Tallahassee, FL - HDTV - Page 150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4471 of 4494 Old 07-28-2011, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
chomper87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm extremely jealous of my dad who has FiOS. He has no idea how good he has it. There was a month they had him on a 35M/35M symmetric Internet and Ultimate TV - needless to say I was going out of my mind when I visited.
chomper87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4472 of 4494 Old 08-06-2011, 09:02 PM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomper87 View Post

I'm extremely jealous of my dad who has FiOS. He has no idea how good he has it. There was a month they had him on a 35M/35M symmetric Internet and Ultimate TV - needless to say I was going out of my mind when I visited.

I went to Tampa a week ago and I got envious of the Bright House and Verizon offerings... they really do leave Tallahassee in the dust

I must be one of the lucky ones, I only had 2 billing screw ups (a few dollars) and I have had near flawless service. Some issues with the channels, which I suspect is due to the economy trap, but nothing catastrophic. I had no problems with Embarq (now CL)... just hated my pitiful speed. I stay in an ancient apartment with no room for a Dish... contract is a deal killer as well. I thought about going back to centurylink, but I qualify for only 1.5 and they want all these fees to start up. So, it wasn't worth it for me... also, I would be paying almost as much as comcast anyway
qbot101 is offline  
post #4473 of 4494 Old 10-04-2011, 03:56 PM
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not getting psip information from the nbc affiliate OTA.
Lkr is offline  
post #4474 of 4494 Old 10-24-2011, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone know why WTXL has stopped broadcasting audio in 5.1? Or do they even know? They sometimes seem to be almost cluelesss about their audio.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #4475 of 4494 Old 11-28-2011, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

Anyone know why WTXL has stopped broadcasting audio in 5.1? Or do they even know? They sometimes seem to be almost cluelesss about their audio.

I receive the following local Tallahassee , FL Network TV stations on my Dish Package. CBS,FOX, NBC, and ABC. All of these channels offer 5.1 audio when included in the program signal, EXCEPT ABC WTXL Channel 27! They deliver "pro-logic" audio, never 5.1 regardless of the program. Also most "major so-called" cable channels that I receive on Dish deliver 5.1 audio. I also recall they (WTXL) dragged their feet when digital OTA was first introduced. I would hate to own stock in their company.

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #4476 of 4494 Old 01-15-2012, 01:29 PM
Member
 
NewNole2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news of Comcast bringing any more HD channels to Tallahassee?
NewNole2001 is offline  
post #4477 of 4494 Old 03-24-2012, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
richall01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Park, GA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV has just added PBS WFSU Channel 11 in HD!!!
richall01 is offline  
post #4478 of 4494 Old 07-30-2012, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richall01 View Post

DirecTV has just added PBS WFSU Channel 11 in HD!!!

DirecTV has had WTLF in testing on the transponder with the HD-LILs since January of this year.

Is WTLF in HD, or do they have plans to do so this year?!

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #4479 of 4494 Old 07-30-2012, 07:42 PM
Member
 
1998Nole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast has added WTLF in HD on channel 435.
1998Nole is offline  
post #4480 of 4494 Old 07-31-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1998Nole View Post

Comcast has added WTLF in HD on channel 435.

Aah! I guess that answers my question then...

Is it available in HD OTA as well?! WTLF, WFSU, and WFXU are the three Tallahassee, FL channels I cannot receive.


I'm really hoping that DirecTV offers The CW in HD in my market once WSWG-DT3 (The CW) goes HD next year. Hopefully Tallahassee, FL DirecTV customers will receive WTLF in HD soon as well.

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #4481 of 4494 Old 08-24-2012, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1998Nole View Post

Comcast has added WTLF in HD on channel 435.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gordon View Post

Aah! I guess that answers my question then...
Is it available in HD OTA as well?! WTLF, WFSU, and WFXU are the three Tallahassee, FL channels I cannot receive.
I'm really hoping that DirecTV offers The CW in HD in my market once WSWG-DT3 (The CW) goes HD next year. Hopefully Tallahassee, FL DirecTV customers will receive WTLF in HD soon as well.

I had one other Tallahassee/CW question I wanted to ask...

Recently, Tribune added HD tags to multiple CW affiliates nearby:

  • WSWG-DT3 (Valdosta, GA/Albany, GA)
  • WLTZ-DT2 (Columbus, GA)
  • WTLH-DT2 (Bainbridge/Tallahassee, FL)

WSWG-DT3 is going HD next year and WLTZ started broadcasting HD on their sub-channel on the 16th of this month. WSWG-DT3 corrected the HD tags on their channels within two weeks, and WLTZ-DT2 is now correct, so my question is, what's the deal with WTLH-DT2?! Are they going to provide an HD feed of WTLF-DT on WTLH-DT2, or have they not bothered to correct Tribune about it?!

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #4482 of 4494 Old 10-08-2012, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the deal with WTWC-DT2 (40-2/40.2)?!

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #4483 of 4494 Old 10-08-2012, 12:57 PM
Member
 
PBSengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't know, but it's gone -- no stream.
PBSengineer is offline  
post #4484 of 4494 Old 10-08-2012, 04:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The affiliation agreement between Cool TV and Sinclair ended and was not renewed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #4485 of 4494 Old 11-02-2012, 09:37 PM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTWC question:

I am currently watching this station via Comcast, but the one thing that bugs me about this station is the lack of HD syndicated programming, such as The Insider, Maury, Ellen, and Entertainment Tonight.

Does this station lack the equipment to show HD syndicated programs? Heck, the non-NBC commercials look crummy. Watching Maury now and everyone looks like they have on too much make up. the fonts are blurry and the screens are cut off. The Insider and Entertainment Tonight looked just as atrocious. I guess downscaling is really the pits.

The other stations got HD syndicated shows, and they are shown properly on my TV via Comcast most of the time; even WTLF/WTLH DT2 feed is awesome in HD. I wish Sinclair would get this station right, but money trumps all.

I guess I have been spoiled by the Atlanta and Tampa counterparts frown.gif
qbot101 is offline  
post #4486 of 4494 Old 01-07-2013, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ClarenceR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbot101 View Post

WTWC question:
I am currently watching this station via Comcast, but the one thing that bugs me about this station is the lack of HD syndicated programming, such as The Insider, Maury, Ellen, and Entertainment Tonight.
Does this station lack the equipment to show HD syndicated programs? Heck, the non-NBC commercials look crummy. Watching Maury now and everyone looks like they have on too much make up. the fonts are blurry and the screens are cut off. The Insider and Entertainment Tonight looked just as atrocious. I guess downscaling is really the pits.
(

Wow. Miracles never cease?!? Family Feud's in HD on WTWC now.
ClarenceR is offline  
post #4487 of 4494 Old 01-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep! I noticed it when I turned on the TV today to see Family Feud in HD! I couldn't believe my eyes! I recorded today's Maury and it is also in HD!!!!!
qbot101 is offline  
post #4488 of 4494 Old 01-07-2013, 04:09 PM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and this is ET IN HD!!! Yay!!! Nice job WTWC! I thought this day would never come!
qbot101 is offline  
post #4489 of 4494 Old 01-07-2013, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
ClarenceR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hehehe. biggrin.gif

Must have started today. I, being a wrestling fan, checked last Saturday's ROH recording and it was SD (hopefully next Sat. night?). I'll probably watch the Feud at 11 to watch a full HD episode.

I can finally stop thinking about porcine aviators when WTWC is brought up.
ClarenceR is offline  
post #4490 of 4494 Old 01-10-2013, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
Joda Lynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if Comcast has added WTLF in HD on channel 435 as posted above, does anyone know if we will get the CW in HD on DirecTV soon??? Really want to watch some of their shows in HD this season!!!
Joda Lynn is offline  
post #4491 of 4494 Old 08-15-2013, 03:40 AM
Member
 
UNC8185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally switched to Comcast Triple Play from DirecTV. Thanks for help from this Forum.

- I love the internet (thus far) and like the TV service including better local offerings in Tallahassee than DirecTV. I like being able to get GA Public Broadcasting.
- The phone has been AWFUL! Issues have included ring-backs and poor call quality
- Customer service in general could be much better. Bills are always in flux. Level 1 representatives are totally clueless. Supervisors claim that they have no way to contact techs or their reports after home visits!!!
- A more extensive Comcast retail outlet or area would have helped with our decisions. I would have benefitted from seeing the options and picture quality. At least they now have a LCD TV setup in the office.
- Upcoming X1 platform seems to be promising. However, X2 sounds even more interesting. Tallahassee, however, does not appear to be at the top of the list in terms of roll-outs. ;-(
- AnyRoom DVR appears to be limited. I would love to see recordings from other/primary DVR in combination with full-DVR functionality (e.g. skip-forward, skip backward) at each set.

If DirecTV had better internet offerings, I would have stayed with an upgrade to the GENIE system. However, I no longer wanted CenturyLink DSL.
UNC8185 is offline  
post #4492 of 4494 Old 08-15-2013, 05:31 AM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a Comcast user... I stay because a dish isn't feasible at my residence and I realized that CenturyLink wasn't going to improve their Internet offerings in my area. Billing and customer service are my issues with Comcast. I only went to the local office once to turn in a modem... Nightmare lines indeed. I have a triple play package (only after an audit would have taken away all the channels I watched lol)... I agree with the phone. It is sub-par compared to CL.



Sent from the Blanco Beast, SCH-I605
qbot101 is offline  
post #4493 of 4494 Old 11-25-2013, 06:19 PM
Member
 
UNC8185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I noticed that the Monday Night Football game on Comcast 403 is not in HD on both of my TV's. Chatted with Comcast support with no resolution. ESPN2 on 404 is in HD as normal. The problem started yesterday to my knowledge.

Is anyone else have similar problems with HD? However, I am not sure that I need to see my favorite team, Washington, in such high resolution. It has been a terrible season! ;-)
UNC8185 is offline  
post #4494 of 4494 Old 11-25-2013, 07:08 PM
Member
 
qbot101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNC8185 View Post

Hi, I noticed that the Monday Night Football game on Comcast 403 is not in HD on both of my TV's. Chatted with Comcast support with no resolution. ESPN2 on 404 is in HD as normal. The problem started yesterday to my knowledge.

Is anyone else have similar problems with HD? However, I am not sure that I need to see my favorite team, Washington, in such high resolution. It has been a terrible season! ;-)

Just tuned in; commercials are in HD and any ESPN programming on 403 gets pushed back to SD. Weird. Maybe there is something going on with the ESPN feed?
qbot101 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off