Johnstown, PA - HDTV - Page 114 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3391 of 3404 Unread 04-16-2015, 04:52 AM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm beginning to wonder if ABB is planning something big, like a bunch of more HDs to the area finally.

They already moved Ch 97 to Ch 2 freeing up 97, which I find odd because in the Tribune-Democrat we were told KDKA dropping meant Ch 2 would have been filled with 12 channels yet it was dead for years, LoL.

Anyway, just yesterday ABB seems to have killed Ch 76 which had what's called a "Mini-Carrousel" or Control Channel 63251.

So now Ch 97, Ch 76, and Ch 112 are all dead channels that could take around 9 HDs with Ch 63 having room for probably 1 or more HDs.

I thought we were going to get SDV in the area which you would need Ch 76's 63251, but I'm guessing maybe ABB changed their minds.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3392 of 3404 Unread 04-20-2015, 07:29 AM
Member
 
kd3yt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollidaysburg, Pa
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a question for you all:
Are any of you on DirecTV and if you are, do you have problems with WTAJ. We record everything we watch and it seems that WTAJ has a terrible problem with pixelation. I have a two HR24's and it shows up on both of them so to me that eliminates the DVR's. Watching last weeks Criminal Minds and it was terrible. Could barely watch the show.
kd3yt is offline  
post #3393 of 3404 Unread 04-20-2015, 10:17 AM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kd3yt View Post
Got a question for you all:
Are any of you on DirecTV and if you are, do you have problems with WTAJ. We record everything we watch and it seems that WTAJ has a terrible problem with pixelation. I have a two HR24's and it shows up on both of them so to me that eliminates the DVR's. Watching last weeks Criminal Minds and it was terrible. Could barely watch the show.
WTAJ has been having some transmitter trouble for several days now.
chum1976 is online now  
post #3394 of 3404 Unread 04-20-2015, 10:45 AM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chum1976 View Post
WTAJ has been having some transmitter trouble for several days now.
WTAJ should put the "Decades" subchannel on their tower as they are fixing their transmitter problems. LoL
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3395 of 3404 Unread 04-20-2015, 12:37 PM
Member
 
kd3yt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollidaysburg, Pa
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found their Facebook page and they are still having transmitter problems.
kd3yt is offline  
post #3396 of 3404 Unread 04-23-2015, 06:37 PM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You know Comcast may be the most annoying cable company in the US as they say, but I sometimes feel like ABB is the slowest of any cable company in the US.

I mean how long does it take to add a single subchannel?

They added GRIT very easily, yet another one added around the same time is taking FOREVER....with no news what so ever......
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3397 of 3404 Unread 04-25-2015, 06:21 PM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
You know Comcast may be the most annoying cable company in the US as they say, but I sometimes feel like ABB is the slowest of any cable company in the US.

I mean how long does it take to add a single subchannel?

They added GRIT very easily, yet another one added around the same time is taking FOREVER....with no news what so ever......
It could be until the next carriage agreement takes place. Most likely ABB wants a deal for adding Antenna TV to the lineup.


On another note WTOO-CA channel 23 is showing up with signal, but no picture or anything. I dont know what will pop up there.
chum1976 is online now  
post #3398 of 3404 Unread 04-25-2015, 06:42 PM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by chum1976 View Post
It could be until the next carriage agreement takes place. Most likely ABB wants a deal for adding Antenna TV to the lineup.


On another note WTOO-CA channel 23 is showing up with signal, but no picture or anything. I dont know what will pop up there.
Yea you probably are right.

Customer Service told myself and friends that they are getting a ton of requests for it.

Last I was told was on by ABB Corporate that they are working to add it but are working on multiple channel launches but hope to have a timeline soon.

WATM told me they were told about 3 weeks ago, ABB didn't know when they would get to it.

Also was told this by WATM:

"We can’t force the cable companies to carry it, so we’re basically at their mercy."

I always heard Cable Co's can be forced by local stations....

So not really sure who to completely believe....

As for WTOO-CA it was just bought:

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/8...dup-2-deals-3m
http://rbr.com/pennsylvania-class-a-...out-potential/

Last edited by RedPenguin2; 04-25-2015 at 06:47 PM.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3399 of 3404 Unread 04-28-2015, 06:31 PM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
ABB has stated it looks like Antenna TV will be a "mid-summer launch."

ABB probably will not win the award for the fastest cable company in the US.

Almost 10 other companies including Comcrap beat them to the punch around a month ago....
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3400 of 3404 Unread Yesterday, 08:04 PM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
WTOO-CA is now showing HSN on 23.1
chum1976 is online now  
post #3401 of 3404 Unread Yesterday, 09:02 PM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How can WTOO-CA even be on Ch 23 anyway?

I read that it was originally analog 50 but FCC records do say Ch 23.

How do most TVs know WATM's 23.1 PSIP vs WTOO-CA's 23.1?

HSN isn't too exciting of a channel Especially since it's free online.

EDIT: On a side note, not sure why but ABB's Analog Channel 113 which normally was "Color Bars" is now showing C-SPAN.

Last edited by RedPenguin2; Yesterday at 09:45 PM.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3402 of 3404 Unread Today, 06:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WTOO-CD should be mapping to 50-1. If it's mapping to 23-1 or missing PSIP entirely, it's violating FCC rules.

WTOO-CD can be on RF23 because WATM is on RF24, not RF23. As long as it doesn't cause more than 0.5% interference to WATM, it is allowed.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3403 of 3404 Unread Today, 09:09 AM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
C-SPAN Move

AtlanticBB is moving CSPAN from analog Ch 98 to analog Ch 113.

They stated it's in an attempt to increase the Internet speeds in the area.

I pretty much can guess what they will do based on their previous maintenance:

Move Ch 98 to 113 (done)
Move 110's digital channels to 98.
Then use 109-112 for Internet.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3404 of 3404 Unread Today, 04:55 PM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
WTOO-CD should be mapping to 50-1. If it's mapping to 23-1 or missing PSIP entirely, it's violating FCC rules.

WTOO-CD can be on RF23 because WATM is on RF24, not RF23. As long as it doesn't cause more than 0.5% interference to WATM, it is allowed.

- Trip
It is RF23 showing up as 23.1 on my tv So I have two 23.1 showing up.
chum1976 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off