Norfolk, VA - Cox - Page 285 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8521 of 8547 Old 07-14-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, Va., USA
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Question to the Cox guys out there. I want to rewire the coaxial cables in my house to shorten some lines and reduce the number of splitters and splices, as I have had some signal issues that have gotten worst lately.

Right now, the service comes in at the garage, picks off the phone service and then goes to a Cox installed head amp. From there it goes back outside/underground (what they call a "double run"?) to another connection box on the other side of the house, where it splits the cable and internet. And then from there to other parts of the house to more splitters.

What I want to do is just run all new runs of cable from each TV and the modem to the head amp in the garage (called a "home run"?), and have all the splitters right there. If nothing else, this will shorten the cable runs and clean up some splices made over the years.

Is this the correct way to do it? There will be one modem, two or three converter boxes, plus a couple of TVs running just the analog signal. I was thinking of having a Cox tech do all the connections out in the garage. What would be the best splitter configuration?

Last edited by jkhome; 07-14-2014 at 01:35 PM.
jkhome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8522 of 8547 Old 07-15-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When I was having signal problems, they came out and put a new larger master splitter on the line where it enters the house from the main pole. Think it was a six outlet block that replaced 2 smaller ones. That helped most of my problems, but I still ended up getting a powered splitter to make sure signal to my homerun units stayed constantly in the good range. Haven't had any problems since I did that.


Also has anyone getting the nickjr channel to work yet? It's showed up in the guide for me for a couple weeks, but when tuned in I get nothing still.
lupi95 is offline  
post #8523 of 8547 Old 07-15-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, Va., USA
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
When I was having signal problems, they came out and put a new larger master splitter on the line where it enters the house from the main pole. Think it was a six outlet block that replaced 2 smaller ones. That helped most of my problems, but I still ended up getting a powered splitter to make sure signal to my homerun units stayed constantly in the good range. Haven't had any problems since I did that.


...
Thanks, that's what I need to do. I removed some splitters and spices I had mid-way in the system and that helped alot. Now getting almost all the digital channels I'm suppose to (was down a good 200 before the change!).

Going to pull some new cables from each source to the head amp, and then call the service dept. Ordered some Belden Quad shield coaxial and Snap and Seal F-connectors (plus the stripper & crimper) to do it right.
jkhome is offline  
post #8524 of 8547 Old 07-15-2014, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Crappy Splitters will block alot of the digital band....

I started a thread in another section when I was gathering info on completely re-wiring my Coax and Network Wiring during renovations.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8525 of 8547 Old 07-15-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Crappy Splitters will block alot of the digital band....

"Digital band" ??
domino92024 is offline  
post #8526 of 8547 Old 07-16-2014, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, Va., USA
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Crappy Splitters will block alot of the digital band....

I started a thread in another section when I was gathering info on completely re-wiring my Coax and Network Wiring during renovations.
What section of the forum is that info? Thanks
jkhome is offline  
post #8527 of 8547 Old 07-16-2014, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Re-wiring my homes old Coax Network advise

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8528 of 8547 Old 07-16-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, Va., USA
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
LOL, typical AVS thread with lots of opinions. But a good read and info. Thanks.
jkhome is offline  
post #8529 of 8547 Old 07-17-2014, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
sibby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found the sec channel will be on 225 for and 1225 he
sibby3 is offline  
post #8530 of 8547 Old 08-13-2014, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Tenus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenbrier Area
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sibby3 View Post
Just found the sec channel will be on 225 for and 1225 he
Someone just sent me the info below:

On August 14, 2014, Cox will launch the SEC Network across all markets. The network will air SEC content 24/7 including 45 SEC football games, 100 men’s basketball games, 60 women’s basketball games, 75 baseball games, 50 softball games and additional events from the SEC’s 21 annual sports.

In the Hampton Roads area:

SEC Network Channels 225 for Standard Def and 1225 for High Def
SEC Network 2 Channels 226 for Standard Def and 1226 for High Def

In Virginia and Northeast regions, SEC Network and SEC Network 2 will be authorized to Sports & Info Pak.

SEC Network will offer Southeastern Conference programming, one of the nation’s most elite college sports conferences.

SEC 2 Network will provide overflow SEC content.

The SEC Network will air content 24/7 including 45 SEC football games, 100 men’s basketball games, 60 women’s basketball games, 75 baseball games, 50 softball games and additional events from the SEC’s 21 annual sports.

Sports & Info Pak is available for only $10/month, and includes NFL Network (Thursday Night NFL games), ESPN Goal Line (whip around coverage of college football games on Saturdays in season), and ESPNU (college sports).

If you already have Sports & Info Pak, you will automatically receive SEC Network and SEC Network 2.
Tenus is offline  
post #8531 of 8547 Old 08-22-2014, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Kind of quiet in here. Anyone having issues with authentication in apps today? I can't get anything to work.

------------------------------------
Occasio Gee
www.occasiogee.com
 

occasio is offline  
post #8532 of 8547 Old 08-26-2014, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
everytime flash has an update MaxGO,. HBOGo dont wanna work. lol

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8533 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
mwz26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any good package deals lately? I feel like I'm getting overcharged.

Cable/internet only
No premiums
No phone
DVR
2 add'l boxes
$178/month

XBL GT: Hacknerd
mwz26 is offline  
post #8534 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwz26 View Post
Any good package deals lately? I feel like I'm getting overcharged.

Cable/internet only
No premiums
No phone
DVR
2 add'l boxes
$178/month
Does seem high!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #8535 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwz26 View Post
Any good package deals lately? I feel like I'm getting overcharged.

Cable/internet only
No premiums
No phone
DVR
2 add'l boxes
$178/month
Seems about right
http://www.cox.com/residential/tv/prices.cox
http://www.cox.com/residential/internet/prices.cox

Cox Advanced TV = $70.99
HD-DVR Receiver = $8.50
DVR Service = $11.99
Digital Receiver = $8.50
Digital Receiver = $8.50
Internet Preferred = $59.99
=======================
Total = $168.47 plus tax and fees

You could call and ask for retention and try to get a 20% 12 mo promo discount off the video portion of the bill, that is the best I have received lately. So 20% off $70.99 would give you a credit of approx. $14.20

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #8536 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
mwz26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
Seems about right
http://www.cox.com/residential/tv/prices.cox
http://www.cox.com/residential/internet/prices.cox

Cox Advanced TV = $70.99
HD-DVR Receiver = $8.50
DVR Service = $11.99
Digital Receiver = $8.50
Digital Receiver = $8.50
Internet Preferred = $59.99
=======================
Total = $168.47 plus tax and fees

You could call and ask for retention and try to get a 20% 12 mo promo discount off the video portion of the bill, that is the best I have received lately. So 20% off $70.99 would give you a credit of approx. $14.20
yeah that looks about right. seems like its about time to cut something.

XBL GT: Hacknerd
mwz26 is offline  
post #8537 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You shoulda heard all the BS the Sales Rep at Best buy was pushing to try and get me to switch to Dish... lol...

Sub $100 All the Channels in the world, blah blah blah....

They were bashing cox, while wearing a Cox Authorized re-seller badge....

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8538 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwz26 View Post
Any good package deals lately? I feel like I'm getting overcharged.

Cable/internet only
No premiums
No phone
DVR
2 add'l boxes
$178/month
What cable package? What internet package? Which DVR?
domino92024 is offline  
post #8539 of 8547 Old 09-11-2014, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwz26 View Post
Any good package deals lately? I feel like I'm getting overcharged.

Cable/internet only
No premiums
No phone
DVR
2 add'l boxes
$178/month

I have:
Cable/Internet
All Premiums (no ESP)
No Phone
2 DVRs (1 Moto DCT6416, 1 CISCO HD Box)
$240/Month.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8540 of 8547 Old 09-12-2014, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Darn Cisco Box..... Dead after less than 3 months.

You can Hear the HDD Spin up/down when you plug in/unplug main power,

But nothing on the front display, no signal over Digital or Analog Connections..

Randomly turned off in the middle of the night (I have power save disabled).

Time / LEDs on the front just turned off, and that's all she wrote.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8541 of 8547 Old 09-12-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Off topic.

Does anyone know who provides the alarm notification services for Cox home security.

For instance, I have Monitronics but Alarm.com controls and monitors my system.

Thanks

Last edited by robertawillisjr; 09-12-2014 at 10:52 AM. Reason: Grammar
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8542 of 8547 Old 09-24-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Small blurb on latest bill about more channels being made SDV only.
lupi95 is offline  
post #8543 of 8547 Old 09-24-2014, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Small blurb on latest bill about more channels being made SDV only.
Would it be too much trouble to list??? Bob/VARTV

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #8544 of 8547 Old 09-24-2014, 04:57 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That was basically identical to the statement on the bill
lupi95 is offline  
post #8545 of 8547 Old 10-01-2014, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I already miss my Sisco Box, They gave me a Motorola box with the excuse "All of our Cisco/Contour Boxes are on the trucks now"

I'm not payin' for a guy to mosey around my house, I'm more than capable of setting it up myself, as I've done numerous times with both Motorola and Cisco Boxes.

Definitely thinking of just getting a 6 Tuner Card for my PC, a Cable Card w/ SDV Adapter and giving the Ancient Motorola box back to Cox.

And Save me the Difference Between the HD-DVR and the Cable Card, Go from 2 Tuners and 160 GB to 6 Tuners and 4TB and to be able to watch on any network attached PC or Xbox 360.

Skate Zilla
-----------
Skate Zilla HD Studios - VA Beach, VA
SkateZilla is offline  
post #8546 of 8547 Old 10-02-2014, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
Off topic.

Does anyone know who provides the alarm notification services for Cox home security.

For instance, I have Monitronics but Alarm.com controls and monitors my system.

Thanks
Bumping.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8547 of 8547 Old 10-17-2014, 07:08 AM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought 2 3 tuner homerun units and the samsung cable card media player. Only have a CC in on of the homerun units, use the one without to record hd broadcast of the main networks. Get much more storage with my pc as dvr setup and my monthly cost went from ~30 a month to 4. Around 20 months and everything has paid for itself.
lupi95 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off