...
You are probably right about FOX. I bet they are doing all they can to keep on the air. I heard after one of the Hurricanes went through a while back, that they had parts being held together by duck tape. I don't know that for a fact, just getting it off a message forum, but it would not surprise me, as that is when I lost channel 14 down here.
jspENC is offline  
post #319 of 9284 Old 12-12-2004, 03:17 PM
Member
 
2Scoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Simpson
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WNCT just keeps screwing up their HD broadcasts. Since they can't get the volume right they seem to now be working on the broadcasts. Jets/Pittsburgh game not being shown in HD. Thank goodness for WRAL.

We need to bombard WNCT with emails complaining about their lack of quality. I have emailed Ms. Jones twice today complaining about their volume or lack of and their HD switching problem.

If other engineers took an interest in the HD broadcasts like Ken12 I think we would see a more reliable HD signal. Thank you Ken12 for keeping us informed on what is going on and reading this forum so we can at least let you know of any problems we might have with you station
2Scoops is offline  
post #320 of 9284 Old 12-13-2004, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amen brother,

Between Ken12, Lost, Desperate Housewives and ABC News Now, I'm all about ABC for the first time in a long time!

I still don't even have an HDTV yet. The picture quality from the ota stations is vastly superior to satellite even on an analog receiver with a stb. There's just more... depth to it or something. I've seen true HDTV at the big box stores, but even with a regular tv with a stb, the picture is so much cleaner and crisper.

All I want for Christmas is my very own HDTV!

Oh yeah, you're right about WNCT too. But tonight, I think it's a national problem, because WRAL isn't doing HDTV during Raymond. And that's unsual...

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #321 of 9284 Old 12-14-2004, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCTI must be having problems with their new psip equipment. 12.1 and 12.3 keep reverting to 48.1 and 48.2 on my stb. There is no a/v on 12.3 also. When it reverts to 48.2, it has a/v. I think the guys must be working to correct the problem. Just an fyi to everybody.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #322 of 9284 Old 12-14-2004, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having som problems with the PSIP I have had to disable 1t on 48-3 UPN. I am trying to work them out But it mite take a couple of days.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #323 of 9284 Old 12-14-2004, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ouch, Ken! I know that bites since you were so excited last week about your new equipment. Good Luck on working things out. I know we'll be keeping our fingers crossed for you!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #324 of 9284 Old 12-14-2004, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
cant get upn at all now, not on 12-3 or 48.2

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #325 of 9284 Old 12-14-2004, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, UPN went out completely shortly before Ken12 replied about their psip equipment.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #326 of 9284 Old 12-15-2004, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should be able to get UPN on 48-3 The equip manufacture is working on the prob.
Ken12 is offline  
post #327 of 9284 Old 12-15-2004, 11:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken12
You should be able to get UPN on 48-3 The equip manufacture is working on the prob.

Ken,

What package are you guys using?

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #328 of 9284 Old 12-15-2004, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TVLInx (Micronas) Its working fine for the the first virtual chanell but loses the stream info for the second chanell. They just tested it again with the same problem. They were going to talk to the programmer and call me back.

It is designed to work with the Harris Flexicoder but for some reason it only reads my primary stream automatically and the second stream I enter manually and it works until it updates and then wipes out my stream info and I have to reenter it
Ken12 is offline  
post #329 of 9284 Old 12-16-2004, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last night around 10pm my STB converted back to 48.1 48.2 with no PSIP. 12.1 cut off.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #330 of 9284 Old 12-16-2004, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here, but much earlier. More like 4 or 5 in the afternoon. As of today, only 12.1 is coming through on my stb. I'm sure Ken is working on resolving the issue.

Maybe the equipment needs another channel- 12.2! Maybe it can't distinguish 12.1 and 12.3. *lol* J/k, Ken12!

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off