Sacramento, CA - OTA - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Actually CBS has new CSI Miami tonight and supposedly for the first time in 5.1, not in the cards for us... Back to ugly analog 4x3.

Hammer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Yeah... two and 1/2 men is new too...damn! I guess I will record the analog!

Dave

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is online now  
post #813 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As for the audio problem Sunday night:

I am afraid I caused the problem while making routing switcher configuration changes to get our old network HD receiver and the new one to be available for air. The control of the HD switcher from the automation system was not working. The Dolby encoder was switched to 5.1 mode by the automation but the correct audio was not selected to feed it. I do not believe any local spots aired on the HD channel between 9 and 11 when they manually switched back to upconverting. Luckily in this case we do not charge advertisers for spots aired on the digital channel so no revenue was lost.

It is all fixed now and the new HD receiver is in use with the old one as a backup. We will have a main and standby both new receivers sometime in February when the ABC network distribution system for all the West coast feeds becomes digital.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #814 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Beretta
Can I just say that I LOVE this forum and thank you to all who participate? Would have ruined my night wondering if something was wrong with my setup. Instead, within 2 minutes of the failure I know that its not me, and 10 minutes later I know whats wrong.

Love it.

Pretty neat, eh? I usually don't get too excited when the Sacto signals get weak and then go away, as I'm 70+ miles from Walnut Grove with no line-of-sight. But I usually see something in the way of a carrier. Tonight, they're just gone. Back to SDTV (UGH!!).
Carl
carl033 is offline  
post #815 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:


Originally posted by igreg
Am viewing on 720p setting. Does anyone know what resolution 31.1 is broadcast (or 58.1 for that matter?)

3, 13, 31 and 58 are 1080i, while 6, 10 and 40 are 720p.
spwace is online now  
post #816 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hammerdwn
Actually CBS has new CSI Miami tonight and supposedly for the first time in 5.1, not in the cards for us... Back to ugly analog 4x3.

Hammer

Thanks for the heads-up. I'll check D* Channel 81 at 10PM.
Carl
carl033 is offline  
post #817 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:


Originally posted by hammerdwn
Actually CBS has new CSI Miami tonight and supposedly for the first time in 5.1, not in the cards for us... Back to ugly analog 4x3.

Hammer

How can you tell if the sound is in 5.1? If I am playing a DVD my Onkyo receiver display will automatically switch to Dolby D or DTS, but when viewing television the display remains at Dolby Pro Logic II. Am I not receiving 5.1, or is it just that my receiver's display is not capable of displaying Dolby Digital 5.1 from non-DVD sources?
igreg is offline  
post #818 of 10136 Old 12-13-2004, 10:03 PM
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by spwace
3, 13, 31 and 58 are 1080i, while 6, 10 and 40 are 720p.

I thought 6 was 1080i? I know their quality kinda sux now, but aren't they on 1080i still regardless? BTW, I have Comcast as well, and KXTV HD wasn't down throughout the whole night. I know BOB had addressed this already. GO COMCAST =) MNF ending was close =) Does anybody know if 10 and 13 are up yet? I noticed that my OTA receiver didn't show any signal as well. I thought it was kinda strange that 2 big network in Sacto were down.
wunautica is offline  
post #819 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It's now nearly 2am -- KXTV-DT is back up, but KOVR-DT is still off. I hope something didn't fry when the power went out ...
videojanitor is offline  
post #820 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Dish811 now will crash whenever it switches to an OTA channel that has no signal. What's up with those clowns at Dishnetwork. My old and faithful DirecTV DTC100 doesn't have such constant issues.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #821 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Ya, my 6000 does funny things too. I am still not convinced I need a 921 even for half price.

KOVR is now back on.

KVIE 6 used to throw a switch from 720p during the day to 1080i for primetime. This is what throws all of our receivers into a PSIP fit. I haven't checked lately if they still throw the 1080i switch.

Hammer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #822 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 07:50 AM
Member
 
sdk 009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also am new to this Fourm & thread, and I'm glad to also know that it wasn't my set-up Monday night that caused 10-1 & 13-1 to go blank.
sdk 009 is offline  
post #823 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A story about HDTV leads the Scene section in the Sacramento Bee today.
http://www.sacbee.com/content/lifest...12648483c.html

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #824 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I just read it online...I get the Bee delivered to my email address! It is a decent article.

Dave

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is online now  
post #825 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by igreg
How can you tell if the sound is in 5.1? If I am playing a DVD my Onkyo receiver display will automatically switch to Dolby D or DTS, but when viewing television the display remains at Dolby Pro Logic II. Am I not receiving 5.1, or is it just that my receiver's display is not capable of displaying Dolby Digital 5.1 from non-DVD sources?

With the exception of some satellite-delivered movie channels, TV audio from SDTV programs is 2.0, not 5.1. There may be nothing wrong with your Onkyo. HD programming, either OTA or via satellite should automatically switch your A/V receiver to DD 5.1. Sometimes, you will even see it switch back during commercials.
carl033 is offline  
post #826 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:


Originally posted by igreg
How can you tell if the sound is in 5.1? If I am playing a DVD my Onkyo receiver display will automatically switch to Dolby D or DTS, but when viewing television the display remains at Dolby Pro Logic II. Am I not receiving 5.1, or is it just that my receiver's display is not capable of displaying Dolby Digital 5.1 from non-DVD sources?

Tune around the local stations during prime time. All of Fox's network shows are delivered in 5.1 as are many of the shows on ABC.
spwace is online now  
post #827 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good ol' Josh duLac comes through again in the Bee!

I only found one nit to pick with the HDTV column he wrote today...you can get an OTA STB for $200 or less. But otherwise...great article!
Inundated is online now  
post #828 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:


Originally posted by carl033
With the exception of some satellite-delivered movie channels, TV audio from SDTV programs is 2.0, not 5.1. There may be nothing wrong with your Onkyo. HD programming, either OTA or via satellite should automatically switch your A/V receiver to DD 5.1. Sometimes, you will even see it switch back during commercials.

Thanks for the reply. Perhaps its switching, and the display just doesn't change like it does for DVD play?
igreg is offline  
post #829 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
carl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Inundated
Good ol' Josh duLac comes through again in the Bee!

I only found one nit to pick with the HDTV column he wrote today...you can get an OTA STB for $200 or less. But otherwise...great article!

Ebay has tons of HD STBs (OTA-only or with buitl-in D* or E* decoders), most for under $200.
carl033 is offline  
post #830 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
bryankeithg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Brea,CA
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by carl033
Ebay has tons of HD STBs (OTA-only or with buitl-in D* or E* decoders), most for under $200.

Agreed, however The Sacramento Bee audience is Joe Public which for the most part shop at retail stores, not Ebay.
bryankeithg is offline  
post #831 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bryankeithg
Agreed, however The Sacramento Bee audience is Joe Public which for the most part shop at retail stores, not Ebay.

Though if they show up at Wal-Mart, they can get one for $200...and I've heard some closeout deals on other STBs at other stores (Sears, etc.) that are in that same range.
Inundated is online now  
post #832 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody seen the "Public Notice" commercial on channel 13? I don't normally watch the news, but my wife had it on and they showed a rather long commercial with just text, and some guy reading it announcing the purchase of KOVR by CBS from Sinclair. It went through and read all the majority shareholders of each company... very strange.

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #833 of 10136 Old 12-14-2004, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by ccallana
Anybody seen the "Public Notice" commercial on channel 13?

I've seen it -- I think it was sometime over the weekend during their early evening newscast. I believe this kind of notice is required by law anytime a change in ownership is proposed.
videojanitor is offline  
post #834 of 10136 Old 12-15-2004, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish this can happen tomorrow so CBS can finally let the HD channel added on Comcast and also provide OTA digital guide information.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #835 of 10136 Old 12-15-2004, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jacmyoung
I wish this can happen tomorrow so CBS can finally let the HD channel added on Comcast and also provide OTA digital guide information.

I want a million dollars on my doorstep, but it's not going to happen.

But be patient...it'll probably be by late spring or early summer.
Inundated is online now  
post #836 of 10136 Old 12-15-2004, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Inundated,
What's a guy listed as being from NE Ohio doing in a Sacramento thread? And why are you reading the Sac Bee?

Hammer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #837 of 10136 Old 12-15-2004, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me guess, after the great flood of 1989 subsided, woke up in the middle of no where All kidding aside, I am still hoping Sinclair can lose its iron grip a little and let Comcast add CBSHD for free, some good gesture before the departure can go a long way.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #838 of 10136 Old 12-16-2004, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hammerdwn
Inundated,
What's a guy listed as being from NE Ohio doing in a Sacramento thread? And why are you reading the Sac Bee?

Well, I lived in the Big Tomato for over 7 years...first in the Arden-Arcade area, then out in Carmichael. (With the outer suburban growth in Sacramento, is Carmichael really "out" these days? )

I may have bounced around the media somewhere there, too

jacmyoung - yeah, that'd be very cool. But you're asking a LOT out of Sinclair...
Inundated is online now  
post #839 of 10136 Old 12-16-2004, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I guess that explains why you are posting in the Sacramento thread. Now I have to ask why your profile does not state your true location? I think seven years is long enough to base one's profile on.

FWIW, I was born in Los Angeles and lived there for about half my life, but when I joined this forum I was located here in Sac. I don't care what's going on in the Los Ageles thread, so you won't find me reading it or posting in it.

Hammer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #840 of 10136 Old 12-16-2004, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure what you're talking about, Hammer...I thought I made it clear. I lived in the Sacramento region for 7 years, moved to Virginia for about a year and a half, and have lived in Northeast Ohio - my original home area - since March 2003. (I was born and raised here.)

I have a pretty decent amount of knowledge about media in my former home market of Sacramento, including the local TV stations, so I like to keep track of what's going on back there.

Am I still allowed to post?
Inundated is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off