Rochester, NY - HDTV - Page 84 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2505 Old 06-26-2014, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I heard back from my contact & he doesn't know how to help you so i showed your post to my dad & he recommends an outdoor setup over an attic setup because the antenna will work the best when it's on the roof. As for the preamp my dad doesn't recommend it. He says you should try a regular amplifier first & see if that helps improve the reception. If it makes things worse it will be easier to remove since it won't be on the roof. I've read a lot of good reviews about the Channel Master 4228HD so it should work just fine for you. One comment about WXXI, i've heard from a lot of people online that WXXI has bad reception the closer you get to lake ontario so it's no surprise your having the most trouble with that channel. Good luck with your antenna install & let us know how it works out for you.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2505 Old 06-26-2014, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
bigdaveyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post
I heard back from my contact & he doesn't know how to help you so i showed your post to my dad & he recommends an outdoor setup over an attic setup because the antenna will work the best when it's on the roof. As for the preamp my dad doesn't recommend it. He says you should try a regular amplifier first & see if that helps improve the reception. If it makes things worse it will be easier to remove since it won't be on the roof. I've read a lot of good reviews about the Channel Master 4228HD so it should work just fine for you. One comment about WXXI, i've heard from a lot of people online that WXXI has bad reception the closer you get to lake ontario so it's no surprise your having the most trouble with that channel. Good luck with your antenna install & let us know how it works out for you.
Yep, the outdoor set up would be optimal, but I am willing to change the parameters of the project if someone would be willing to do an indoor install but not an outdoor install

I may be forced to go with the not optimal solution. The guy that would do the omnidirectional antenna would charge $350 for parts & labor and would install above the roof line so it may be adequate....
bigdaveyl is offline  
post #2493 of 2505 Old 06-26-2014, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
bigdaveyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaveyl View Post
Yep, the outdoor set up would be optimal, but I am willing to change the parameters of the project if someone would be willing to do an indoor install but not an outdoor install

I may be forced to go with the not optimal solution. The guy that would do the omnidirectional antenna would charge $350 for parts & labor and would install above the roof line so it may be adequate....
I think I found someone else in town would do it, and use better parts. He could install mine, or he could use his tested system that has worked well in the Rochester area and held up to the winters - he has been installing this since 2009.
bigdaveyl is offline  
post #2494 of 2505 Old 06-29-2014, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So the Mohu ultimate was installed out in Leroy, just to the east of the Thruway exit. It pulls in all the Rochester channels, but no Buffalo, at least not from where my wife mounted it. She attached it, mounted it high on the wall and rescanned (all by herself!). This replaced another amped antenna that only got a couple of the channels as would a regular Mohu. The tv is an older Olevia so the tuner may not be that great.

This antenna would certainly work in Charlotte and should be splittable. That's what I do with mine, I had it running to the tv, fm tuner and media center pc.

The next experiment for her is attaching a w8 tablet to the tv and trying to run watchespn for the World cup games.

Last edited by gregoryperkins; 06-29-2014 at 10:49 AM.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2495 of 2505 Old 06-30-2014, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Gregoryperkins,
My Dad lives in Leroy south of the village near the Livingston County Border & his traditional outdoors antenna with an amplifier can get all of rochester & most of buffalo so your antenna may need an adjustment if you want buffalo locals.

Last edited by MPNASCAR24; 06-30-2014 at 04:40 PM.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #2496 of 2505 Old 06-30-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah I know, I told them to put one outside, but this was easier. It only took 2 years and me ordering it! I just wasn't sure if it would get them or not. I got Buffalo one day in Irondequoit with an outdoor antenna (not very high) and that was it. She's just happy to get the roc locals.

The sad thing is their primary tv is a crappy 26" tube with dish. They still need an antenna to get the locals and this one does them no good since it is on the other side of the house. So one side of the house has HD locals, the other an ancient tv.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2497 of 2505 Old 07-01-2014, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
All of my dad's tv's are tube tv's & he's so cheap he won't replace anything until it breaks for good. I almost forgot he also has a basic indoors antenna in his bedroom & that antenna will only get rochester locals so that may explain why the mohu antenna is only getting rochester. He says he wants to attach a splitter to his outdoor antenna so he doesn't have to get out of bed to adjust the indoor antenna whenever he changes the channel but he keeps forgetting to buy it.
gregoryperkins likes this.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #2498 of 2505 Old 07-03-2014, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
bigdaveyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Yeah I know, I told them to put one outside, but this was easier. It only took 2 years and me ordering it! I just wasn't sure if it would get them or not. I got Buffalo one day in Irondequoit with an outdoor antenna (not very high) and that was it. She's just happy to get the roc locals.

The sad thing is their primary tv is a crappy 26" tube with dish. They still need an antenna to get the locals and this one does them no good since it is on the other side of the house. So one side of the house has HD locals, the other an ancient tv.
Have you thought about getting an outdoor antenna to use indoors?

I had good luck with playing with a CM 4228HD without amplification in my bedroom. I think with a decent amp and a little more patience, I could have received all locals.

I tried putting it in my garage rafters. Too big, and I would have had issues turning it.

I returned it and ordered it's little brother, the 4221HD. Supposedly, it has almost the same gain but a wider beam width. And it is half the size. I also got two different pre-amps to try. This will be my last ditch effort before bringing in an installer. I did end up finding two locally that will install half decent antennas. The one guy will install a Antenna's Direct 91xg along with an AntennaCraft Y10-7-13. This is supposed to be a well regarded combo along with a rotor, a decent tripod rated for 70MPH winds... Unfortunately the cost is $600. I would rather do the job myself for $100 and maybe call someone to run coax.
bigdaveyl is offline  
post #2499 of 2505 Old 07-03-2014, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Rochester, NY - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaveyl View Post
Have you thought about getting an outdoor antenna to use indoors?

I had good luck with playing with a CM 4228HD without amplification in my bedroom. I think with a decent amp and a little more patience, I could have received all locals.

I tried putting it in my garage rafters. Too big, and I would have had issues turning it.

I returned it and ordered it's little brother, the 4221HD. Supposedly, it has almost the same gain but a wider beam width. And it is half the size. I also got two different pre-amps to try. This will be my last ditch effort before bringing in an installer. I did end up finding two locally that will install half decent antennas. The one guy will install a Antenna's Direct 91xg along with an AntennaCraft Y10-7-13. This is supposed to be a well regarded combo along with a rotor, a decent tripod rated for 70MPH winds... Unfortunately the cost is $600. I would rather do the job myself for $100 and maybe call someone to run coax.
I have a Channel Master 4221 mounted in my garage rafters and I'm also using a 7777 Pre-Amp. It's split to handle locals on my 2x TV's for the very rare times where my DirecTV signal fails - and in case I decide to drop DirecTV at some point and use my AppleTV and Roku players along with the antenna for locals. I live in Hilton and have it aimed so that it receives all of the Rochester stations very well. I don't have it on a rotor, so I don't get Buffalo stations - haven't even tried. Of course, YMMV.

Links: My System Diagram / System Pix
Yamaha RX-A2010, Samsung UN55B8000, AppleTV, Roku3, Yamaha CDC-685, Oppo BDP-93
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for additional system details.

Last edited by lflorack; 07-26-2014 at 05:11 AM.
lflorack is offline  
post #2500 of 2505 Old 07-03-2014, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
bigdaveyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lflorack View Post
I have a Channel Master 4221 mounted in my garage rafters using a 7777 Pre-Amp. It's split to handle locals on my 2x TV's for the very rare times where my DirecTV signal fails - and in case I decide to drop DirecTV at some point and use my AppleTV and Roku players along with the antenna for locals. I live in Hilton and have it aimed so that it receives all of the Rochester stations very well. I don't have it on a rotor, so I don't get Buffalo stations - haven't even tried. Of course, YMMV.
I have a CM7777 coming as well as the RCA preamp that seems popular (handles overload more gracefully, so they say). Amazon took back the 4228HD with no problems and I'm a prime member so I'm paying very little to nothing for shipping to me. It was like $12 to ship back the 4228HD.

I am in Greece so I'm assuming you'll have weaker signals than me. Stupid question, did you have any issues getting WXXI while trying to tune for ION? It seems in my toying around, WXXI seems a bit weak, and I had more of a problem with that than WROC (which has issues getting to these parts). Maybe I need to play a bit more and I'm thinking of building a PVC stand once I know the antenna will fit and get everything reasonably well.
bigdaveyl is offline  
post #2501 of 2505 Old 07-03-2014, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaveyl View Post
I have a CM7777 coming as well as the RCA preamp that seems popular (handles overload more gracefully, so they say). Amazon took back the 4228HD with no problems and I'm a prime member so I'm paying very little to nothing for shipping to me. It was like $12 to ship back the 4228HD.

I am in Greece so I'm assuming you'll have weaker signals than me. Stupid question, did you have any issues getting WXXI while trying to tune for ION? It seems in my toying around, WXXI seems a bit weak, and I had more of a problem with that than WROC (which has issues getting to these parts). Maybe I need to play a bit more and I'm thinking of building a PVC stand once I know the antenna will fit and get everything reasonably well.
I didn't remember the signal strengths from when I set it up a few years ago, so I just used the signal strength meter on my DirecTV DVR and here's the %-strength readings for the Rochester stations (includes all sub-channels where applicable):
08/WROC - 83%
10/WHEC - 100%
13/WHAM - 100%
21/WXXI - 100%
31/WUHF - 95%


As you can see, the reading on 08/WROC is the lowest of them and it fluctuates more than the rest. However, it still solid while watching it.

Links: My System Diagram / System Pix
Yamaha RX-A2010, Samsung UN55B8000, AppleTV, Roku3, Yamaha CDC-685, Oppo BDP-93
Klipsch: (2) RF-83's, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54's, (2) RSX-5's
SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
See links above for additional system details.
lflorack is offline  
post #2502 of 2505 Old 07-21-2014, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I finally decided to get rid of the 8300 and get a Tivo with the sale they had this weekend. It should pay for itself in a couple of years. Dish and Direct made it impossible to get the channels I want without getting their biggest package.

I have a 2 year old cable card/tuning adapter on my windows PC. Should I get new equipment or has it not changed much? The TA is massive.

Thanks,

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2503 of 2505 Old 07-26-2014, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I got it yesterday, moved the cc and ta from the media center pc and into the tivo. After a quick call to TW, it was running properly.

Simultaneous hdmi and component, 6 tuners, 30 second skip hack, I'm pretty happy. The ipad app is pretty cool, you can watch recorded shows directly or download non copy protected shows onto it.

Too bad they fired most of their engineers earlier this year. I suppose they think the Roamio is perfect.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2504 of 2505 Old 07-29-2014, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Good to hear you got your tivo working gregoryperkins.

I heard on WCJW this morning that a couple of big cable companies are trying to get congress to make Free Over The Air TV come to a end forever. The DJ said you can visit www.keepmytv.org for more information & to find out how you can tell congress to say no to the big cable comanies.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #2505 of 2505 Old 07-29-2014, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post
Good to hear you got your tivo working gregoryperkins.

I heard on WCJW this morning that a couple of big cable companies are trying to get congress to make Free Over The Air TV come to a end forever. The DJ said you can visit www.keepmytv.org for more information & to find out how you can tell congress to say no to the big cable comanies.
I'm a bit suspicious of tat website: It is run by the National Association of Broadcasters who are afraid that laws may be passed that undermine the hold that the broadcasters have on cable companies that force our cable rates to increase. It is not about your ability to put up an antenna and "cut the cord", it s about continuing the lock hold that the broadcasters have on the cable companies.
gregoryperkins likes this.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off