Norfolk, VA - Cox - Page 288 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8611 of 8637 Old 04-23-2015, 12:40 PM
Member
 
MDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox has has Smithsonian Channel (in SD) here. I noticed it the other day on channel 251 in Virginia Beach.
MDawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8612 of 8637 Old 04-23-2015, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDawg View Post
Cox has has Smithsonian Channel (in SD) here. I noticed it the other day on channel 251 in Virginia Beach.
It's just getting launched on the remainder of the VA systems, in OH and CT, from what I've seen.
oriolesmagic is online now  
post #8613 of 8637 Old 04-24-2015, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
mwz26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: York County, VA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Everyone enjoying the across the board price increases.
Funny I saw this post today because I was just on here researching my options. I'm truly just fed up with Cox. My service is terrible and has frequent channel dropouts. My internet slows considerably at peak times. And all for the low low price of ~$200/month. Giving cox $2400/year for cable/internet/dvr should be considered fraud.

XBL GT: Hacknerd
mwz26 is offline  
post #8614 of 8637 Old 04-26-2015, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwz26 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lupi95 View Post
Everyone enjoying the across the board price increases.
Funny I saw this post today because I was just on here researching my options. I'm truly just fed up with Cox. My service is terrible and has frequent channel dropouts. My internet slows considerably at peak times. And all for the low low price of ~$200/month. Giving cox $2400/year for cable/internet/dvr should be considered fraud.
I gave up. Turned everything in and just kept the internet. There's enough ota and online to satisfy our TV watching needs.
Skeletor is offline  
post #8615 of 8637 Old 04-26-2015, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody have an idea what taxes and fees would be on advanced TV and Internet Preferred with one set top box? They are saying 10-15%, but my flex TV which is Internet plus locals is only like 4% taxes.
kes601 is offline  
post #8616 of 8637 Old 05-01-2015, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
mwz26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: York County, VA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor View Post
I gave up. Turned everything in and just kept the internet. There's enough ota and online to satisfy our TV watching needs.

how much are you paying for internet only?

XBL GT: Hacknerd
mwz26 is offline  
post #8617 of 8637 Old 06-15-2015, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What is gigablast and when will be available throughout Hampton Roads? I see that someone is pulling fiber on a main artery in my area but haven't stopped to asked about it.


How much will it cost?
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8618 of 8637 Old 06-15-2015, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
What is gigablast and when will be available throughout Hampton Roads? I see that someone is pulling fiber on a main artery in my area but haven't stopped to asked about it.


How much will it cost?
1.Maximum download speed 1 Gbps
2.Maximum upload speed 1 Gbps
3.Monthly data 2,000 GB combined
download and upload
4.Online file storage (Cloud Drive) 1,000 GB


Gigablast is not available in all areas. Price varies by area.

Last edited by domino92024; 06-15-2015 at 11:00 PM.
domino92024 is offline  
post #8619 of 8637 Old 06-16-2015, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
1.Maximum download speed 1 Gbps
2.Maximum upload speed 1 Gbps
3.Monthly data 2,000 GB combined
download and upload
4.Online file storage (Cloud Drive) 1,000 GB


Gigablast is not available in all areas. Price varies by area.
Thanks. If not too costly, I'll get it. They are pulling fiber at a good rate, lets hope they will start doing the neighborhoods soon.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8620 of 8637 Old 06-16-2015, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
Thanks. If not too costly, I'll get it. They are pulling fiber at a good rate, lets hope they will start doing the neighborhoods soon.
With Verizon FiOS, they trenched fiber just before Thanksgiving and I was the first in the area the following April to get lit up...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #8621 of 8637 Old 06-16-2015, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
Thanks. If not too costly, I'll get it. They are pulling fiber at a good rate, lets hope they will start doing the neighborhoods soon.
FYI: The Fiber is just for the Internet, TV and Phone will still use the Coax HFC infrastructure.

AZ is $99/mo w/ a free Netgear R6300 AC router and Netgear A6200 AC USB Adapter
I saw a Cox person say the install was $300, but that may be free also?

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r299...BLAST-tomorrow


TiVo Bolt, Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 06-16-2015 at 03:13 PM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #8622 of 8637 Old 10-04-2015, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just checking in. How is everyone?
occasio is offline  
post #8623 of 8637 Old 10-04-2015, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post
Just checking in. How is everyone?

Upset over the piece-of-**** mini-box.
domino92024 is offline  
post #8624 of 8637 Old 10-05-2015, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post
Just checking in. How is everyone?
Doing well. You can see that the traffic here is very low since you left. How are you doing?
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8625 of 8637 Old 10-05-2015, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Things are good. I became a cord cutter out of off spite after I left Cox. My dad is still working there so I'm in the know.
occasio is offline  
post #8626 of 8637 Old 10-05-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
occasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hampton Roads VA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post
Just checking in. How is everyone?

Upset over the piece-of-**** mini-box.
Not even sure what that is.
occasio is offline  
post #8627 of 8637 Old 11-04-2015, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone out there using a Tivo and Cox On Demand? It was working up until about a week ago, then just stopped working. Any ideas, Cox support just says they're having difficulties.
unixdude is offline  
post #8628 of 8637 Old 11-04-2015, 03:04 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by occasio View Post
Not even sure what that is.
It's on the last bill. Looks like cox eliminating the ability to get service without a box and going to charge you $3 a month per TV for their decision to limit your service.
lupi95 is online now  
post #8629 of 8637 Old 11-04-2015, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixdude View Post
Is anyone out there using a Tivo and Cox On Demand? It was working up until about a week ago, then just stopped working. Any ideas, Cox support just says they're having difficulties.
TiVo - Cox OnDemand has not been working the last 3 weekends, Friday night through Monday morning.

For me it works Monday through Friday eve, then won't connect again until Monday

https://forums.tivo.com/pe/action/fo...0&channelID=10

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=533114

TiVo Bolt, Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #8630 of 8637 Old 11-04-2015, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Demand and Tivo are simply broke for us now. It doesn't matter when we try. Hoping it get's fixed soon.
unixdude is offline  
post #8631 of 8637 Old 11-05-2015, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Getting lots of dropouts recently (using Cox STBs) and many channels don't lock when first selected. I have to select a different channel and reselect to one I want in order to have sound and picture. I removed and replaced power cords on both units to no avail.

Anyone else having this problem? If it continues, I'll report it.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8632 of 8637 Old 11-07-2015, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nmlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 2,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
Getting lots of dropouts recently (using Cox STBs) and many channels don't lock when first selected. I have to select a different channel and reselect to one I want in order to have sound and picture. I removed and replaced power cords on both units to no avail.

Anyone else having this problem? If it continues, I'll report it.
I had the same problem. Like you, I unplugged the box. After a reboot everything seems to be back to normal. Sorry this did not work for you.
Nmlobo is offline  
post #8633 of 8637 Old 11-07-2015, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nmlobo View Post
I had the same problem. Like you, I unplugged the box. After a reboot everything seems to be back to normal. Sorry this did not work for you.
It is working better now.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8634 of 8637 Old 01-06-2016, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have the 2 tuner DVR and wanted to upgrade to the 6 tuner DVR but Cox won't transfer my recorded programs to the 6 tuner unit. Are there other options?

Thanks
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8635 of 8637 Old 01-06-2016, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
I have the 2 tuner DVR and wanted to upgrade to the 6 tuner DVR but Cox won't transfer my recorded programs to the 6 tuner unit. Are there other options?

Thanks

Cox can't transfer the programs. They're electronically tied to the DVR on which they were recorded.
domino92024 is offline  
post #8636 of 8637 Old 01-07-2016, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
Cox can't transfer the programs. They're electronically tied to the DVR on which they were recorded.
Dumb and dumber?
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #8637 of 8637 Old Today, 05:43 PM
Member
 
lupi95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally got a letter about details for the bendover. Digital goes into effect 3/22 and from then you'll need a STB or CC device to view any programming. Can get 1 basic mini STB free for 12 months after that and any additional are $3 a month.
lupi95 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off