Sacramento, CA - OTA - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 10177 Old 08-03-2004, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by videojanitor
Bob, that's an excellent point -- I don't know why I didn't think of that. Makes perfect sense though. In the analog world, it was easy to see when something was overloading the front-end ... with digital, not quite so easy.

Speaking of KMAX-DT, I was wondering if you could explain the rationale behind inserting the gray side-panels? Obviously it's to help prevent burn-in, but it really makes KMAX the "odd-man-out" since nobody else is doing it. Have you received a lot of feedback from people saying they like it?

--Bill R.

The gray side panels do not have to be gray but we do believe that they could prevent burn-in on misadjusted sets. For now we are leaving them up unless you guys want "Stretch-o-Vision".

Bob
Bob Hess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 10177 Old 08-03-2004, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Bob Hess
The gray side panels do not have to be gray but we do believe that they could prevent burn-in on misadjusted sets. For now we are leaving them up unless you guys want "Stretch-o-Vision".

Bob

NOOOOOOOOO!

I can't even receive KMAX, yet, but still,

NOOOOOOOOO!

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #273 of 10177 Old 08-03-2004, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by Bob Hess
For now we are leaving them up unless you guys want "Stretch-o-Vision".

AAAAAAAA! No Stretch-O-Vision, please. I just spent a good amount of time convincing my buddies over at KXTV to bag their "stretch." If you're taking votes though, put mine in the "I don't like gray panels" column. Unless there is HD content, I prefer to tune to your analog channel to avoid them.

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #274 of 10177 Old 08-03-2004, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When ESPN HD switched to using gray textured panels, I didn't like them either, but I've gotten used to them. I like it better than black - don't know why though. Might be fun to have them slowly move around - like a lava lamp

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #275 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 02:54 PM
Member
 
MyGrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Off topic.

Anyone know anything about FX.? Like when/if Fox will make it HD?
Watching Nip/Tuck and Rescue Me would be damn nice in HD!
MyGrain is offline  
post #276 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anybody in Sac with ESPN HD able to watch the A's Yankees game right now? Both espn and espnHD report "Program not available in your area" on directv. Why would this be?

John
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #277 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect it's because Fox Sports Bay Area has the game. (654)

Okay - not available there either - whoops - no channels are available right now - D*'s problem or mine, I wonder?


CNN (202) is available, but FOX (360) isn't - hmmm, conspiracy, maybe?

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #278 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You are probably correct about "FSN Bay Area" -- I *am* receiving the A's/Yankees game on that channel (D* 654).

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #279 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ok I found it there, somehow the search didnt show it there. Thanks for your reply. Too bad Its not in HD tho.

Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #280 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think my HDTiVo needs a reboot - I have great signal an everything, including OTA, but every channel comes as "Channel not available"

BTW - I don't think it was in HD on ESPNHD either - it's not listed on their site.

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/tvl...s/espnhd/index

Tracey

ETA - reboot seems successful - I can come down from the ceiling now - I think that's the first time HDTiVO's crashed on me - gave me quite a scare - these things don't seem the most reliable hard drives in the world
tlrowley is offline  
post #281 of 10177 Old 08-04-2004, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by drunkpenguin
Anybody in Sac with ESPN HD able to watch the A's Yankees game right now? Both espn and espnHD report "Program not available in your area" on directv. Why would this be?

John

I'm up in Nevada City and the game is on Fox Sports Bay Area D* channel 654. I'm also getting it on D* ESPN analog channel 206 and HD channel 73. But don't feel bad - the feed is not HD. I just talked to my son in San Jose who also has D*. His ESPN feeds are blacked out like yours.
Blackout rules are sometimes hard to figure out. I'm classified as outside the Sacramento Grade B service area and that's why I think I'm getting the two ESPN feeds. Maybe someone else like me out in the boonies can confirm this also.
carl033 is offline  
post #282 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by drunkpenguin
So basically it becomes up to the local affiliate if they want to pass on the HD version or not? I sent them a MSG via the "contact station" link on the web site, is that the one you tried? If I get a response I will let you know.

Johnny

Johnny, did you ever hear anything from KCRA? The email bounced for me. I've called and left messages at Programming and Engineering, but I' haven't heard anything.

You'd think this sort of information would be available somewhere online. I guess the affiliates that aren't passing on the signal would rather that we not find out - they're probably embarrassed

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #283 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The email went through ok, but I have not heard anything yet. This does not surprise me tho, you can't email anybody these days without waiting a week or 2 for a response. I'll probably get an answer when the Olympics are over . Out o curiousity I checked the NBC page for L.A., it looks identical to KCRAs page, must be an NBC given template, anyway, they don't say anything in L.A. about broadcasting HD either, so we must be the only 2 people in the world wondering about this.

I guess we'll just have to watch and see.

Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #284 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If we're the only 2 people wondering about this, it doesn't bode well for the numbers on HD viewership! Maybe it's a good thing Neilson doesn't count HD, the networks might decide USDTV or something like that might be a better use of their bandwidth.

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #285 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Which is really kind of sad, because sports are the 1 and only reason I went with HD. Movies I would generally rather see on DVD, and I could care less if reruns of "everybody loves raymond" ever make it to HD. I have been watching baseball for the first time in years, just to experience it in HD, so I will really be disappointed if the olympics are not given to us in HD.

Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #286 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, the olympic opening ceremonies are now showing in my D* guide for KCRA 3-1 next friday and it does not have the HD symbol with it.



Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #287 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting ready to move into a new (to me) home near Hazel and Madison. In my current house(Arden area), I have a nice big outdoor antenna on the roof and have no problems recieving the local digital stations.

There is no antenna on the new place, and with everything else that will be happening in the near future on the house, I'm not excited about mounting a large antenna.

Does anyone know how well a silver sensor will work at that location? My second choice would be a UHF antenna in the attic, but the silver sensor would be soooo much easier!

Thanks for any feedback.

Jeff
nightowl is offline  
post #288 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:


Originally posted by drunkpenguin
Well, the olympic opening ceremonies are now showing in my D* guide for KCRA 3-1 next friday and it does not have the HD symbol with it.



Johnny

KCRA passed the HD feed of the Olympics from SLC and they seem to pass everything else the network gives them, so I really don't see any reason to worry.
spwace is offline  
post #289 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
R. Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about a mile west of Hazel and 1/2 mile south of Madison. I get strong signals with an outside antenna mounted just above roof level at one corner of my house pointed at Walnut Grove though a gap in the trees south of me. I have the advantage that on a clear day (rare), at night, I can see the lights of the broadcast towers standing on my roof where the antenna is. Is your antenna going to be high enough to not have signals blocked by the terrain south west of you and the American river bluffs?
R. Boyce is offline  
post #290 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by spwace
KCRA passed the HD feed of the Olympics from SLC and they seem to pass everything else the network gives them, so I really don't see any reason to worry.

That's very useful to know, spwace. I wasn't in this area, then, or into HD.

Worry is probably too strong a word, but I do like to plan in advance

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #291 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
forecheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Granite Bay, CA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by drunkpenguin
Well, the olympic opening ceremonies are now showing in my D* guide for KCRA 3-1 next friday and it does not have the HD symbol with it.



Johnny

What is on the normal channel will not be what is on the HD channel, so you can't go by the guide info. Looking at the HD schedule on nbc.com, it looks like the opening ceremonies will be at 6p Pacific.

Here is a link to the TV page.

KCRA has been really good about passing through NBC's HD (except that they didn't pass through the ED Widescreen version of the NASCAR race a few weeks ago) so I am not too worried yet either
forecheck is offline  
post #292 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 03:43 PM
Member
 
MyGrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KCRA does pass the HD don't they?

Am I missing what you two are talking about?

http://www.thekcrachannel.com/techno...78/detail.html seems to hint that.

OK, just called KCRA and a nice young lady went and asked and came back and said Yes...HD. She said the tech guys had a meeting this A.M, and they were talking about it.
MyGrain is offline  
post #293 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Excellent! This was the info I was looking for.

Thanks,

Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #294 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, MyGrain - I've called twice, and left messages, but didn't get an answer.
(Although, in their defence, I did miss a call from the 916 area code earlier today, I'm assuming it was KCRA, but they should have left a message)

This is excellent info, if the worst thing I have to do is set up manual records, I'll be a very happy couch potato.

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #295 of 10177 Old 08-05-2004, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by R. Boyce
Is your antenna going to be high enough to not have signals blocked by the terrain south west of you and the American river bluffs?

Thanks for the info Rory. I'm not sure yet, but it looks like I'm going to be sitting a little below the bluffs. Hopefully not too far down, tho. The house is just off of Phoenix, which sits a little low for really decent line of sight.

My plan is to start with a silver sensor, then work up from there.
nightowl is offline  
post #296 of 10177 Old 08-06-2004, 10:13 AM
Member
 
brad 54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to see KVIE DTV limit channel capacity to 3 channels at most 0600 to 1800: 6.4 PBS You, 6.3 PBS Kids, 6.2 KVIE6, 6.1 OFF AIR. 1800 to 0600 6.2 KVIE6, 6.1 PBS HD. The duplication of programming on 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, and 6.4 is truly a waste of bandwidth and subjects all to unnecessary artifacts. As it stands with 6.1 and 6.2 only in operation PBS HD has unacceptable PQ with excessive artifacts. That is, when KVIE DTV is on the air.
brad 54 is offline  
post #297 of 10177 Old 08-06-2004, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I totally agree, Brad. I'm watching "The Real Olympics" as I type, and the artifacting is terrible.

You start the petition - I'll sign.

Tracey
tlrowley is offline  
post #298 of 10177 Old 08-06-2004, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tlrowley
Johnny, did you ever hear anything from KCRA? The email bounced for me. I've called and left messages at Programming and Engineering, but I' haven't heard anything.

You'd think this sort of information would be available somewhere online. I guess the affiliates that aren't passing on the signal would rather that we not find out - they're probably embarrassed

Tracey

Hi Tracey,
To you and all others interested, I just heard from the Director of Engineering at KCRA. He was a good customer of mine when I was selling video microwave equipment. Anyhow, he said that KCRA will be carrying the NBC HD Olympics feed 24/7 on channel 31-1. The FCC has waived the 75% simulcating rule to permit an uninterrupted feed.
Enjoy!

Carl
carl033 is offline  
post #299 of 10177 Old 08-06-2004, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tlrowley
Johnny, did you ever hear anything from KCRA? The email bounced for me. I've called and left messages at Programming and Engineering, but I' haven't heard anything.

You'd think this sort of information would be available somewhere online. I guess the affiliates that aren't passing on the signal would rather that we not find out - they're probably embarrassed

Tracey

Hi again, Tracey. I goofed on the channel number in my previous response. KCRA's digital channel is 35, not 31. Depending on the PSIP grabbed by your set-top-box, it'll show up as either 35-1 or 3-1.

Carl
carl033 is offline  
post #300 of 10177 Old 08-06-2004, 10:07 PM
Member
 
brad 54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Carl,
So no 3.2? I ask because I 'm seeing mosaic of 58.1 w/o audio on 3.2.
Does that mean all bandwidth will be allocated to 3.1?

How would all of you feel about 6.1 going to 720p until some sort of fix?
brad 54 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off