Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 184 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 9197 Old 10-17-2008, 03:57 AM
 
Electrico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D* CH 360 FNCHD [ON] with DD 5.1!
Electrico is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 9197 Old 10-20-2008, 08:23 PM
Member
 
G-Vegas Caniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I experience sound drop on WITN 7 during HD telecasts. It's worse on sports stuff. Does anybody else experience this?
G-Vegas Caniac is offline  
post #5493 of 9197 Old 10-21-2008, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Vegas Caniac View Post

I experience sound drop on WITN 7 during HD telecasts. It's worse on sports stuff. Does anybody else experience this?

I haven't noticed it, but I haven't been watching WITN very much lately. I watch NBC out of Wilmington all the time now instead because they have Dolby 5.1 and are have HD news/weather. It even looks better than WRAL to me.

I went out and voted early today. I then saw a story on WNCT about early voting, but I guess it wasn't from the commons where early voting goes on, but not sure... By the way, all and any TV stations can cease with these political ads any time now!
jspENC is offline  
post #5494 of 9197 Old 10-21-2008, 07:31 PM
Member
 
G-Vegas Caniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jspENC, what type of over-the-air antenna do you use? I just ordered an indoor antenna that says it can pick up stations up to 50 miles away (which that's hard to believe but I will see when I get it). I would like to get a outdoor but my attic is very small and wouldn't work out good for wiring...
G-Vegas Caniac is offline  
post #5495 of 9197 Old 10-22-2008, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've got three different antenna's. A channel master 4221, a homemade version of a DB-4 that antenna's direct sells, and a Radio Shack U-75R UHF only. All of these are relatively small. I have found that the Radio shack works best for me. It is more directional, and I am a great distance from many channels. I also use a Channel Master VHF/UHF preamp. I am far enough away from the stations that a pre-amp doesn't get overloaded. If you live near the Grifton towers, and want to use a pre-amp, it would have to be a low gain one like 15 or 16 dbs. I think Winegard makes one of those, but the attic will probably do fine for everything but 12, that might take some probing around for. You can always take that antenna you ordered and stick it in the attic. That will be better than down near the ground, and trying to get a signal through the walls.
jspENC is offline  
post #5496 of 9197 Old 10-22-2008, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Crime and Investigation HD is now on DIRECTV 275

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #5497 of 9197 Old 10-23-2008, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
rudiontheradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I experience sound drop on WITN 7 during HD telecasts. It's worse on sports stuff. Does anybody else experience this?

It's been going on for more than a year, it happens during network news and prime time but seems more prevalent during sports...I've emailed Mike Riddle and I don't think they hear it!

They also have a timing error when they go to local wx during the Today show. The screen glitches when they switch over from network to local.
rudiontheradio is offline  
post #5498 of 9197 Old 10-23-2008, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
RMartin631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudiontheradio View Post

I've emailed Mike Riddle and I don't think they hear it!

They also have a timing error when they go to local wx during the Today show. The screen glitches when they switch over from network to local.

There's a lot of stuff going on with the local stations. 14 has that repeating local spot issue where it shows the last 2 or 3 seconds of local commercials again after the commercial should be over.
RMartin631 is offline  
post #5499 of 9197 Old 10-23-2008, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMartin631 View Post

There's a lot of stuff going on with the local stations. 14 has that repeating local spot issue where it shows the last 2 or 3 seconds of local commercials again after the commercial should be over.

12 and ENC do that too. The spot will end, then try to start up again just before the next ad rolls.

I did finally catch a one second fine print legal ID on 12 one evening before the news started, but still no legal ID at the top of the hours I have checked, granted that is not a whole lot lately.
jspENC is offline  
post #5500 of 9197 Old 10-26-2008, 06:13 PM
Member
 
G-Vegas Caniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has WYDO moved there tower location? I've been getting lower signal's here in Greenville lately...
G-Vegas Caniac is offline  
post #5501 of 9197 Old 10-27-2008, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
 
RMartin631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Vegas Caniac View Post

Has WYDO moved there tower location? I've been getting lower signal's here in Greenville lately...

Nope. It's still sitting there blinking all night long. Maybe they're working on the TX.
RMartin631 is offline  
post #5502 of 9197 Old 10-27-2008, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I saw on WFXI (I think Friday) where they have a good legal ID now. The voice guy comes in and says "Trust Fox Eastern Carolina" and at the bottom of the graphic they have

WFXI -------------------- WFXI / DT
Morehead City, New Bern, Jacksonville

(before they didn't have WFXI DT)

The CW now has a legal ID like,

WNCT-TV / WNCT-DT Greenville
jspENC is offline  
post #5503 of 9197 Old 11-04-2008, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Directv has ELECTION MIX up now on
channels 102 and 352 in Standard Definition and High Definition.

8 feeds on one screen

ABC CBS FOX NBC

CNN FOXNEWS MSNBC BBC AMERICA

Has a Electoral count on the top and a live blog on the bottom of the screen.

You can move the yellow box over each screen to hear that feeds audio and then select to tune directly to that channel.

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #5504 of 9197 Old 11-05-2008, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, whether you're happy or not, at least the elections are over. Now maybe we can get back to regular HD programming...

I think this market needs to start doing like the triad and get those screens up for those DTV ready, and those who are not. It's getting really close now, and those converters need to be ordered. It may take some time for the coupons to come in, and if they wait till the last minute, people are going to be upset. I see lots of antennas out there on 24, and 258 that I bet are still being used.
jspENC is offline  
post #5505 of 9197 Old 11-07-2008, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
dx23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why the Bobcats NBA games are blocked on Dishnetwork?
Channels HD ALT 444, ALT 444, NBA HD 561, NBA 561, HD ALT 9515 and HD ALT 9561 are supposed to be showing the game, but all of them have the blackout message. The FSN South is showing the Hawks games.
dx23 is offline  
post #5506 of 9197 Old 11-07-2008, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody in greenville have experience calibrating speakers and subwoofers? If somebody knows how and wants to help me let me know. I'll pay you $20 lol. I have an Onkyo sr606 and my speakers are:

definitive technology procenter 2000
definitive technology promonitor 1000s
mirage nanosats
SVS 20-39pc+

thanks!
matthewmon is offline  
post #5507 of 9197 Old 11-08-2008, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dx23 View Post

Does anyone know why the Bobcats NBA games are blocked on Dishnetwork?
Channels HD ALT 444, ALT 444, NBA HD 561, NBA 561, HD ALT 9515 and HD ALT 9561 are supposed to be showing the game, but all of them have the blackout message. The FSN South is showing the Hawks games.

Dish Network is having a contract dispute with NBA LP. This seems to be the trend with Dish Network, always in a dispute with a provider.

http://www.multichannel.com/blog/350...670035867.html

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #5508 of 9197 Old 11-09-2008, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If you're watching WITN, you are not getting HD service right now while on WECT the show is in HD. I've noticed this happens quite often.
jspENC is offline  
post #5509 of 9197 Old 11-10-2008, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Mafflerbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some serious problems getting WITN in HD last night during Football. It wasn't until late 1st quarter that it suddenly came on.
Mafflerbach is offline  
post #5510 of 9197 Old 11-14-2008, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody in the greenville area have experience w/ an onkyo 606 receiver and calibrating speakers/subwoofer? I could use some help, so pm me if you think you can. thanks!
matthewmon is offline  
post #5511 of 9197 Old 11-17-2008, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
zerocoolbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can somebody post the QAM channels via suddenlink in greenville nc. physical and representation channel. i looked at post number 4001. it seems updated.
thank you.
zerocoolbeans is offline  
post #5512 of 9197 Old 11-18-2008, 06:46 AM
Member
 
piratefan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Channel Master 4228 (thanks to WRAL) mounted on a pole 20' feet up. When I point it towards Raleigh, I can pick up 11.1, 17.1, 22.1, 28.1, & 50.1. In the past, I could pick up 5.1. Now, however, it doesn't come in.

Do you guys have any ideas as to why this channel won't come in?

thanks,
piratefan2 is offline  
post #5513 of 9197 Old 11-18-2008, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Operating from an auxiliary antenna at reduced height until February, since they had to replace their antenna at the top of the tower before the Winter ice storms. If you receive the rest okay now, WRAL will come in at that time.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #5514 of 9197 Old 11-18-2008, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I do not receive WRAL DT either since the implementation of the aux. antenna. They have that antenna aimed to the northwest in a very directional manner. It doesn't radiate any farther east than Goldsboro basically.

Since we are talking about coverage, on WCTI this morning, they talked about the NOAA weather radios and showed the coverage areas of each transmitter. (New Bern, Warsaw, Wilmington, and Tarboro) I found that Jacksonville is really close to the fringe, and I guess that's why mine doesn't always pick up the signal when bad weather is coming in. Very interesting though, and a good message to get out to the public, especially after what happened last weekend.
jspENC is offline  
post #5515 of 9197 Old 11-18-2008, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
At times during the day I get breakups on WRAL, but overall it's still pretty viewable. I did lose it on the Magnavox converters one night, but the Digital Stream converters still kept the signal just fine.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #5516 of 9197 Old 11-18-2008, 12:01 PM
Member
 
piratefan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies. I will be patient and wait for them to go back to full-strength.
piratefan2 is offline  
post #5517 of 9197 Old 11-19-2008, 03:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be conducting a hard test of our digital transmitters for WCTI and WFXI tonight from 2 to 4 am. We will be up on chan 8-1 and 12-1. 48 and 24 as well as our analog will be off air during that time. I will post here when we are actualy up.

I doubt if many will be up at that time but if you are you will need to rescan to pick up the signals. If you pick us up please post here and let me know.

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #5518 of 9197 Old 11-19-2008, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ken I saw where you can now go to 42kW on WFXI after the switch. That looks to be a great improvement over what analog 8 used to reach.
jspENC is offline  
post #5519 of 9197 Old 11-19-2008, 05:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Aww, and I'm not home to try and DX for it. =(

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #5520 of 9197 Old 11-19-2008, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

Ken I saw where you can now go to 42kW on WFXI after the switch. That looks to be a great improvement over what analog 8 used to reach.

That is correct but that will not happen in FEB the transmitter that I currently have will not make the required power. I will let you know more when I do

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off