Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 319 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2016, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WITN and a few local radio stations are featured on a website that profiles studio and transmitter facilities. There are some neat pictures on this link. http://www.fybush.com/site-20160617/

Eastern NC radio. http://www.fybush.com/site-20160610/

WRAL and a few Triangle radio stations are featured here. http://www.fybush.com/site-20160603/

More Raleigh TV and radio. http://www.fybush.com/site-20160304/

The VOA Greenville. http://www.fybush.com/site-20160415/




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Retspin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2016, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I can't see the WITN antenna on the top. I always look for it when I drive by, which is very rare!
jspENC is online now  
Old 06-30-2016, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
I can't see the WITN antenna on the top. I always look for it when I drive by, which is very rare!


To bad that they didn't give him an elevator ride to the top!
Retspin is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WRAL has just signed on an experimental transmitter on channel 39 broadcasting a next generation ATSC 3.0 signal. This is the same thing they did 20 years ago when they were first HD station on the air.

http://www.wral.com/wral-to-begin-br...logy/15815109/
Retspin is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Shoutout to our local stations who did the worst job I've ever seen covering the storm yesterday and overnight.

WITN seems to be pretending that if they ignore the fact they're off the air, it's not a problem. Been off the air since around 7:00 last night. They will not admit this or answer any questions about it.

WCTI either isn't maintaining their studio generator or had a failure, as they had several power outages that took them off the air. But they did actually say why they were off.

WNCT had a working signal but zero f***s to give.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
WITN is on the air by antenna I think, but cable it is not watchable. My antenna is bent down, so it isn't watchable there. From what I can see, they are not even covering the seriousness of the flooding. Their wx guy seems to have been giving the weather like everything is not that serious.

The other two are not on the air with news... Unbelievable. This is a disaster area, and they are showing normal programming. I guess they figure most have no power, but I was one of the lucky ones to have it all night, and never lost cable either.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
WITN is off on Time Warner, Dish, and Directv. I can't get a lock on their signal here in Winterville. We (seriously) can usually see WITN without anything plugged into the RF port on TV. Grifton tower is visible on a clear day from my front porch.

WITN is now actively denying there's a problem and even told me I should call Dish. Everything else on Dish is fine. Dish has the standard "we lost this local channel" slate up.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
The other two are not on the air with news... Unbelievable. This is a disaster area, and they are showing normal programming. I guess they figure most have no power, but I was one of the lucky ones to have it all night, and never lost cable either.
Remember 1999/Floyd when every station was on live for days straight? WNCT even rented a helicopter. What the hell has happened? Is it because Skip passed away and the old guard retired?
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
Remember 1999/Floyd when every station was on live for days straight? WNCT even rented a helicopter. What the hell has happened? Is it because Skip passed away and the old guard retired?
WECT has been on non stop since yesterday morning. Gannon and Patrick did an awesome job. WWAY, nothing hardly. Our stations next to nothing. 12 did the most that I saw. All these people I'm afraid that are flooded were not taking the casual weather reporting seriously. I was saying yesterday that nobody can read the storms like Skip. He would wake you up and get you moving.

WITN is blank now on cable. All 3 channels.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-09-2016, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You can't make this stuff up.

WCTI is running an INFOMERCIAL ABOUT BUYING A GENERATOR!!!!
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow, I thought it was me. I lost WITN last night too. I turned the antenna and couldn't get a lock at all even with the signal meter at 92%. WITN is always solid in Wilson. Maybe the wind damaged the studio to transmitter microwave link?
Retspin is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 01:11 PM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retspin View Post
Wow, I thought it was me. I lost WITN last night too. I turned the antenna and couldn't get a lock at all even with the signal meter at 92%. WITN is always solid in Wilson. Maybe the wind damaged the studio to transmitter microwave link?
At this hour I have a strong, steady signal locked in , but no programming. I would suspect that you are correct with the studio to transmitter link.

Last edited by mans147; 10-09-2016 at 01:14 PM.
mans147 is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They finally posted on facebook that the problem is their STL. Seems like they should have verified that before blaming everyone else. Do they not monitor their own signal?
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
They finally posted on facebook that the problem is their STL. Seems like they should have verified that before blaming everyone else. Do they not monitor their own signal?
Not only that, but they are mighty quick to come to conclusions when the viewer just wants to watch and support them. I don't get it.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-09-2016, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You would think that they would be required by the FCC to monitor the off air signal and know what the transmitter is doing! I guess they have a fiber feed to Suddenlink in Greenville since they said that Suddenlink wasn't affected.
Retspin is offline  
Old 10-09-2016, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They're back up OTA but it's a backup link for sure. PSIP on 7.1 just says "NBC" and .2/.3 are missing. Wonder what they're using.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-10-2016, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
They're back up OTA but it's a backup link for sure. PSIP on 7.1 just says "NBC" and .2/.3 are missing. Wonder what they're using.
Maybe they were trying to fix the encoder and wiped it with bleach bits.
Retspin and AndThenScottSays like this.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-10-2016, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
JSP, is WFXI on the air (if you can see it from Jacksonville)? It has been off the air on Dish since the storm. I can't see them OTA but WYDO is fine OTA.

It's strange because I thought Dish's POP is at WCTI/Fox studio and has a direct connection.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-11-2016, 02:48 AM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFXI is back OTA this morning.
mans147 is offline  
Old 10-11-2016, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I can't get WFXI OTA, but it was working via Time Warner last night at 10. I do not have my antenna installed at this time. I am considering taking out the heavy rotor, since I don't even use it these days, and adding a second antenna, like I used to do it many years ago even before DT. I think a UHF/VHF pointing north and a UHF pointing south is what would work best here.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
WFXI still out on Dish this morning
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 09:41 AM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFXI has a very low OTA signal with many breakups at my house since coming back on the air. All of my other OTA signals seem to be at near normal levels.

Last edited by mans147; 10-12-2016 at 01:05 PM. Reason: misword
mans147 is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I installed my UHF antenna again, and have it aimed at the Wilmington tower, and everything is perfect except WNCT. Signal runs from 50% most times to sometimes too low to show a picture . Looks like I will be needing that VHF HI if I want to keep a decent signal. WITN comes in solid now even with the back lobe. I don't think I need a combo, and it might make things worse. I have that pre-amp from RCA with the dual band input, and I think that will work nicely.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-13-2016, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mans147 View Post
WFXI has a very low OTA signal with many breakups at my house since coming back on the air. All of my other OTA signals seem to be at near normal levels.
WFXI is coming in for me today, even on my UHF. The balun I had on before must have been bad. I'm also picking up WADA-LD 43 very strong, whatever that is. It just says "no signal" in the center of the screen with a yellow triangle.
jspENC is online now  
Old 10-14-2016, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
"WCTI insiders say the station is barely keeping its head above water."

http://www.ftvlive.com/sqsp-test/201...-the-carolinas
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
WNCT refreshed the set and got the updated MG graphics that WNCN uses.

Also, Jaqueline Matter was quietly removed from the station. No word on why.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
Old 11-02-2016, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
WNCT refreshed the set and got the updated MG graphics that WNCN uses.

Also, Jaqueline Matter was quietly removed from the station. No word on why.
Looks nice. Too bad about Matter. The way you write it, makes me think they forcefully but quietly carried her out!.
difuse likes this.
jspENC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off