Sacramento, CA - OTA - Page 335 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2014, 11:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Here's an example that I believe must be evidence of indoor multipath. I replaced a television that was having difficulties with one that is more than twice as big. Would reception change? I thought it might some, but here's what I've seen so far. I've done several scans. The antenna is the same. KVIE, which was the less reliable VHF, now is more so. Fox 40, which has been a problem ever since the transition in the room, won't lock. I have scanned it in. 42.1 was first scanned in on the old set more than 5 years ago. It was pretty much never locking. Today, I scanned it in. It locked with no problems. In the past 5 years, I've tried several antennas in this room. Even with more antenna gain, Diablo was a problem. Today, it wasn't. Maybe today was a perfect inversion for Diablo. We'll see. In addition, for the Walnut Grove signals, I've had to change location and height for both VHF and UHF channels.
deltaguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2014, 06:50 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Bob,

There was an audio problem on Friday's delayed broadcast of Whose Line and Hart of Dixie after the game. My receiver said DD but all audio was from the left front speaker.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 05-11-2014, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57

Today will be a very good test of my antenna rotators, the wind is incessant and strong, trees are bowing , shaking and dancing non-stop. 

 

@Calaveras @Larry Kenney In windy conditions such as this, if it is strong enough to turn the antenna at all, you are best leaving it that way, to prevent any additional strain on the gears? If it will turn it against the internal brake, I know they are test rated at 70+ miles an hour, but I would rather be off point aimed for a day, than put additional unnecessary strain.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 05-11-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Josh... I used to have a terrible time keeping my rotors aligned due to the wind making the antennas turn against the brake. We get a lot of real gusty wind here and that's brutal on the rotors. I'd have to go through a realignment at least two or three times a week. One rotor broke during a real windy day last July, then the other one quit working in October. In December both rotors were removed and not replaced, so all of my antennas are fixed now. There are times when I wish I had rotors up there, but it was getting to be too much of a problem and too expensive to keep replacing them, so I gave up.

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 05-11-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

Today will be a very good test of my antenna rotators, the wind is incessant and strong, trees are bowing , shaking and dancing non-stop. 

 In windy conditions such as this, if it is strong enough to turn the antenna at all, you are best leaving it that way, to prevent any additional strain on the gears. If it will turn it against the internal brake, I know they are test rated at 70+ miles an hour, but I would rather be off point aimed for a day, than put additional unnecessary strain.




IMO there are no TV antenna rotors worth spending my money on. I know that makes people cringe but if a rotor can't handle a TV antenna in just about any wind without turning or breaking then it isn't much of a rotor. You should not be worrying about the wind we have today damaging your rotor with a TV antenna on it. There are no high end TV rotors so your only choice is a low end ham rotor. I know people think those are ridiculously expensive but sometimes things just don't come at the price levels you think they ought to.

A really good used rotor is this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALLIANCE-HD73-ANTENNA-ROTOR-SYSTEM-/181403548032?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a3c7e7980

But you'll need this to go along with it to mount it on a mast.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALLIIANCE-HD-73-ANTENNA-HAM-CB-ROTOR-ROTATOR-MAST-BRACKET-ORIGINAL-OEM-/161278124627?pt=US_Radio_Comm_Antennas&hash=item258cece253


This is about the least amount of money you can pay for a decent rotor. The next step up is a Yaesu G-450 with lower bracket runs around $400.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Old 05-11-2014, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post


IMO there are no TV antenna rotors worth spending my money on. I know that makes people cringe but if a rotor can't handle a TV antenna in just about any wind without turning or breaking then it isn't much of a rotor. You should not be worrying about the wind we have today damaging your rotor with a TV antenna on it. There are no high end TV rotors so your only choice is a low end ham rotor. I know people think those are ridiculously expensive but sometimes things just don't come at the price levels you think they ought to.

A really good used rotor is this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALLIANCE-HD73-ANTENNA-ROTOR-SYSTEM-/181403548032?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a3c7e7980

But you'll need this to go along with it to mount it on a mast.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALLIIANCE-HD-73-ANTENNA-HAM-CB-ROTOR-ROTATOR-MAST-BRACKET-ORIGINAL-OEM-/161278124627?pt=US_Radio_Comm_Antennas&hash=item258cece253


This is about the least amount of money you can pay for a decent rotor. The next step up is a Yaesu G-450 with lower bracket runs around $400.

Chuck

Remember my rotor has to antennas on it, one a foot above (yours) and the 91XG 5 ft above it, so I have a lot of drag on it and coming from way above it, It is holding up pretty well I think for 40 ft above the ground. Do you agree?

 

The one thing I like about mine now is the remote control and multiple preset locations.

 

I think I will have to leave it up until the wind kills it, at which point I will replace it with your above suggestions. Hopefully go another 20 ft up at the same time as well.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 05-11-2014, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

Remember my rotor has to antennas on it, one a foot above (yours) and the 91XG 5 ft above it, so I have a lot of drag on it and coming from way above it, It is holding up pretty well I think for 40 ft above the ground. Do you agree?


Let's hope it continues to hold up.

Quote:
The one think I like about mine now is the remote control and multiple preset locations.


Another advantage of the ham rotors is that they have a position indicator so they never get out of sync. Presets are less common because the antenna may need to point in any direction making them less useful.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Old 05-11-2014, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57

ANYONE ELSE NOTICE THINGS LIKE THIS??

 

 

From the latest episode of NCIS: Los Angeles. Thats an old school tv, with rabbit ears, no converter box, no way it would still be any good, lol. Was on screen for like 2 seconds in a rolling pan.

 

I also notice things like the new KIA commercials, While the lady is talking, the house in the background (her house) has a big ol tv antenna on top of it.

 

I really am a nerd, lol.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 05-12-2014, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

ANYONE ELSE NOTICE THINGS LIKE THIS??




From the latest episode of NCIS: Los Angeles. Thats an old school tv, with rabbit ears, no converter box, no way it would still be any good, lol. Was on screen for like 2 seconds in a rolling pan.

I also notice things like the new KIA commercials, While the lady is talking, the house in the background (her house) has a big ol tv antenna on top of it.

I really am a nerd, lol.

Wal*mart was selling tube type "DTV-SDTV" sets .... up until as recently as.... 2012
So maybe around 2% of tube type sets >> actually don't need any converters.

Some drugstores such as walgreens, were selling black & white 13" sets up until about 2001
They were priced around 39 to 49 bucks.
Black & white sets are getting kinda rare now........... Even more rare ..... is the modern "solid-state" ones like mentioned above....(No tubes)
Feeling kinda retro ? biggrin.gif
888CALLFCC is offline  
Old 05-12-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 143

Here in Stockton my 34 year old Alliance Tenna-Rotor atop a 40 foot mast has performed without a hitch. Are the newer rotors less robust?

Garrett Adams is offline  
Old 05-12-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Bob,

There was an audio problem on Friday's delayed broadcast of Whose Line and Hart of Dixie after the game. My receiver said DD but all audio was from the left front speaker.

S~

Yes, we had a problem with a decoder. Fixed now.
teachsac likes this.
Bob Hess is offline  
Old 05-12-2014, 06:27 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Thanks Bob.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 05-12-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett Adams View Post

Here in Stockton my 34 year old Alliance Tenna-Rotor atop a 40 foot mast has performed without a hitch. Are the newer rotors less robust?

I assume it's a U-100 or similar number. They all used the same rotor, just different control boxes. The U-100 was a very good rotor and more than up to the task to turn the largest TV antenna. As long as the rotor capacitor doesn't fail (which is common) the rotor will turn forever. Greasing it might be a good idea.

The new rotors are not nearly as good as a U-100.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Old 05-14-2014, 08:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Ch. 10 ABC

Is anyone else experiencing really bad breakup on Ch 10? Trying to figure if it is a station issue or Comcast. Still bad this morning. Last night's recordings were unwatchable.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 05-17-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
For those with good antennas, KEMO has added another sub-channel, 50.2, the BOLD TV Network. It appears to be another network of older TV shows like ME-TV, Antenna TV and Retro TV.

Larry
SF

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 07:44 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Hess View Post

Yes, we had a problem with a decoder. Fixed now.
Worked fine Friday.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Old 05-24-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
JNinCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morada, Calif.
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea what happened with KTNC 42.4, now 42.5?

They added a new subchannel, but instead of adding the new oldies station to the new subchannel, they "bumped" the subchannels all up a subchannel. The old 42.4, now moved to 42.5, shows up in the PSIP, but it has been a test pattern 24/7 for couple of weeks now.
JNinCA is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Last night while watching KCRA it went out on me. This morning I did a channel scan and tons of channels are weak signal. KCRA and KVIE were out yet KXTV worked with full signal strength (strange cause it's further than the rest).

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post

Last night while watching KCRA it went out on me. This morning I did a channel scan and tons of channels are weak signal. KCRA and KVIE were out yet KXTV worked with full signal strength (strange cause it's further than the rest).

The temperature inversions are at it again. KCRA (and others) were out here the last two mornings. KVIE was the only Walnut Grove station unaffected. I think it's because of their low gain antenna.OTOH Salinas stations have been booming.

Chuck
jhughy2010 likes this.
Calaveras is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post

The temperature inversions are at it again. KCRA (and others) were out here the last two mornings. KVIE was the only Walnut Grove station unaffected. I think it's because of their low gain antenna.OTOH Salinas stations have been booming.

Chuck

Do you ever lose KSBW 8?

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

Do you ever lose KSBW 8?

No. Salinas stations are unusual. They frequently go up but seldom go down below their nominal levels. I wish that was true of Walnut Grove which is mostly the opposite.
Calaveras is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I lived in Houston, then moved to Sacramento where I am now. In Houston PBS and CW broadcast in 1080i. In Sacramento those stations broadcast in 720p. There is a stark difference in picture quality, with the Houston stations providing better picture quality than the Sacramento ones. PBS in Sacramento is so bad I might as well be watching SD. I was just wondering if anyone else who move around notice anything similar.
Davidt1 is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
You should post this over on the Sacramento thread. I'm going to do a close comparison of KQED 9 (1080i) and KVIE at 5:30 tonight when they're airing the same program. Any chance you can get KQED at your location?
Calaveras is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57

K13ZL-D

 

Does anyone know anything about K13ZL-D? I have never seen it on or anything about it before today. It was in earlier with a strong signal, but no picture??

 

@Calaveras, So you never lose the signal on KSBW (I think I did once for around 10 minutes)? But you do lose the Sacramento stations? I know you have said you also lose SF stations, so what do you use to record network programming with your DVR reliably??


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
No, I don't get KQED at my location. I just watched King of Queens in 1080i on CW in Sacramento. The quality is good. I was wrong to say that only the Houston stations broadcast in 1080i. The stations in Sacramento do too. Anyway, to my eyes, 1080i looks way better. I recorded a some of my favorite comedy shows such as Seinfeld and Two and a half men in 1080i when I was in Houston. I have also recorded a the same shows in 720p here in Sacramento. There is no comparison. The shows in 1080i look a lot better than 720p.
Davidt1 is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

K13ZL-D

Does anyone know anything about K13ZL-D? I have never seen it on or anything about it before today. It was in earlier with a strong signal, but no picture??

How do you know what station it was? Did the TV show the call sign? It's never been on the air. Maybe it's about ready to come on. That'll probably be the end of Reno and Salinas for you. I hope I can't see it. I don't want to lose KCBA. TVFool says K13ZL should be NM -13 dB and KCBA -27 dB. I hope it's wrong about K13ZL.

Quote:
@Calaveras
, So you never lose the signal on KSBW (I think I did once for around 10 minutes)? But you do lose the Sacramento stations? I know you have said you also lose SF stations, so what do you use to record network programming with your DVR reliably??

KSBW is right in the middle of KVIE and KXTV in terms of signal strength but doesn't have the mulitpath issues of KXTV. I have never lost KVIE. That's the only station that is true of from Walnut Grove. Anything from Sutro is very unreliable here although KQED and KBCW are pretty good. I've been recording off of Walnut Grove for some years now. Rarely does a station just go away for an entire program. Most of the losses last only a few minutes. I just put up with it. If a show is really messed up I can watch it on Hulu.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I did a careful comparison between KQED and KVIE on the PBS News Hour weekly show. I could do a quick A/B comparison with the antenna halfway between the two stations. KQED might be a little better but it was very close. I certainly wouldn't call KVIE SD quality.

Aren't the networks all standardized on either 1080i or 720p except PBS?
Calaveras is online now  
Old 06-01-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
The June issue of the Worldwide TV-FM DX Association "VHF-UHF Digest" was released today. In the TV News section is the following from the California listing:

Petaluma 3 K14MW QC from 14, 1.2kw,
37-55-45/ 122-35-09; CC to K03HY, CL to San Francisco

Redding 42,44
K42JQ,
K44KG
PG to 100w, 40-36-40/ 122-22-51; NW

San Francisco 3 K03HY PR to 2.5kw

Santa Rosa 4 KTVJ-LP DC from 36, 300w,
37-55-45/ 122-35-09; CL to Petaluma; PC to 1.2kw

Santa Rosa 26 K26JV PR to 3kw

CC=Callsign change
CL=City of License change
DC=DC Converted to DTV
NW=New station on air
PC=Power (and/or tower height) change on the air
PG=Power change granted
PR=Power change requested
QC=QC Channel (frequency) change on the air

Thought some of you might be interested in seeing this information.

From what Keith wrote, the power request for K03HY has been granted.

Larry
SF
jhughy2010 likes this.

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57
@Calaveras

Yes, I got the call sign from the stations PSIP information, only way I had any idea it wasn't Reno.

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 77
It's far more likely to be a bit- rate issue causing a perception of quality difference rather than the screen resolution. It might also be an issue with your TV set in how it handles non-native resolutions which would require internal conversion.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off