Rochester, NY - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2517 Old 04-22-2004, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
OsOk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TW just released their HDDVRs. Their High Def line up locally is HBO, Showtime, PBS, WB, ABC, Discovery, inHD, inHD2.

I'd really love to see CBS and ESPN sometime soon.
OsOk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2517 Old 06-30-2004, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Janusinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just signed up for the digital HD package with the new HD DVR. The sales person could not give me any technical info on the HD DVR at all, not even the model number.

Does anyone know what TW Rochester is using for their HD DVRs?

Jason
Janusinc is offline  
post #3 of 2517 Old 09-07-2004, 04:54 AM
Member
 
cdp1276's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairport, NY
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not anymore the new TW HD DVR box being deployed is the SA 8300HD with HDMI out and no DVI.

See this thread on AVS for a PDF of details on the box.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...20#post4307920


Craig
cdp1276 is offline  
post #4 of 2517 Old 01-16-2005, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WUHF (Fox Rochester) is now at full power (320KW) OTA. Good news for the Superbowl. If only TWC would start carrying it.
Pradeep is offline  
post #5 of 2517 Old 01-25-2005, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
houselog442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WUHF broadcasting in HD? If it is please tell cpanther95 that if it is so he can put rochester ny on the list for dma's that have fox hd
houselog442 is offline  
post #6 of 2517 Old 01-25-2005, 10:19 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Added them to the Fox list - and at the next update it will be added to the Master list of all stations stickied at the top of the forum.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #7 of 2517 Old 03-15-2005, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
balazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 3,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyone in or near Rochester with a C-band HDTV system? I am looking for a way to test my HDD-200 with a known-working receiver.
balazer is offline  
post #8 of 2517 Old 03-17-2005, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the hi-def network broadcasts over twc comes accross as hi-def using their stb?
ClickCardo is offline  
post #9 of 2517 Old 03-17-2005, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently you can get PBS, ABC and NBC locals in HD via TWC. FOX-HD is available OTA, but not on cable as Sinclair is making a stink about wanting money for retransmit rights. Local CBS station is dragging it's feet on switching to HD.

Obviously you need one of the HD STBs to view the HD channels.
Pradeep is offline  
post #10 of 2517 Old 03-19-2005, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching on my SD stb I often see TNT movies advertize HD. Do they come in HD?

Do you know what their current special package would be for someone who already has roadrunner, digital and HBO?

I am surprized to see so few posts for this market.
ClickCardo is offline  
post #11 of 2517 Old 03-19-2005, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TNT-HD is available.

If you currently have that package, I believe they call that the digipack 1000. You should get about $5-$10 bucks off for that package. You won't get many extreme deals since you are already a customer.
Pradeep is offline  
post #12 of 2517 Old 03-19-2005, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the the link. It seems to be a great site.
ClickCardo is offline  
post #13 of 2517 Old 03-19-2005, 08:20 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Pradeep - please Rule #6 at the top of the forum. This thread is very slow to take off and we don't want to do anything that will cause it to just die off.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #14 of 2517 Old 03-20-2005, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry Panther
Pradeep is offline  
post #15 of 2517 Old 03-20-2005, 06:50 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
No prob. Just want one active thread for Rochester members so that the area takes care of itself. Considering AVS is based in Rochester (Victor), we really should have a decent thread for the area.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #16 of 2517 Old 03-20-2005, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My only way to get HD is thru Time Warner. I plan on getting a Plasma sometime, sooner better than later. However half my viewing is on FOX/CBS. Should I wait for summer/fall and new models and perhaps one more HD network or am I just losing 3-9months of Plasma enjoyment?
ClickCardo is offline  
post #17 of 2517 Old 03-29-2005, 06:44 AM
Member
 
juliox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty pissed at timewarner rochester at the moment, i had an HD-DVR for 1 day on Feb 15th, it broke that night (SA8300HD). I STILL dont have an HDDVR, so i miss most of the 4 shows i bought the TV to watch, retentions dept. at TW hears from me every 3 days.


I think its rediculous that I pay $120/month to this company, and I have to download my tv shows (semi legally? illegally?) off the freakin internet to see them in HD
juliox is offline  
post #18 of 2517 Old 04-18-2005, 12:11 PM
Member
 
steph_beer_me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(Not much activity here in the Rochester thread, but I'll ask anyway.)

Does anyone know of an inexpensive and (if outdoor is necessary) unobtrusive antenna for OTA HDTV? I'm only looking to receive the main three networks: NBC, CBS, ABC. My own research indicates that a Channel Master 3021 might work or perhaps an indoor Zenith Silver Sensor. I'd prefer the indoor option for aesthetic reasons if possible.

I'm about 12 miles from the intended transmitters. Is anyone receiving OTA HD that can share their setup and/or experiences?
steph_beer_me is offline  
post #19 of 2517 Old 04-19-2005, 10:49 AM
Member
 
juliox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my friend gets all of the channels OTA from his basement in Greece with a silver sensor. He lives on Stone Road near it's intersection with Ridge Road.

Again, this is from his basement (silver sensor next to a window in the basement)

i think he picked it up at sears for a little more than internet price, but he got to play with it _right now_ instead of in a week
juliox is offline  
post #20 of 2517 Old 04-20-2005, 10:35 AM
Member
 
steph_beer_me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks juliox. That's exactly the info I was looking for. I live about 5 miles from that intersection in Greece and am looking for reception in my basement home theater. Silver Sensor looks like the ticket.
steph_beer_me is offline  
post #21 of 2517 Old 04-20-2005, 01:39 PM
Member
 
juliox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully you don't like CSI/CSI Miami/CSI NY, or anythong on CBS, super craptastic non-HD channel 8. I call about once a week to let them know I download the TV shows that they show on their channel off of the internet, bypassing their advertising stream, due to their non-broadcast in HD.

Same thing with Fox. I have cable, i wish sinclair and time warner would work out their crap, I dont even go to that channel anymore, i hope there's no good tv shows on it
juliox is offline  
post #22 of 2517 Old 04-23-2005, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Juliox

where do you download from? What do you view them on? How's the quality?
ClickCardo is offline  
post #23 of 2517 Old 04-24-2005, 08:55 AM
Member
 
juliox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check your PM's for where

I view them on my modchipped xbox running XBox Media Center, however you could also output them with any video output card that does 480p. Quality is AWESOME compared to OTA analog crap i'm currently being fed by CBS. Files are 720x480 xvid (mpeg4), ~170meg for 30 min, or 350 meg for an hour long show (~45 minutes of actual show)
juliox is offline  
post #24 of 2517 Old 04-30-2005, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Devo220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went and bought a large combination VHF UHF antenna supposedly good for 120 miles. I have DTV satellite but wanted locals in HD. I can get PBS and Fox and they have a great picture, but ABC, NBC, and CBS nothing. even analog is real snowy. I have a Samsung Sir t360 HD receiver, Sony KP57 ws500 TV I bought diplexers for both ends so I could use the same cable, the signal meter goes from 45% to 79% on the locals but still nothing, searching for signal is all I get. The antenna is about 20' in the air but I live on top of a hill and should get a pretty clear shot to Rochester. Am I doing something wrong? In the day's when all we had were rooftop antenna's I had a smaller one and got a great picture.

Sony KP57WS500
Samsung Sir t360 HD Receiver
Harman Kardon AVR335
Harman Kardon PA2000
Harman Kardon DVD22
Polk Audio RTi8's
Polk Audio CSi40
Polk Audio FXi3's
Polk Audio PSW404
Panasonic DMR- E85h
Monster Theater Reference 3500
Devo220 is offline  
post #25 of 2517 Old 04-30-2005, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PBS and Fox are the only channels currently doing HD at full power. CBS only has SD digital garbage. ABC and NBC are low power, many people can't even receive them OTA in Rochester itself. I don't think any antenna could pick the low power stations up from Canandaigua.

You may have better luck pointing towards Syracuse.
Pradeep is offline  
post #26 of 2517 Old 04-30-2005, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Devo220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canandaigua, NY
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for explaining things I thought I had done something wrong. Is there a date when they will have it up to full power?

Sony KP57WS500
Samsung Sir t360 HD Receiver
Harman Kardon AVR335
Harman Kardon PA2000
Harman Kardon DVD22
Polk Audio RTi8's
Polk Audio CSi40
Polk Audio FXi3's
Polk Audio PSW404
Panasonic DMR- E85h
Monster Theater Reference 3500
Devo220 is offline  
post #27 of 2517 Old 04-30-2005, 01:20 PM
Member
 
RADMANK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Live at Nothstone Rise in Pittsford and I get great CBS, NBC, Fox, PBS (several) over the air Signal. I only wished the local News was in Widescreen because I can't strect the HD signal into 16:9 on my Plasma through the Dishplayer 942.
RADMANK is offline  
post #28 of 2517 Old 05-07-2005, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
jackeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 3 MILES EAST OF ALBION
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting digital ota from Buffalo,CBS,UPN,ABC,NBC and FOX,PBS from Rochester,I am 3 miles east of Albion. CBC from toronto comes in strong also.
jackeee is offline  
post #29 of 2517 Old 05-09-2005, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigrushhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: flower city
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Devo220
I went and bought a large combination VHF UHF antenna supposedly good for 120 miles. I have DTV satellite but wanted locals in HD. I can get PBS and Fox and they have a great picture, but ABC, NBC, and CBS nothing. even analog is real snowy. I have a Samsung Sir t360 HD receiver, Sony KP57 ws500 TV I bought diplexers for both ends so I could use the same cable, the signal meter goes from 45% to 79% on the locals but still nothing, searching for signal is all I get. The antenna is about 20' in the air but I live on top of a hill and should get a pretty clear shot to Rochester. Am I doing something wrong? In the day's when all we had were rooftop antenna's I had a smaller one and got a great picture.

Eliminate the diplexers and run a separate wire/coax. You should be able to pick up Rochester just fine from where you are.. I`m 65 miles from Buffalo's transmitters and get them around 75% with zero drop out...If you put any of the F-connectors on yourself (those little ends on the end of the coax cable) make sure you don't let the ground strands touch the center conductor, this is a common mistake by DIYers. You can also add a low noise pre-amp to help. PM me if you need help as i`m in the business here in Rochester.
bigrushhead is offline  
post #30 of 2517 Old 10-05-2005, 09:15 AM
Member
 
wazkaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Gates and I'm 7.1 miles from the broadcast towers at Cobbs Hill. I just installed an outdoor antenna (CM-4221) and have it pointing at the towers. I'm using an Avermedia A180 HD capture card in my PC to record OTA digital. Using the Avermedia Application I get a solid 100% signal strength on WHECDT, WHAMDT, and WXXIDT. But I have a problem with WUHFDT. On WUHFDT I will see 100% signal strength for a majority of the time but every 5 minutes or so the signal will drop to 25% and I lose sound and video. Then after a second or two it's back to 100% again. Does anyone have any ideas why I only see this problem on one channel? If this is a multi-path issue I would have thought it would happen on all channels since I thought all the towers are on Pinnacle hill? I've tried moving the antenna around the house, changing the direction it points, tried an antennuator and amplifier but nothing helps. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,
Greg
wazkaren is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off