Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 9238 Old 02-09-2005, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Griff Thomasson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I,m nuts-------- so be it - I am going to try a 91xg long range antenna along with a vhf antenna and see what happens - Just ordered the antennas ----
Line of site issues are that the Wraz tower is 1989 feet up in the air --- curvature of earth is 8 inches per mile - no hills by topo map from Garner to here-- so if I get above tree line - may be able to get fox 50- if not fox 26 for sure-
Griff Thomasson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 9238 Old 02-09-2005, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Ken12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
foxeng is you analog channel 48?

Ken
Ken12 is offline  
post #633 of 9238 Old 02-09-2005, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ken,
channel 12 analog looks dark right now at the start of the big game.
jspENC is online now  
post #634 of 9238 Old 02-09-2005, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken12
foxeng is you analog channel 48?

Ken

No. 48 here is......................................UPN! (Serious, UPN 48, WUPN-TV, Sinclair, their DTV is 33) Our analog is 8 (yeah, FOX 8) and our digital is 35.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #635 of 9238 Old 02-09-2005, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ive gotten your analog station all the way down here more than once foxeng! I was surprised that a Fox channel would have news in the mornings. I have also gotten CBS 2 from that area. Rosemary the noon anchor on 2 used to be in Wilmington, and I was surprised she was in that area.
jspENC is online now  
post #636 of 9238 Old 02-10-2005, 04:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:


Originally posted by jspENC
Ive gotten your analog station all the way down here more than once foxeng! I was surprised that a Fox channel would have news in the mornings. I have also gotten CBS 2 from that area. Rosemary the noon anchor on 2 used to be in Wilmington, and I was surprised she was in that area.

We were ABC for years before we were FOX. We signed on in 1963 with ABC and remained ABC until 1995 when the group that owned us was bought by FOX and we changed. Since WFXI signed on in the late 80's, that is why they don't get into the western part of the market well and need channel 14. That is so they don't cause us interference since we were on first and if you live in the western part of the market, you will receive us at times.

I went to work for the station in 1992 and even then we had a one hour news block from 6 to 7AM, then GMA from ABC, and News at 5to 5:30PM and 6 to 6:30PM and then 11. After we went FOX we expanded the morning news from 6 to 8 and later to our current 5AM to 9AM and added a noon news and we had been doing 5 to 6:30PM for news for several years before FOX bought us and we moved the 11pm news to a full hour at 10. We do almost 40 hours of local news a week, more than any station in the state. We have been in a news sharing agreement with WCTI for years and if you see stories from the Triad, they are from us. Watch closely for the FOX mic flag. We try and remove those for the stations we share with, but sometimes it doesn't work out that way. I think I had previously mentioned that Jamie Turner on WCTI and her husband Alan used to work at the station. She was a reporter/anchor and Alan was videographer. Alan is out of the biz now. He hurt his back and couldn't really tote all that equipment anymore. He runs a store in New Bern last I heard. They both know me very well.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #637 of 9238 Old 02-10-2005, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Picked up a LG HD Tuner/ HD DVD player yesterday at CC just to see what it would do. Its got a QAM tuner on it I wanted to see if COX had any free digital channels on the system, heres what were unscrambled.

UNCTV
UNCKD
UNCED
UNCNC
WRALHD
WRAL NEWS
WITNHD
WNCTHD
WCTIHD
INDEMAND PPV PREVIEWS

Here on the Washington system subs cant get WRAL but it is on the system, and its available free with the qam tuner.
You can add logos to your channels, it appears its a old Directv logo index as it has Directv logos in the options,
only thing I dont like is you have to have cable hooked or Ant, not both and I couldnt find where you could get analog cable or ant to pass thru, only digital. $399 DVD quality is near HD.
Best buy has a Samsung 451 thats $249 that says qam capable, may try that one 1/2 the price.
WCTIHD

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #638 of 9238 Old 02-11-2005, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just read on the dish forum site where our locals are just temporarily on 72.5 and will be moving over to another sat. once it is launched later this year. Is this correct?
jspENC is online now  
post #639 of 9238 Old 02-11-2005, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Final channel elections are in!

WRAL-48
WTVD-11
WNCN-17
WLFL-27
WRDC-28
WRAY-42
WUNP-36
WRAZ-49

WUND-20

WITN-7
WFXI-8
WNCT-10
WCTI-12
WYDO-14
WUNM-19
WUNK-23
WPXU-34
WEPX-51

WWAY-46
WECT-44
WSFX-30
WUNJ-29

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #640 of 9238 Old 02-11-2005, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Griff Thomasson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JSP I understand the same thing , That the reason is that this sat. at 72 does not have the capacity "band width" was what I was told -- to carry the HD stuff - the new sat will---
Still waiting for my antennas to arrive--
Griff Thomasson is offline  
post #641 of 9238 Old 02-12-2005, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just got me a DIRECTV HD DVR, man Ive waited 2 years for this!!!

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #642 of 9238 Old 02-12-2005, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Cool Jamielee,
Did you take back the HD DVD box? Do you have both directv and cable? I was at CC tonight and saw they had a directv HD DVR for $900 is that really how much they all cost!?
What HDTV set do you have?
jspENC is online now  
post #643 of 9238 Old 02-12-2005, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The HDDVR is $999.
I have Directv, have basic cable $6.46month on to save me $10 a month on my High speed internet thru Cox.
HSI is $39.95 month for Cox cable customers and $49.95 for non customers. Dont use cable for TV just HSI.
I have a samsung 32" flat screen HDTV

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #644 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
agregjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Value Electronics has a deal for users of the satelliteguys.us forum where you can get the HD DVR for $799.

http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=47729

Greg Jones
agregjones is offline  
post #645 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The HD DVR I was looking at was a CC open box value. Still you would only save $100
jspENC is online now  
post #646 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No PSIP on WUNM or WPXU.
jspENC is online now  
post #647 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Griff Thomasson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don,t know if this will do any good but I just filed and excutive complaint with News Corp about our local mess ----
My antennas will be in tomorrow see what theyw ill do---- suppose to rain so it may be a few days before I can get them up----
Stl feed of 14 was very pro quality------ for Daytona - bummer ---
Griff Thomasson is offline  
post #648 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hope you have good luck griff, I wonder if we should all file a complaint? If you get a response let us know, it is just rediculas. I am getting such good signals out of all other stations...

WCTI audio seems monural though, I am only getting sound out of the middle speaker on my Pro logic receiver... on UPN as well. WWAY audio is much better.

7, 9 19, 35, 39 all have great audio engineers if you are reading.
jspENC is online now  
post #649 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jspENC
Hope you have good luck griff, I wonder if we should all file a complaint?

Well, not to burst any bubbles, but complaining to News Corp definitely isn't the answer. You're at the corporate level and unfortunately we're not dealing with an O&O of Fox, which is a subsidiary of News Corp, I believe.

If we're going to complain to anyone, we should complain to whoever it is that owns Fox 8/14. And even then, I don't think it'll make much of a difference. I think it's pretty obvious that the corporate parent of Fox 8/14 is interested in investing in these station(s). Wonder if 8 really will come on the air in April? Time will tell...

Btw, did WITN change something about their Live Doppler 7 on 7.2? For some reason it just looks different to me... More texture or something? I realize it's zoomed right now, but maybe my eyes are playing tricks on me.

Grammy's looked really awesome on WNCT tonight; audio was better on WRAL though.

Did anybody see that promo for TV 12 News at 11 on Sunday night? I caught the tail end of it during Desperate Housewives where it said they were going to show high definition sonograms? Is WCTI going to broadcast a segment of their news in HD tonight? Or are they being tricky, tricky with their advertising? *LOL*

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #650 of 9238 Old 02-13-2005, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tricky tricky... The ad definately said high definition 3d images... tsk tsk tsk

*ROTFLMAO*


Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #651 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 03:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Actually, it might be an answer. The way I heard it, Fox had wanted as many stations as possible to have an HD Super Bowl. I was told that Fox was eventually going to set a deadline for it.

It's not like HD is that terribly expensive for Fox stations. Fox is PROVIDING much of the necessary equipment for them, like the splicer and the satellite and whatnot. I was told by my local affiliate they were doing HD because Fox provided much of the expensive equipment!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #652 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
7.2 does have a different doppler background. It is not as dark and the terrain is not shown. I kind of liked the old map better.
Interesting what trip said about FOX, I wonder if ours is the last one not on air?
jspENC is online now  
post #653 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt our Fox is the last on the air, but then again...

Thanx for letting me know I'm not crazy and the Live Doppler 7 is different.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #654 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sometimes they have it with out the roads on it, it looks clearer that way.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #655 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
easternncnewswat,

Your website is really good. I forgot to mention earlier I checked it out. I wish I could get my new motorola 100 to pick up RDU stations better, of course my samsung would not get them either... only when I turned the antenna at the right time. I sold my other set to a friend and bought this motorola because I thought it might have a better tuner, but it does not.
jspENC is online now  
post #656 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx jspENC,

I'm still trying to work on some design elements for my website and get some more news elements worked into it too. The thumbnails weren't really working for me on the previous version of my web page. I've tried to make the pages load as quickly as possible for those that may come across it that are still on dial up, like me. Quite hard to do actually when I've got that many screenshots. I had screencaps of the intro to Star Trek Enterprise that I really wanted to put on the WCTI UPN 48 section, but I didn't want to drag down the page loading since I have so many WCTI screencaps anyway.

I really wish I could get some more channels myself, but I actually bought an outdoor antenna about a month or so ago and it was a lot more directional than my current set up. I was having trouble locking on to almost everything. Still, if a few more of the RDU channels would go full power, I might be able to pick them up.

Maybe as those new tuners come out, they'll be able to pick up more channels- no matter how weak the signals are coming to you.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #657 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is so strange, I get Wilmington stations at a stronger level than our stations except WECT. WWAY at 90% WUNJ at 100% WECT nothing at all!

WITN 65% WNCT 60% WCTI 60% WUNM 70% No pixelation on any except the strongest station which is WUNJ. It will drop from 100 to 0 for no reason! Any ideas on what could be causing this anybody?
jspENC is online now  
post #658 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Griff Thomasson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eastern - Like your web site !! What antenna did you try ?? I talked to the people at antenna web and they recommended the 91xg ultra long range UHF antenna ---- I have figured out how to get it up 40 ft in the air - see what it will do ------
From my past experience when you complain directly to coperate about a franchise - they take it seriously --- see what happens ----
I agree with JSP good signals from all the other stations - so why not our local fox !!!! They have spent a fortune on getting the top programming but it,s not worth a flip If we can,t get it ---
Griff Thomasson is offline  
post #659 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
easternncnewswat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Griff, I actually don't have an antenna per se... I'm using a simple coax cable hooked to the remains of a dish satellite minus the lnbf arm. That coax runs into, now, a 12 dB amplifier to stabilize my signals. I can get the same channels minus the amplifier but it, the amplifier, seems to give me a constant signal with fewer breakups. Sounds a little wacky, I imagine, and jamielee has been on me to post a picture of it, but I haven't made the time to do it yet. Yeah, yeah, I know, I'm a total slacker! *LOL*

Prior to that, I used a 45 dB amplified RCA set of rabbit ears, which gave me the same channels minus WB22 and often WCTI 12 and 48. This other set up works for me.

Both were (are) placed behind a loveseat in my living room on the floor under a window that faces the southeast. This is the only "sweet spot" I've found in my house that gives me all the channels at once.

Thanx for the words about my website. I hope to add some more stuff to it soon!

I'd like to get myself an outdoor antenna, but I think I'm going to hold off on that until the next house. Planning a move to the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area in the next year or so. Like everything that could/may change. Just have to see how things pan out.

In that event, if I move, I'll be playing with the Norfolk channels and seeing if I can pick up Richmond and maybe anything from NC. One things for sure, if I move, I'm gonna miss the hell out of WRAL and their HD and even SD presentations via multicasting.

I hope your antenna, 40 ft up in the air, works for you. I may need some advice from you if I make the move to Virginia to see if I can get some NC stations!!!

I do think the more of us that call/e-mail/write to Fox, whether local or national, we do seem to get some movement from them. If we could organize our protest, maybe we could get faster movement and not just a simple crawl.

Geo
All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
easternncnewswat is offline  
post #660 of 9238 Old 02-14-2005, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anybody have their STB hooked up to Dolby Digital SS? I am wondering if UPN carries this. I need an optical cable before I can hear it. I know CBS ABC NBC UNC carry it.
jspENC is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off