Peoria, IL - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2005, 07:35 PM
Member
 
JahJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not to nitpick, cause we are all really happy about this WRacer, but I was getting a lot of clicking in the audio. does that have anything to do with the transmission? anybody else notice that?
JahJeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2005, 08:28 PM
Member
 
ggingrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought the audio was ok, great on network feed. Switched to right channel during news and local commercials. Audio levels dropped (lower) on occasion.

All in all, VERY impressed. I'm sure the audio issues will be resolved.

Say, Wracer, was that you on the news???

Kudos to everyone who worked on the project! My vote for raises and vacations all around!
ggingrich is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
WRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: St. Louis,MO (Wildwood)
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, that was me on the news. Working on audio problem on local...some wiring glitch at the studio.
Jim

Jim Wright
Regional Engineering Manager
Sinclair Broadcast Group
WRacer is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Cubfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So why do you have to go to SD for the local feed? Can't you leave the HD on and just have the content go 4:3?
Cubfan is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 09:58 PM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by WRacer
Yup, that was me on the news. Working on audio problem on local...some wiring glitch at the studio.
Jim

Echoing what others have said thus far, kudos to you and your crew for a job well done. I'm so excited that we'll have the big game in HD. I hope you all get raises and a couple weeks off, because all of us here think you deserve it.

Now, a question: can we expect any downtime after the Superbowl to put in the "permanent" equipment? If so, any estimated duration? Because for some of us (yeah, I'm one), there is another BIG HD event coming two weeks after the Superbowl - that's right, the Daytona 500.

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:24 AM
Member
 
stevet96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Morton, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone get the HD feed last night? I was able to get the SD feed a few days back, but I haven't been able to geet a feed since. I live in Morton and currently have a signal strength of 74ish. I have Voom and for some reason it wants a signal strength of atleast 80 to keep a feed locked in. Anyone else in the area use Voom and have the same problem? The day I got the SD feed in the signal strength was 94. Has anyone noticed a significant drop in the signal feed?
stevet96 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Cubfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get about 95 (unbelievable) on my Dish 811 here in Bloomington. No other station comes close to that.
Cubfan is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I get 86% here in Pekin and yes American Idol was in HD last night.

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
WRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: St. Louis,MO (Wildwood)
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the thumbs up! Actually when not on a Fox HD feed, the local analog signal is being up converted to 720P in 4 x 3. At least it should be , but I can't monitor it here in St. Louis.
We will have the 500 on in HD. Any down time will be very short and during the day.
Jim

Jim Wright
Regional Engineering Manager
Sinclair Broadcast Group
WRacer is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:02 AM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very good - and thanks again!

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Cubfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jim, on my projector, the non Fox HD feed is coming out stretched to 16:9. All the Fox 4:6 content looks just fine when HD is going.
Cubfan is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:54 AM
Member
 
stevet96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Morton, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't figure my fox HD problem out. Last night I was watching King of the Hill and the picture was great. However, I would lose the signal every 2-3 minutes. I checked my signal strength and it was running around 94. It would then suddenly drop to 73 for a minute and go back up to 94. This morning it was at a steady 73 with an occassional bump up to 81. I am using a Voom OTA receiver and have experienced no problems like this from the other area HD feeds.

I have a Terk TV35 antenna in the attic with a Channel master preamp. I have the antenna pointing directly at WYZZ. Even with the antenna pointing away from Peoria and in the attic, I still get all the Peoria channels registering at 95 for signal strength.

For some reason the Voom box requires a steady signal about 80 - 85 for a constant signal. Is this typical for OTA receivers? What receivers can I get that will be able to pull in a signal strength in the 70's without too much interruption?

What OTA receivers are other using to pull in the WYZZ HD and what is your signal strength?

Thanks for all the help. I'm desperately trying to get this solved for the Super Bowl.

Steve
stevet96 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Have you tried it with out the preamp? I installed a CM 7777 and was getting 86% then it would drop to 64% and I would lose the picture. When I removed the CM it stays at a stable 86%. I might have done something wrong but in your case it might be worth a look.

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 02:06 PM
Member
 
stevet96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Morton, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a good thought and I'll definitely give it a try, but I would suspect that if the preamp was the problem that the other stations would behave the same way. Of course the other stations are much closer and may not be as subject to flux as Fox.

Thanks.
stevet96 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 08:10 AM
EAW
Senior Member
 
EAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that this is real thrilling but I've been getting 35-1 KSDK out of St. Louis all morning. I'm in Morton. Little bounce in the air I guess.
EAW is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 10:08 AM
EAW
Senior Member
 
EAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gone now. Looks like our area can expect more of the same tomorrow. Early to mid morning, check to see if you are picking up anything you usually wouldn't get.

CHECK THIS OUT
EAW is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 02:31 PM
Member
 
hypokondriak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is coming out streched to 16:9 as well for SD on 43-1. I can manually adjust it which is no big deal but my TV does it automatically for the other local channels... just an FYI.
hypokondriak is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Steve96 any luck fixing your OTA problem?

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bloomington IL
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a quick note of thanks to WYZZ. The solid Super Bowl broadcast by Fox looked and sounded great. Strongest signal of any of the Peoria stations where I was. In talking with friends, I am amazed at the increasing numbers who have HD via cable, but nothing OTA. That will have to be your next step to get more eyeballs. But you have come a long way in a week. Thanks again.
dgreen is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Cubfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of ticked off cable subscribers over here. WYZZ was broadcasting in HD, yet they couldn't get it. My heart was broken for them.
Cubfan is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morkeleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:


Originally posted by dgreen
Just a quick note of thanks to WYZZ. The solid Super Bowl broadcast by Fox looked and sounded great.

I agree 100% Now bring on the Daytona 500!

Disclaimer:
The words above are based on loose facts mixed with my opinion, the latter of which is subject to change.

Gamertag Morkaleb
PSN Archathema
Morkeleb is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 05:44 PM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Morkeleb
I agree 100% Now bring on the Daytona 500!

Agree with others - so great to see the SB in stunning HD.

Now, about the 500 - like you, I'm looking forward to it just as much, if not more, than the SB. BUT - don't forget, this weekend, Saturday night is the Bud Shootout, also in HD - night racing at Daytona!!!!

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 08:10 PM
Member
 
JahJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess WYZZ is doing there hardware swap now. american idol was not in HD. SD wasn't too bad though. Also, WEEK was not HD until about the last 10 seconds of Scrubs. very strange. anyone else notice that?
JahJeff is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 08:48 PM
EAW
Senior Member
 
EAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EEK has been a little off. However, I pick up 20-1 NBC out of Springfield and between the two stations I usually have 1 HD NBC.
EAW is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 07:09 PM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone getting anything at all on WYZZ HD tonight? Getting a black screen and "weak signal or channel not available" here in Peoria Heights. Signal strength is still pulling 55-60, which isn't great, but that same signal strength gave me the Super Bowl with no breakups for 4+ hours. Also, initially, I was getting this on 43-1 - now, 43-1 defaults me to 43-3, with the same signal strength range mentioned above.

Also, maybe WRacer is still floating around the thread somewhere. Just wondering if this is scheduled downtime or what? I know in an earlier reply you stated that any upgrades or switching of equipment would be a very short timetable, during the daytime. Seems others weren't getting HD last night, and now tonight, I'm not getting anything at all. Then again, maybe it's just me?!

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Cubfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Black screen here, too. Looks like WEEK is having problems, too. *Sigh* Glad they have this HD stuff down to a science, huh?
Cubfan is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 07:24 AM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand WYZZ's situation since they just went on-air last week. Might be some time to get rid of bugs and such. No big deal, as long as they can put out a consistent and reliable product in the end.

As for WEEK, that is a different story. Their HD service has been shoddy at best since I first got OTA back in July '04 (and they had been on-air for I don't know how long before that). I think it's been down more than it has been up in those 8 months.

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 08:02 AM
EAW
Senior Member
 
EAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke too soon. 25-1 and 20-1 were both not HD last night. Maybe network wasn't passing it along?
EAW is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 05:54 PM
Member
 
grdn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering if any others are still experiencing issues with WYZZ Fox? I know Cubfan (Go Cards!) and I are, but just wanna make sure it isn't something on our end.

And tonight, the problem for me has gotten worse - in attempting 43-1/43-3, it was locking my TV up (Hitachi 57S715) to the point of unhooking the antenna and re-powering.

Hitachi 57S715
Zenith DVB318
Onkyo HTS-670S
grdn2 is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 09:33 PM
EAW
Senior Member
 
EAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry can't give input. I'm still pointed at 55-1.
EAW is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off