Rochester, NY - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2510 Old 06-16-2009, 02:47 PM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you delete the old locations? I know that just doing a rescan may not work. On my Dishnet receivers, I had to delete any channel that had changed before doing a rescan.
dwarren2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2510 Old 06-16-2009, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
notter43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since WHAM and WHEC switched back to their VHF frequencies, my reception has dropped off. It used to be 60 - 90 most of the time. Now I'm lucky if it is 30. This is interesting since I used to get very good analog pictures. Are the new VHF DT transmitters lower power? I was counting on the VHF DT signal being better than the UHF DT signal. I'm tempted to call one of the stations and see if I can get some answers but I doubt it.
notter43 is offline  
post #183 of 2510 Old 06-17-2009, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Do a re-scan, especially if you can receive the Buffalo market stations. There is a conflict with WNLO and WPJX between channel 23 and 51 with virtual channel numbers.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #184 of 2510 Old 06-17-2009, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Morpheus_Rising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarren2 View Post

Did you delete the old locations? I know that just doing a rescan may not work. On my Dishnet receivers, I had to delete any channel that had changed before doing a rescan.

Not at first. I saved my current line-up, did a rescan which didn't pick up everything. I didn't get WHEC and WHAM. I went back to my previous line-up and manually added the new channels. I did keep the old D58 and D59 when I added D10 and D13. I then deleted the D58 and D59 channels and and re-added D10 and D13. Lastly, I deleted D10 and D13 and then and added them back - still nothing. Last night I did another rescan - still no WHEC and WHAM. Looks like I won't be getting them.
Morpheus_Rising is offline  
post #185 of 2510 Old 06-18-2009, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the same boat...no NBC and ABC...the wife is not happy! I went and bought a powered antenna to replace the rabbit ears, which were working fine for the most part, and this one has the same issues.

Should we get a better antenna? Or get a nice outdoor one?

I really want to avoid paying Dishnet for the locals!
mekkerl is offline  
post #186 of 2510 Old 07-09-2009, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
misterkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, antenna is installed up in the attic. Went with a DB-8, quad shield to the main distribution block that TW put in. I used the value off of antenna web to 'aim' the antenna to 84 degree.

Hooked up both of my flat screens to my cable outlets. Here is what I get now:
8.1
10.1, 10.2
13.1, 13.2
16.7 and a couple of others in the 16.x range
21.1, 21.2, 21.3
31.1
51.1, 51.2, 51.3, 51.4

Wife is happy. No more rabbit ears hooked up anyplace in sight.

Does anyone get any other channels?
misterkit is offline  
post #187 of 2510 Old 07-09-2009, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
misterkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Forgot to mention... Im out in Chili by Black Creek Park.
misterkit is offline  
post #188 of 2510 Old 07-09-2009, 07:26 PM
Member
 
tshaff09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you flip it west (240 deg), you'll get at least a few buffalo channels (and probably still get Rochester OK). At about 110 degrees you might get wsyt from Syracuse. My antenna is outside, which may be helping me a bit more.
tshaff09 is offline  
post #189 of 2510 Old 07-10-2009, 05:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 104
None of you guys can get any of the Buffalo market stations?? At least the ones from the Boston Hills (WGRZ 33.1, WIVB 39.1 & WKBW 38.1)?

Anyway, here are the current FCC countour maps with ERP and viewer counts for this market. Take note of the analog vs digital ERP's;
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #190 of 2510 Old 07-10-2009, 07:05 PM
Member
 
tshaff09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah, wgrz,wivb,wkbw, wnyo are usually on for me if pointed in the right direction.
tshaff09 is offline  
post #191 of 2510 Old 07-12-2009, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
misterkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterkit View Post

OK, antenna is installed up in the attic. Went with a DB-8, quad shield to the main distribution block that TW put in. I used the value off of antenna web to 'aim' the antenna to 84 degree.

Hooked up both of my flat screens to my cable outlets. Here is what I get now:
8.1
10.1, 10.2
13.1, 13.2
16.7 and a couple of others in the 16.x range
21.1, 21.2, 21.3
31.1
51.1, 51.2, 51.3, 51.4

Wife is happy. No more rabbit ears hooked up anyplace in sight.

Does anyone get any other channels?

I hooked up a Motorola Signal Booster. Now I can pick up 68.1 and 68.2. All of the other signals I have coming in are much stronger as well. 13.1 went from 67% to 87%.

I'll try moving the antenna in the other direction to see what pops up.
misterkit is offline  
post #192 of 2510 Old 07-12-2009, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
misterkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

None of you guys can get any of the Buffalo market stations?? At least the ones from the Boston Hills (WGRZ 33.1, WIVB 39.1 & WKBW 38.1)?

Anyway, here are the current FCC countour maps with ERP and viewer counts for this market. Take note of the analog vs digital ERP's;

So far, no. I am going to try aiming the antenna to the west to see what I can pick up.
misterkit is offline  
post #193 of 2510 Old 10-29-2009, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Anyone in Rochester, Syracuse, Buffalo, etc know what happened to our local HDTV website at: http://www.rochesterhdtv.com/

It's been unavailable for a number of days now. Is it down for good?

My System Diagram: Here System Pix: Here
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for details.
lflorack is offline  
post #194 of 2510 Old 10-29-2009, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Dead here also.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #195 of 2510 Old 10-30-2009, 06:42 AM
Member
 
media_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did someone not pay the bill? I guess we could all jump on here... miss the daily discussions... hope it's back soon!
media_man is offline  
post #196 of 2510 Old 11-02-2009, 04:29 AM
Member
 
pitweasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lflorack View Post

Anyone in Rochester, Syracuse, Buffalo, etc know what happened to our local HDTV website at: http://www.rochesterhdtv.com/

It's been unavailable for a number of days now. Is it down for good?

I've been wondering the same thing; I only thought to check here now to see if anyone knew. I loved that site, but it's been down for weeks. I checked it daily, and I don't recall seeing any postings on there that warned of an imminent shutdown.

While I'm at it, a local question: is anyone picking up WXXI HD (not World or Create) via QAM? I could have sworn I was pulling it in not too long ago, but when I picked up a new tuner and did a new scan, it didn't find it. If it's still up, can someone please tell me what channel it's broadcasting on so I can manually add it? Thanks!
pitweasel is offline  
post #197 of 2510 Old 11-02-2009, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitweasel View Post

a local question: is anyone picking up WXXI HD (not World or Create) via QAM? I could have sworn I was pulling it in not too long ago, but when I picked up a new tuner and did a new scan, it didn't find it. If it's still up, can someone please tell me what channel it's broadcasting on so I can manually add it? Thanks!

It's on 82-3. TW never put in the correct PSIP code for it (as they don't seem to recognize that people actually use QAM tuners).

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #198 of 2510 Old 11-02-2009, 06:25 AM
Member
 
pitweasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post

It's on 82-3. TW never put in the correct PSIP code for it (as they don't seem to recognize that people actually use QAM tuners).

Thank you so much! Just punched it in, and it's working perfectly.
pitweasel is offline  
post #199 of 2510 Old 11-07-2009, 07:25 AM
Member
 
dwarren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Marion. Just got my old Mitsu DLP back from the repair shop. I subscribe to the super basic cable package (approx $9/mo). After doing a scan, to my suprise in addition to Rochester and Suracuse local, I'm getting the Elmira locals.
dwarren2 is offline  
post #200 of 2510 Old 11-07-2009, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I found the Contact information on Google for rochesterhdtv.com and asked the site owner by E-Mail why the site was down and he just towed me the computer the web site is on just died so he has to restore it on a different computer he still has to buy.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #201 of 2510 Old 11-07-2009, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I found the Contact information on Google for rochesterhdtv.com and asked the site owner by E-Mail why the site was down and he just towed me the computer the web site is on just died so he has to restore it on a different computer he still has to buy.

Thanks for teh Info!

My System Diagram: Here System Pix: Here
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for details.
lflorack is offline  
post #202 of 2510 Old 11-10-2009, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm getting wxxi on 55 for my w7 media center and my Panasonic tv. The others show on 82. It makes no sense to me...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #203 of 2510 Old 11-10-2009, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

I found the Contact information on Google for rochesterhdtv.com and asked the site owner by E-Mail why the site was down and he just towed me the computer the web site is on just died so he has to restore it on a different computer he still has to buy.

Jon, let me know what kind of pc you need. I may have one that will fit the bill laying around in the graveyard.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #204 of 2510 Old 11-10-2009, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

I'm getting wxxi on 55 for my w7 media center and my Panasonic tv. The others show on 82. It makes no sense to me...

TW is apparently experimenting with putting 3 HD streams on 1 QAM channel (which involves reducing the bit rate {and quality} of each channel. The following are on QAM 55:
55-1: WHAM HD
55-2: WXXI HD
55-3: WROC HD
These stations are also on their "regular" QAM channels without the reduction in bit-rate. Regular cable boxes normall tune the "regular" QAM channels.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #205 of 2510 Old 11-11-2009, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey Dave,

It's strange. I tried switching things around and wasn't able to tune the channels on 82. The picture is not very good on 55, but it often isn't on wxxi anyway.

One other thing I noticed is that the picture on MNF on espn was pretty bad. It's the first time I've seen a bad football game on espn. Is TW squeezing them too?

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #206 of 2510 Old 11-11-2009, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Hey Dave,

It's strange. I tried switching things around and wasn't able to tune the channels on 82. The picture is not very good on 55, but it often isn't on wxxi anyway.

Both 13.1 & 21.1 are there (right now) for me on 82.2 & 82.3. The PBS program is just checked did have some motion artifacts, but it was the same on both. I suspect it was the original program or the network feed.

Quote:


One other thing I noticed is that the picture on MNF on espn was pretty bad. It's the first time I've seen a bad football game on espn. Is TW squeezing them too?

I' don't think so (they still have only 2 HDs per QAM on the regular HD feeds. Sports programs can be a challange because of different field conditions (for example, they might not have been able to get their "normal" bandwidth on the uplink for that game).

When you referred to "bad" or "not very good", just what were you seeing?

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #207 of 2510 Old 11-12-2009, 07:14 AM
Newbie
 
fatrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any suggestions for an attic-mount UHF/VHF for out in Victor/Farmington area? Currently using a DIY antenna with marginal results, but would like better signal levels, and would like to try and pick up WBGT 40
fatrhino is offline  
post #208 of 2510 Old 11-12-2009, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post


When you referred to "bad" or "not very good", just what were you seeing?

Pixelation primarily, which you almost never see on ABC/ESPN.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #209 of 2510 Old 11-14-2009, 04:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Can anybody tell me Time Warner Cable's Prices for the Family Choice Tier. I allready have Basic Cable and i just wanted to know how much more i would pay each month with a DVR Box.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #210 of 2510 Old 11-17-2009, 08:24 AM
Member
 
pitweasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post

Can anybody tell me Time Warner Cable's Prices for the Family Choice Tier. I allready have Basic Cable and i just wanted to know how much more i would pay each month with a DVR Box.

By "basic cable" do you mean the $10, Channels 2-19 package?
pitweasel is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off