Norfolk, VA - Cox - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 8541 Old 07-14-2006, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

I heard that Tivo rumor & no one here could tell me anything about it.

Apparently, Cox was doing a bunch of surveys asking customers about TIVO. Led to speculation that Cox was considering TIVO for their DVRs.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...=298457&page=1
mat123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 8541 Old 07-14-2006, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

OK I'm following you that now. I'm not sure about the IGuide thing. I haven't heard about us doing that locally.

Here's some info on Cox using IGuide, if you're curious...

http://www.gemstartvguide.com/pressr...r.asp?prId=463
mat123 is offline  
post #363 of 8541 Old 07-14-2006, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelostone View Post

You can do that sometimes but not always, like if two new epsiodes are on following each other. Like I said it is an old Tivo feature, but if we are switching DVR software then I will have to wait and see how that works out. Is there anyone at Cox I can mention this to? They may think this is not a problem or more likely, not care. Gotta try. There was rumor about Tivo coming to Motorola boxes...can only hope.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Here's an easy work around to your problem... For that particular show I just pull it up in the guide (using the search function). I then scroll through all the episodes, disabling the ones that are duplicates. I repeat this every few days. Kind of a pain, but it works easy enough.
mat123 is offline  
post #364 of 8541 Old 07-16-2006, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm so upset with the EAS system!! I'm sick of the EAS knocking out all DVR recordings. Not only does it stop the recording, the DVR does not pick it back up after the EAS finishes!!

Why on earth would I need to watch an EAS message if I'm watching a recording the next day! stupid stupid stupid.... Cant they figure out a way to broadcast an EAS message without stopping the DVR in its tracks?

Since when did they start using EAS for amber alerts?? There were two or three tonight that totally screwed up my DVR.
mat123 is offline  
post #365 of 8541 Old 07-17-2006, 06:42 AM
Member
 
thelostone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mat123 View Post

Here's an easy work around to your problem... For that particular show I just pull it up in the guide (using the search function). I then scroll through all the episodes, disabling the ones that are duplicates. I repeat this every few days. Kind of a pain, but it works easy enough.



Thanks, I have had to do that but it sorta defeats the purpose of a DVR. I do it for the top shows that I don't want to miss. With this talk of iguide....I need to look into that.
thelostone is offline  
post #366 of 8541 Old 07-17-2006, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
EAS got me too with Brotherhood. I think the iGuide talk was mostly for the TV Guide channel & their On-Demand

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #367 of 8541 Old 07-19-2006, 10:01 AM
Member
 
subroc174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was at the Cox Hampton Roads site today and took a look at the HD Programming link - That page showed NBCHD on Channel 710 (712 in West Point)
As of this AM, my guide did not display 710 . . . anyone heard anything? Occasio?
subroc174 is offline  
post #368 of 8541 Old 07-19-2006, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
eric1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subroc174 View Post

I was at the Cox Hampton Roads site today and took a look at the HD Programming link - That page showed NBCHD on Channel 710 (712 in West Point)
As of this AM, my guide did not display 710 . . . anyone heard anything? Occasio?

NBCHD is only for those that receive the Richmond affiliate. If WAVY is your NBC affiliate, you will not currently receive NBCHD. There is an explanation on the website under the channel listing.
eric1971 is offline  
post #369 of 8541 Old 07-24-2006, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Jermaine Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any word on when wavy and cox are gonna tie the knot? It would be great if they could do it by football season, seeing as NBC has the sunday night game this year. I really hate watching football OTA. Also, any word on fox?
Jermaine Davis is offline  
post #370 of 8541 Old 07-25-2006, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermaine Davis View Post

Any word on when wavy and cox are gonna tie the knot? It would be great if they could do it by football season, seeing as NBC has the sunday night game this year. I really hate watching football OTA. Also, any word on fox?

I have a feeling if anyone had any news, we'd be the first to know. This has been asked almost on a weekly basis for as long as I can remember -- the simple answer is no.

We won't hear anything until either WAVY decides to provide their signals for free or COX decides to pay WAVY for them (and most likely charge us more in our bills). I think there is a side issue of carrying sub-channels as well. WAVY wants them all carried, COX says "no" when they could be used to broadcast infomercials or test patterns 24/7. COX stated they would only carry sub-channels if they had a real value to its customers. I did notice that COX carried the WTKR sub-channels during March Madness, but that was a temporary deal.

Who's "right" and who's "wrong" I'll leave to you. Anyone have anything else to add? Did I sum it up correctly?
mat123 is offline  
post #371 of 8541 Old 07-25-2006, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nmlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since all of the 800 series test channels have disappeared (a-d complete) , any idea of what Cox is "testing" on the one remaining test channel? I don't remember the channel number but it is not in the 700 or 800s
Nmlobo is offline  
post #372 of 8541 Old 07-25-2006, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Channel 399 & its news to me. I'll see if anyone knows anything.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #373 of 8541 Old 07-25-2006, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok did a little scanning & its a rebroadcast of COX channel 11. I have ideas what they are doing but I'd rather not say till I was sure.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #374 of 8541 Old 07-27-2006, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are there any cable card users from Cox on here?

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #375 of 8541 Old 07-27-2006, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Are there any cable card users from Cox on here?

I'm obviously not, but a friend of mine is...
Todd is offline  
post #376 of 8541 Old 07-27-2006, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Les Garrenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Are there any cable card users from Cox on here?

Yup, in an LG plasma set.
Les Garrenton is offline  
post #377 of 8541 Old 07-28-2006, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Garrenton View Post

Yup, in an LG plasma set.

Did you see any changes with the firmware upgrade from yesterday?

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #378 of 8541 Old 07-28-2006, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Les Garrenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Did you see any changes with the firmware upgrade from yesterday?

I haven't noticed anything. What should I be looking for? It's a Motorola card. Currently it's showing Version 04.21, but I don't know what it was before yesterday.
Les Garrenton is offline  
post #379 of 8541 Old 07-28-2006, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
4.21 is the new version with mostly stability upgrades. Supposed to fix issues with tiling. I'm still waiting on the FAQ.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #380 of 8541 Old 07-28-2006, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

4.21 is the new version with mostly stability upgrades. Supposed to fix issues with tiling. I'm still waiting on the FAQ.

Is this for cable card or the DVR?
mat123 is offline  
post #381 of 8541 Old 07-28-2006, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Jermaine Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Are there any cable card users from Cox on here?

I use a cable card in my 50 in sony lcd rear projection tv.
Jermaine Davis is offline  
post #382 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's a firmware upgrade for the CableCard only.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #383 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

It's a firmware upgrade for the CableCard only.

Darn -- I wish they would fix the constant tiling I get on ESPNHD and occasionally on Nat Geo & WUND.
mat123 is offline  
post #384 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You're saying that you get constant tiling on ESPNHD????

That sounds like an issue with either your receiver or your wiring. I have never had an issue with tiling on ESPN-HD.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

occasio is offline  
post #385 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

You're saying that you get constant tiling on ESPNHD????

That sounds like an issue with either your receiver or your wiring. I have never had an issue with tiling on ESPN-HD.


Constant + audio drop outs... It was fine last football season, but when I tried to watch the world cup it was all messed up and has been since. All other HD channels work fine...

Nat Geo has been giving me similar issues for the last couple months, but seemed better last week.
mat123 is offline  
post #386 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Trakem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

You're saying that you get constant tiling on ESPNHD????

That sounds like an issue with either your receiver or your wiring. I have never had an issue with tiling on ESPN-HD.


IAWTP
Trakem is offline  
post #387 of 8541 Old 07-29-2006, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else seeing this? I noticed that my 6412 Phase III DVR has all the local channels 5C protected. I read elsewhere in the forums that at the very least OTA channels (including HD) must be non-protected (some kind of FCC rule?). I'd prefer all channels except premiums be non-protected, but we'll see.

They were non protected before the digital switch over -- now they are...
mat123 is offline  
post #388 of 8541 Old 07-30-2006, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've noticed momentary sound spikes on ESPN over the past few days.
robertawillisjr is online now  
post #389 of 8541 Old 07-30-2006, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Jermaine Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mat123 View Post

Anyone else seeing this? I noticed that my 6412 Phase III DVR has all the local channels 5C protected.

What does that mean?
Jermaine Davis is offline  
post #390 of 8541 Old 07-31-2006, 04:41 AM
Senior Member
 
mat123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jermaine Davis View Post

What does that mean?

If you have a firewire cable, you should be able to transfer shows off your DVR to your PC or other digital device (external DVR/DVD recorder/ect). However, if the show/movie is 5C protected/encrypted, the DVR does NOT allow firewire transfer.

I'm told that there are specific FCC regulations stating that local OTA content must be non-encrypted. I can see why they would want to encrypt HBO/Starz/Cinemax/ect, but PBS & USA?

I was hoping that someone else would be able to verify that the locals are 5C encrypted as I have discovered before I take it up with Cox.
mat123 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off