Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 270 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
RMartin631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

Directv was great 10 yrs ago. Now they have added so many junk channels I can't hardly flip through it. They are also becoming quite expensive. The only way to reduce your bill is to threaten to shut it down, then they start to cave and make offers. Keep saying no and they will practically give you half off.

They tried this when I dropped them last year. The lady was going on and on. I told her, "Look lady, when I hang up this phone I will no longer be a Directv customer. We can either do this the nice way or we can get ugly. It's your choice." At that point she stopped trying to get me to stay and simply closed my account.
RMartin631 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2012, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMartin631 View Post

They tried this when I dropped them last year. The lady was going on and on. I told her, "Look lady, when I hang up this phone I will no longer be a Directv customer. We can either do this the nice way or we can get ugly. It's your choice." At that point she stopped trying to get me to stay and simply closed my account.

I may close mine in the next month or so. We don't watch TV enough to keep on with it, and most of the time the broadcast channels have what we need. I am keeping it going for now until after March Madness.

Who do you have now for TV, or do you just watch shows on-line? I am thinking of just buying some Blu-Ray video's/movies and be done with it.
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
RMartin631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

Who do you have now for TV, or do you just watch shows on-line? I am thinking of just buying some Blu-Ray video's/movies and be done with it.

I went with Suddenlink when we moved. We have 6 tvs and at the time Directv couldn't accomodate that many. We have 2 tvs on HD boxes and the rest are SD unless a particular tv's tuner will get the HD signal. We have phone and 10 meg Internet too. All I can say about Suddenlink is they don't give this service away.

I prefer the Directv boxes over the Suddenlink boxes.
RMartin631 is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:40 AM
Member
 
singletons11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To anyone that can help - specifically directed to "jamieh1" due to his knowledge and location in Washington.

I live in Washington on the eastern side - near Beaufort County Community College.

I was trying to help my mom out by getting her an OTA HD antenna so that she can eliminate her DirectTV bill. I noticed that you(jamieh1) have the Channel Master 4228HD. Do you have this mounted in the attic or on the roof? Do you know if any indoor models will work ok for my location instead of the outdoor?

Just was trying to find out some information on selecting and placing an OTA HD antenna for my specific area and you seem to know what you are doing.

Thanks.
singletons11 is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have it mounted outside about 25-30 foot high.
Im not sure about any indoor antennas.

Try this site, enter your address it will show a map, click SATELLITE tab in the top of the map, zoom in to see your location. You can drag the map around and you will see a X place it where you will have your antenna. It will show you which direction to point your antenna .

http://www.antennaweb.org/Address.aspx
I live about 4 miles from the college and I get the following stations.
2.1 UNCHD Columbia
2.2 UNCKD
2.3 UNCEX
7.1 WITNHD
7.2 WITN Me/MyTV
7.3 WITN Live Doppler 7
8.1 WFXI HD
8.2 BOUNCE
9.1 WNCT HD
9.2 WNCT CW
12.1 WCTI HD
12.2 WCTI LiveWell
12.3 WCTI THIS TV
14.1 WYDOHD
14.2 Bounce
19.1 UNCHD Jacksonville
19.2 UNCKD
19.3 UNCEX
25.1 UNCHD Greenville
25.2 UNCKD
25.3 UNCEX
38.1 ionHD
38.2 qubo
38.3 ionlife

I also get these channels generally at night from Raliegh

5.1 WRALHD
5.2 WRAL THIS
17.1 WNCN HD
17.2 WNCN ANTENNA TV
22.1 WLFL HD CW
22.2 COUNTRY TV
28.1 WRDC HD MYTV
28.2 WRDC THE COOL TV
30.1 WRAY TCT HD
30.2 WRAY TCT
30.3 WRAY TCT FAMILY
30.4 WRAY TCT ESPANOL
50.1 WRAZ HD
50.2 WRAZ ME TV


If your mom has Suddenlink for internet and has a flat screen that has a qam tuner, most flat panel tvs thats come out in the last 5 years has one. Hook cable line to the tv and scan the channels
youll get
UNCHD
UNCKD
UNCEX
WITN WX
WITNHD
WITN ME/MY TV
WCTI HD
WCTI THIS
WNCT HD
WYDO HD
ION HD
SHOP NBC
WGN HD

These channels are available free in digital.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
They've redone antennaweb since I last used it. It still doesn't give me all the channels I pick up though.

I had a time getting all the channels to light up... here is where I ended up getting mine to show up, way off to the west...
LL
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Zenyatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
jspENC:
You are right. Just earlier tonight I had to wrestle with the "great" channel nine volume-from loud DD to blasting Stereo>lovely! As soon as I anticipated the commercials I reached for the remote mute button.

Home Theater Aficionado
Zenyatto is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
blueline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Washington Suddenlink and I seem to have lost most of the unencrypted QAM channels as of Friday. The only ones working are WGN and the PBS channels.

Anyone else experiencing this?
blueline is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a email from Suddenlink saying that the are giving me a speed increase until March 3rd. (speed trial) to 10mbps. But Im still at the same 1.5mbps I had. Anyone else seeing a speed increase.
www.speedtest.net
to check

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm on the 15mbps package and have seen no increase in speed. They raised the price recently though, of course. It's $65/month now.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also lost qam channels. When I try to rescan it gets stuck on ch 81. Will not scan passed it. I can jump up to 90 and it will scan on further.
Only channels that I get are 2-72 digitals, and WGNHD and Im getting Fuel and Fuel HD.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 02:41 PM
Member
 
blueline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post

Also lost qam channels. When I try to rescan it gets stuck on ch 81. Will not scan passed it. I can jump up to 90 and it will scan on further.
Only channels that I get are 2-72 digitals, and WGNHD and Im getting Fuel and Fuel HD.

Well this sucks. Think they will fix it?
blueline is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope so, there is one channel in the 80s range that if I tune to it, it will turn my tv off.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ive rescanned channels on my other tv's and Im getting all the channels plus Fuel and Fuel HD, also now getting WRAL and WRAL2.

However one tv still will not scan chs 181 182 183 184. locks up.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:09 PM
Member
 
blueline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post

Ive rescanned channels on my other tv's and Im getting all the channels plus Fuel and Fuel HD, also now getting WRAL and WRAL2.

However one tv still will not scan chs 181 182 183 184. locks up.

Im using windows media center and I'm only getting Fuel HD, Fuel SD and WGN, along with the old analog channels (2-72).

I thought they were regulated to provide lovcal market programming in clearQAM.
blueline is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueline View Post

I thought they were regulated to provide lovcal market programming in clearQAM.

They are.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueline View Post


I thought they were regulated to provide lovcal market programming in clearQAM.

I think the analog requirement ends this year sometime...
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:46 AM
Member
 
blueline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A friend of mine called customer service twice on Saturday about this. They told him that SL doesn't and never has provided this type of service. Both CSR's said that it was over the air programming, and that it must have stopped. Ha Ha.

My friend said that he is still getting WGN in HD, and that it cannot be OTA, because there is no antenna connected.

So much for calling SL for an answer. I'm just hoping that they were making some changes on Friday, and they didn't finish by end of day, and maybe it will be back to normal soon. If not, I'm gonna have to cancel my SL TV service, because clearQAM was the only reason I had it. Just cant stand that analog SD stuff. Ill have to look into an antenna. Oh well.
blueline is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Antenna's are your friend. They ALWAYS stay the same, and are always on duty. lol
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They have now got the qam channels on the same channel # as the digital cable boxs.
WYDO-102-0 and WITN 108-0 and so on.
However my samsung tv which is a 2007 model is only getting the digital channels 2-72 and preview channel and WGNHD.
My 2 newer samsungs are getting all the qam channels.
Im thinking it may be that this older tv might not be capable of tuning digital channels with a -0 after it.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:29 PM
Member
 
blueline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spent most of the evening on the phone with a really helpful SL tech. He said that they installed new equipment that has changed the TX freq of the QAM chennels, which also changed the channel mapping.

My Windows Media Center would not find anything other than WGN (because that one hasn't changed yet, but will be).

To make a long story a litlle shorter, I had to manually add the QAM channels in Media Center, and now all is good, The great tech provided me with the channel numbers to add and said that I could share them, so here they are. Hope this helps someone:

81-108 – WITN HD
81-138 - MyTV
81-166 - Weatherscan
82-101 - WYDO HD
82-109 - WNCT HD
82-148 - ENC TV
83-106 - WEPX HD ION
83-158 - ShopNBC
84-104 - UNC HD
84-112 - WCTI HD
84-136 - UNC EX
84-137 - UNC KD
blueline is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just now I was flipping through channels OTA and happened across the same promo for tomorrow's morning news playing simultaneously on 9.1 and 9.2.

No big surprise (sadly) it was visibly sharper and clearer on the standard def 9.2. I wonder if all the problems are just that 9.1 is being run on aging, obsolete equipment?
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 10:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most cableco's reshuffle QAM locations on a somewhat regular basis as part of system maintenance. If you lose local digital channels, a rescan will usually find them again unless the cableco makes a mistake.

Having said that, a number of cableco's have formally requested the FCC to allow encryption of all channels, which the NCTA supports. It looks like there is a reasonable probability this will be approved by the FCC, and at that point you'll need a cable box or CableCARD device (TiVo, PC) to get any channels.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
RMartin631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post

I got a email from Suddenlink saying that the are giving me a speed increase until March 3rd. (speed trial) to 10mbps. But Im still at the same 1.5mbps I had. Anyone else seeing a speed increase.
www.speedtest.net
to check

1.01 up, 10.79 down. I have the .800 up and 10.00 down package.
RMartin631 is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post

Just now I was flipping through channels OTA and happened across the same promo for tomorrow's morning news playing simultaneously on 9.1 and 9.2.

No big surprise (sadly) it was visibly sharper and clearer on the standard def 9.2. I wonder if all the problems are just that 9.1 is being run on aging, obsolete equipment?

I've noticed this also about 9.2 looking better. I try to avoid watching WNCT as much as I can. Also WITN HD looks pretty bad too. I like the radar, but seems since they tried to make it look sharper, it has ruined 7.1
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It appears SL is still working on the qam channels. WRAL and WRAL2 removed from Washington. Also they got WCTI ThisTV showing now. Once they get the -0 off the channel numbers they work.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has WRAL ever been carried on the Washington system before?
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I did a bit of an experiment with my antenna and pre-amp. Disconnecting the pre-amp and using just the antenna, vs. with the pre-amp. Then I disconnected the 3 way splitter I use and tested with just the antenna.

Here are the numbers... first with pre-amp and splitter... antenna pointed SW thoughout

Station - antenna,splitter & amp - no amp no splitter - splitter, no amp

--3/46------------90---------------------74----------------42
--6/44------------71---------------------71----------------44
--7/32----------30-54bouncing-------------47-----------------30 freezing
--9/10------------63---------------------50-----------------14no picture
--12-----------91---------------------90-----------------87
--14/47-----------75---------------------66-----------------37
--19-----------71---------------------72-----------------34 freezes up
--26/30---------78--------------------64-----------------32
--35/34---------90--------------------90-----------------77
--39/29---------59--------------------46-----------------14 no pic

So my conclusion is a pre-amp does nothing unless you use a splitter, then it makes up the difference, but does nothing to "boost" signals that aren't there. Thought it might help someone who was thinking they would find more channels just by using one line hooked to the pre-amp.
jspENC is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Zenyatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

I did a bit of an experiment with my antenna and pre-amp. Disconnecting the pre-amp and using just the antenna, vs. with the pre-amp. Then I disconnected the 3 way splitter I use and tested with just the antenna.

Here are the numbers... first with pre-amp and splitter... antenna pointed SW thoughout

Station - antenna,splitter & amp - no amp no splitter - splitter, no amp

--3/46------------90---------------------74----------------42
--6/44------------71---------------------71----------------44
--7/32----------30-54bouncing-------------47-----------------30 freezing
--9/10------------63---------------------50-----------------14no picture
--12-----------91---------------------90-----------------87
--14/47-----------75---------------------66-----------------37
--19-----------71---------------------72-----------------34 freezes up
--26/30---------78--------------------64-----------------32
--35/34---------90--------------------90-----------------77
--39/29---------59--------------------46-----------------14 no pic

So my conclusion is a pre-amp does nothing unless you use a splitter, then it makes up the difference, but does nothing to "boost" signals that aren't there. Thought it might help someone who was thinking they would find more channels just by using one line hooked to the pre-amp.

Your own chart values directly contradict that the amp is useless. The chart amp values clearly indicate a stronger Signal Strength when the amp is in use, HELLO?

Home Theater Aficionado
Zenyatto is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post

Has WRAL ever been carried on the Washington system before?

I use to get it qam, but the suddenlink digital customers didnt. Then a few years ago they took it off qam. Last week I was getting it again but it has now gone away.
Also as of today they have got the qam channels back up correctly where you can see them all.
They took the -0 off the channel number now they are working.

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off