Peoria, IL - HDTV - Page 64 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 2162 Old 04-08-2010, 05:53 AM
Member
 
bluegras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why cannot WEEK WHOI and WMBD start broadcasting their newscasts in HD?I wish some people contact them and tell them to get the ball going.
bluegras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 2162 Old 04-12-2010, 10:06 AM
Member
 
mhunt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Peoria market stations likely lack the equipment for local broadcasting in HD. It takes a huge investment to upgrade equipment.

One alternative is to go to a 16x9 480i format, it's not HD but at least it fills the screen and eliminates the bars on each side. Maybe our Peoria area stations could investigate this or other options???
mhunt13 is offline  
post #1893 of 2162 Old 04-14-2010, 11:37 AM
Member
 
exdelguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the last two days W51DT analog RF 51 (TBN) has been off the air. This allowed me to get WEIU-DT RF 50 from Charleston, IL and WCIA RF 48 from
Champaign, IL last night. Are they preparing for digital operations?

Thanks!

N9YSW
exdelguy is offline  
post #1894 of 2162 Old 04-20-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Dilbert12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WYZZ over D* seems to have fixed the sound BRRRPPS but now have audio dropouts that seem to be longer and more frequent. Does anyone know if this is a band-aid on the road to correct the original problem or if we will have to live with this now? It is very annoying.

Thanks.
Dilbert12 is offline  
post #1895 of 2162 Old 04-20-2010, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
WRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: St. Louis,MO (Wildwood)
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dilbert12 View Post

WYZZ over D* seems to have fixed the sound BRRRPPS but now have audio dropouts that seem to be longer and more frequent. Does anyone know if this is a band-aid on the road to correct the original problem or if we will have to live with this now? It is very annoying.

Thanks.

The "BRRRPPS" was a Fox network software problem that is now mostly resolved. Can you give more detail on the audio drop outs...local, network, program only, not on commercials, length of drop outs?

Jim Wright
Regional Engineering Manager
Sinclair Broadcast Group
WRacer is offline  
post #1896 of 2162 Old 04-20-2010, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Dilbert12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The audio dropouts seem to be king of random, both during commercials and the program. They were happening during the NASCAR race and 24 yesterday, but have been happening over the past 2 weeks or so. I also noticed it Saturday during the marathon Mets-Cardinals baseball game. I usually watch OTA to avoid the BRRRPS, but I have been watching with D* lately. They seem to take a second or two, and seem to be random, but the sound is repeatable. The sound goes out for about 1-1.5 seconds, then it seems to try to come back, then disappears again for about another 0.5 second.

I once in a while watch 2 1/2 men at 6 and 6:30 for local programming, and honestly, I haven't noticed them during this. Lots of times I have this on as background noise though, and don't pay close attention to it. I will try to pay better attention more the next time I watch.

Thanks.
Dilbert12 is offline  
post #1897 of 2162 Old 04-20-2010, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
WRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: St. Louis,MO (Wildwood)
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dilbert12 View Post

The audio dropouts seem to be king of random, both during commercials and the program. They were happening during the NASCAR race and 24 yesterday, but have been happening over the past 2 weeks or so. I also noticed it Saturday during the marathon Mets-Cardinals baseball game. I usually watch OTA to avoid the BRRRPS, but I have been watching with D* lately. They seem to take a second or two, and seem to be random, but the sound is repeatable. The sound goes out for about 1-1.5 seconds, then it seems to try to come back, then disappears again for about another 0.5 second.

I once in a while watch 2 1/2 men at 6 and 6:30 for local programming, and honestly, I haven't noticed them during this. Lots of times I have this on as background noise though, and don't pay close attention to it. I will try to pay better attention more the next time I watch.

Thanks.

Are you listening in 5.1 or stereo? I understand you only hear it on D* and not over the sir..correct?

Jim Wright
Regional Engineering Manager
Sinclair Broadcast Group
WRacer is offline  
post #1898 of 2162 Old 04-20-2010, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Dilbert12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am listening in 5.1.

Lately, I have only watched over D* and not over the air, but I will try it over the air again.

OTA did get rid of the BRRRP, but I am unsure of the audio glitches. I will check.
Dilbert12 is offline  
post #1899 of 2162 Old 05-09-2010, 01:01 PM
Member
 
bob61744's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WRacer, we still have audio dropouts during Fox network programs, like NASCAR races and 24, even most recent as of May 8. We have DirecTV, and 5.1 setup.
Had same problem w/Comcast year ago.
Noticeable during many 24 countdown clock bumpers.

Will try to see if OTA audio problems also, but tough since we have OTA small old TV upstairs.
bob61744 is offline  
post #1900 of 2162 Old 05-09-2010, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by exdelguy View Post

For the last two days W51DT analog RF 51 (TBN) has been off the air. This allowed me to get WEIU-DT RF 50 from Charleston, IL and WCIA RF 48 from
Champaign, IL last night. Are they preparing for digital operations?

Thanks!

N9YSW

With the exception of full-power DTV stations, all analog/digital translators are being sold, and all were shut off per FCC filings.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #1901 of 2162 Old 05-09-2010, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
WillH1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All--

Did anyone else have OTA WMBD reception issues tonight? My signal was out for a little while tonight. Let me know.

Thanks,
Will
WillH1983 is offline  
post #1902 of 2162 Old 06-04-2010, 09:26 AM
Member
 
99RedSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have Comcast for basic TV service and internet.

Basic TV cost - $16.99
Internet (CHSI Performanc Plus) - $44.99

I thought I heard that since I'm on the Basic service, the channels are QCAM. If that is the case, am I just wasting $16.99 per month if I can get internet for the same price elsewhere?? Or do I *need* their basic service for those main, few channels (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, etc)??

Zoom-Zoom
99RedSi is offline  
post #1903 of 2162 Old 06-04-2010, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99RedSi View Post

So I have Comcast for basic TV service and internet.

Basic TV cost - $16.99
Internet (CHSI Performanc Plus) - $44.99

I thought I heard that since I'm on the Basic service, the channels are QCAM. If that is the case, am I just wasting $16.99 per month if I can get internet for the same price elsewhere?? Or do I *need* their basic service for those main, few channels (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, etc)??

You should be getting a $10 credit for "Bundled Services" which drops the cost. Basic should be channels 2-22 Analog at least with some Clear QAM digital ones.
Without Basic, you are not technically entitled to any TV channels at all: but you might still get some, depending on whatever trap they install. It will be hit or miss.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #1904 of 2162 Old 06-13-2010, 03:07 PM
Member
 
mhunt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just want to be sure I'm hearing the audio properly on Peoria OTA stations ....

I get 5.1 channel audio on 31.1 (CBS) and 43.1 (FOX), I have noticed only 2 channel audio on all the other stations. I think 19.1 (ABC) had 5.1 audio a ways back, but have since stopped. Of course, the 5.1 audio is on the network programs only.

I run my audio through a 5.1 Sony AVR, so do like the nice sound when it happens.

Anyone have a different audio experience??
mhunt13 is offline  
post #1905 of 2162 Old 06-26-2010, 08:28 PM
Member
 
mhunt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not the Peoria market, yet just channel-flipped through the news programs and noticed WAND (NBC 17.1) in Decatur now doing local news in HD. That should push other local stations to do the same .... let's hope we see local broadcasts in HD on the Peoria stations soon !!!!!
mhunt13 is offline  
post #1906 of 2162 Old 07-08-2010, 08:49 PM
Member
 
eureka22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eureka, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I won't swear it's HD, News 25 at 10 was in widescreen format tonight. This was the first time I've noticed it. They had the side bars pushing their website during field reports but the studio shots were full screen. Sports final was full screen on both WEEK AND WHOI. HOI's "recorded" news and weather segments were 4:3. Looks like progress is being made.
eureka22 is online now  
post #1907 of 2162 Old 07-08-2010, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ctmooregottapee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SF
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhunt13 View Post

Just want to be sure I'm hearing the audio properly on Peoria OTA stations ....

I get 5.1 channel audio on 31.1 (CBS) and 43.1 (FOX), I have noticed only 2 channel audio on all the other stations. I think 19.1 (ABC) had 5.1 audio a ways back, but have since stopped. Of course, the 5.1 audio is on the network programs only.

I run my audio through a 5.1 Sony AVR, so do like the nice sound when it happens.

Anyone have a different audio experience??



i can't look right now, but as far as local programming goes, it doesn't matter.

31 and 43 are not 5.1 native, they just take the 2.0 or 1.0 audio and funnel it through a matrixer to create fake 5.1, or funnel it to the audio encoder that is set to output 5.1 channels, filling the other 3.1 with nothing. i've found the matrixing problematic as sometimes it doens't switch off for the network feeds which means you don't get real 5.1 from the network - WBUI out of Decatur was that way for a while.


and i almost guarantee there is not local HD, just digital widescreen, which will be an improvement from the old analog 4:3 source, espcially if the station had to upgrade all of master control from the stone ages. we'll see more HD as the major market channels dump their old HD gear to upgrade and we either pick it up, or it lowers the prices on the low end via competition.
ctmooregottapee is offline  
post #1908 of 2162 Old 07-09-2010, 05:03 AM
Member
 
eureka22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eureka, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctmooregottapee View Post





and i almost guarantee there is not local HD, just digital widescreen, which will be an improvement from the old analog 4:3 source, espcially if the station had to upgrade all of master control from the stone ages. we'll see more HD as the major market channels dump their old HD gear to upgrade and we either pick it up, or it lowers the prices on the low end via competition.

You are correct. HOI Daybreak was promoting "now presented in digital widescreen" this morning. At least it is a step in the right direction.
eureka22 is online now  
post #1909 of 2162 Old 07-17-2010, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Stettin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It looks like Comcast has moved the HD 1080i 1xx-x channels down to xx-1 RF channels. I've been recording a lot of NBC-HD programming with my HTPC, now Windows Media Center doesn't seem to see the 69-1 channel. At least it is at 720p, better than nothing, however I'm looking for some antennas now. I just have to have my 1080i now that I got used to it. Any suggestions on indoor atnennas for apartment complexes? I'm on the ground floor with my living room window facing West
Stettin is offline  
post #1910 of 2162 Old 07-24-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stettin View Post

It looks like Comcast has moved the HD 1080i 1xx-x channels down to xx-1 RF channels. I've been recording a lot of NBC-HD programming with my HTPC, now Windows Media Center doesn't seem to see the 69-1 channel. At least it is at 720p, better than nothing, however I'm looking for some antennas now. I just have to have my 1080i now that I got used to it. Any suggestions on indoor atnennas for apartment complexes? I'm on the ground floor with my living room window facing West

They seem to have moved them again - to 119-xxx and 120-xxx

I have had good luck with the Philips Mant940 indoor/outdoor antenna. Just replace the supplied coax with a higher quality cable.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #1911 of 2162 Old 08-24-2010, 02:03 AM
Member
 
diesel_powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two things worth mentioning:

1. It seems like Comcast Peoria/Bloomington is finally updating their guide software with some advanced search features and an option to tell Grandma that she can watch the local channels in HD instead of sticking to the SD analog tier. No word on whether or not it will be smart enough to know not to re-record shows it's already recorded, played, and deleted. As one reviewer puts it, "It's gone from F to D-." I am so ready to switch to satellite once my contract is up. It'll take nothing short of HD lineup miracles after the analog shutoff for them to keep my business.

2. In more positive news, it looks like HOI News' field capture team has really stepped up their game in terms of 16x9 PQ. The last few taped stories I've seen have been as good as it gets with SD, so well done there. The studio PQ is still unremarkable, but it's infinitely easier (and cheaper) to upgrade field cameras vs. studio cameras. It'll be interesting to see how their continuing transition to HD progresses.
diesel_powered is offline  
post #1912 of 2162 Old 08-28-2010, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Big Bears Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Our guide is active now and we can activate the mydvr feature.It takes about 24 hours.After getting dvrs setup I was able to set and record a program from my computer using the Rockford Il Fancast channel listings that match our area, nationals and their hds are in 900's like ours; must have been an old Insight system.
Big Bears Fan is offline  
post #1913 of 2162 Old 08-28-2010, 06:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Topics merged.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #1914 of 2162 Old 08-28-2010, 06:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bears Fan View Post

Our guide is active now and we can activate the mydvr feature.It takes about 24 hours.After getting dvrs setup I was able to set and record a program from my computer using the Rockford Il Fancast channel listings that match our area, nationals and their hds are in 900's like ours; must have been an old Insight system.

Comcast?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #1915 of 2162 Old 08-28-2010, 07:25 PM
Member
 
Big Bears Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes that is the Comcast A28 guide upgrade
Big Bears Fan is offline  
post #1916 of 2162 Old 08-29-2010, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yea, we just got it down here this week on the Springpatch headend as well...
dishrich is offline  
post #1917 of 2162 Old 08-29-2010, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Big Bears Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is your areas date for change to WOM ?Our date is November 16th but I don't remember if that is analog shutoff or addition of WOM.
Big Bears Fan is offline  
post #1918 of 2162 Old 09-02-2010, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bears Fan View Post

What is your areas date for change to WOM ?Our date is November 16th but I don't remember if that is analog shutoff or addition of WOM.

Ours (Peoria) seems to have been pushed back.
14 channels are switching on 1/25/11 with the rest of the expanded basic/digital starter on 2/22/11, leaving channels 2 through 22 in either analog or Clear QAM.

It's unclear which format the basic package will be in. Currently the DTAs cannot pick up the SD Clear QAM local stations since they are located at physical channels in the 120's and the DTAs appear to have an upper frequency limit of 100.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #1919 of 2162 Old 09-02-2010, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Big Bears Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That surely stinks because I don't think our area can do anything until after your area or at the same time .This change over is starting to get a little ridiculous,I was hoping things would be done before 2011 but looks like 1st quarter 2011
Big Bears Fan is offline  
post #1920 of 2162 Old 09-03-2010, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bears Fan View Post

That surely stinks because I don't think our area can do anything until after your area or at the same time .This change over is starting to get a little ridiculous,I was hoping things would be done before 2011 but looks like 1st quarter 2011

I can envision a couple of reasons for the delay.
Lack of equipment - DTAs
Lack of head-end equpment
Customer resistance. I run a TV repair shop and many of my customers are oblivious to the coming change. Many have just ignored the notices and a lot of them have received no notices. It would seem that anyone who already has a single cable box, of any kind, did not get any of the warning letters. Also, anybody that had no current box is being offered the standard - one set-top-box and two DTAs; however, if you have even a single box, then you are not being offered the DTAs. A request would probably get them, but requests from that group could dramatically increase the number of DTAs needed if they had not planned on supplying the additional boxes to customers that had a single box now.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off