Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 322 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9631 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post
Ch 9 has had issues for a couple of months, I only see it during the CBS feeds. Video break up and audio issues. Its not been as bad for last week or so. Ive seen it over the air, on Directv and Suddenlink. Ive emailed ch 9, several different people. Never get a response.
That's hardly a surprise that you never got a response. I can't tell you the number of e-mail and facebook messages/posts that I have fielded from the public about it.

I brought this up to management a year ago before WRAL switched to NBC. NCT's video would always break up during Y&R and I was told that it was a problem that every CBS affiliate was experiencing during the show. Of course, that's not the case. Neither WRAL, at the time, nor WNCN currently, experience the problem. Of course, they air(ed) Y&R on delay. However, it is clearly something with NCT's satellite receiver and they either can't or won't fix it.
encnewswatcher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9632 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't think WNCT has a master control, they are hubbed out of Greenville SC and probably linked by fiber. Here's a link to a site that mentions the Media General hub for about a dozen CBS stations, which I'm sure includes WNCT.
https://www.fybush.com/site-20160311/
Retspin is offline  
post #9633 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Isn't all the equipment still local though? Its controlled remotely from Spartanburg but it's still all physically sitting at the WNCT studio.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
 
post #9634 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
Isn't all the equipment still local though? Its controlled remotely from Spartanburg but it's still all physically sitting at the WNCT studio.
Yes, that's correct.
encnewswatcher is offline  
post #9635 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Seems like it would be less risky to have master control done locally.
Retspin is offline  
post #9636 of 9659 Old 08-03-2017, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by encnewswatcher View Post
As I understand it, they reset the studio cameras. When they added the new lighting in the studio about a year ago, no one bothered to recalibrate the cameras to accomodate for the LED lighting. So for the past year, you and the rest of us in ENC have been looking at a washed out picture. It's a startling adjustment to anyone just tuning in. Having said that, and it's JMHO, I think the colors are brilliant now. But that's just me.
What was going on up there? They add lighting and don't adjust the cameras? No wonder it looks cartoonish now. They probably calibrated them too much... I watch other channels and their color looks so much less orange and blue.
jspENC is offline  
post #9637 of 9659 Old 08-04-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
WFXI is going on the air forever early next month. They are running an announcement on FOX saying to watch 14. Will 14 increase power?
jspENC is offline  
post #9638 of 9659 Old 08-04-2017, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
WFXI is going on the air forever early next month. They are running an announcement on FOX saying to watch 14. Will 14 increase power?
The problem isn't power, it's that they're directional with a null toward Morehead.

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wydo
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9639 of 9659 Old 08-04-2017, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't understand why they even have to have a null at all and just go omni.
Retspin is offline  
post #9640 of 9659 Old 08-04-2017, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They didn't want to waste power over the water, I guess, especially since WFXI covered that exact area. I don't see any reason they couldn't go omni now.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9641 of 9659 Old 08-04-2017, 02:43 PM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodardhsd View Post
Anyone else having issues with the audio on 9-1 lately? I'm getting frequent audio dropouts, but only on one TV. My un50ku6300 is the one with the issue. My older 720p Samsung is not having this issue.
I have also been having the same audio dropouts, mostly on my newest TV, a 55 inch 4K Samsung. VERY ANNOYING! I assumed that I was picking up some sort of electrical interference from within my home into my antenna system.. I am glad that I didn't take the time trying to isolate the cause. That would have been a total waste of time. Thank you for the heads up.
mans147 is offline  
post #9642 of 9659 Old 08-05-2017, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like WYDO is going to Ch 19 with a larger signal area
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1214.PNG
Views:	87
Size:	2.36 MB
ID:	2263660  

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market

Last edited by jamieh1; 08-05-2017 at 01:18 PM.
jamieh1 is offline  
post #9643 of 9659 Old 08-26-2017, 10:05 AM
Member
 
brice52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Older HD TV died Wednesday evening

Just installed a Samsung 40in 4KUHD and the color and motion are excellent
brice52 is offline  
post #9644 of 9659 Old 09-09-2017, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Suddenlink adds back viacom channels

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #9645 of 9659 Old 09-10-2017, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post
Looks like WYDO is going to Ch 19 with a larger signal area
I don't believe that map is correct. The signal is directional, and the reason it was directional to start with is they used the original digital WCTI DT antenna that used to be pointed toward the south for WYDO DT 47. Remember the original WCTI was on 48. The power level will in reality drop from 200 kW to 124kw. Channel 19 is much lower on the band and requires less power to cover the same area as channel 47. If I was deciding, I think I would have done a channel 8 VHF. Everyone needs a VHF antenna anyway around here, and the high band antennas people can buy are cheaper than the UHF now. VHF does better with the tall pines in our area. I can't even bring in WITN anymore. Even the motels around town are using the Wilmington TV stations, and only WNCT and WCTI are on the two that I stayed in.

WFXI is now gone, and some down east have found they have no FOX.
jspENC is offline  
post #9646 of 9659 Old 09-10-2017, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Greenville, NC - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
I don't believe that map is correct. The signal is directional, and the reason it was directional to start with is they used the original digital WCTI DT antenna that used to be pointed toward the south for WYDO DT 47. Remember the original WCTI was on 48. The power level will in reality drop from 200 kW to 124kw. Channel 19 is much lower on the band and requires less power to cover the same area as channel 47. If I was deciding, I think I would have done a channel 8 VHF. Everyone needs a VHF antenna anyway around here, and the high band antennas people can buy are cheaper than the UHF now. VHF does better with the tall pines in our area. I can't even bring in WITN anymore. Even the motels around town are using the Wilmington TV stations, and only WNCT and WCTI are on the two that I stayed in.

WFXI is now gone, and some down east have found they have no FOX.


I wonder if you are getting interference from WMBF in Myrtle Beach, also on channel 32. Ducting over the ocean would do it for sure. I know sometimes 107.9 gets clobbered in Atlantic Beach by another 107.9 in Myrtle Beach. Just an example.
Retspin is offline  
post #9647 of 9659 Old 09-13-2017, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
What was going on up there? They add lighting and don't adjust the cameras? No wonder it looks cartoonish now. They probably calibrated them too much... I watch other channels and their color looks so much less orange and blue.
I can't believe they still haven't fixed this. It looks ridiculous.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9648 of 9659 Old 09-14-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
I can't believe they still haven't fixed this. It looks ridiculous.
I'm glad you think so too. All they need to do is reduce the color 5-10% and the picture would look right. The black level looks good.
jspENC is offline  
post #9649 of 9659 Old 09-14-2017, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
I'm glad you think so too. All they need to do is reduce the color 5-10% and the picture would look right. The black level looks good.


Did WNCT ever turn up the surround channels or is it still 2.0?
Retspin is offline  
post #9650 of 9659 Old 09-14-2017, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retspin View Post
Did WNCT ever turn up the surround channels or is it still 2.0?
Retspin,
I cannot tell, since my home theater receiver is dead. Stuck by lightning back in late April/Early May at daybreak during a tornado warning. There was no time to pull the plugs since the lightning came from nowhere! I lost a TV, the stereo, and two cable boxes. I believe the zap came through the cable and into the HDMI ports. Maybe I can get a new one at a pawn shop, or see if I can get a repair done to the one I have.
jspENC is offline  
post #9651 of 9659 Old 09-14-2017, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Bummer, lightning can do some crazy damage. I've seen cards burned though with quarter sized holes but the fuses were still good.
Retspin is offline  
post #9652 of 9659 Old 09-21-2017, 02:58 PM
Member
 
joker305th's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
The problem isn't power, it's that they're directional with a null toward Morehead.
I'm using a ClearStream 2V-J3 antenna (60 mile range), and can't get CBS (WNCT channel 9) consistently or Fox (WYDO channel 14) at all. I'm in west Havelock.

Should I return the antenna for one with a greater range? Or am I out of luck?
joker305th is offline  
post #9653 of 9659 Old 09-21-2017, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joker305th View Post
I'm using a ClearStream 2V-J3 antenna (60 mile range), and can't get CBS (WNCT channel 9) consistently or Fox (WYDO channel 14) at all. I'm in west Havelock.



Should I return the antenna for one with a greater range? Or am I out of luck?


Have you tried tvfool.com? Just plug in your address and it will plot out all the stations available. The stations will be color coded on a chart and you can use the chart to pick an antenna. Antennas are supposed to be color coded according to their gain.
Retspin is offline  
post #9654 of 9659 Old 09-21-2017, 05:48 PM
Member
 
joker305th's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retspin View Post
Have you tried tvfool.com? Just plug in your address and it will plot out all the stations available. The stations will be color coded on a chart and you can use the chart to pick an antenna. Antennas are supposed to be color coded according to their gain.
Oh yes, I've tried many websites. And many compass apps. I should get both of those channels with an "indoor" antenna. But even though I've attic mounted it, and both are well within range, I simply don't get them.

I can receive WITN (41 miles away, according to tvfool), but cannot get WNCT (also 41 miles away and in the same direction). I can get WCTI (26.6 miles away), but not WYDO (also 26.6 miles away and in the same direction).

So is there "something up" with WNCT and WYDO, or do I need a different antenna?
joker305th is offline  
post #9655 of 9659 Old 09-22-2017, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
WNCT requires a VHF antenna. MCM electronics is where I got mine or look at Stellar Labs VHF Hi. I am the same distance from their tower as you are, and when I had just a UHF, I could not keep a steady signal. What you want to do is use a combiner to join the two antenna coax down at the ground. Do you have a pre-amplifier? If not, you may need one for WYDO. With that null towards the down east area, you will need a large 8 bay UHF antenna, or something like the Xtreme UHF yagi from Amazon. I cannot say for certain which would do better, but both should do the job. Do you get WUNM 19? They are also in the same location as 12 and 14, but UHF like 14. Do you get WTMH 21?

Last edited by jspENC; 09-22-2017 at 06:00 AM.
jspENC is offline  
post #9656 of 9659 Old 09-23-2017, 07:03 AM
Member
 
joker305th's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
WNCT requires a VHF antenna. MCM electronics is where I got mine or look at Stellar Labs VHF Hi. I am the same distance from their tower as you are, and when I had just a UHF, I could not keep a steady signal. What you want to do is use a combiner to join the two antenna coax down at the ground. Do you have a pre-amplifier? If not, you may need one for WYDO. With that null towards the down east area, you will need a large 8 bay UHF antenna, or something like the Xtreme UHF yagi from Amazon. I cannot say for certain which would do better, but both should do the job. Do you get WUNM 19? They are also in the same location as 12 and 14, but UHF like 14. Do you get WTMH 21?
Thanks for the update. The antenna I'm using is UHF/VHF. After some research, it appears the UHF range is 60+ miles, but the VHF range is 25.

Looks like new antenna time. Most of the antennas I'm seeing on Amazon (including the Xtreme UHF) only have 25 mile VHF range. Any suggestions for an attic mount?
joker305th is offline  
post #9657 of 9659 Old 09-23-2017, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Antenna ranges don't mean much. Gain is what you want to look at. VHF hi antennas like the stellar labs have a gain around 9, which is good. UHF antennas should have a gain of at least 10-12db. When you put an antenna in the attic, you can lose a lot of signal from the structure, and also receive reflections which can cause the signal to be a mess, and non watchable many times. If you can install the antennas outdoors, even if low to the ground, I would choose this over an attic most times. If you can get the antenna at the end of the attic where the towers are pointed, you will have the best chance. When you are trying to pick up a channel that is directional in the wrong direction, it can be very hard to site a spot that will give solid results. You will have to move the antenna around the yard, roof, or attic to find it because it probably won't be where you set up the first time.
jspENC is offline  
post #9658 of 9659 Old 10-19-2017, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
DeweyNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Suggestions?

Hi,
Washington NC (I noticed the OP is in Washington NC also)
Our area is level ground & I'm not up under trees

TV Samsung, Model-ln55b650t1fxza, Version-CN01 (roughly 7ys old)

Tuner-1x analog, 1x digital, part#BN40-00140A ,Specification-DTVS20FFL102A,DTVS20FFL102A,VSB / NT

A little history, in 2010 I dropped satellite & ran the R6 cable (roughly 30ft or so) center wire to a mounting screw that protruded through my metal roof thats facing the South. (roof installed 2009).
I could pick up most of the normal channels I’m getting now except for like the 38.1-6 (38.1 was come & go).

My normal channels below.
7.1 WITN-DT NBC (25.4miles, tower in Grifton NC)
7.2 My Network
7.3 ME-TV
9.1 WNCT-DT CBS (25.4miles, tower in Grifton NC)
9.2 CW
9.3 GET-TV
12.1 WCTI-HD ABC (35.7miles, tower in Trenton NC)
12.2 DECADES
12.3 ENC-TV
14.1 WYDO-HD (FOX) (35.7miles, tower in Trenton NC)
14.2 BOUNCE
19.1 WUMN-TV (UNC-EX) (35.7miles)
19.2 UNC-TV
19.3 ROOTLE
19.4 NCCHL
25.1 WUNK-TV (UNC-TV)
25.2 ROOTLE
25.3 UNC-EX
25.4 NCCHL
38.1 WEPX-TV/DT (ION) (25.6miles, tower in Grifton NC)
38.2 QUBO
38.3 ION-LIFE
38.4 SHOP
38.5 QVC



(1st)
Well last year I installed a old antenna that looks sort of like the
Winegard-HD7694P
wwwwalmartcom/ip/Winegard-HD7694P-HDTV-High-Band-VHF-UHF-Antenna/19410169
or the
RCA-ANT3036WZ
wwwwalmartcom/ip/RCA-Outdoor-60-Mile-Antenna-With-Mast-UHF-VHF-and-HDTV/872034

I replaced the wingnuts & its bolts with stainless hardware (the wingnut & bolts are attached to small metal wires that criss cross down the center of the antennas frame).
I also used 2 new Blackweb 50ft R6 cables to reach my tv.
wwwwalmartcom/ip/Blackweb-Quad-Shield-Coaxial-Cable-50-Feet/356820231
I used 3 of these standard cable connectors.
wwwwalmartcom/ip/RCA-VH66N-Coaxial-Cable-Feed-Connectors-2pk/20588593

Note: strangely I thought how the wide horizontal end of the antenna pulled channel 38.1 ION WEPX-TV/DT (25.6miles, tower in Grifton NC) in the best. I had to make sure I kelp that channel for my wife.

On very good weather & at late night to early mornings I could occasionally get the channels below.
The 22.1-3 channels normally are the 1st I pick up out of the list below.
22.1 WLFL-HD/DT (CW) (86.6miles) (between Auburn & Clayton NC)
22.2 STADIUM
22.3 TBD

4.1 WSKY-HD/TV (78miles, tower located in NC, near the NC-VA state line off hwy17)
4.2 Escape
4.3 Laff
4.4 Grit

11.1 WTVD-D1 (ABC) (87miles)
11.2 D2
11.3 D3 (tower located between Auburn & Clayton NC)

13.1 WVEC-HD/DT (ABC) (92.8miles, tower in Norfolk VA)
13.2 JN
13.3 ME-TV

21.1 WTPC-TV (TBN) (91.7miles, tower in Norfolk VA)
21.2 TCC
21.3 SOAC
21.4 ENLACE
21.5 SALSA

22.1 WLFL-HD/DT (CW) (86.6miles)
22.2 STADIUM
22.3 TBD

28.1 WRDC-HD/DT (MyRoc) (87miles, tower between Auburn & Clayton NC)(WRAL-TV Raleigh)
28.2 CHARGE!
28.3 COMET-TV (Comet)

33.1 WTVZ-HD/DT (91miles, tower in Norfolk VA)
33.2 ASN
33.3 COMET
33.4 TBD-TV


wwwtvfoolcom/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3de6a40f13d830e e
Its maybe at 25ft with my antenna about 2ft above the chimney.



Comparison at 20FT
wwwtvfoolcom/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3de6a4e521a6935 6

Comparison at 30FT
wwwtvfoolcom/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3de6a41587bcf41 5


(Note: the 12.1-3 channels that get consistently were the only channels that didn’t have full bars so I tested my adjustments etc off these channels)

I was hoping to try & draw those occasional channels in better so I decided to try an amp that came with a new RCA1702WZ/ ANT702Z antenna kit, onto my old antenna.

(Note: the 12.1-3 channels I get consistently but didn’t have full signal strength so I tested of them.)

RCA instructions said to install the amp near the tv but I found there was a major difference with the amp in between the 2 50ft cables comparing to the having the amp installed at the tv, like 2-3 bars out of 10.


Now with the RCA1702WZ/ ANT702Z antenna mounted on the chimney & the amp installed in between the 2 50ft cables I'm now getting full bars on those 12.1-3 channels like maybe a increase of 3bars out 10.
I then used a splitter (I had previously removed its internals & soldered together the center sections) & attached the both antennas & the signal bars feel way off so I then removed the splitter & left the RCA1702WZ/ ANT702Z hooked up.
I still didn’t get those occasional channels after the install but later this evening (about 6pm) I started getting the 22.1-3 channels 0-3bars out of 10 on the signal scale (Ive never picked them up this early in the evening).

Now its 9pm & the signal is stronger, its 3 bars from being full.
Also I will note that the RCA1702WZ/ ANT702Z antenna will not function at all without its amp connected & I cant find any info on this amp.


Thanks for any incite


.
DeweyNC is offline  
post #9659 of 9659 Old 10-19-2017, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
DeweyNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Its not pretty but the antenna was given to me & I had a scrap piece of aluminum I used for the stand, looks to missing a couple bars lol.
The small plastic mount on the right side is where I did a quick mount of the RCA antenna.

I was curious to whats inside the RCA antenna so this is it.

Also a picture of the amp that came with the RCA antenna


.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2887.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	1.38 MB
ID:	2301372   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2886.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	2301374   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2879.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	2301376   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2878.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	1.25 MB
ID:	2301378   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2877.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	2301380  

DeweyNC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off