Johnstown, PA - HDTV - Page 115 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3429 Old 05-22-2015, 07:46 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post
So in answer to your question, the change in programming does not trigger a renegotiation.
What about changes in ownership?

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3429 Old 05-22-2015, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
What about changes in ownership?

No. New owners inherit contract terms and conditions.

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3423 of 3429 Old Yesterday, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Nokorola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Blair County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingray2772 View Post
I'm not sure if this is the correct place for it or not, but I have a few questions about OTA.

I live in Houtzdale and am using an ANT-751 in the attic (actually picked it up a few years ago at Lowes for about $10). Since then I've been getting CBS(WTAJ), ABC, Fox, and This... and recently have been getting AntennaTV. My question to everyone is, are there other channels that I *could* get? I'm a complete noob. I took my cell phone up in the attic, aimed the Antenna and checked that I received the channels. My wife is against having an 'ugly antenna hanging off the roof' but if it is a matter of possibly upgrading antenna then that might be possible. I checked out the Mohu Sky but I would be hesitant to spending that much money only to find out no additional channels can be added. I do have a split in the basement running the signal to two different televisions. Ideally at some point I would like to split the signal to 3 or 4 televisions. I currently do not have an amplifer. I have a ranch home, and the cable runs about 15' then down from my attic to my basement, splits, then goes back up to the first story for the first TV. Unfortunately I can't remember exactly which way I have the antenna pointed... though I believe it is 196 degrees (pointed towards Altoona).

I would love to have NBC.

TV Fool

AntennaWeb shows the following signals...

WATM-DT 23.1 ABC
RF Channel: 24
19 miles at 196° Blue

WHVL-LP 29 MNT
RF Channel: 29
20 miles at 72° Blue

WPSU-DT 3.1 PBS
RF Channel: 15
21 miles at 346° Blue

WTAJ-DT 10.1 CBS
RF Channel: 32
19 miles at 196° Blue

WHVL-LD 29.1 MNT
RF Channel: 27
20 miles at 72° Violet

WKBS-DT 47.1 CTV
RF Channel: 46
19 miles at 196° Violet

If this isn't the right place for this, just let me know. If you can offer any input on me receiving NBC or any additional channels I would appreciate it.

I'm not sure how it would translate to your antenna and situation, but I have my antenna mounted in the attic, and I have it pointed vaguely toward State College, allowing me to receive WHVL (and occasionally WJAC's State College transmitter), and to receive the Altoona stations off the back-ish side. With this setup, I can receive all the local stations (excepting WWCP's Johnstown signal and WPCW in Pittsburgh) including WPSU (3.1-3.3), WJAC (6.1-6.3), WTAJ (10.1), WATM (23.1-23.4), WHVL-LP (analog), WHVL-LD (29.1-29.2), WKBS. Good luck.

How can I be sure in a world that's constantly changing?
Nokorola is offline  
post #3424 of 3429 Old Yesterday, 07:22 PM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anybody know why GRIT6 puts a huge GRIT logo for station identification?

I know the FCC likes to require station ID and I can see if you do it like WTAJ does at the bottom of the screen.

Though, this seems like somebody got a tad carried away.


http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5544258/grit.png - With GRIT ID
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5544258/grit2.png - Without GRIT ID

ALSO

Looks like ABB has added the new "NewsMax TV" channel.

It popped up at 63.6 and is encrypted and with a CableCard set for the Value Package was able to watch it.

It's not completely setup with a channel number or name yet, so you will not yet see it on STBs.

Appears to be 1080i and be a conservative news outlet like Fox News, though does sound like it has some good documentaries...

Last edited by RedPenguin2; Today at 02:40 AM.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3425 of 3429 Old Today, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newsmax showed up on chan 76 this morning but was dropping in and out. I guess they are still tweaking and adjusting.
As for the big Grit logo, I guess they want to build viewer identification. The only info the FCC requires is call letters and city (cities) of license.

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3426 of 3429 Old Today, 10:39 AM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post
Newsmax showed up on chan 76 this morning but was dropping in and out. I guess they are still tweaking and adjusting.
As for the big Grit logo, I guess they want to build viewer identification. The only info the FCC requires is call letters and city (cities) of license.
That's where I see it now.

For some reason a TVGuide service I used called SchedulesDirect acts like we have 76 and 776 but I don't see any evidence of 776.

Though what's confusing is, when I was checking out the channel that's IDing as 76 now, it was putting out and HD signal as it's resolution was 1920x1080......
RedPenguin2 is online now  
post #3427 of 3429 Old Today, 10:47 AM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One channel ABB should add is Weather Nation. I was visiting relatives who have dish network and while the Weather Channel was showing reality shows all day Weather Nation was covering live severe weather.
chum1976 is online now  
post #3428 of 3429 Old Today, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The picture on 76 fills the screen, but they're not yet sending metadata, so I cannot tell what resolution is used. It would not shock me to see more HD channels real soon, as ABB has recently started injecting local commercials on HD channels.
As for weather, there are several better alternatives to the Weather Channel, but none have managed to gain wide distribution.

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3429 of 3429 Old Today, 11:53 AM
Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post
The picture on 76 fills the screen, but they're not yet sending metadata, so I cannot tell what resolution is used. It would not shock me to see more HD channels real soon, as ABB has recently started injecting local commercials on HD channels.
As for weather, there are several better alternatives to the Weather Channel, but none have managed to gain wide distribution.
Seems for some reason ABB knocked it down to SD at 720x480.

ABB Customer Service acts like there will not be an HD after all.

Official launch date is Sunday.
RedPenguin2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off