Orlando, FL - OTA - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 3233 Old 07-11-2011, 05:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WMOR isn't on the affiliate list.

I actually wouldn't be surprised to see WFLA drop RTV for MeTV at some point in the future, but that's pure speculation.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 3233 Old 07-12-2011, 07:52 AM
Member
 
luminance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gawd I miss RTN on 27.2, but ever since they switched to RF 27, I can't get it at all. What should happen is 18.2 switch from this' to Me'. They already have that WESH connection, and this' has been kind of a letdown. I had no idea there were that many crappy movies out there.
luminance is offline  
post #3003 of 3233 Old 07-12-2011, 01:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
On July 1, RTV lost the Universal library. There's not a whole lot on it worth watching anymore anyway.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3004 of 3233 Old 07-13-2011, 08:20 AM
Member
 
luminance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

My signal levels on WOFL are way down in the last week, anybody else notice this?

No, but I'm DX in Vero (72 mi.), and with all the clouds lately, I've actually been getting some pretty good skip.
luminance is offline  
post #3005 of 3233 Old 07-13-2011, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hakemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

My signal levels on WOFL are way down in the last week, anybody else notice this?

I thought it was just me: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...gon/signal.jpg

There picture looks rather "ugly" too..
Hakemon is offline  
post #3006 of 3233 Old 07-13-2011, 09:12 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

On July 1, RTV lost the Universal library. There's not a whole lot on it worth watching anymore anyway.

- Trip

trip any word why did nbc universal pull the plug on RTV. could it be that they want to take back all their previous shows so they can charge a fee similar to what hulu

btw I like RTV much better now that they have less shows, wherever they got this new prgramming it blows whatever they had prior
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #3007 of 3233 Old 07-14-2011, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post

trip any word why did nbc universal pull the plug on RTV. could it be that they want to take back all their previous shows so they can charge a fee similar to what hulu

No idea.

A friend and I were speculating that Comcast may look to start its own classic programming subchannel to replace Universal Sports should it go cable/satellite only (since they just made a deal with DirecTV for national carriage), but there's no evidence at all to back up that assertion. 100% pure speculation.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3008 of 3233 Old 07-18-2011, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WOFL has never operated at 1000 kW, at least not under the previous permit they held for the higher height. They've been at 607 kW for several months now and simply decided to leave the power at that value instead of increasing it to 1000 kW.

Now as for the recent signal issues, that could be something else, but it's not related to the FCC filings you've observed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3009 of 3233 Old 07-18-2011, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Because the permit for 1000 kW expires next week. They have the 607 kW built, so they can go ahead and license that at least, then refile for the 1000 kW if they want.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3010 of 3233 Old 07-18-2011, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The FCC quickly granted the permit, so they'll probably file to license it this week. Not too bad, really. I've seen license applications filed on the expiration date.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3011 of 3233 Old 07-25-2011, 05:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It's entirely possible they're doing antenna work, first on the one tower, then the other. Not sure why you'd reject a license for such a thing.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3012 of 3233 Old 07-25-2011, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Do you think this has anything to do with them starting to show syndicated HD programming?
HDOrlando is offline  
post #3013 of 3233 Old 07-25-2011, 09:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

they have a license for the airwaves and so as long as they operate at some power level and hope the situation stays under the FCCs radar they can save lots of money on power costs. That is why I think their should be an investigation and the license should be in question.

I hate to break it to you, but if they were running on the aux... the aux is a licensed facility.

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=41225#station

Note the DX-LIC field.

Not saying they shouldn't answer your inquiries, etc., just saying that it's not license-challenging material.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3014 of 3233 Old 08-11-2011, 01:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 33
satpro,

Gave you heard anything on when Telemundo will become available in HD OTA?
HDOrlando is offline  
post #3015 of 3233 Old 08-11-2011, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 33
satpro,

Thanks for the info as always.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #3016 of 3233 Old 08-12-2011, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

Tonight 8/11/11 at 8:12 pm WTMO ran a scroll in Spanish that read,

Attention: If you are watching by over the air antenna WTMO Telemundo Orlando is in digital on channel 31.1 Enter the menu of your television and do a scan. Once it finishes tune to channel 31.1.

Ironic scroll, how would I be receiving the scroll unless I already scanned the station in???? Perhaps, they still have a couple of distant analog translators in Kissimmee, Melbourne or Daytona. Of course there they may not be able to get 31 in digital so still kind of strange. Probably required by the flash cut.

Digital and analog channel identifiers are quite different. For analog, the actual channel numbers were used. But for digital they can use any channel number. But when you do the channel scan on your tv, it is scanning through actual channel frequencies for programming. If 31.1 switched the actual frequency from for example channel 44 to 48, without scanning you will lose the ability to watch 31.1.
bommai is offline  
post #3017 of 3233 Old 08-16-2011, 09:54 AM
Member
 
jeffmccown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live out in the Malabar, FL area and have had trouble receiving WFTV CH 9 OTA since last week (around Aug 10th, 2011 or so). I emailed WFTV and told them what I was seeing and I received a call back from them. The message that they left stated that they are currently running at reduced power and that they are installing a new antenna and transmitter. They are expecting to finish the work by mid-week next week (that would be Wed Aug 24th, 2011). An early completion date would be Sunday, Aug 21st, but that would be dependent on the weather.

I ordered a signal pre-amp for my house, so maybe that will help. I ordered it before I got the message from them.

I just want to say kudos to WFTV for even calling me back and leaving a message. They didn't have to do that, and I really appreciate it when people take a few extra minutes to keep people informed.

-=Jeff=-
jeffmccown is offline  
post #3018 of 3233 Old 08-16-2011, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The WFTV staff, particularly Engineering, are a class act.

Harry
HGN2001 is offline  
post #3019 of 3233 Old 08-18-2011, 09:36 PM
Member
 
harleyjoe43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ocala Fl.area (viewing Orlando stations )
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same thing goes for me up here, I was going nuts running around checking cables, connections, etc. Glad I checked this board 'cause I was ready to call the antenna guy (not cheap!) And yes,I know about WCJB (ABC) in G'ville but it's an iffy signal here.
harleyjoe43 is offline  
post #3020 of 3233 Old 09-01-2011, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

The Antenna TV network sub channel starts Monday 9/5/11 in Orlando. According to this it is replacing retro on WRDQ 27.2.

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/ent...from-wrdq.html

http://www.antennatv.tv/

http://affiliate.zap2it.com/tvlistin...?aid=antennatv

It's better than the current RTV line-up, that's for sure, but I find MeTV to be more to my taste and liking.

MeTV goes back deeper into the '60s. AntennaTV seems to concentrate on the '70s. That's a generalization, I realize, but that's the impression.

Obviously MeTV has '70s shows with Mary Tyler Moore, Streets Of San Francisco, Cannon, Hawaii Five-O, but they really dig out the '60s classics like Dick Van Dyke, Perry Mason, Dobie Gillis, Hillbillies/Petticoat Junction, Twelve O'Clock High, Combat, The Untouchables - and even back to some '50s with early Gunsmoke half-hours.

Antenna TV's schedule looks more '70s based to me with the All In The Family and Three's Company stables of shows.

But thanks for the tip. I can actually receive 27 some of the time here in the Davenport area.

Harry
HGN2001 is offline  
post #3021 of 3233 Old 10-02-2011, 07:53 PM
Member
 
harleyjoe43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ocala Fl.area (viewing Orlando stations )
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody notice an increase in TX power on WUCF ? A while back they said they were going to raise it. Just wondering.....
harleyjoe43 is offline  
post #3022 of 3233 Old 10-03-2011, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
dengland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone make an inexpensive ATSC meter? I need something for around the house.
dengland is offline  
post #3023 of 3233 Old 10-03-2011, 09:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
What kind of a meter are you looking for?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3024 of 3233 Old 10-04-2011, 04:29 AM
Senior Member
 
dengland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

What kind of a meter are you looking for?
- Trip

I think I am just looking for signal strength. Something I can go to the end of each cable run, dial up a channel and have a repeatable measurement.

Thanks
dengland is offline  
post #3025 of 3233 Old 10-04-2011, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Re-evaluate "inexpensive".
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #3026 of 3233 Old 10-04-2011, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
For that sort of thing, I use a Sencore SLM-1456CM, which was recommended to me by ProjectSHO89. It has a spectrum analyzer and will provide SNR readings among other things, but mine cost me just under $600 on eBay. Friends of mine have gotten them (or lesser models) for less than that, but right now I don't see any on eBay except the 1454 which guesses at the SNR instead of using an actual demodulator like the 1456 does.

Not nearly as convenient, but my HDHomeRun has a signal meter whose values correspond almost directly to the SNR and other numbers provided by my Sencore. The problem is that you need a computer and a wired network connection available to use it, but it is significantly cheaper than the Sencore.

Some of the USB tuners might be decent too in terms of meters, but I haven't personally found one with the kind of signal meter I would need to recommend it for something like this.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3027 of 3233 Old 10-04-2011, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Stanislav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

The bigger interest for me is what becomes of the WMFE transfer and also if as it stands now if the current WMFE license holder is even fulfilling their licensing requirements since July 1st.

I've been wondering myself...obviously they are just broadcasting the one available programming stream they have left (V-me) to keep the license and their cable/satellite slots active. But as a basically passive repeater now, no local programming, no E/I (well, there may be a few V-me shows that qualify), they are hardly serving the public interest. (Not that I consider the proposed Daystar programming to "serve the public interest" in any way, shape or form, either...but I digress...) I guess they can get away with it long enough to consummate the sale to Daystar, but I thought it would be wrapped up by now (it HAS been about 3 months, no?).
Stanislav is offline  
post #3028 of 3233 Old 10-05-2011, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
dengland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

For that sort of thing, I use a Sencore SLM-1456CM, which was recommended to me by ProjectSHO89.
- Trip

Thanks. USB Tuner and net book would make a lot of sese if you there was access to any of the signal info. I dont see anything like that in WMC.

Thanks again.
dengland is offline  
post #3029 of 3233 Old 10-08-2011, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
dengland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/suppor...l_monitor.html

Given the right tuner, the info is available. This works with my PCI based ATSC tuner.
dengland is offline  
post #3030 of 3233 Old 10-10-2011, 10:51 PM
Member
 
OrlandoOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanislav View Post

I've been wondering myself...obviously they are just broadcasting the one available programming stream they have left (V-me) to keep the license and their cable/satellite slots active. But as a basically passive repeater now, no local programming, no E/I (well, there may be a few V-me shows that qualify), they are hardly serving the public interest. (Not that I consider the proposed Daystar programming to "serve the public interest" in any way, shape or form, either...but I digress...) I guess they can get away with it long enough to consummate the sale to Daystar, but I thought it would be wrapped up by now (it HAS been about 3 months, no?).

I know that Bright House has removed this station, and replaced that channel with a slate directing viewers to various forms of WBCC (WUCF-TV Ha Ha). Has Comcast or others also removed WMFE?

It seems silly to run the transmitter just to get slots, especially since the largest cable company has dumped them off their system. Did they not claim to not have the money to operate this television station? If so, the more honest thing for them to do at this point is to apply for a silent STA.
OrlandoOTA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off