Rochester, NY - HDTV - Page 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 2512 Old 09-30-2011, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
rickarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just looked it up and the antenna is a "Channel Master 4221HD Multi-Bay UHF Short Range HDTV Antenna", properly oriented to 243-244 degrees with a compass. mounted near the peak of my roof, probably 40' above ground. It's weird that only that channel is a problem.
rickarino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 2512 Old 09-30-2011, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Contact the station & see if there working on the tower. In Buffalo When WIVB started working on their tower they temporary moved their OTA feed to a secondary tower that uses less power than the main tower while they worked on it. Maybe Channel 10 is doing something similar. The only other thing i can think of is to check your antenna setup & make sure their's no problems with it.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1773 of 2512 Old 10-03-2011, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Tim9710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

I said it, that is of the major networks. Wxxi has problems too, but they don't run sports. It's my opinion, let others voice theirs.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned the downturn in quality on WROC since they added the 8.2 subchannel. NFL football looks much worse than in prior years. Constant artifacts whenever there is any motion. I think they have went from the best to the worst behind WHEC and even FOX. ABC looks pretty awful as well running 2 HD channels fulltime.

Kind of disappointing that we are going backwards in quality.

-Tim
Tim9710 is offline  
post #1774 of 2512 Old 10-24-2011, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Last night i got this message on my TW HD DVR "HDTV HD is currently Unavailable. Please Try Again Later". I was forced to watch the SD channel until it came back around 9:30PM. This morning the same problem happens on Lifetime HD but i can still watch the SD Channel. Has anybody else had this same problem recently?
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1775 of 2512 Old 10-24-2011, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
shibez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, NY(Greece)
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

Last night i got this message on my TW HD DVR "HDTV HD is currently Unavailable. Please Try Again Later". I was forced to watch the SD channel until it came back around 9:30PM. This morning the same problem happens on Lifetime HD but i can still watch the SD Channel. Has anybody else had this same problem recently?

It happens so frequently for me on any random channel that i'm just used to it. That or the channel will get pixelated and "skip"

check my about me to see my HT gear

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/member.php?u=7747546
shibez is offline  
post #1776 of 2512 Old 10-24-2011, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim9710 View Post

I'm surprised no one has mentioned the downturn in quality on WROC since they added the 8.2 subchannel. NFL football looks much worse than in prior years. Constant artifacts whenever there is any motion. I think they have went from the best to the worst behind WHEC and even FOX. ABC looks pretty awful as well running 2 HD channels fulltime.

Kind of disappointing that we are going backwards in quality.

-Tim

I've been btchn about it for years...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1777 of 2512 Old 11-01-2011, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I heard on the radio this morning TW will be increasing their rates next month. I'll post the new rates below.

From: http://stopthecap.com/2011/10/31/tim...ases-for-2012/

Digital Cable (was $72.99) $77.49
Talk & Surf (was $86.99) $89.94
Watch & Surf (was $118.99) $125.49
Watch & Surf Plus (was $141.99) $148.49
DVR Service (was $11.95) $12.95 (additional equipment rental charges may apply)

I already feel my wallet getting lighter. Maybe it's time i switch to Satellite. I'll decide after i see my bill with the new rates.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1778 of 2512 Old 11-01-2011, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I heard on the radio this morning TW will be increasing their rates next month. I'll post the new rates below.

From: http://stopthecap.com/2011/10/31/tim...ases-for-2012/

Digital Cable (was $72.99) $77.49
Talk & Surf (was $86.99) $89.94
Watch & Surf (was $118.99) $125.49
Watch & Surf Plus (was $141.99) $148.49
DVR Service (was $11.95) $12.95 (additional equipment rental charges may apply)

I already feel my wallet getting lighter. Maybe it's time i switch to Satellite. I'll decide after i see my bill with the new rates.

My biased opinion is that it's always a good time to switch to satellite. However, other than for the initial new customer deals that both cable and satellite offers, I don't think the long-term costs will be much different for standard hardware configurations and services. IMHO, it'll be better in many, many ways to be with satellite but cost won't likely be the deciding factor once the initial pricing period/deals are over.

My System Diagram: Here System Pix: Here
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for details.
lflorack is online now  
post #1779 of 2512 Old 11-01-2011, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wow, that sure makes netflix sound like a deal... Time to start using all those media center pcs I have...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1780 of 2512 Old 11-02-2011, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Tim9710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokilarry View Post

Me too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

I've been btchn about it for years...

I actually think CBS looked very good in the past despite some occasional artifacts with fast motion. Now that they have added a sub-channnel though it really looks bad most of the time.
Tim9710 is offline  
post #1781 of 2512 Old 11-02-2011, 08:01 PM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I heard on the radio this morning TW will be increasing their rates next month. I'll post the new rates below.

From: http://stopthecap.com/2011/10/31/tim...ases-for-2012/

Digital Cable (was $72.99) $77.49
Talk & Surf (was $86.99) $89.94
Watch & Surf (was $118.99) $125.49
Watch & Surf Plus (was $141.99) $148.49
DVR Service (was $11.95) $12.95 (additional equipment rental charges may apply)

I already feel my wallet getting lighter. Maybe it's time i switch to Satellite. I'll decide after i see my bill with the new rates.

Have you verified that these rate changes are applicable to the Rochester market or is this the general info from Stop the Cap referring to TWC rates in various parts of the country?
larrude is offline  
post #1782 of 2512 Old 11-03-2011, 06:26 AM
Member
 
Racerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

Have you verified that these rate changes are applicable to the Rochester market or is this the general info from Stop the Cap referring to TWC rates in various parts of the country?

Has any year gone by when TW has NOT raised their rates ? ( or any other service provider ? ) As I have posted here before and in another forum.. I play the silly game.. bouncing back and forth between service providers so that I can take advantage of promo offers. My latest DirecTV bill is $26.87 for whole house DVR with two HD boxes. Choice Extra package with Showtime free for a year. My latest $10 a month savings goes into affect soon because my son is getting D* installed this coming Sunday at his new home.
Racerbob is offline  
post #1783 of 2512 Old 11-03-2011, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

Have you verified that these rate changes are applicable to the Rochester market or is this the general info from Stop the Cap referring to TWC rates in various parts of the country?

I looked at the site again & the prices aren't for the Rochester Market. More than one local news site says the rate increase is 4%.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1784 of 2512 Old 11-03-2011, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Racerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I looked at the site again & the prices aren't for the Rochester Market. More than one local news site says the rate increase is 4%.

But you know darn well that the prices will be going up in the Rochester market. I thought that usually the annual price increases begin in January locally.
Racerbob is offline  
post #1785 of 2512 Old 11-03-2011, 02:38 PM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But then again, in our economy, almost everything goes up at least a few percentage points a year - energy, insurance, food, medicine. I applaud those that play the game and switch providers each year - personally I'm too lazy and too busy.
larrude is offline  
post #1786 of 2512 Old 11-03-2011, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Racerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

But then again, in our economy, almost everything goes up at least a few percentage points a year - energy, insurance, food, medicine. I applaud those that play the game and switch providers each year - personally I'm too lazy and too busy.


Very true. But when it comes to home entertainment/internet costs we have a little bit more control over how much we pay and how much we can lower our bill by switching. I am locked in for 2 years (6/13) on D* now unless TW comes up with some fabulous multi-year offer in another year that would cover my cancellation fees. My second year of my D* deal is only $65.99 a month without any referral discounts. So if I get a couple of folks to sign up, I can still keep my monthly bill on the low side.
Racerbob is offline  
post #1787 of 2512 Old 11-07-2011, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
On Sunday morning i was recording a movie for my mom & i noticed it only recorded the first minute when it was half over. It started recording the second half of the movie after something made it reboot all by itself. Whatever the problem was never returned after that reboot because i can record normally again. Does anybody have any idea what forced my box to reboot because i didn't do it?

On Saturday my TW remote stopped working with my cable box for 30 minutes but it would control my tv so i tried changing the batteries & it still didn't work with my cable box so i used my vcr's remote to change the channel until i noticed my tw remote was working again. It happened again this morning for 2 minutes & reprogramming the remote didn't help me fix the remote. I had to wait for it to work again on it own. Can i get a new remote from tw if i take this one to their batavia office?
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1788 of 2512 Old 11-08-2011, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What model? My 8300 flakes out now ant then...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1789 of 2512 Old 11-08-2011, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

What model? My 8300 flakes out now ant then...

My DVR is Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8240HDC. My TW remote model is UR3-SR3S-TWR

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokilarry View Post

I can verify that rates are going up. I downloaded the PDF of my bill a couple of days ago and and have attached the new pricing scheme.

Thanks for posting the new rates. If your bill had a list of their new rates mines should too right?
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1790 of 2512 Old 11-13-2011, 06:42 PM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I get some updated opinions on the two sat companies - price, quality, etc? I look every couple of years, but haven't found it compelling enough yet. but I'm always open.
larrude is offline  
post #1791 of 2512 Old 11-13-2011, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Racerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

Can I get some updated opinions on the two sat companies - price, quality, etc? I look every couple of years, but haven't found it compelling enough yet. but I'm always open.

I have had DirecTV since June and I am quite happy with it. They may not have all of the HD channels that TW has, but I will say that everything else about the service is fine. My billing has been absolutely accurate with no errors at all. And I must also say that I like the $100 referral credits that are available. I now have three working for me. I was referred to the service and I referred two other people. You could be my third referral for the service ! (would save you $100 on your bill too) Just pm me and let me know.

As far as picture quality is concerned I am quite pleased. I noticed a positive difference between TW Hi Def and D* Hi Def. I must confess that I am not a TV geek. In other words, I do not get to the nitty gritty of discussing the pluses and/or minuses of the DVR box that I have. All I know is that it works fine for us every time we have recorded a show on it.
Racerbob is offline  
post #1792 of 2512 Old 11-13-2011, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

Can I get some updated opinions on the two sat companies - price, quality, etc? I look every couple of years, but haven't found it compelling enough yet. but I'm always open.

When I last looked into it (May 2011) Dish receivers were more flexible than those from DirecTV (like RF outputs to easily feed other TVs in the house). But frankly, dealing with Dish was a royal PIA. I stayed with TW because of concessions that they made, but I imagine that we will be going through this again next May, when the special TW concessions expire.

The next time around, I may try dealing with a Dish dealer, rather than the Dish website (once you give them your phone number, they never take NO for an answer.).

Dave Hancock
davehancock is online now  
post #1793 of 2512 Old 11-14-2011, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Racerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We have to have D* since the Sabres games are not on DISH. I will never knock Time Warner because their service is fine and as I have said in the past , my decisions are based on $$$ and value for the $$$'s we spend monthly for entertainment.
Racerbob is offline  
post #1794 of 2512 Old 11-14-2011, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post

Can I get some updated opinions on the two sat companies - price, quality, etc? I look every couple of years, but haven't found it compelling enough yet. but I'm always open.

From what I know, I think both satellite services are fine and both have excellent DVR's and services. I've only had personal experience with TWC and D*. The rest of my opinion is based on what I've heard and read.

Dish reportedly has very good DVR's and I know the D* DVR's are good too and the last time I checked both were very superior to TWC's versions. That may have changed recently. DVR's are very important to me because I record EVERYTHING (except sports). D*'s are great. Wasn't always the case but it is now.

Each service has mostly the same channels - with some notable differences, depending what you like. I like football so D* has Sunday Ticket and the NFL Network for Thursday games.

As I mentioned before ,pricing between all providers is similar for similar setups - once you get past enticement pricing that is. So, unless you want to switch all the time (I don't), it's not the biggest reason to switch.

My System Diagram: Here System Pix: Here
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for details.
lflorack is online now  
post #1795 of 2512 Old 11-18-2011, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokilarry View Post

A couple of things I forgot to add with regard to the price changes:

IMPORTANT RATE INFORMATION

CABLE RATES
Basic Service: CURRENT-10.50, NEW-9.50
Standard Service: CURRENT-65.45, NEW-71.00

Rates are effective on 12/1/11 and will be
reflected in your next statement.

So, it looks like they are lowering prices for the basic lifeline broadcast cable. Actually if you have Roadrunner, lifeline is only 4 bucks a month. Without broadcast cable, Roadrunner is 5 dollars more a month.

I just got my cable bill & the info from the post quoted above is incorrect. This is what my cable bill says the new rates are for basic & standard service

CABLE RATES
Basic Service: CURRENT $12.00, NEW $13.25
Standard Service: CURRENT $63.95, NEW $67.25

I've confirmed all the rates in lokilarry's PDF Document is correct since they match what my cable bill says. All the new rates will take effect 12/1/2011. Looks like basic & standard cable aren't going down after all.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1796 of 2512 Old 11-18-2011, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I just got my cable bill & the info from the post quoted above is incorrect. This is what my cable bill says the new rates are for basic & standard service

CABLE RATES
Basic Service: CURRENT $12.00, NEW $13.25
Standard Service: CURRENT $63.95, NEW $67.25

I've confirmed all the rates in lokilarry's PDF Document is correct since they match what my cable bill says. All the new rates will take effect 12/1/2011. Looks like basic & standard cable aren't going down after all.

Perfectly understandable, since you are in a different area. TW's costs for programming is for sure going to be different.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is online now  
post #1797 of 2512 Old 11-18-2011, 10:45 AM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to my most recent bill, my monthly increase will be $5.00 - which I can live with. I'll look again when things change
larrude is offline  
post #1798 of 2512 Old 11-18-2011, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That's True TW can have minor differences in rates for batavia & rochester. I throught Standard Cable was always the same price as Digital because the new rates listed in my bill say their not. Or do you have to combined the prices for Basic & Standard Service to get the total price for standard cable?
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #1799 of 2512 Old 11-18-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokilarry View Post

The introductory rate that I had was $79 / month for cable and internet with free DVR service and HBO. So my increase would have been substantially more. I would have no problem paying for the new rates if I spent a considerable amount of time in front of the tv. The number of hours of free time in a day that I have seems to be decreasing exponentially. I'll probably take the money I save and put it into a geothermal system for my house.

I agree, I could sure use more quality tv to spend that diminishing time... When was the last time tw added a channel? I'm not sure what I'd want at this point, but there must be something I'm missing.

A big dvr is really good at showing you what you're marginally interested in.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1800 of 2512 Old 11-29-2011, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm about to embark on cable card v2. I actually had a cc tv a few years back...

I plan on using it with a W7 Media center box, it's a dual tuner Hauppauge. Has anyone here tried it yet? I wonder if they will just send it to me or if it requires a roll.

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off