Jackson / Meridian, MS - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1895 Old 01-24-2006, 12:21 PM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got WLBT to come in over my indoor antenna. I was wondering if you guys can explain what channels are HD (with regards to NBC and PBS)? With NBC I am getting 3-1, 3-2, and 3-3. PBS is 20-1, 20-2, and 29-1. Also, is there any fix with the Directv program guide listing many of the local channels as "Regular Schedule"?

Thanks,
Justin
obladi6703 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1895 Old 01-24-2006, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Kevin D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hattiesburg, MS, USA
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawggone View Post

I have a square shooter mounted on my 2nd story roof on a 6 foot mast pointing just west of south. It has a pre-amp and an amplifier. I pick


Take off the the preamp, amp, or both.. You are probably boosting the signal too much.

Kevin D.

AVS
Hattiesburg, MS
Kevin D is offline  
post #363 of 1895 Old 01-25-2006, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You might try a different antenna. The website hdtvprimer.com does test on alot of popular antennas and he says the Squareshooter model is horrible on all vhf channels.

http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/comparing.html

you might try a channelmaster 4228.
from ridgewood road area with 2nd story hieght, unless you have other tree/terrain problems you should be able to get a decent signal on all local ota,---with a better antenna.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #364 of 1895 Old 01-25-2006, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obladi6703 View Post

I finally got WLBT to come in over my indoor antenna. I was wondering if you guys can explain what channels are HD (with regards to NBC and PBS)? With NBC I am getting 3-1, 3-2, and 3-3. PBS is 20-1, 20-2, and 29-1. Also, is there any fix with the Directv program guide listing many of the local channels as "Regular Schedule"?

Thanks,
Justin

3-1 would be the hd channel, IF/WHEN they do show a program in HD. alot of the time so far they have not flipped the "hd switch" and the HD shows are being sent in sd.

not sure about pbs i haven't watched it in awhile, try titantv.com for guides and what is in hd.

join us and call, complain and email to directv about the regular schedule listing for 3-1 and 35-1 and the pbs channels. also email to zap2it.com and Tribune media services at tms.tribune.com
they are the companies that supply tivo/directv with the guide info.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #365 of 1895 Old 01-26-2006, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
Dawggone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin D and DSSTurbo 1, thank you for your input. I will disconnect the amplifier 1st (since it can be done without climbing in the roof) then do the pre-amp if that doesn't do the job. Then I will try a different antenna if still needed. Is the Time Warner HDTV package worth getting, or it as cost inefficient as the DISH or DTV package?
Dawggone is offline  
post #366 of 1895 Old 01-26-2006, 07:47 AM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having two channel 35-1 showing up on my program guide. One of them doesn't come in, but the other does. Any ideas why this is, or what this is?

Justin
obladi6703 is offline  
post #367 of 1895 Old 01-26-2006, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
GulfcoastAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hattiesburg MS
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to drop in and say hi to the forum. I live up here in the Hattiesburg area and have the same grips as yall about only picking up NBC ( which is unstable at times, but could be my old antenna). I've tried to get info out of cbs of when they will be up , but no luck. Also wanted to thank Kevin for the plug in an earlier post for coastcal. I am the other tech for them on the coast. If I see any post I can be helpful in I will try to respond.

Thanks
Joe
GulfcoastAV is offline  
post #368 of 1895 Old 01-26-2006, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obladi6703 View Post

I am having two channel 35-1 showing up on my program guide. One of them doesn't come in, but the other does. Any ideas why this is, or what this is?

Justin

sfjr mentioned it in earlier post and my hd tivo does it also.

don't know why it does it or how to fix it.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #369 of 1895 Old 01-26-2006, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
welcome to the avs forums joe.

more people more answers = happy hdtv'ers, lol. good luck with cbs down there.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #370 of 1895 Old 01-27-2006, 09:42 PM
Newbie
 
Dawggone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I disconnected my amplifier and things dropped to 60's on ABC and PBS,low 50's for CBS, and below 50 for NBC, so I hooked it back up. I don't think that is it. I will try a different antenna.
Dawggone is offline  
post #371 of 1895 Old 01-28-2006, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
volsmokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
erratic signal anywhere from 0-90%. All the others digital signals are stable and terrific even if they aren't in HD. Does anyone have any suggestions out there? Contact method at WJTV that anyone has known to get a response? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!
volsmokey is offline  
post #372 of 1895 Old 01-28-2006, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably on your end smokey.
i am in brandon, have a large outdoor rca antenna got from home depot for about $60, 10 feet up on pole, i do have some tree issues and a small hill problem, I use a mits dlp with atsc tuner and directv hr10-250 hd tivo with atsc tuners and both get a decent solid signal. the direct hr10-250 shows a signal streght for wjtv usually in the higher 80's. wapt dt and wlbt dt about the same.
wdbd and wfux digital come in about 70-75, not sure if they are full strenght yet, they are not true hd yet either.

what type tuner/equipment do you use? how far and what direction are you from the towers, any other issues, line of sight terrain etc..? have you tired an attenuator from radio shack.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #373 of 1895 Old 01-29-2006, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
volsmokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

probably on your end smokey.
i am in brandon, have a large outdoor rca antenna got from home depot for about $60, 10 feet up on pole, i do have some tree issues and a small hill problem, I use a mits dlp with atsc tuner and directv hr10-250 hd tivo with atsc tuners and both get a decent solid signal. the direct hr10-250 shows a signal streght for wjtv usually in the higher 80's. wapt dt and wlbt dt about the same.
wdbd and wfux digital come in about 70-75, not sure if they are full strenght yet, they are not true hd yet either.

what type tuner/equipment do you use? how far and what direction are you from the towers, any other issues, line of sight terrain etc..? have you tired an attenuator from radio shack.

Thanks for the response. Yes, I have tried the radio shack attenuator and most recently a 12dcb powered signal amplifier. I am using a 56" Samsung DLP with DishNetwork HD receiver. My off air comes from a Radio Shack U-75R mounted in my attic. My towers are from 253-266 degrees. I have the antenna pointed at 265 degrees since WJTV is at 266 degrees. WJTV is the closest of all at 16 miles. The most puzzling thing to me is that it is so darn erratic. 0-90% In my eyes, there is no way I could be receiving 0%. Man, if you had any ideas I would sure appreciate it. Thanks!
volsmokey is offline  
post #374 of 1895 Old 01-29-2006, 02:01 PM
Member
 
jeffmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
volsmokey,

try positioning your antenna so as to reduce the signal strength on WJTV...like at 240deg or so and see if the signal becomes more stable. It sounds like your problem is similar to what I was having...that is the signal was just too strong and was overloading my receiver (zenith dtv1080). However, an attenuator solved my problem. The overload problem seems to depend on the receiver...some handle it fine, while others can't. I also have a sanyo hdtv with built-in tuner and it never had problems with WJTV, eventhough it was hooked up to the same antenna.

Jeff
jeffmc is offline  
post #375 of 1895 Old 01-30-2006, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
83dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pickens, MS
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard the latest on Jackson's FOX station? When are they going to flip the HD switch?
I am more than ready to watch 24 in HD glory.
Thanks much!!!
83dawg is offline  
post #376 of 1895 Old 02-04-2006, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
BrawnyDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any getting the ne Dish HD Chanels?
BrawnyDawg is offline  
post #377 of 1895 Old 02-05-2006, 10:06 AM
Member
 
msu89dawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm new to the forums, and am a total neophyte to OTA antennas, since I've used either cable or DirecTV since the early 80's. I just bought a DTV HR10-250, and got a Terk HDTVA indoor antenna.

After much fiddling with the HDTVA, I can get a solid signal on WAPT, with a solid signal in the low 70s. Most of the time, I get similar signal strength from WJTV, although this morning it has been all over the place, and pretty much unwatchable. WLBT and everything is a no-go.

I would really prefer another indoor antenna, although if need be I'm willing to put an outdoor antenna in my attic (outside is out of the question; my wife has already made enough concessions about my HT addiction).

After doing some looking around, my first inclination is to try the Radio Shack 15-1880, which I've read some good things about. If anyone else can give a recommendation for an indoor antenna, I'd appreciate it. TIA for any help.
msu89dawgs is offline  
post #378 of 1895 Old 02-05-2006, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try the RS one since you can get it local and easy return if doen't work ok.
a zenith silver sensor is a decent indoor antenna, usually can get one through amazon for under $30 shipped.

might try the indoor up in the attic, higher is better usually, even with indoor antenna.

if those don't do it try a Channel master 4228 in the attic.

nbc is channel 9 vhf so any antenna you gets need to pick up vhf also.

Some uhf antenna do ok picking up vhf in the higher vhf frequency. (like the CM 4229)

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #379 of 1895 Old 02-05-2006, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

try the RS one since you can get it local and easy return if doen't work ok.
a zenith silver sensor is a decent indoor antenna, usually can get one through amazon for under $30 shipped.

nbc is channel 9 vhf so any antenna you gets need to pick up vhf also.

Some uhf antenna do ok picking up vhf in the higher vhf frequency. (like the CM 4229)

I also would recommend the Radio Shack...

The only thing I would add here is that you will NOT be able to pick up NBC with the Zenith Silver Sensor. It is a great indoor antenna for picking up UHF channels, but it is not able to pickup VHF well at all. I had one, and loved it, until NBC came online - then I hooked up my old Terk indoor with rabbit ears. My signal strength went down on the UHF channels, but I was able to get NBC. I still hold a grudge against NBC for going VHF .
SFjr is offline  
post #380 of 1895 Old 02-08-2006, 09:13 PM
Member
 
msu89dawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone who replied to my post. I went ahead and got a VU-75XR outdoor antenna from Radio Shack; with a mounting pole, it cost a few dollars less than the HDTVa did. Before taking it in the attic, I assembled it and hooked it up to my HD DVR. I got a solid 92 from WJTV, an 83 from WAPT, a 93 from WLBT, and in the 70s from PBS. I also can pick up the WB station; I haven't checked it for signal strength yet. Needless to say, I'll keep it. I don't figure the signal strength will lessen by putting in the attic, as it'll be higher. Also, I didn't have to reorient the antenna to get the reception numbers listed above, or use an amplifier. I plan to mount it tomorrow night; it'll be nice to have all of the available local digital broadcasts.

When D* (I'll self-censor) gets the Jackson channels in digital later this year, if there's no delay, I'm keeping the OTA channels as well. It'll be nice to have in the event of rain fade from the satellite, plus I can definitely tell a difference in the picture quality from the local OTA channels and the compressed HD channels in the HD package.
msu89dawgs is offline  
post #381 of 1895 Old 02-10-2006, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
glad you got it going dawg, just in time for the olympics and nascar daytona 500 next week.

doubt jackson dma area will make directv mpeg4 locals this year

wlbt was asleep at the hd switch thursday night

anybody emailed wufx/wdbd to see if they have any updated dates on true HD? last emaiul i had from them said Nov maybe and Jan 06 for sure, ....that didn't happen

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #382 of 1895 Old 02-10-2006, 08:33 PM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question,

What is the point of WLBT's 3-3 channel? Isn't it just a waste of bandwith?
Are there any plans for the local news to be broadcast in HD?

Justin
obladi6703 is offline  
post #383 of 1895 Old 02-11-2006, 12:11 PM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's 2 p.m. first day of Olympics and it looks like WLBT hasn't turned on the HD. Is this something that happens often? If so, how hard is it to turn on the HD? Is this something we have to expect being that we don't live in the most technologically advanced part of the country?
obladi6703 is offline  
post #384 of 1895 Old 02-11-2006, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WLBT has been doing better with regard to passing us the HD feed. But you will find this still happens way to frequently. It's pretty frustrating.
SFjr is offline  
post #385 of 1895 Old 02-11-2006, 04:07 PM
Member
 
backbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you really expect they would?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

last emaiul i had from them said Nov maybe and Jan 06 for sure, ....that didn't happen

backbonz is offline  
post #386 of 1895 Old 02-12-2006, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
Rohman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a Channel Master UHF/VHF antenna for OTA broadcasts (I live in Flowood off Old Fannin), and all of my HD signals come in crystal clear. However, my WLBT-DT (3-1) has no audio. My other local HDs do have audio. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Chris
Rohman23 is offline  
post #387 of 1895 Old 02-12-2006, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you get any audio on the other wlbt digital channels 3-2, 3-3?? what equipment and connections are you using?

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #388 of 1895 Old 02-12-2006, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
Rohman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DSS -

Yes, I get audio on 3-2 and 3-3...of course, I had the antenna sitting in my backyard while I tested the hookups. I moved it to the attic this afternoon, and haven't aligned anything yet, so I'm not receiving any signals from the antenna right now. I'll have to take more time tomorrow to correct that - or it could be the diplexers I used. I'm really hoping moving it into the attic isn't going to degrade my signal too much.

Anyway, I have a 37" Panasonic plasma (brand new as of Friday, and I'm loving it), and for simplicity's sake, I had nothing else connected to the TV, other than the antenna. I also tried routing through the DirecTV tuner, with the same results. This TV is for the bedroom, and will only be connected to a Sony DirecTV (T-60?) tuner and a DVD player (Sony too).

Please let me know if you have any suggestions and/or remedies for my plight!

Thanks,

Chris
Rohman23 is offline  
post #389 of 1895 Old 02-16-2006, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Rohman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...brought this thread to a screeching halt.

Any ideas - anybody??

(oh - fixed my attic problem, but still have the 1 HD channel audio problem)...
Rohman23 is offline  
post #390 of 1895 Old 02-16-2006, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if your getting sound from 3-2 3-3 don't know why nothing on 3-1. and you say 12-1 and 16-1 both work ok for adio also.

antenna into your tv and sound is from speakers on the tv, right.
guess you have checked out tv menu sound options.
3-1 here is a little lower sound so i just trn it up to compensate but does come through ok.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off