Tallahassee, FL - HDTV - Page 85 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 4494 Old 05-30-2007, 06:28 PM
Member
 
1998Nole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

I just spoke with Mike Plummer this morning and he said WTXL is indeed now full HD with local master control. And he confirmed Comcast has moved local HD channels to the 400's (WTXL is 431). He also said their HD audio is DD 5.1 (hooray!). But he also said to expect some glitches for a while as they get the new setup completely tweaked and working right. There was a problem with a HD card a few days ago but that was supposed to be replaced by today, so those of you who did not see HD should by this evening I guess.

Does Comcast have to do anything in order for ABC to air HD programming again besides air what WTXL sends to them? Also it looks like it is still SD tonight.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

FYI, Comcast now carries FoodHD and HGTV-HD

I can't find them what channels are they on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

So now Comcast is wasting bandwidth....

It looks like channels 301 and 416 are both HBOHD, it looks like they duplicate all of the HD movie channels with 1 in the 300's and 1 in the 400's. Is this a waste of bandwidth or just the same channels mapped to 2 locations without somehow wasting bandwidth?
1998Nole is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 01:03 AM
Senior Member
 
ClarenceR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OompaLoompa77 View Post

Is anyone in Valdosta able to pick up Channel 27 in Valdosta. I am only getting a signal of 16. I have a rooftop antenna. Getting CBS and FOX great.

Me neither. You get a 16 signal strength w/a rooftop antenna meaning I've zero chance of getting it at home w/the Eagle Aspen UHF antenna indoors.

I also emailed Mr. Plummer last week about whether WTXL-DT's signal can reach Valdosta and I've got no response.
ClarenceR is offline  
post #2523 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 10:05 AM
Member
 
goat1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After WTXL/ABC came back OTA a few days ago, it looks better (better than the Dish WTXL feed) but I still don't get antything in HD. I hope this changes soon.
goat1976 is offline  
post #2524 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Comcast is still carrying WTXL (ch 431) in SD (WTF!) and I called Mike Plummer early this morning to let him know. There is nothing to watch on WTXL until the fall anyway, but I would like to see them finally get their sh_t straight.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #2525 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadMojo11 View Post

"Traveler" on ABC HD is supposed to be HD but doesn't look like it is to me. Anyone else care to comment?

I don't know about OTA, but it was not HD on Comcast (ch 431)- none of WTXL is HD on Comcast as of yet. I suggest you call Mike Plummer (894-6397) and complain. Maybe if enough of us raise a fuss they will do something about it.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #2526 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 12:39 PM
Member
 
goat1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

I don't know about OTA, but it was not HD on Comcast (ch 431)- none of WTXL is HD on Comcast as of yet. I suggest you call Mike Plummer (894-6397) and complain. Maybe if enough of us raise a fuss they will do something about it.


It was NOT in HD OTA.
goat1976 is offline  
post #2527 of 4494 Old 05-31-2007, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OompaLoompa77 View Post

Is anyone in Valdosta able to pick up Channel 27 in Valdosta. I am only getting a signal of 16. I have a rooftop antenna. Getting CBS and FOX great.

My Kitchen TV ,which in the shop, has the OTA tuner. Will post any ABC sightings if and when it(TV) returns from service.

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #2528 of 4494 Old 06-01-2007, 03:27 AM
Member
 
AVPhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadMojo11 View Post

"Traveler" on ABC HD is supposed to be HD but doesn't look like it is to me. Anyone else care to comment?

Started out in HD w no sound, then switched to upconverted SD for sound. I have not watched all of the program yet (both pilot and next episode).
Seems they are still having issue with having Sound on HD.
AVPhan is offline  
post #2529 of 4494 Old 06-01-2007, 05:47 AM
Member
 
fsubelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do we have this channel on Comcast HD or not? If so, what is the channel number?
fsubelch is offline  
post #2530 of 4494 Old 06-01-2007, 12:40 PM
Member
 
BadMojo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tallahassee Florida
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsubelch View Post

Do we have this channel on Comcast HD or not? If so, what is the channel number?

No not yet. I'm sure it will filter in soon within the month.
BadMojo11 is offline  
post #2531 of 4494 Old 06-01-2007, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the contact info for the regional VP of Comcast Gulf Coast (Comcast Tallahassee is a part of this region) in Sarasota:

Steve Dvoskin, regional VP
(941) 342-3552
steve_dvoskin@cable.comcast.com

Those who want more HD baseball games should e-mail him and ask that Comcast buy the extra 55 Marlins games so that there is no interruption in any Marlins telecasts whether they be HD or SD.

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
post #2532 of 4494 Old 06-02-2007, 08:05 AM
Member
 
hunter0008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeFish View Post

Here is the contact info for the regional VP of Comcast Gulf Coast (Comcast Tallahassee is a part of this region) in Sarasota:

Steve Dvoskin, regional VP
(941) 342-3552
steve_dvoskin@cable.comcast.com

Those who want more HD baseball games should e-mail him and ask that Comcast buy the extra 55 Marlins games so that there is no interruption in any Marlins telecasts whether they be HD or SD.

Done. (Auto reply out of the country on vacation until June 7th....how jealous am I? Hopefully his assistant will take note of the email as it says in the auto-reply)

On another note...does anyone know if ABC HD works yet in Tallahassee? Only at certain times of the day do they even have HD content and I have missed most of those opportunities to check and see. Too bad that season finally of Lost couldn't be in HD...what a good episode.
hunter0008 is offline  
post #2533 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 04:34 AM
Member
 
talkingtiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know when Comcast and Tivo will get together and fix the channel lineups and add in the channel data since they did all of the moves? I had to cancel over half my season passes because of the channel changes.

You never know how much you get attached to the Tivo guide data until its not there.
talkingtiki is offline  
post #2534 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 08:07 AM
Member
 
hunter0008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunter0008 View Post

Done. (Auto reply out of the country on vacation until June 7th....how jealous am I? Hopefully his assistant will take note of the email as it says in the auto-reply)

So I got a response from his assistant. She basically shoved the responsibility on everyone except for Comcast and said that if we wanted these extra games, then Comcast subscribers would have to pay for it and Comcast has decided this is unfair to the customers. What a sell-out response. Oh well. I guess we'll just have FSN-HD wasting bandwidth while showing nothing.
hunter0008 is offline  
post #2535 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a reply from Comcast Tallahassee's Customer Service Manager that was full of inaccuracies (Comcast only will miss 55 games, not 70 and you CANNOT get the missing games by buying MLB Extra Innings) and I responded. Hopefully they will fix the situation once the GM gets back.

I'm getting the ClubDISH card I got handy just in case. At least Dish HD is more complete and the HD-DVR is for 2 rooms.

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
post #2536 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by talkingtiki View Post

Anyone know when Comcast and Tivo will get together and fix the channel lineups and add in the channel data since they did all of the moves? I had to cancel over half my season passes because of the channel changes.

You never know how much you get attached to the Tivo guide data until its not there.

I'd recommend either informing Comcast or TiVo Customer Support (at the link I just provided). There's only space for a few channels to report, but I would just do a few and then in the comment area, mention the others.

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #2537 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 02:00 PM
Member
 
PBSengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTOH
I told TiVo on 5/15 that the changes were coming on 5/30 - ignored. I complained on 5/30 that the changes had not been made. I also took the time to (at 3 at a time) inform them about all 69 channel moves. They still have not made the changes - they did inform me that they had contacted Comcast on 5/31 and were awaiting a reply. They have not yet replied to my tirade today.

BTW. you shouldn't have deleted your season passes. They will change when TiVo (or their "data partner") gets their act together.
PBSengineer is offline  
post #2538 of 4494 Old 06-04-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBSengineer View Post

OTOH
I told TiVo on 5/15 that the changes were coming on 5/30 - ignored. I complained on 5/30 that the changes had not been made. I also took the time to (at 3 at a time) inform them about all 69 channel moves. They still have not made the changes - they did inform me that they had contacted Comcast on 5/31 and were awaiting a reply. They have not yet replied to my tirade today.

BTW. you shouldn't have deleted your season passes. They will change when TiVo (or their "data partner") gets their act together.

While I've never contacted TiVo directly about channel changes, I have contacted Zap2it.com, Tribune Media Services and countless stations regarding OTA discrepencies.

I've never received a response from Zap2it.com, I've gotten a response ONCE from Tribune who asked me what the incorrect problems were, but then never replied back after I told him, nor were the problems fixed. I've also dealt with station managers/engineers who had no idea what I was talking about, though I've thankfully managed to find some helpful people who helped me get "correct" guide data for stations like WTLH-DT2, WSWG-DT, WSWG-DT2, and I've been lucky that some problems have corrected themselves (or so it seems) such as problems with WSST-DT, WRBL-DT2, WTVM-DT2, and additional issues with WSWG-DT, WSWG-DT2.

I've also managed to try and get guide information added for WALB-DT2 until it became a "moo" ("Friends" reference) point since WALB recently STOPPED BROADCASTING WALB-DT2 (10-2).

I'm planning on getting a TiVo Series 3 in the next week or two ($399 after rebate from where I'm getting it), and I intend on contacting TiVo right after activation to get guide data for WTXL-DT2 and WTWC-DT2 straightened out...

It really should be easier than this getting guide data straightened out, shouldn't it?

God only knows how difficult it may be to get guide data once GPB (Georgia Public Broadcasting) goes digital this year...

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #2539 of 4494 Old 06-05-2007, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

I don't know about OTA, but it was not HD on Comcast (ch 431)- none of WTXL is HD on Comcast as of yet. I suggest you call Mike Plummer (894-6397) and complain. Maybe if enough of us raise a fuss they will do something about it.

What is WTXL's problem? Why are they not in HD yet? Its been over two years now since they went off. What is the problem here? The NBA finals are coming up and WTXL is dropping the ball yet again.
DavidML3 is offline  
post #2540 of 4494 Old 06-05-2007, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post

What is WTXL's problem? Why are they not in HD yet? Its been over two years now since they went off. What is the problem here? The NBA finals are coming up and WTXL is dropping the ball yet again.


I suggest you call Mike Plummer at 850 894-6397 and ask (or vent) your questions directly to him. Let us know what he says.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #2541 of 4494 Old 06-05-2007, 04:14 PM
Member
 
seanatki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody else lost WTWC OTA? I only get the analog, and it seems to have completely disappeared. Is the digital working?

Sean
seanatki is offline  
post #2542 of 4494 Old 06-05-2007, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Trek2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanatki View Post

Has anybody else lost WTWC OTA? I only get the analog, and it seems to have completely disappeared. Is the digital working?

Sean

I am still getting it.
Trek2000 is offline  
post #2543 of 4494 Old 06-05-2007, 05:13 PM
Member
 
talkingtiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBSengineer View Post


BTW. you shouldn't have deleted your season passes. They will change when TiVo (or their "data partner") gets their act together.

Yes I know that but who knows when that will be and the passes I have now either
A) don't record because there is dead signal on the station or
B) it records what it thinks it should and its from a different channel

Both of these are a pain in the ass.

I contacted tivo channel support and got a ticket opened with them but it says it will take 5-7 days to resolve.
talkingtiki is offline  
post #2544 of 4494 Old 06-06-2007, 03:08 AM
Member
 
PBSengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, progress at TiVo. I got this reply last night:
Quote:


Thank you for contacting TiVo's Channel Lineup Department. We have received an update from our data provider. The changes have been made to your lineup but it will not reflect for another 48-72 hours. Please advise if there are any further lineup discrepancies we may assist you with.

So maybe progress?? -- I'm about to force a connection and see what's up.
PBSengineer is offline  
post #2545 of 4494 Old 06-06-2007, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
richall01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Park, GA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's June 2025 and still no WTXL HD. When will tomorrow get here?
richall01 is offline  
post #2546 of 4494 Old 06-06-2007, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

I suggest you call Mike Plummer at 850 894-6397 and ask (or vent) your questions directly to him. Let us know what he says.

called got a voicemail

emailed and got no reply.

I think he is tired of the complaints. They need to do something. Can they use a feed from lets say Jacksonville's ABC or Orlando or something for at least sports games and national tv programming?
DavidML3 is offline  
post #2547 of 4494 Old 06-06-2007, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
richall01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Park, GA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To WTXL: "If you want to be first, you have to come in first place." Stop talking about what you are going to do "First local news in HD" and Just Do It!
richall01 is offline  
post #2548 of 4494 Old 06-06-2007, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tallahassee Democrat has an article outlining the new Comcast price increases.

$50+ basic analog Comcast Cable service is going to start turning many users off. I know I will try anything but Comcast come the fall.

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
post #2549 of 4494 Old 06-07-2007, 03:47 AM
Member
 
talkingtiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBSengineer View Post

Well, progress at TiVo. I got this reply last night:

So maybe progress?? -- I'm about to force a connection and see what's up.

Got the update last night with all the changes.
talkingtiki is offline  
post #2550 of 4494 Old 06-07-2007, 05:32 AM
Member
 
NeonDeion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called WTXL yesterday and asked about HD. The receptionist said that they had to order a part before they could get the HD signal to comcast. It is on order, but she didn't know an ETA for HD broadcasts.

Neon
NeonDeion is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off