Norfolk, VA - Cox - Page 241 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 8530 Old 03-14-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
We have a new one called trio on our new boxes with 500GB

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 8530 Old 03-14-2012, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam in Virginia View Post

Then it's time to get a new IPG. The HD DVR boxes right now are junk.
Directv might not endorse the use of an external hard drive but with a 1TB hard drive, you can record up to 200 hours of HD programming.
http://news.directv.com/2011/08/11/i...dvr-or-hd-dvr/
You can use an external hard drive with Dish Network with just A one-time $40 Activation fee.
Verizon Fios also offers the use of an external hard drive.
SO WHY NOT COX?
It seems like a no brainer.

Test Drive a TiVo Premiere for 30 days. If you don't love it, cancel the service. The HDD inside is worth more than $49.95. Plus, you get the Cox Plus Package HD channels for free with a CableCARD. (assuming you subscribe to the corresponding premium channel)

The best price I have ever seen for the TiVo $49.95, If you like it, purchase lifetime service.
http://www.electronics-expo.com/tivo...iere-dvr-black

Or TiVo promo $79.99 + $14.99/mo 1yr commitment, you can still cancel within 30 days if it does not meet your expectations.
http://www3.tivo.com/promo/fastforward/premiere79.html

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #7203 of 8530 Old 03-15-2012, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For A while I just linked my DCT641x/341x,6 to my PC via Firewire and saved the raw TS Streams on my Own PC. then played back in VLC at full 1080i no issues.

The DCTx(3/6)41X(2/6)s support 1.0TB drives, however the IPG version Cox has would re-write the partition to 160GB on first boot after installing the 1tb drive kit.

Cox made it easier with cable cards, we are no longer restricted to Motorola's Hardware.

Ceton has PC tuners that work fabulously inside of HTPCs ($199, Cable Card Ready, 4 Tuners, Software to setup individual tuners as Network tuners (So you can leave the HTPC next to your main TV, but still access the tuners in it from another PC Via Network)). I Know several people that have these as I've built the units for them locally, and they work fantastically, not sure if OnDemand works, but a system running Windows 7 can simply Minimize Media center and goto HBOGo/MaxGo or Cox.com/TV easily.

Storage Space is limited by the HDD size and not IPG Partition Size.

Not to mention media Center has more options than the Motorola Units(internet TV, DVD/BluRay, Shared Video/Images from All Networked PCs etc).

I will be building one for My house this summer to replace 2 DVRs that are both Limited to 2 tuners/160GB each. and Since i do 99% of my work on my PC and watch everything on my PC, I can just set 1 of the 4 tuners to be my tuner over the network, open WMC on my PC and have tv on my PC.

I was happily building them for my friends that live in my area (i built 3 a few months ago).

$400-600 depending on components and HDD size vs $300 Retail For a DCT 341x/641x box from Motorola vs $42/Month ($504/yr) to rent 2 from cox.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7204 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
starrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post

Not to mention media Center has more options than the Motorola Units(internet TV, DVD/BluRay, Shared Video/Images from All Networked PCs etc).

Have you ever looked at the PS3 Media Server?
http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/
starrin is offline  
post #7205 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

We have a new one called trio on our new boxes with 500GB

Only available on new hardware and one model box Motorola users are stuck with passport. Motorola doesn't have a native Ipg's like Cisco has SARA does it?
ajwees41 is offline  
post #7206 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by starrin View Post

Have you ever looked at the PS3 Media Server?
http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/

PS3s cant tune ClearQAM or Encrypted Channels, so whats the point in looking at that again?

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7207 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have 1 DVR in my house with whatever package is required and HBO. Would I save significantly if I switch to Tivo with a CableCard? What packages are required to get HD?


It looks like I answered my own question. LOL. Looks like I'd cut $9.99 for the DVR service and $7.99 for the box. Then the CC is $1.99. But then add the cost of the $19.99 per month for the Tivo service. I'd actually pay more. Wow. Scratch that idea.
Skeletor is offline  
post #7208 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone explain these to me? When I look at the pricing/channel lineup PDF on the cox site, I only see the Cox Starter listed.

Cox TV Starter

$18.00

Expanded Service

$41.99

Advanced TV (qty 2)

$21.99


I see advanced TV but not expanded service. Did they combine the two?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7209 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for blowing up the thread but I'm trying to save some money. Is it possible to change my current service to one like this:

TV essential 63.29
Sports Pak 5.25
Variety Pak 5.00
DVR 7.99
DVR service 9.99

Can I build this package a la carte like this?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7210 of 8530 Old 03-16-2012, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
fdxorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

Sorry for blowing up the thread but I'm trying to save some money. Is it possible to change my current service to one like this:

TV essential 63.29
Sports Pak 5.25
Variety Pak 5.00
DVR 7.99
DVR service 9.99

Can I build this package a la carte like this?

I sent you a pm earlier...to share my experience with this issue
fdxorf is offline  
post #7211 of 8530 Old 03-19-2012, 05:04 PM
Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hahaha - Cox just zapped me $50 for "Returned Payment Fee" - the credit card they had was past it's expiration date (it was still a valid card, just the expiration date had changed). It was due on 3/13 - they emailed me (no phone call) on 3/13 indicating a failure in payment. I immediately went to cox.com and checked - it said (and still says):
3/13/12 Payment Status=Processed. Under the Recent Charges, unbilled is a Return Payment Fee of $50 processed on 3/14/12 and the other fees for Internet & Cable.

Seriously - I realize it's my responsibility to have kept the card up to date, but, the website is just confusing - indicating that the payment was processed, and, that my balance due now is $0.00.

It's enough to drive me back to DirecTV - lol...

Sorry - just needed to rant - lesson learned - make sure that the expiration date of the credit card you have on file with them is current...
unixdude is offline  
post #7212 of 8530 Old 03-20-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

Sorry for blowing up the thread but I'm trying to save some money. Is it possible to change my current service to one like this:

TV essential 63.29
Sports Pak 5.25
Variety Pak 5.00
DVR 7.99
DVR service 9.99

Can I build this package a la carte like this?

I think it should be

Cox Advanced 65.99
Variety Pak 5.00
Sports Pak 5.25
DVR 7.99
DVR Service 9.99

I recommend getting all 3 Paks at 78.49 vs 76.24 for just the 2.
DVR 7.99
DVR Service 9.99

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7213 of 8530 Old 03-20-2012, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixdude View Post

hahaha - Cox just zapped me $50 for "Returned Payment Fee" - the credit card they had was past it's expiration date (it was still a valid card, just the expiration date had changed). It was due on 3/13 - they emailed me (no phone call) on 3/13 indicating a failure in payment. I immediately went to cox.com and checked - it said (and still says):
3/13/12 Payment Status=Processed. Under the Recent Charges, unbilled is a Return Payment Fee of $50 processed on 3/14/12 and the other fees for Internet & Cable.

Seriously - I realize it's my responsibility to have kept the card up to date, but, the website is just confusing - indicating that the payment was processed, and, that my balance due now is $0.00.

It's enough to drive me back to DirecTV - lol...

Sorry - just needed to rant - lesson learned - make sure that the expiration date of the credit card you have on file with them is current...

Sure you didn't get an email? I got one like 2 months out before mine expired.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7214 of 8530 Old 03-20-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Sure you didn't get an email? I got one like 2 months out before mine expired.

Pretty sure - I searched my inbox & deleted messages, no notice there. I'm waiting to hear back from the message I posted to the webpage on it. Just saying, that's a hefty fee.
unixdude is offline  
post #7215 of 8530 Old 03-21-2012, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
sibby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is cox going to have mlb extra innings this year and will any be in hd
sibby3 is offline  
post #7216 of 8530 Old 03-21-2012, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sibby3 View Post

is cox going to have mlb extra innings this year and will any be in hd

I already have the MLB.TV premium package, I can watch all the games on my PC, Roku box, LG Blu-ray player, PS3 and Android phone. Pretty good for $120.
EDIT: I forgot to mention that all the games are in HD. I really enjoyed it last year so I signed up again this season. The price went up $5 but if you're on auto-renewal you keep the rate you had the previous year.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is online now  
post #7217 of 8530 Old 03-21-2012, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
MLB doesnt offer a Online thing yet?

As I've found NHL Gamecenter is cheaper than NHL Center Ice, all the games are in HD Streams, I can watch from Any PC by logging In.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7218 of 8530 Old 03-21-2012, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sibby3 View Post

is cox going to have mlb extra innings this year and will any be in hd

Not sure I was told to expect some HD announcements soon but wasn't given any details yet. We wanted to add those channels in Jan but it didn't happen.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7219 of 8530 Old 03-21-2012, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sibby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
baseball does offer the online subscription and have for 3 to 4 years. i just got a e mail offering the year for 119.00.i wonder i have a sony blu ray player wi fi capable but i do not see this as a device for mlb wonder if it will work
sibby3 is offline  
post #7220 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sibby3 View Post

baseball does offer the online subscription and have for 3 to 4 years. i just got a e mail offering the year for 119.00.i wonder i have a sony blu ray player wi fi capable but i do not see this as a device for mlb wonder if it will work

I see my Samsung products (TVs and Blu-ray player) do have MLB.tv...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #7221 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Not sure I was told to expect some HD announcements soon but wasn't given any details yet. We wanted to add those channels in Jan but it didn't happen.

Occasio,

I know that CNN International in HD is a low priority. Is there anything I can do to help get it on the HD schedule?

Thanks
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #7222 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post

Occasio,

I know that CNN International in HD is a low priority. Is there anything I can do to help get it on the HD schedule?

Thanks

Not sure it's that low. Stay tuned

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7223 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

I think it should be

Cox Advanced 65.99
Variety Pak 5.00
Sports Pak 5.25
DVR 7.99
DVR Service 9.99

I recommend getting all 3 Paks at 78.49 vs 76.24 for just the 2.
DVR 7.99
DVR Service 9.99

I see. That's essentially what I'm paying now. I stinks that I only need like one channel from two of the tiers. I don't think the wife would be to happy if I canceled Soapnet and LMN.
Skeletor is offline  
post #7224 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

I see. That's essentially what I'm paying now. I stinks that I only need like one channel from two of the tiers. I don't think the wife would be to happy if I canceled Soapnet and LMN.

SoapNet is eventually being phased out...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #7225 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

SoapNet is eventually being phased out...

Woah, she will not be happy about that. She catches the weekend reruns of Gilmore Girls and 90210 on there. Any idea when that's supposed to happen?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7226 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nmlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see the HSI cost is increasing as well. Can't blame that on Lin.
Nmlobo is offline  
post #7227 of 8530 Old 03-22-2012, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nmlobo View Post

I see the HSI cost is increasing as well. Can't blame that on Lin.

Telephone is going up as well.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is online now  
post #7228 of 8530 Old 03-23-2012, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nmlobo View Post

I see the HSI cost is increasing as well. Can't blame that on Lin.

I think we can expect a speed increase in the near future though. Not sure when.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7229 of 8530 Old 03-23-2012, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
wouldnt mind a bandwidth cap increase, as Im constantly downloading games Via Steam and Xbox Live (that and streaming HD movies via Zune/Xbox too.)

i think the first week after I got my new computer running I Hit the Limit for February (in a WEEK), as I had to download windows Updates, Steam had to start updating the Libraries same with Zune. Most of them were DRM Syncs, But Steam Had to re-download every game i had purchased (and they are 1-8 GB each.)

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7230 of 8530 Old 03-23-2012, 10:52 AM
Member
 
CGP163's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post

Occasio,

I know that CNN International in HD is a low priority. Is there anything I can do to help get it on the HD schedule?

Thanks

How about G4? Any other fans?
CGP163 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off