Sacramento, CA - OTA - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 10220 Old 07-01-2004, 04:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
deeann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Vicki, looks like it mighta been region wide (not just a Voom problem, we still had our mapping fine, just no signal).

Oh yeah- welcome to AVS! (for those who haven't met Vicki yet, she posts over at SatGuys)

I've split mine also (but to a VCR instead). The antenna will pick up both the digital and analog signals (which is handy when the digital goes down, though (as you've noticed also) the analog reception isn't always that great).

Don't worry- you'll get up to speed with all this stuff pretty fast
deeann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 10220 Old 07-03-2004, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anybody else looked at KQCA (58-1) lately? All I'm getting is a screen full of green blocks, with audio from programs that are not airing on KQCA analog. Right now for example, at 12:25 on a Saturday afternoon, I am hearing an episode of Will & Grace. Checked it on two different receivers -- same thing on both.

Call me crazy, but it seems like they have somehow managed to put their Warner Bros. syndication receiver into their DTV transmitter! Will & Grace just ended, and now it's sitting in black ... after a minute or so, the end credits ran (I can hear 'em, but not see 'em) ... and now it's gone to bars and tone ... and another episode of Will & Grace. It's been like this for at least 12 hours!

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #183 of 10220 Old 07-03-2004, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Same here on KQCA (58-1). I noticed it yesterday as well during the afternoon. Sometime in the 10:00 pm hour block I surfed to 58.1 to check and there was a HD network show playing and all looked well.

Earlier in the week the KCRA DT signal went out during Conan. I'm wondering whether they are swapping gear between the two channels as a result.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #184 of 10220 Old 07-03-2004, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey I got a question for football fans (mainly raider fans). Since the nfl blocks out many local games, is there a TV station close enough to Sac that I might be able to reach with my antenna that would not be blacked out? I heard chico gets the games, anybody know?


Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #185 of 10220 Old 07-03-2004, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by Garrett Adams
I'm wondering whether they are swapping gear between the two channels as a result.

I don't know what they're doing, but whatever it is, it's not good! Maybe they just patched their WB HD receiver into the transmitter (which is why you saw HD last night), and now it's just spewing out SD syndication programming (for shows they don't own the rights to broadcast ...)

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #186 of 10220 Old 07-03-2004, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
tlrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deleted 'cos of stupidity......
tlrowley is offline  
post #187 of 10220 Old 07-04-2004, 01:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Still the same junk on KQCA-DT as of midnight. I wonder why they just don't turn off the transmitter and save some money ...
videojanitor is offline  
post #188 of 10220 Old 07-04-2004, 09:52 PM
Member
 
brad 54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
68 miles from Oak Grove...Using a roof top yagi at the apex of my single stroy roofline boosting w/a 24 db amp combing both SAT and OTA signals then splitting w/in the Voom receiver.

OTA:

3.1
6.1, 6.2, 6.3 (6.4 is not listed; all 6.x DTV signals have some slight problems early AM and late PM when sun is present, small window)
10.1, 10.2
13.1, 13.2
19.1 (19.2 listed but no programming)
31.1 (listed but unable to receive due to LP)
40.1, 40.2
58.1 (seems to be having rather consistent problems recently)

Voom (DVI):

HBOHD E/W
MAXHD E/W
SHOHD E/W
TMCHD E
STARZHD E/W
ENCOREHD E
ESPN E/W
DISCHD E
BRAVOHD E
TNTHD E
NFLHD E

plus 21 Voom originated HD channels

plus 80+ SD

Up and running since Feb 04 w/ Toshiba 46H83 HD Monitor, P DVD, 5.1
brad 54 is offline  
post #189 of 10220 Old 07-04-2004, 09:57 PM
Member
 
brad 54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correction:

ESPNHD E Only
brad 54 is offline  
post #190 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK, it is now Monday at 11am and KQCA-DT is *still* transmitting the raw output of their WB syndication satellite receiver (with unviewable video, but perfect audio). I don't get it ...

-- Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #191 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would have to guess they do not know what they have on the air. ???

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #192 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
if they don't know somebody needs to be fired!


Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #193 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm not sure how they could *not* know -- I've been in their control room -- they've got monitoring for both KCRA-DT and KQCA-DT. Unless that's all broken, it would be impossible for anybody to be in there for three days and not notice.

I'm marking this one down as perhaps the strangest, and lengthiest on-air blunder I've seen (and I've see a LOT!)

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #194 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So they are leaving it on the air, spending I would guess at least $300 a day, just so they can say they were on? Very strange. I will give them credit for good signal strength anyway. The programing does leave a lot to be desired though.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #195 of 10220 Old 07-05-2004, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hmmm, I gotta say, I am more inclined to tune into THIS than I am to their regular programming!

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #196 of 10220 Old 07-07-2004, 06:36 PM
Member
 
mrchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since yesterday June 6th, I havent had any sound on KQCA 58. you guys having the same problem?
mrchan is offline  
post #197 of 10220 Old 07-07-2004, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I haven't checked their audio for a couple of days, but I can confirm as of this moment it's dead on my end as well.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #198 of 10220 Old 07-07-2004, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
KQCA went to black on Monday afternoon at around 4:30 (as opposed to sending out the green screen and audio from the WB receiver). Video popped back on sometime on Tuesday, but no audio. Not sure what is going on over there, but if I were them, I'd just turn off the power.
videojanitor is offline  
post #199 of 10220 Old 07-07-2004, 10:31 PM
Member
 
mrchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info guys. hope it picks back up soon.
mrchan is offline  
post #200 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 02:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
On another note, I just noticed tonight that KXTV has removed the "stretch" from their 4x3 programming -- it's now truly 4x3 and looks good. I applaud them for that!

Now, I'm not sure about those gray side-panels on KMAX. That *doesn't* look good to me.

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #201 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bill Shakespeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 30 miles NW of Sacramento, CA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bill R.,

I've watched very little SD on the digital channels, but I don't remember KXTV being "stretched" previously (like ESPN-HD). What changed for you?
Bill Shakespeare is offline  
post #202 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Bill S.,

KXTV had been stretched just a little bit for several years when they were upconverting -- not a lot, but enough to make people look too "wide." Yesterday they removed the stretch, so it is a perfect 4x3. I've got a couple of friends in Engineering over there, and I have been pestering them to do this for some time. I guess they finally decided they'd heard enough out of me.

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #203 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 11:57 AM
Member
 
MyGrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by drunkpenguin
Hey I got a question for football fans (mainly raider fans). Since the nfl blocks out many local games, is there a TV station close enough to Sac that I might be able to reach with my antenna that would not be blacked out? I heard chico gets the games, anybody know?


Johnny

I get 12..CBS I think, in fuzzy mess for the most part. Who knows, with a bigger ant. Mines a non amped wingard sensar 1000, in the "pocket" area.

Raider fan as well, and season ticket holder....til now. So, I too, am wondering about such.
MyGrain is offline  
post #204 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 12:02 PM
Member
 
MyGrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mrchan
since yesterday June 6th, I havent had any sound on KQCA 58. you guys having the same problem?

Marty? That you?!

How's the Delorean holding up these days?

;-}
MyGrain is offline  
post #205 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 137
When I checked today at 4:45 pm KQCA-DT 58.1 had both audio and video.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #206 of 10220 Old 07-08-2004, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by videojanitor
Bill S.,

KXTV had been stretched just a little bit for several years when they were upconverting -- not a lot, but enough to make people look too "wide."

it was a 14x9 stretch (vs the 16x9 full-screen). Now, I can finally watch KXTV-DT for 4x3 programming

Troy
Troy J B is offline  
post #207 of 10220 Old 07-10-2004, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bill Shakespeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 30 miles NW of Sacramento, CA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of KVIE's digital signals were off the air earlier this morning.

About multiple digital signals, is there any reason to keep a station's extra digital channels in my channel list? Except for KOVR, with its digital and analog weeknight programming at different times, and KVIE, are the multiple signals each station transmits duplicates of each other?
Bill Shakespeare is offline  
post #208 of 10220 Old 07-10-2004, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drunkpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've been wondering this too. Sometimes it seems they have different programming, and other times they are the same. Is there a list somewhere for which channels show what?


Johnny
drunkpenguin is offline  
post #209 of 10220 Old 07-10-2004, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by Bill Shakespeare
About multiple digital signals, is there any reason to keep a station's extra digital channels in my channel list? Except for KOVR, with its digital and analog weeknight programming at different times, and KVIE, are the multiple signals each station transmits duplicates of each other?

For the most part you can probably delete them, at least in this market. 10-2 usually had the "weather radar," but it's gone for the summer; 13-2 is just a (very soft) SD version of KOVR analog (used by some cable companies I'm told); 40-2 is the same as 40-1 as far as the video goes, but it carries SAP audio (when available on the program).

--Bill R.
videojanitor is offline  
post #210 of 10220 Old 07-11-2004, 10:16 AM
Member
 
shred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a silver sensor in my upstairs closet and pick up the sac locals fine except for 31.

Last night I ran a channel check and picked up many more stations,most watchable.

I received 4.1 4.2 7.1 7.2 7.3 38.1 43.1 43.2,I'm guessing these stations are from the bay area.I cant pick them up this morning.

Anyone around downtown sac,I'm in 95833,picking up these stations on a consistent basis?
I may add an amp or reposition my antenna if I could get these station reliably.

Any recommendations,I really don't want to use an outside antenna,the attic may be OK.I think there is coax already up there.
shred is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off