Rochester, NY - HDTV - Page 88 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2629 Old 07-03-2015, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
What plan are you on? I will check mine when I get home. 6 up would be great. The one up that I had killed my usability if I upload anything large to the google.
gregoryperkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2629 Old 07-03-2015, 07:34 AM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
What plan are you on? I will check mine when I get home. 6 up would be great. The one up that I had killed my usability if I upload anything large to the google.
Greg, What plan are you on? The standard and below are all 1Mbps upload, the others are all supposed to be (before this upgrade) 5Mbps. When I moved to the Extreme ( which TWC did complimentary???), I had to update my router and modem; they were too dated and did not work with the higher speeds. It was well worth the cost of the equipment. The router had to be at least 10 years old, a Linksys WRT54G
larrude is offline  
post #2613 of 2629 Old 07-03-2015, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I guess standard. I got it in 1998, so whatever they had then. I have a docsis 3 Motorola and a gigabit router.

Thanks for the info.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2614 of 2629 Old 07-03-2015, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
no significant change, 17 down, 1.3 up.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2615 of 2629 Old 07-03-2015, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Mehs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm on Ultimate 50 x 5, with an Arris TG1672 16 x 4 eMTA bridged to my own Cisco RV320 router. Last night I rearranged some of the crap on my desk and powered down my two UPS units. When everything came back online and I did a speed test I had the bump in speed, which I did not have earlier in the week, so power cycling your modem may be required.

On the Ubee modems I know you can see exactly what the modem is provisioned at, I have not poked around in the config page of the Arris enough to see if the same info is made available. Probably in the neighborhood of 62 x 6.5.

Time Warner Cable – Signature Home Premium View w/Epix, Sports Pass, HD Pass, Spanish Tier, Cisco Explorer 8642HDC, Cisco Explorer 8742HDC Both Running ODN 7.3.0_29
DirecTV – Premier, HD Extra Pack, NFL ST Max, NHL CI, MLB EI, Whole House DVR, HR34-700 Running 0972, HR24-200 Running 0802
Steve Mehs is offline  
post #2616 of 2629 Old 07-04-2015, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yeah, I power cycled the modem too. Since I own it, I wonder if it is necessary?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2617 of 2629 Old 07-05-2015, 10:18 AM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the last two posts and power cycled my modem also (I just installed it about 6 weeks ago). Not a huge bump, but the 33 Mbps down improved a little and the 5.3 or so up also improved.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/4482703046.png

Last edited by larrude; 07-05-2015 at 10:22 AM.
larrude is offline  
post #2618 of 2629 Old 07-06-2015, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I have the Extreme Plan (30/5), and owned Motorola SB1641 (8-Channel) Modem and Linksys EA6900 (AC1900) Router: I've seen an increase too:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/4484427666.png

Lee

Links: System Diagram / System Pix
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A2010, CDC-685, Samsung: UN55B8000, Oppo: BDP-93
Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku3, Amazon: FireTV Stick, Roomie: Roomie Remote
ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS, CinemaQuest: Ideal-Lume Std
See links for system details.

Last edited by lflorack; 07-06-2015 at 06:06 AM.
lflorack is offline  
post #2619 of 2629 Old 07-12-2015, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
shibez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, NY(Gates)
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think i got a slight bump(on standard)

I havent checked my speeds since i downgraded to standard from extreme...but i just checked now and i think my upload got a 1Mbps increase. (from 1) Possibly the download too..I don't remember what standard is supposed to be. Also note that my house was all rewired last summer when i moved here. And i am using a docsis 3 arris modem with TW's built in wireless router.

Update: looked at my bill..i have turbo, not standard.

check my about me to see my HT gear

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/member.php?u=7747546

Last edited by shibez; 07-12-2015 at 03:54 PM.
shibez is offline  
post #2620 of 2629 Old 07-12-2015, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The speeds for standard internet are 15 mbps for download & 1 mbps for upload. Looks like you did get an increase in speed.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #2621 of 2629 Old 07-12-2015, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
shibez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, NY(Gates)
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPNASCAR24 View Post
The speeds for standard internet are 15 mbps for download & 1 mbps for upload. Looks like you did get an increase in speed.
Ok i just looked at my bill...Looks like i have the Turbo Upgrade. so i dont think i have a speed bump. kind of lame.

check my about me to see my HT gear

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/member.php?u=7747546
shibez is offline  
post #2622 of 2629 Old 07-13-2015, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
According to TW's Website turbo gives you 20 mbps for download & 2 mbps for upload. I took another look at your posted speeds & it looks like you got a very small increase. Maybe?
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #2623 of 2629 Old 07-13-2015, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Anyone having RR mail problems? Mine stopped working this morning sometime before 10. I got a bunch of odd failures last night too.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2624 of 2629 Old 08-18-2015, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
shibez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, NY(Gates)
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whats the best Cable Modem(docsis3) to buy for TWC?

Preferred with Wireless Built in...Like i am now "renting" from TWC. But if the prices exceed 100 bucks i will just dig around for my old wireless router to pair with it.

Thanks in advance

check my about me to see my HT gear

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/member.php?u=7747546
shibez is offline  
post #2625 of 2629 Old 08-18-2015, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I have the Motorola SB6121, I got it from amazon warehouse deals in 2013 for $52 before it was officially supported. No problems so far.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2626 of 2629 Old 08-19-2015, 10:54 AM
Member
 
larrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently updated by equipment. After research, I purchased a TP-LINK Archer C9 AC1900 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 600Mbps+5Ghz 1300Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network router - ( I did not want an all in one in case I wanted/needed to replace one or the other) and the ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem, both from Amazon. Current price for the two is around $220.

The modem works, very well, I can't say anything about it since I basically plugged it in and it has worked ever since.

The router is fantastic - strong signal throughout the house, super easy setup (I just gave it the same name as my old router and kept the same password and all my items, TV, Iphones, Ipads, Kindles, NEST thermostat, etc) just worked. My download and upload speeds went from 17down/3 up to 37down/6.3up.

I was using TWC's modem and a Linksys wrt56G router
larrude is offline  
post #2627 of 2629 Old 08-19-2015, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Rochester, NY - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrude View Post
I recently updated by equipment. After research, I purchased a TP-LINK Archer C9 AC1900 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 600Mbps+5Ghz 1300Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network router - ( I did not want an all in one in case I wanted/needed to replace one or the other) and the ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem, both from Amazon. Current price for the two is around $220.



The modem works, very well, I can't say anything about it since I basically plugged it in and it has worked ever since.



The router is fantastic - strong signal throughout the house, super easy setup (I just gave it the same name as my old router and kept the same password and all my items, TV, Iphones, Ipads, Kindles, NEST thermostat, etc) just worked. My download and upload speeds went from 17down/3 up to 37down/6.3up.



I was using TWC's modem and a Linksys wrt56G router

I agree with having separate a modem and router and I agree with not using TWC's modem or modem/router. Although I have a different router (I have a linksys that's similar in features and speed to yours), but I have the same modem. It's been super-solid and I'm getting the same speed as you are. http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4595564664

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
larrude likes this.

Links: System Diagram / System Pix
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A2010, CDC-685, Samsung: UN55B8000, Oppo: BDP-93
Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku3, Amazon: FireTV Stick, Roomie: Roomie Remote
ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS, CinemaQuest: Ideal-Lume Std
See links for system details.

Last edited by lflorack; 08-19-2015 at 03:43 PM.
lflorack is offline  
post #2628 of 2629 Old 08-21-2015, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The amazon deal of the day are Motorola Arris docsis modems for $39 to $69. The $69 model has a wifi router.

Last edited by gregoryperkins; 08-21-2015 at 03:57 AM.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #2629 of 2629 Old 08-21-2015, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
lflorack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hilton, NY
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
The amazon deal of the day are Motorola Arris docsis modems for $39 to $69. The $69 model has a wifi router.
The ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem that I have is normally $88 for new. This is a certified refurbished unit for $49.99. Depending on your level of nervousness regarding refurbed units, this is a great deal.

Links: System Diagram / System Pix
Klipsch: (2) RF-83, (1) RC-64, (2) RVX-54, (2) RSX-5, SVS: (1) SB13-Ultra
Yamaha: Aventage RX-A2010, CDC-685, Samsung: UN55B8000, Oppo: BDP-93
Apple: AppleTV, Roku: Roku3, Amazon: FireTV Stick, Roomie: Roomie Remote
ACP: J15BLK 1.5 kVA Power Conditioner/UPS, CinemaQuest: Ideal-Lume Std
See links for system details.
lflorack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off