Sacramento, CA - OTA - Page 349 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 10447 Unread Yesterday, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok but what are you using to grab the signal from the HD Homerun? Are you using WMC or something similar?

Edit: Sorry about that I read a few posts up and see you are using WMC. I'll post the solution (I hope).
Thanks for the help, I was using WMC for viewing, but I am now using Openelec/Kodi for viewing (problem is still there). I am only using WMC for recording now. Is there a fix for Kodi too? The media player is a Celeron NUC if that helps. I will also look at the features you noted to see if they are on.

tia,
Ron

Krell Showcase 7.1, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, (3) Balanced MiniDSP 2x4s, (2) JBL 8340As,  PS3, XBox 360, (2) Intel NUCs, Blue Jeans 7.1 Cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Darbee Darcet, (1) Yamaha P7000s, (1) Yamaha XM-4080, (1) Sherbourne 5/1500, (1) Lexicon NT-512, MiniDSP DDRC-88A, and an Oppo 103.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 10447 Unread Yesterday, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
Thanks for the help, I was using WMC for viewing, but I am now using Openelec/Kodi for viewing (problem is still there). I am only using WMC for recording now. Is there a fix for Kodi too? The media player is a Celeron NUC if that helps.
Did you try the fix that I mentioned in the previous post? Utilize the graphics properties for the GPU you are using.

I will research if Kodi has display settings that can contribute to contrast enhancements.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #10443 of 10447 Unread Yesterday, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Did you try the fix that I mentioned in the previous post? Utilize the graphics properties for the GPU you are using.

I will research if Kodi has display settings that can contribute to contrast enhancements.
I am going to try the fixes you posted now.
jhughy2010 likes this.

Krell Showcase 7.1, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, (3) Balanced MiniDSP 2x4s, (2) JBL 8340As,  PS3, XBox 360, (2) Intel NUCs, Blue Jeans 7.1 Cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Darbee Darcet, (1) Yamaha P7000s, (1) Yamaha XM-4080, (1) Sherbourne 5/1500, (1) Lexicon NT-512, MiniDSP DDRC-88A, and an Oppo 103.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
post #10444 of 10447 Unread Yesterday, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
@ellisr63 What I believe is happening (especially with WMC) is that the active contrast enhancements are/is causing problems with the signal KVIE delivers. I too have had this exact same problem with WMC which was utilizing Intel HD4600 GPU.

My fix was to download the latest driver here and then right click the desktop and open "graphics properties". You can do the same thing to open Nvidia graphics properties but this fix is exclusively for Intel.

Go to Video / Image Enhancement / Advanced / Contrast Enhancement ..... set the Contrast Enhancement to Disable.

If you are using a GPU from Nvidia or ATI then you'll find a similar setting in its corresponding control panel. I would go one step further and disable your panels Active Contrast or Contrast enhancement feature (each newer panel has one). Even experiment with your panels Dynamic Contrast enhancement feature. I have turned mine off because it messes with gray scale calibration.

Anyhow, this fix worked for me and I'm hopeful (kind of positive) it will work for you!
I just tried turning off the Contrast Enhancement and if it made a difference it was not much. It is hard to tell because their was not as much white displaying when i did it this time. It had a blue beach scene and it did it again.

Krell Showcase 7.1, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, (3) Balanced MiniDSP 2x4s, (2) JBL 8340As,  PS3, XBox 360, (2) Intel NUCs, Blue Jeans 7.1 Cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Darbee Darcet, (1) Yamaha P7000s, (1) Yamaha XM-4080, (1) Sherbourne 5/1500, (1) Lexicon NT-512, MiniDSP DDRC-88A, and an Oppo 103.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
post #10445 of 10447 Unread Yesterday, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
I just tried turning off the Contrast Enhancement and if it made a difference it was not much. It is hard to tell because their was not as much white displaying when i did it this time. It had a blue beach scene and it did it again.
Specifically go to the Intel GPU display driver settings and follow this: Go to Video / Image Enhancement / Advanced / Contrast Enhancement ..... set the Contrast Enhancement to Disable.

I'm pretty sure it was this that fixed it for me. My flashing was identical as the video you showed and very specific to 6.1
ellisr63 likes this.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #10446 of 10447 Unread Today, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Specifically go to the Intel GPU display driver settings and follow this: Go to Video / Image Enhancement / Advanced / Contrast Enhancement ..... set the Contrast Enhancement to Disable.

I'm pretty sure it was this that fixed it for me. My flashing was identical as the video you showed and very specific to 6.1
Thanks, would that be in the Bios?

Krell Showcase 7.1, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, (3) Balanced MiniDSP 2x4s, (2) JBL 8340As,  PS3, XBox 360, (2) Intel NUCs, Blue Jeans 7.1 Cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Darbee Darcet, (1) Yamaha P7000s, (1) Yamaha XM-4080, (1) Sherbourne 5/1500, (1) Lexicon NT-512, MiniDSP DDRC-88A, and an Oppo 103.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
post #10447 of 10447 Unread Today, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
Thanks, would that be in the Bios?
See my post below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
@ellisr63 What I believe is happening (especially with WMC) is that the active contrast enhancements are/is causing problems with the signal KVIE delivers. I too have had this exact same problem with WMC which was utilizing Intel HD4600 GPU.

My fix was to download the latest driver here and then right click the desktop and open "graphics properties". You can do the same thing to open Nvidia graphics properties but this fix is exclusively for Intel.

Go to Video / Image Enhancement / Advanced / Contrast Enhancement ..... set the Contrast Enhancement to Disable.

If you are using a GPU from Nvidia or ATI then you'll find a similar setting in its corresponding control panel. I would go one step further and disable your panels Active Contrast or Contrast enhancement feature (each newer panel has one). Even experiment with your panels Dynamic Contrast enhancement feature. I have turned mine off because it messes with gray scale calibration.

Anyhow, this fix worked for me and I'm hopeful (kind of positive) it will work for you!

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off