Greenville, NC - HDTV - Page 322 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9631 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post
Ch 9 has had issues for a couple of months, I only see it during the CBS feeds. Video break up and audio issues. Its not been as bad for last week or so. Ive seen it over the air, on Directv and Suddenlink. Ive emailed ch 9, several different people. Never get a response.
That's hardly a surprise that you never got a response. I can't tell you the number of e-mail and facebook messages/posts that I have fielded from the public about it.

I brought this up to management a year ago before WRAL switched to NBC. NCT's video would always break up during Y&R and I was told that it was a problem that every CBS affiliate was experiencing during the show. Of course, that's not the case. Neither WRAL, at the time, nor WNCN currently, experience the problem. Of course, they air(ed) Y&R on delay. However, it is clearly something with NCT's satellite receiver and they either can't or won't fix it.
encnewswatcher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9632 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't think WNCT has a master control, they are hubbed out of Greenville SC and probably linked by fiber. Here's a link to a site that mentions the Media General hub for about a dozen CBS stations, which I'm sure includes WNCT.
https://www.fybush.com/site-20160311/
Retspin is offline  
post #9633 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Isn't all the equipment still local though? Its controlled remotely from Spartanburg but it's still all physically sitting at the WNCT studio.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
 
post #9634 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
Isn't all the equipment still local though? Its controlled remotely from Spartanburg but it's still all physically sitting at the WNCT studio.
Yes, that's correct.
encnewswatcher is offline  
post #9635 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Seems like it would be less risky to have master control done locally.
Retspin is offline  
post #9636 of 9651 Old 08-03-2017, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by encnewswatcher View Post
As I understand it, they reset the studio cameras. When they added the new lighting in the studio about a year ago, no one bothered to recalibrate the cameras to accomodate for the LED lighting. So for the past year, you and the rest of us in ENC have been looking at a washed out picture. It's a startling adjustment to anyone just tuning in. Having said that, and it's JMHO, I think the colors are brilliant now. But that's just me.
What was going on up there? They add lighting and don't adjust the cameras? No wonder it looks cartoonish now. They probably calibrated them too much... I watch other channels and their color looks so much less orange and blue.
jspENC is online now  
post #9637 of 9651 Old 08-04-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 29
WFXI is going on the air forever early next month. They are running an announcement on FOX saying to watch 14. Will 14 increase power?
jspENC is online now  
post #9638 of 9651 Old 08-04-2017, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
WFXI is going on the air forever early next month. They are running an announcement on FOX saying to watch 14. Will 14 increase power?
The problem isn't power, it's that they're directional with a null toward Morehead.

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wydo
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9639 of 9651 Old 08-04-2017, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't understand why they even have to have a null at all and just go omni.
Retspin is offline  
post #9640 of 9651 Old 08-04-2017, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They didn't want to waste power over the water, I guess, especially since WFXI covered that exact area. I don't see any reason they couldn't go omni now.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9641 of 9651 Old 08-04-2017, 02:43 PM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodardhsd View Post
Anyone else having issues with the audio on 9-1 lately? I'm getting frequent audio dropouts, but only on one TV. My un50ku6300 is the one with the issue. My older 720p Samsung is not having this issue.
I have also been having the same audio dropouts, mostly on my newest TV, a 55 inch 4K Samsung. VERY ANNOYING! I assumed that I was picking up some sort of electrical interference from within my home into my antenna system.. I am glad that I didn't take the time trying to isolate the cause. That would have been a total waste of time. Thank you for the heads up.
mans147 is offline  
post #9642 of 9651 Old 08-05-2017, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like WYDO is going to Ch 19 with a larger signal area
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1214.PNG
Views:	77
Size:	2.36 MB
ID:	2263660  

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market

Last edited by jamieh1; 08-05-2017 at 01:18 PM.
jamieh1 is offline  
post #9643 of 9651 Old 08-26-2017, 10:05 AM
Member
 
brice52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Older HD TV died Wednesday evening

Just installed a Samsung 40in 4KUHD and the color and motion are excellent
brice52 is offline  
post #9644 of 9651 Old 09-09-2017, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Suddenlink adds back viacom channels

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #9645 of 9651 Old 09-10-2017, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieh1 View Post
Looks like WYDO is going to Ch 19 with a larger signal area
I don't believe that map is correct. The signal is directional, and the reason it was directional to start with is they used the original digital WCTI DT antenna that used to be pointed toward the south for WYDO DT 47. Remember the original WCTI was on 48. The power level will in reality drop from 200 kW to 124kw. Channel 19 is much lower on the band and requires less power to cover the same area as channel 47. If I was deciding, I think I would have done a channel 8 VHF. Everyone needs a VHF antenna anyway around here, and the high band antennas people can buy are cheaper than the UHF now. VHF does better with the tall pines in our area. I can't even bring in WITN anymore. Even the motels around town are using the Wilmington TV stations, and only WNCT and WCTI are on the two that I stayed in.

WFXI is now gone, and some down east have found they have no FOX.
jspENC is online now  
post #9646 of 9651 Old 09-10-2017, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Greenville, NC - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
I don't believe that map is correct. The signal is directional, and the reason it was directional to start with is they used the original digital WCTI DT antenna that used to be pointed toward the south for WYDO DT 47. Remember the original WCTI was on 48. The power level will in reality drop from 200 kW to 124kw. Channel 19 is much lower on the band and requires less power to cover the same area as channel 47. If I was deciding, I think I would have done a channel 8 VHF. Everyone needs a VHF antenna anyway around here, and the high band antennas people can buy are cheaper than the UHF now. VHF does better with the tall pines in our area. I can't even bring in WITN anymore. Even the motels around town are using the Wilmington TV stations, and only WNCT and WCTI are on the two that I stayed in.

WFXI is now gone, and some down east have found they have no FOX.


I wonder if you are getting interference from WMBF in Myrtle Beach, also on channel 32. Ducting over the ocean would do it for sure. I know sometimes 107.9 gets clobbered in Atlantic Beach by another 107.9 in Myrtle Beach. Just an example.
Retspin is offline  
post #9647 of 9651 Old 09-13-2017, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
What was going on up there? They add lighting and don't adjust the cameras? No wonder it looks cartoonish now. They probably calibrated them too much... I watch other channels and their color looks so much less orange and blue.
I can't believe they still haven't fixed this. It looks ridiculous.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #9648 of 9651 Old 09-14-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
I can't believe they still haven't fixed this. It looks ridiculous.
I'm glad you think so too. All they need to do is reduce the color 5-10% and the picture would look right. The black level looks good.
jspENC is online now  
post #9649 of 9651 Old 09-14-2017, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
I'm glad you think so too. All they need to do is reduce the color 5-10% and the picture would look right. The black level looks good.


Did WNCT ever turn up the surround channels or is it still 2.0?
Retspin is offline  
post #9650 of 9651 Old 09-14-2017, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retspin View Post
Did WNCT ever turn up the surround channels or is it still 2.0?
Retspin,
I cannot tell, since my home theater receiver is dead. Stuck by lightning back in late April/Early May at daybreak during a tornado warning. There was no time to pull the plugs since the lightning came from nowhere! I lost a TV, the stereo, and two cable boxes. I believe the zap came through the cable and into the HDMI ports. Maybe I can get a new one at a pawn shop, or see if I can get a repair done to the one I have.
jspENC is online now  
post #9651 of 9651 Old 09-14-2017, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Bummer, lightning can do some crazy damage. I've seen cards burned though with quarter sized holes but the fuses were still good.
Retspin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off