Salt Lake City, UT - HDTV - Page 111 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3735 Old 07-09-2011, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
utbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that local channels in Utah, 4,7,and 30 are out on Directv. I have checked all of them over the air signals and they are working.

Have a good morning!!
utbronco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3735 Old 07-10-2011, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhales View Post

Would love to have KJZZ in HD repeated from Salt Lake City to St George Utah. Have missed watching Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy. Did not know they were still going strong in syndication.

Aren't those on the primary channel? If so, you should be able to pick it up in analog on ch 24 if you're in St. George or Bloomington, or ch 42 if you're in Santa Clara or Washington city.

Also, if you're in Santa Clara or Washington, you should have a new digital translator for KTVX. Ch 28 just applied for a license to cover construction, meaning the station ought to be on and the station should ID as ch 4.x. KTVX has had a digital translator on ch 25 in St. George/Bloomington for some time now.
dhett is offline  
post #3303 of 3735 Old 07-12-2011, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhales View Post

Besides, those two channels are analog and everyone would prefer digital.

Perhaps, but you take what you can get. I'm surprised you cannot get K24CY from Webb Hill. I've never had a problem from anywhere in St. George, except along Bluff Ave.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...q=call%3dk24cy
dhett is offline  
 
post #3304 of 3735 Old 07-13-2011, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
DTV Utah Outage Info
Saturday Morning, July 16, 2011
1:00 AM until 2:00 AM MDT


Salt Lake City area Digital TV stations from the DTV Utah transmission facility will be unavailable via over-the-air from 1:00 AM, due to maintenance of the common portions of the transmission facility.
This will affect over-the-air transmissions of stations KUTV, KTVX, KSL, KUED, KUEN, KBYU, KJZZ, and KUCW, and their sub-channels, as well as most translator stations in outlying areas.

This will also affect HDTV versions of these channels via DirecTV and DISH Network, but not Comcast feeds via the Salt Lake City head-end.

Standard-definition programming will remain available on Comcast, DirecTV and DISH Network through their Standard-Definition channels. Please tune to those, rather than HDTV channels.

This is to make tests on the RF Combiner.
Other stations should not be affected. We hope to keep the outage duration to a minimum.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3305 of 3735 Old 07-16-2011, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The DTV Utah outage has been postponed.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3306 of 3735 Old 07-16-2011, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Thank you for the updates, Ken.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3307 of 3735 Old 07-17-2011, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 133
When the postponed Utah DTV outage does occur, that should be an interesting DX potential.

Will the last subscriber leaving Dish Network please turn off the satellite.
rdvegas is offline  
post #3308 of 3735 Old 07-17-2011, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The planned outage was postponed at the last minute, due to a couple of stations having reservations about the timing of it.
It may be rescheduled in three weeks...hopefully with enough notice to make everybody happy.

The plan is to test the new software that operates the control system for the combiner. A failure in the old system is what caused the major meltdown almost two years ago.
Watch for details.

As for DX'ing, I wonder if the translators will shut down automatically. THAT might be really interesting. Since the DTV Utah stations are on UHF 34-48, I don't expect much in those channels. Maybe I should break out the "Super Low-Noise" UHF preamp, though, just in case.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3309 of 3735 Old 08-06-2011, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Saw a mention on one of the local radio web forums....
KSUD-LD has a Construction Permit for channel 45 at Salt Lake City. It's for Daystar TV, the religious broadcaster that is supposedly on the air at Logan on channel 12.
Has anybody seen any programming from them,at Logan, yet? I get a signal in Midvale, but not enough to lock in and get a picture or PSIP data.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3310 of 3735 Old 08-06-2011, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,349
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
According to SiliconDust, KUTF is currently operating with a "No Signal" screen. http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun...lineup_5716837

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3311 of 3735 Old 08-06-2011, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Ahhh...the old "My dish blew out of alignment, and Nobody noticed" screen!
(Maxwell Smart voice).

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3312 of 3735 Old 08-07-2011, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I don't see anything on channel 45 in Taylorsville. Do you know where they are building their transmitter?

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3313 of 3735 Old 08-08-2011, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The FCC site shows a CP to build the digital at the same Little Farnsworth Peak site as the old analog transmitter.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3314 of 3735 Old 08-12-2011, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Thanks!

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3315 of 3735 Old 08-13-2011, 07:43 PM
Member
 
mbordas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Park City
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody know where to get a list of clear QAM channels for comcast? They changed the lineup recently and added a few new channels (MhZ, FBN) but now I can't find KUPX-ION (in HD). It used to be 41.92 but now that's KUEN...

Out of interest, is KUPX-ION available OTA?
mbordas is offline  
post #3316 of 3735 Old 08-15-2011, 05:38 PM
Member
 
mbordas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Park City
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks that did it. KUPX is now 45-648 (until they change it again )
mbordas is offline  
post #3317 of 3735 Old 08-16-2011, 11:24 PM
Member
 
alaskajoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to thank the above posters to finding the new KUPX-DT channel. I have been trying to find it since it changed, and I couldn't figure it out via SiliconDust with my zipcode in Provo.
alaskajoel is offline  
post #3318 of 3735 Old 08-17-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
mbordas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Park City
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know what you mean. The easiest thing to do is select the grid view. It's more readable that way.
mbordas is offline  
post #3319 of 3735 Old 08-28-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
littlereddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a computer and Windows Media Center for HDTV. Recently, Channel 4 KTVX quit coming in. Anybody else having this problem?
littlereddog is offline  
post #3320 of 3735 Old 08-28-2011, 04:00 PM
Member
 
littlereddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlereddog View Post

I use a computer and Windows Media Center for HDTV. Recently, Channel 4 KTVX quit coming in. Anybody else having this problem?

Solved it myself. Media Center is using channel 51 for this station, when it should be 40. So, I just added a new 4.1 digital channel that works on channel 40. I got the guide information from the old 4.1 guide and wallah!!! works.
littlereddog is offline  
post #3321 of 3735 Old 08-29-2011, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Interesting -- Mine hasn't changed, although I don't have channel 13.1. 13.2 is fine.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3322 of 3735 Old 08-30-2011, 08:05 AM
Member
 
Vegas_Vic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
CW30.1 and30.2 are broadcasting in Cache County, and KBYU 11.1-11.3 is up, also. Translators went online a few weeks ago. BUT, the translators are not on Mt. Pisgah, they are on Clarkston Ridge, where Franklin County's "STL" translators are located. The county is applying to have both 30 and 11 moved to Pisgah, I figure they're stuck on Clarkston Ridge for at least a year.

Also, while working on an installation high on the bench in Smithfield, I "peeped" channels 20 and 24 from the south. I've seen 20 before, but not 24, from my Nibley home. Also, I got ionTV (weak, but decoded) pointing west. May be from the translators in Malad. It's the only time I've ever seen it in the valley.

Cache Valley, UT TV news: http://cachefreetv.blogspot.com
Vegas_Vic is offline  
post #3323 of 3735 Old 09-19-2011, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
christer W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: salt lake city
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an odd problem with Channel 4. I am watching it OTA from my home on the east bench. I have a straight shot from my roof top to the Oquirrhs.

During the last year, I will be watching 4 and the image will freeze and then the screen goes black. Applies to 4-2 and 4-30 as well. My LG downstairs will flash the NO SIGNAL message on the screen. This outage isn't limited to just one TV, it is all 3 of them simataneously. All of my other channels come in cyrstal clear while this is happening; 2,5,7,9,13 with all their sub-channels. The picture returns to 4 usualy after about 10-15 minutes.

Since it is happening to just one channel and it affects all 3 TV's at the same time, I am having a hard time trouble-shooting this.

Chris Whitworth
christer W. is offline  
post #3324 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Several possibilities -- Could be a bad connector, a kinked cable, or a nicked cable to begin the list. Since it happens on all of your TV sets, it is something prior to, or including, the first splitter.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #3325 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Eurastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spanish Fork, Utah USA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not just you. Happened three times to me last night between 21:00-22:00 on both 4.1 and 4.2. Looks to me to be on the transmitting and not the receiving end.

Hej på dej!!
Eurastus is offline  
post #3326 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
KTVX's transmitter is having problems, and is running on low power right now.
I saw it die for several minutes last night..not sure if it just power-cycled all the way off and had to come back up (which can take a few minutes), or if they were making a quick repair.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3327 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
christer W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: salt lake city
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys! As it was happening to all three of my sets simaltaneously and no other channels were affected, it seemed a stretch that it was something to do with my gear.

Eurastus,

Tackar sa mycket! Heja Sverige!

Chris Whitworth
christer W. is offline  
post #3328 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 40
KTVX's transmitter is "crow-bar"-ing...that's where the transmitter thinks there's a fatal fault (like an arc-over, or shorted tube) and immediately shuts down the high voltage....like throwing a crowbar across a circuit, to kill it.
It's only happening when it's running at/near full power.

They are working on it.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3329 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
christer W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: salt lake city
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would say they have been working on it for a while, then. This has been a recurring problem for about a year. It comes and goes, but I have missed "crucial" scenes in TV shows where one moment the picture is fine and then the next, NOTHING. Another version of the failure is where the picture pixelates for a few seconds, freezes, and then ultimately goes to black. I appreciate that this is expensive, sophisticated equipment, but it seems that they have had more trouble than you would expect. I haven't had this issue with any of the other channels, ever.

I appreciate your input, as always.

Chris Whitworth
christer W. is offline  
post #3330 of 3735 Old 09-20-2011, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
huberjgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonder if KTVX (KUCW as well)is rethinking their decision not to partner up with the rest of us and share transmitter facilities.

I know they've had a lot more problems than the rest of us have had.


Jerry.

I don't just watch HD-TV, I make it happen.
huberjgl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off