Norfolk, VA - Cox - Page 242 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7231 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGP163 View Post

How about G4? Any other fans?

I'm a huge fan.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7232 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the bandwidth cap?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7233 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

What is the bandwidth cap?

of what?

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7234 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

of what?

Does Cox have an internet cap like Comcast?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7235 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://ww2.cox.com/aboutus/hamptonro...peedsusage.cox

This breaks down the caps vs the speeds. I have 200GB for my account & I have used 20GB w/ 11 days left. 130 is the most I ever used & that was over the holidays when I was home all day watching HD netflix.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7236 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Package Data Usage Allowance Emails Songs Hi Res Photos Streaming Shows (HD) Download Movies (HD)
Starter 30 GB 6 million 7,000 3,000 75 5
Essential 50 GB 10 million 13,000 5,000 125 8
Preferred 200 GB 42 million 20,000 20,000 500 33
Premier 250 GB 52 million 25,000 25,000 640 42
Ultimate 400 GB 84 million 40,000 40,000 1,000 67

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7237 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

http://ww2.cox.com/aboutus/hamptonro...peedsusage.cox

This breaks down the caps vs the speeds. I have 200GB for my account & I have used 20GB w/ 11 days left. 130 is the most I ever used & that was over the holidays when I was home all day watching HD netflix.

Thanks. When did the Premier Package get dropped to 3 up? Didn't it used to be 25/5?

I know I've gone over 200 at least once but not close to the 250 cap. I average between 130-180. The wife watches a lot of HD shows on Netflix and I'll watch the occasional movie or six.


Also, what is the normal per month price for Preferred?
Skeletor is offline  
post #7238 of 8511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not sure about that upload speed question.

Preferred is 52.99 for normal price.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7239 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

Woah, she will not be happy about that. She catches the weekend reruns of Gilmore Girls and 90210 on there. Any idea when that's supposed to happen?

Maybe later than sooner??? TVGuide

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #7240 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Maybe later than sooner??? TVGuide

That article was incorrect. It was actually the one that started all of the drama.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7241 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post


That article was incorrect. It was actually the one that started all of the drama.

How was it incorrect? Cox still has it even though they are supposed to have a deal for Disney jr.
ajwees41 is offline  
post #7242 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

That article was incorrect. It was actually the one that started all of the drama.

Of course, I got it from Wiki... LOL

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #7243 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Of course, I got it from Wiki... LOL

I reacted to this article & then looked at the actual press release & it didn't mention the switch. I think that was one option given to companies. Reading the article again it was changed. The last part was not originally there. My understanding is that we are keeping both.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7244 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post


I reacted to this article & then looked at the actual press release & it didn't mention the switch. I think that was one option given to companies. Reading the article again it was changed. The last part was not originally there. My understanding is that we are keeping both.

Is that local or system wide keeping both?
ajwees41 is offline  
post #7245 of 8511 Old 03-26-2012, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not entirely sure but my thought would be company wide. We shall see soon though.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7246 of 8511 Old 03-27-2012, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
leave it to TVGuide to cause an uproar.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7247 of 8511 Old 03-27-2012, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
is Cox authorizing Xbox's for HBO Go Yet?

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7248 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post

is Cox authorizing Xbox's for HBO Go Yet?

I was off the grid is it working for you all? I can't get in touch w/ my marketing people right now.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7249 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I Think I meant Epix on Xbox 360 when I asked, as the APP is live, but it says that Xbox 360's were'nt being Authorized by Cox. (last Time I checked).


I just got an Email from HBO today about 30 mins ago advertising that its functional on Xbox 360 now, whether or not Cox is Authorizing Xbox Devices, I don't know.

So I'll check when Im done in office later tonite. (Check HBO and Epix),


My plan this summer is to replace my 2 DVRs with a Custom Built HTPC w/ 4 tuners and 1.5 TB, Will Prolly Do 8 Tuners (2 Cable Cards) if Funds Permit.

While the Ceton tuners aren't On-Demand Capable (According to comcast people),
There's more content on MaxGO/HBOGo than there is on demand anyway (movies wise at least).
So it's just a matter of Minimizing MediaCenter and going to those sites and/or using Internet TV on Media Center for CBS and stuff.

Now if only i can use email logins on my account that arent the master email account to login.

also is Starz/Encore going to be doing online anytime soon?

the Ceton 4 Tuner USB Box is on sale for like 160 on Newegg so i may get one of those and swap one of my DVRs for a Cable Card (That would be -$21ish, and +$5ish?), hook the USB Tuner to my PC which is always on and has enough power to do pretty much anything, and set 2 of the tuners to the LAN so my brother can tune on his PC, which is easily connected to the HDTV.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7250 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ok this is my TV breakdown...

Cox TV Starter $18.00
Expanded Service 41.99
Advanced TV (qty 2) 21.99
Cinemax 11.00
HBO 15.99
Showtime 9.00
Starz 7.00
VA Cable Right Of Way Fee 0.83
DVR Service (qty 2) 19.98
P.E.G. Access 0.20
Advanced TV HD DVR Receiver (qty 2) 15.98
Total TV $161.96

is it supposed to be charging me twice for Advanced TV?
i thought that was a baseline service that covers the entire address (like starter and expanded). I wasnt aware having 2 boxes I would be getting charged twice for the service.

The only thing i understand charging twice for is the DVR Service and the Receivers.

While were talkin about AdvancedTV, Which one do I have now? I have all the channels except the spanish ones.

Dropping 1 DVR will take off, $17.98 or so. (thats assuming i just divide my current (qty2) DVR entries by 2)
Adding a cable Card will be $4.69ish

Price increase will add about $5.31ish,


ps Cox's Website is still listing "personal webspace" as a feature for the internet packages.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7251 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i think if i get a Ceton tuner im gonna need the SDV adapter correct?

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7252 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HBO Go Works, Epix Doesnt.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7253 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got home. Mine is working too. Still no deal w/ Epix I guess. Not surprised though, since they are so tight w/ Netflix.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7254 of 8511 Old 03-28-2012, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post

ok this is my TV breakdown...

ps Cox's Website is still listing "personal webspace" as a feature for the internet packages.

Where do you see it at? I'll get it removed just can't find it.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #7255 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post

Where do you see it at? I'll get it removed just can't find it.

It shows under all 4 packages:


Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7256 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 07:22 AM
Member
 
sandflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norfolk, va
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post

i think if i get a Ceton tuner im gonna need the SDV adapter correct?

Yep. I have a ceton and a Motorolla TA was required. Love the Ceton - BTW. Every once in a while I have to power cycle the TA, but otherwise it's stable as can be.
sandflea is offline  
post #7257 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandflea View Post

Yep. I have a ceton and a Motorolla TA was required. Love the Ceton - BTW. Every once in a while I have to power cycle the TA, but otherwise it's stable as can be.

USB or PCI-e version?

the USB Version, everyone has power problems, but I've been building systems already for people in my area and they've had no problems.

Combination of Setting the Windows7 Power Profile for USB not to Cut off, and the Beta Firmware for the Tuner.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #7258 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

Does Cox have an internet cap like Comcast?

Cox: Still No Plans For Usage-Based Internet Fees

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #7259 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Thanks. I've always thought I had the 25mbps service. At least that's what I signed up for years ago. Come to find out, I'm at the 15mbps level. My cap is 200gb per month. Weird part is, when I do a speed test from home, my speeds are more like 25/5, not the 15/3 I'm supposedly paying for.
Skeletor is offline  
post #7260 of 8511 Old 03-29-2012, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post

Thanks. I've always thought I had the 25mbps service. At least that's what I signed up for years ago. Come to find out, I'm at the 15mbps level. My cap is 200gb per month. Weird part is, when I do a speed test from home, my speeds are more like 25/5, not the 15/3 I'm supposedly paying for.

My speed tests are insane, and no where near what i pay for..

i've gotten average 40down 6up, i've peaked at 75down 6up a few times.

slowest average was 15 down 4 up.

and theres a few 4 down 512k up tests in my log (i think there was a line down in my neighborhood though.)

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off