Johnstown, PA - HDTV - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 3336 Old 07-29-2009, 04:08 AM
Member
 
paragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post

Does anyone here have dish or know what locals they carry?

They carry the big 4 in HD. Don't know what in SD.
paragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 3336 Old 07-29-2009, 03:59 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post

You will not pick up WWCP on their VHF (8). However, WWCP is building a digital translator on RF 17 to serve the Centre County region.

Good info, thanks. Any word on when the translator will be up and running?
pvdigital is offline  
post #2793 of 3336 Old 07-29-2009, 03:59 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paragon View Post

They carry the big 4 in HD. Don't know what in SD.

ok, thanks for the info!
pvdigital is offline  
post #2794 of 3336 Old 08-05-2009, 08:31 AM
Member
 
PANewsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cambria County, PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This morning was the day that Comcast moved some channels around and I don't know if this has to do with Comcast or WWCP, but I noticed this morning that WWCP Ch 8 was airing the exact same thing as WJAC, commercials and all, but WWCP-HD (Ch. 708) was airing regular programming. I noticed it at around 5:45 this morning when I was flipping through the channels and WJAC-TV News was also on Ch. 8. Right now, Ch. 8 is airing Live with Regis and Kelly, but WWCP-HD is airing regular programming. Are other people experiencing this or is this just a problem with Comcast? Also, on my one TV, I'm not recieving WJAC-HD (6-1) and WTAJ-HD (10-1). Is anybody else having problems like this?
PANewsFan is offline  
post #2795 of 3336 Old 08-05-2009, 01:33 PM
Member
 
PANewsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cambria County, PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like the problem with WWCP was with Comcast, because all is back to normal this afternoon.
PANewsFan is offline  
post #2796 of 3336 Old 08-06-2009, 04:49 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.wnep.com/wnep-translater-...,7960793.story

In the near future Scranton-Wikes Barre ABC channel 16 will change their State College translator channel 36 to digital.

This will provide State College with an ABC with a higher PQ than watm 23.
pvdigital is offline  
post #2797 of 3336 Old 08-07-2009, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post

http://www.wnep.com/wnep-translater-...,7960793.story

In the near future Scranton-Wilkes Barre ABC channel 16 will change their State College translator channel 36 to digital.

This will provide State College with an ABC with a higher PQ than watm 23.

WNEP has had a Construction Permit for the digital switch since 2006. It is about to expire, so they have to do it now (or restart the permitting process).
The repeater will operate at very low power (about 250 watts) from the Pine Grove Mountain antenna farm, covering the immediate State College area, and not much else.


Compare that to the 15 Kw signal from the same location used for WJAC's repeater.


In Spring Mills, receiving a reliable signal is going to be something of a challenge, I suspect.

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is offline  
post #2798 of 3336 Old 08-08-2009, 08:29 PM
Member
 
ZeroOneTwoThree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed on WPCW at least 3 commercials in an hour about how The Office is going to be on starting in September.

Also, WWCP also said how My Name is Earl is going to be on in September as well.

Is this some sort of national NBC thing or actually individual local stations getting NBC contracts somehow?

I found no information on the Internet after searching Google.

Also, on a side note, I know advertising commercials more than once is good for sales, but why does WPCW have to show the Tyra Banks show commercial (also in September) basically 6 or more times in one hour? Seems a little obsessive.
ZeroOneTwoThree is offline  
post #2799 of 3336 Old 08-08-2009, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroOneTwoThree View Post

I have noticed on WPCW at least 3 commercials in an hour about how The Office is going to be on starting in September.

Also, WWCP also said how My Name is Earl is going to be on in September as well.

Is this some sort of national NBC thing or actually individual local stations getting NBC contracts somehow?

I found no information on the Internet after searching Google.

Both shows' old episodes are going into syndication.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroOneTwoThree View Post

Also, on a side note, I know advertising commercials more than once is good for sales, but why does WPCW have to show the Tyra Banks show commercial (also in September) basically 6 or more times in one hour? Seems a little obsessive.

That's not as bad as the Molyneaux commercials which seem to come in clumps of two to three in a row.
JK77 is offline  
post #2800 of 3336 Old 08-09-2009, 01:30 PM
Member
 
PANewsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cambria County, PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was recently at a hotel in State College and I noticed on WNEP on Comcast during network programming, there was a message on the screen that said " FCC Duplication Blackout." Does that mean for residents that have Comcast in State College, they can't watch ABC network programming on WNEP and instead have to watch on WATM or was this just on the part of the hotel?
PANewsFan is offline  
post #2801 of 3336 Old 08-09-2009, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Such restrictions apply only to cable. Over the air translators like W36BE are unaffected.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2802 of 3336 Old 08-09-2009, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Canada cable and satellite do "sim-subbing" when one of their networks is airing a program at the same time as one of our network. However, unlike the Comcast situation, they will overlay the American affiliate with the Canadian affiliate so no matter which channel you watched, you'd only see the Canadian station.

I've heard cable systems do the same on this side of the border in upstate New York where they often carry stations from Hamilton, Toronto, Peterborough, Kingston, etc.
JK77 is offline  
post #2803 of 3336 Old 08-09-2009, 05:55 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
29.1 and 29.2 are off-air after the thunderstorms moved through this evening. Anyone else notice this?
pvdigital is offline  
post #2804 of 3336 Old 08-09-2009, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Nokorola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Blair County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post


Am I the only one who laughs at this Acorn shaped signal area every time I see it?

How can I be sure in a world that's constantly changing?
Nokorola is offline  
post #2805 of 3336 Old 08-10-2009, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeeKaye07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Am I the only one who laughs at this Acorn shaped signal area every time I see it?

And I thought it was just me. An acorn, or a cartoon character or something....

Maybe it's just the heat!

DGK
DeeKaye07 is offline  
post #2806 of 3336 Old 08-10-2009, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing unusal about that shape. Look at any high-gain yagi and you'll see the same.
systems2000 is offline  
post #2807 of 3336 Old 08-11-2009, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked this up over at the The official final DTV Table Of Allotments/channel change thread ... it appears the FCC has dropped the ball once again with WPSU. Their application for an extension of their experimental permit for the Distributed Transmission System (DTS) has apparently been misplaced... for two years.

WPSU has its main transmitter in Clearfield and a second booster transmitter on the Pine Grove Mountain antenna farm south of State College. They want to add two more boosters in Altoona and Johnstown. So now, the lawyers are telling the FCC, in effect, "don't blame us because your dog ate our homework!"
These have just been filed:

http://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/ecfs/r...ent=6520192480

and

http://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/ecfs/r...ent=6520192474

The FCC originally dropped the ball when they originally assigned WPSU channel 15 for digital operations, but forgot to coordinate with Canada.
(I'm beginning to think the FCC is staffed by graduates of Ohio State and Michigan.)

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is offline  
post #2808 of 3336 Old 08-11-2009, 07:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post

The FCC originally dropped the ball when they originally assigned WPSU channel 15 for digital operations, but forgot to coordinate with Canada.

They did coordinate with Canada. The problem was that WPSU wanted a bigger coverage area than Canada had approved, so they had to go back to Canada again with it later on.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2809 of 3336 Old 08-11-2009, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slykens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post

(I'm beginning to think the FCC is staffed by graduates of Ohio State and Michigan.)

That may explain a lot, not just the handling of WPSU.
slykens is offline  
post #2810 of 3336 Old 08-12-2009, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Nokorola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Blair County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else notice that monstrosity known as the commercial breaks during Late Night last night? Lots of the different NBC logo animations, and commercials cutting in randomly during the show.

By the way, is anyone else having problems recieving WHVL 29.1-.2, and did they terminate analog broadcast as I see no mention of termination on the website, but the signal on 29 is absent.

How can I be sure in a world that's constantly changing?
Nokorola is offline  
post #2811 of 3336 Old 08-12-2009, 09:59 PM
Member
 
75ohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pleasant Gap, PA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokorola View Post

Did anyone else notice that monstrosity known as the commercial breaks during Late Night last night? Lots of the different NBC logo animations, and commercials cutting in randomly during the show.

I did. Welcome to the world of station automation...did you think someone is at the switcher that late at night?

Quote:


By the way, is anyone else having problems recieving WHVL 29.1-.2, and did they terminate analog broadcast as I see no mention of termination on the website, but the signal on 29 is absent.

Major power problems on Rattlesnake Mountain. The 3 phase transmission lines coming up the mountain from Phillipsburg are having issues. FirstEnergy has been on it since around noon Wednesday. As of this post, the electrical service is still not back on. Many sites are affected, including VORTAC, 3 radio stations, a TV station, and Centre County 911. The 911 site has a generator, of course. The WHVL-LD outage will temporarily affect over-the-air viewers, and cable in Clearfield.

WHVL is back on the air, as of 3AM.

"Modulating carriers since 1987"
75ohms is offline  
post #2812 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The FCC lists WPSU (3) as transmitting from Clearfield on RF15. Is this the only transmitter? During the initial setup, I caught a hint of it on my ZAT-950A. When I did another scan I lost it and have not been able to get it back. Maybe it was a DX?
systems2000 is offline  
post #2813 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 11:30 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
systems,
From what I understand there is a booster on pine grove mountain, south of state college, as well.
pvdigital is offline  
post #2814 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 11:32 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: I am curious as to why CW never expanded into our market. Are there no available transmitters? Are there any plans to build here? Or any plans to expand either WSWB (scranton) or WPCW (Pitt) into our area?

I just find it weird we have mytv but no cw.
pvdigital is offline  
post #2815 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 11:38 AM
Member
 
paragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post

Question: I am curious as to why CW never expanded into our market. Are there no available transmitters? Are there any plans to build here? Or any plans to expand either WSWB (scranton) or WPCW (Pitt) into our area?

I just find it weird we have mytv but no cw.

I believe technically WPCW is our market's CW, even though they don't really broadcast here. We get WPCW as part of the locals package on DirecTV (though not in HD).
paragon is offline  
post #2816 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post

systems,
From what I understand there is a booster on pine grove mountain, south of state college, as well.

Do you know what the transmitters ID Call is?
systems2000 is offline  
post #2817 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 01:24 PM
Member
 
75ohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pleasant Gap, PA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paragon View Post

I believe technically WPCW is our market's CW, even though they don't really broadcast here.


Gee, that makes alot of sense.

Oh, that's right...they're gonna put in an interference machine on RF27 in Jeanette, for the MyTV affiliate that actually serves the market. So, I guess they'll 'broadcast' here after all...

"Modulating carriers since 1987"
75ohms is offline  
post #2818 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 02:25 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

Do you know what the transmitters ID Call is?

I don't, someone else here might, though.
pvdigital is offline  
post #2819 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 07:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The State College WPSU transmitter is operating under experimental authority. It was all done on paper and thus I don't know a whole lot about it, since it's not available on the FCC site as far as I can tell.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2820 of 3336 Old 08-13-2009, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trip,

Do you know what frequency it's transmitting on?
systems2000 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off