Jackson / Meridian, MS - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1915 Old 08-23-2006, 05:40 AM
Member
 
branan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well congrats! I know I sure tried as hard as I could when I first moved from NE Jackson (where I got every channel with my rabbit ears) to Vicksburg (where I've had to put that huge antenna up to get anything). I emailed and called every station manager in the area and they all told me that since they were about to increase their signal strengths I wouldn't need a waiver. ABC and CBS are strong signals, but I cannot get WLBT or Fox at all.
branan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1915 Old 08-25-2006, 07:02 AM
Member
 
jeffmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a heads up to let those know that Comcast is sending the locals in unencrypted QAM. I decided to test it out with my Sanyo HDTV last night and several channels in the 83-x to 84-x range came in. I didn't leave it connected, but from what I remember, they had both WJTV channels, the main WAPT channel, the main WLBT channel and the HD PBS channel. Fox and WB did not show up. It's worth mentioning that I do NOT have cable TV service, only cable internet.
jeffmc is offline  
post #543 of 1915 Old 08-25-2006, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
nbarham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am switching from Comcast to Dish Network in the next week or so. Since I will not be able to get my locals in hd anymore, I guess that I will have to hook up some sort of an OTA antenna. Does anyone here have any suggestions on a type of antenna or a certain installer...I really don't think that I should do this myself. BTW--I live right off Lakeland Dr. around Northwest Rankin High. Thanks in advance for the help
nbarham is offline  
post #544 of 1915 Old 08-29-2006, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
TopDog58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live a little farther down Hwy 25 and was able to pick up every channel just using a Terk antenna clipped on to the dish. I'm actually enjoying the HD dedicated channels for the "Big 3" and PBS on Comcast. The picture and sound are much more stable than what I was getting OTA.
TopDog58 is offline  
post #545 of 1915 Old 09-02-2006, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The antenna on the dish is a horrible excuse for an antenna , as I have said before in this forum. I would not expect anything from it and if you do get signal, would not count on it to be stable. The antennas you have seen on roofs for years had that shape for a technical reason, not just looks. The Lakeland area should have enough signal from our station, WAPT, to pick up with the very the simplist of antennas but the Terk is just not even in this category. Others please chime in and make suggestions. I am better at sending out the signal rather than receiving it. By the way, WAPT-DT has been at half power most of this week because one of our transmitters (the newest one) had a part die that we had to order. It was back to normal Friday afternoon.
Also, for all you ladies watching TV during the day, The View will move to HD beginning 9/5. No word when the soaps will be in HD from ABC.
Tom
tbondurant is offline  
post #546 of 1915 Old 09-08-2006, 12:06 PM
Member
 
wburnham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just spoke the engineering dept. at our local Fox 35, & they say they are in final testing & everything is hooked up to go HD...got to see it before I believe it.

They said it should only be another week or 2 before they are up & going...yeah right.

Here is their contact page. Email the GM or Chief Engineer & put the heat on:
http://www.gomiss.com/contactus.html
wburnham is offline  
post #547 of 1915 Old 09-08-2006, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
TopDog58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbondurant View Post

The antenna on the dish is a horrible excuse for an antenna , as I have said before in this forum. I would not expect anything from it and if you do get signal, would not count on it to be stable. The antennas you have seen on roofs for years had that shape for a technical reason, not just looks. The Lakeland area should have enough signal from our station, WAPT, to pick up with the very the simplist of antennas but the Terk is just not even in this category. Others please chime in and make suggestions. I am better at sending out the signal rather than receiving it. By the way, WAPT-DT has been at half power most of this week because one of our transmitters (the newest one) had a part die that we had to order. It was back to normal Friday afternoon.
Also, for all you ladies watching TV during the day, The View will move to HD beginning 9/5. No word when the soaps will be in HD from ABC.
Tom

Why? I was getting WJTV @ 98%, and WLBT and WAPT at or around 90% signal. The only complaint I had was with WAPT. Never could watch Lost last year because of the major lip synching issues.
TopDog58 is offline  
post #548 of 1915 Old 09-09-2006, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wburnham View Post

Just spoke the engineering dept. at our local Fox 35, & they say they are in final testing & everything is hooked up to go HD...got to see it before I believe it.

They said it should only be another week or 2 before they are up & going...yeah right.

Here is their contact page. Email the GM or Chief Engineer & put the heat on:
http://www.gomiss.com/contactus.html


Thanks for the update. Let's hope they don't stretch out the 'testing'. It'll be nice to get some more local HD. Can we assume they will also be passing HD for MyNetwork-35 as well as FOX-40?
SFjr is offline  
post #549 of 1915 Old 09-12-2006, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopDog58 View Post

Why? I was getting WJTV @ 98%, and WLBT and WAPT at or around 90% signal. The only complaint I had was with WAPT. Never could watch Lost last year because of the major lip synching issues.

Never had lip sync issues on our end. Some receivers have it worse thans others. You were just lucky with that antenna is all I can say.
Tom
tbondurant is offline  
post #550 of 1915 Old 09-13-2006, 04:56 PM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when wlbt will air Wheel and Jeopardy in HD?
The Today Show looked really nice today in HD.
obladi6703 is offline  
post #551 of 1915 Old 09-13-2006, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obladi6703 View Post

Does anyone know when wlbt will air Wheel and Jeopardy in HD?
The Today Show looked really nice today in HD.

Well, first of all you have the wrong station. Wheel and Jeopardy are on WAPT. Have always been.
For us to receive the King World shows in HD takes a $5000 receiver, and another $25,000 or more to be able to record it and play it back. So, it could be a while. I would love to do it and if I find a way, will do so. But, for now, it is SD for these shows. Sorry. BTW, the Today's show's competitor on ABC, GMA, has been in HD for a while & looks great!
tbondurant is offline  
post #552 of 1915 Old 09-13-2006, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
timtimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Rescanned channels on my usdtv box last nite. Audio but no video on abc. Anybody else or is it just me? Maybe i should scan again?

Thanks.

Tim

This ain't no upwardly mobile freeway, this is the road to hell.
timtimes is offline  
post #553 of 1915 Old 09-13-2006, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbondurant View Post

Well, first of all you have the wrong station. Wheel and Jeopardy are on WAPT. Have always been.
For us to receive the King World shows in HD takes a $5000 receiver, and another $25,000 or more to be able to record it and play it back. So, it could be a while. I would love to do it and if I find a way, will do so. But, for now, it is SD for these shows. Sorry. BTW, the Today's show's competitor on ABC, GMA, has been in HD for a while & looks great!


Hey Tom -

Why not just record it on a $250 HD-Tivo and then play it back and broadcast OTA?
SFjr is offline  
post #554 of 1915 Old 09-13-2006, 10:41 PM
Newbie
 
lostinHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I'm new to the forum has anybody heard of a new law that requires the local stations to great wavers if you have poor reception in your area, or neighborhood covenants that don't allow old style roof mount antennas?
lostinHD is offline  
post #555 of 1915 Old 09-14-2006, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostinHD View Post

Hi I'm new to the forum has anybody heard of a new law that requires the local stations to great wavers if you have poor reception in your area, or neighborhood covenants that don't allow old style roof mount antennas?

I believe this issue is still covered by SHVERA of 2004 (Satellite Home Viewer Extension and Reauthorization Act). I have not heard of any updates to this act - and if there were any, it would have been discussed in nauseum on the HD Programming forum here on avsforum.com.

If you cannot receive at least a grade B signal from the broadcaster, you may qualify as an "unserved household". This has more to do with distance than anything else. The fact that your neighborhood covenants do not allow roof mount antennas will not get you a waiver.

In Jackson and the surrounding areas it is next to impossible to get ANY station to grant you a waiver - poor reception or not.

You can go HERE to see what grade signal you are flagged as receiving from each of the local networks.
SFjr is offline  
post #556 of 1915 Old 09-14-2006, 07:00 PM
Member
 
obladi6703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pearl, MS
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tbondurant,

Thanks for the response. Is there any chance that your station's newsbroadcast will be in HD anytime soon? My wife and I always watch WAPT news (don't know how I screwed that up in my original post).

Thanks,
Justin
obladi6703 is offline  
post #557 of 1915 Old 09-15-2006, 07:12 AM
Member
 
wburnham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, if you have the HDTiVo from DirecTV, they are now rolling out the 6.3 software update that gives you folders in your now playing list....like the DirecTiVos have.
wburnham is offline  
post #558 of 1915 Old 09-15-2006, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostinHD View Post

Hi I'm new to the forum has anybody heard of a new law that requires the local stations to great wavers if you have poor reception in your area, or neighborhood covenants that don't allow old style roof mount antennas?

it is legal for you to put up an outside antenna no matter what your convenants say. same ole they may not like it but it is legal.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #559 of 1915 Old 09-20-2006, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you haven't noticed, WLBT is now broadcasting The Tube on channel 3-3 (used to be the SD digital feed). All music videos, all the time.

WLBT also failed to broadcast their season premiers in HD last night. Things had been running so smoothly...
SFjr is offline  
post #560 of 1915 Old 09-21-2006, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that sucks. step back not good.

i recorded Kidnapped wednesday night and it started out letterbox and turn to full hd about 20+ minutes into the show.

haven't checked it but why why music videos?? is this franks idea, LOL

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #561 of 1915 Old 09-24-2006, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
theperks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me or is FOX still not coming in in HD??

Also, I live in the Ridgeland area and cannot get WLBT to come in in HD. I can recieve every other channel fine in HD (except FOX which is not HD yet anyway) can anyone offer any advice? I am using a Terk antenna that i purchased from bestbuy and run it through my DISH dvr.
theperks is offline  
post #562 of 1915 Old 09-24-2006, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theperks View Post

Is it just me or is FOX still not coming in in HD??

Back on 9/8, wburnham said that WUFX engineering told him it would be another week or two - but we have all heard this before. It's been 2 weeks and I wouldn't get my hopes up for HD from FOX locally any time soon. You can read back through this thread and see where FOX has given us date after date and each date passes without any change. I take that back - they did have a change - they went back to FOX-40 from FOX-35 - makes a lot of sense to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theperks View Post

Also, I live in the Ridgeland area and cannot get WLBT to come in in HD. I can recieve every other channel fine in HD (except FOX which is not HD yet anyway) can anyone offer any advice? I am using a Terk antenna that i purchased from bestbuy and run it through my DISH dvr.

Is your Terk antenna a UHF/VHF antenna? WLBT comes in on channel 9 - which is VHF and they are not running on very high power. I also live in Ridgeland, and for me it is the hardest channel to pick up. I have an indoor antenna and my signal strength for WLBT is in the upper 60s/low 70s - which generally provides a solid picture with the occasional dropout. Most people I have talked to with indoor antennas have had to really play with the rabbit ears and get them near a window for any chance at success.
SFjr is offline  
post #563 of 1915 Old 09-25-2006, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
timtimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So why would anybody trust them about this? Seriously.

OT but needs to be said: I'm foursquare against torture and
will work my hardest to unseat any tyrant who supports it.
Ditto for the absolution of habeus corpus

Enjoy.

This ain't no upwardly mobile freeway, this is the road to hell.
timtimes is offline  
post #564 of 1915 Old 09-27-2006, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFjr View Post

Hey Tom -

Why not just record it on a $250 HD-Tivo and then play it back and broadcast OTA?

I have a Tivo HD deck and it does not output the proper format to be able to broadcast it. That sure would be nice and convenient and a bunch cheaper. Plus, the TIVO box will not record from the satellite that Wheel and Jeopardy use for HD feeds to stations. We can not "swipe" it from another station. It must be from the provider.
Tom
tbondurant is offline  
post #565 of 1915 Old 09-27-2006, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by obladi6703 View Post

tbondurant,

Thanks for the response. Is there any chance that your station's newsbroadcast will be in HD anytime soon? My wife and I always watch WAPT news (don't know how I screwed that up in my original post).

Thanks,
Justin

Wish we could do our local news in HD but that would be another 2-3 million dollars on top of the 3 millions we have spent already tojust get network HD out to the viewers. Equipment is getting cheaper and cheaper and hopefully, we will be able to do it sooner rather than later. I really am trying to do Wheel and Jeopardy in HD. That alone will be about a $35,000 investment.
Tom
tbondurant is offline  
post #566 of 1915 Old 09-28-2006, 04:22 AM
Member
 
wburnham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, an email I got from a local Fox engineer yesterday...

I got your e-mail, I'm still trying to find out where they are on the HD situation. One of the pieces we use to transmit in HD comes from the UK and I believe we had to ship that peice back and are waiting on a replacement from them. I think that's the situuation, but I'm not 100%, I'll let you know when I have a definite time-frame.
wburnham is offline  
post #567 of 1915 Old 09-28-2006, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
SFjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So Madison County - MS
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wburnham View Post

FYI, an email I got from a local Fox engineer yesterday...

I got your e-mail, I'm still trying to find out where they are on the HD situation. One of the pieces we use to transmit in HD comes from the UK and I believe we had to ship that peice back and are waiting on a replacement from them. I think that's the situuation, but I'm not 100%, I'll let you know when I have a definite time-frame.

Yet another rung on the ladder of misinformation from our local affiliate.

12/22/2004 - Local FOX station manager says they will be HD sometime in 2005.

12/18/2005 - Local FOX says they should be HD by January 2006

1/4/2006 - Local FOX station manager says FOX will broadcast HD by the END of January and WB sometime in March due to equipment problems

2/22/2006 - Local FOX station manager states that the deadline for HD is June 2006

6/26/2006 - Local FOX is to begin HD on July 3

8/11/2006 - Local FOX engineer says they are waiting on a part - hope to be HD by the start of the NFL season

9/8/2006 - Local FOX is in final testing for HD. Everything is hooked up - should only be a week or two away

9/28/2006 - Local FOX is waiting on a piece of equipment from the UK...the engineer does not even know if this information is accurate (huh?)

to be continued...

10/14/2006 - Local FOX transmits in HD!!!!
SFjr is offline  
post #568 of 1915 Old 10-01-2006, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
tbondurant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rez
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the HD Tivo box from Tivo and love it. It works much better than the old RCA/Thomson set top box I had for HD and I can record in HD Now. Even Ch. 3 comes in with a UHF antenna! Wonders never cease. Tivo sticks you for a signicant cost but what the heck.
tbondurant is offline  
post #569 of 1915 Old 10-07-2006, 04:12 AM
Member
 
danny7481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi, i live in brandon and am looking to get an OTA antena, according to antennaweb.com the locals are around 20miles from me, the wife dont really want an outdoor antenna so i was looking for an attic mount type, but not sure what type to get and amplified or not? any advice is appreciated, thanks.
danny7481 is offline  
post #570 of 1915 Old 10-07-2006, 04:13 AM
Member
 
danny7481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbondurant View Post

I bought the HD Tivo box from Tivo and love it. It works much better than the old RCA/Thomson set top box I had for HD and I can record in HD Now. Even Ch. 3 comes in with a UHF antenna! Wonders never cease. Tivo sticks you for a signicant cost but what the heck.

did you buy the tivo series 3? ive been looking at it, very nice!
danny7481 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off