Sacramento, CA - Comcast - Page 138 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 4174 Old 06-23-2011, 05:49 PM
Member
 
layziethug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope there's a speed increase as well. I don't really care about more channels.
layziethug is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 4174 Old 06-23-2011, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayChuang View Post
I think turning off all the analog signals has the advantage that Comcast can now offer more channels--especially in HD. BBC America HD and Fox Soccer Channel HD are probably the most likely requested channels, in my humble opinion.
Hopefully the PQ improves on the HD channels with all the analogs bein shut off.
maddog510 is offline  
post #4113 of 4174 Old 06-23-2011, 08:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
Hopefully the PQ improves on the HD channels with all the analogs bein shut off.
Don't hold your breath, all that will happen is that they now have more room to add more channels/services.
Keenan is offline  
post #4114 of 4174 Old 07-09-2011, 01:26 AM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just FYI that notice for a cutoff date/transition was July 9th(Today) in Roseville.

It will be interesting to see if anything good comes out of this.
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4115 of 4174 Old 07-25-2011, 09:20 PM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far haven't noticed any real difference here. All our TV's are on HD STBs though. I have noticed about once a week some of the basic cable channels go black during the overnight hours. It's probably when they do network maintenance as it usually coincides on nights with EAS testing. May be moving some frequencies/channels around, etc.
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4116 of 4174 Old 07-30-2011, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Enderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get "no signal" on 95 and 97 where C-SPAN used to be. Not a word on the internet about this outage. Does anyone know what happened?

The odd thing is I still can get 95 via clear QAM (but not through the box or through a cable card). And 95 and 97 are not even listed in the box's program guide!
Enderton is offline  
post #4117 of 4174 Old 07-30-2011, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am still getting C-SPAN 1,2, and 3 here on both Comcast boxes.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #4118 of 4174 Old 07-30-2011, 10:31 PM
Member
 
Enderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rory, what channel numbers do they come in on where you are?

I am in Sacramento, South Land Park, and subscribe to digital economy. So I am only supposed to get C-SPAN 1. Which used to be at 95. Did it move to a different channel number? It still does not show on my box's program guide screen, which seems to show all the channels which exist, whether or not I subscribe to them.
Enderton is offline  
post #4119 of 4174 Old 07-31-2011, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
C-SPAN 1 is still on 95, 2 is on 97, and 3 is on 98. I can also get C-SPAN 1 with a QAM tuner on 89.7.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #4120 of 4174 Old 08-02-2011, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Enderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
C-SPAN 1 and 2 returned to my guide and became accessible via my cable box and via my other set's cablecard yesterday. I still don't know why, in my area (south land park in Sacramento) they were gone for a few days. Back just in time to watch the House and Senate votes on spending cuts/debt limit increase legislation.
Enderton is offline  
post #4121 of 4174 Old 08-02-2011, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Glad to hear that they are back for you. I watch the C-SPAN channels a lot and find them invaluable for knowing what is going on unfiltered by the news media. I lost about half of the channels including all local TV stations for a day and a half three days ago and could get no help from Comcast except that they knew about the problem. This only affected my little DTA box. The bigger converter I have on another set continued to work the entire time. The DTA box continued to receive all C-SPAN channels the entire time.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #4122 of 4174 Old 08-02-2011, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Enderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least Comcast knew about it in your case, Rory. In my case the chat agent (on line on the internet) didn't have a clue. Comcast later sent a signal to my box which reset all the custom settings, including guide colors and the entire "favorites" list. And that had no effect on the missing channels.
Enderton is offline  
post #4123 of 4174 Old 08-02-2011, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The problem in my case was that the automated message indicated that they knew about "a problem" in my area but I had no idea if they were referring to the problem I was having or something else entirely.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #4124 of 4174 Old 08-05-2011, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enderton View Post

I get "no signal" on 95 and 97 where C-SPAN used to be. Not a word on the internet about this outage. Does anyone know what happened?

The odd thing is I still can get 95 via clear QAM (but not through the box or through a cable card). And 95 and 97 are not even listed in the box's program guide!

At least you didn't miss anything important (that may or may have not been blocked from you viewing), right? I mean, it's not like the public has been witheld any of our viewing rights. Well, there's always the alt nws chnl in an emrgncy.
bwall23 is offline  
post #4125 of 4174 Old 08-05-2011, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by layziethug View Post

I hope there's a speed increase as well. I don't really care about more channels.

Do not worry my friend, the Government WILL KEEP U INFORMED ;_0
bwall23 is offline  
post #4126 of 4174 Old 08-06-2011, 02:14 PM
Member
 
layziethug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, what model HD-DVR is out there in Sacramento. I currently have a DCH3416 and was trying to get a newer model. I went to the office in South Sac and they didn't have any.

If you have a newer model than mine, please let me know which office you got it from.

Thanks.
layziethug is online now  
post #4127 of 4174 Old 08-07-2011, 04:58 AM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have had the dcx3400 series DVR with a 500gb for around a year or so(cant remember exactly) here in Roseville. However none of the local offices could even get it(most of what they get is old recycled equipment) so instead how I got it was by Calling up Comcast over the phone and specifically requested one to be shipped to me. As I recall it came brand new in a box inside Xfinity branded packaging and even came with the Motorola manual
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4128 of 4174 Old 08-07-2011, 10:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it's August, anyone know when Comcast is going to be shutting off those limited basic analogs so we can get some new channels? All the mailer from a few months ago said was "early August".
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #4129 of 4174 Old 08-07-2011, 10:48 PM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The flyer for Antelope said Aug 9th (for the shutoff date, no word on new services).
Troy J B is offline  
post #4130 of 4174 Old 08-10-2011, 04:34 AM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy J B View Post

The flyer for Antelope said Aug 9th (for the shutoff date, no word on new services).

Yeah there was an article in the Press Tribune that stated the 9th as well for Roseville.

http://rosevillept.com/detail/182998...type=&town_id=

I don't have a tv hooked up without an STB in our house so I cant check if analogs are gone or not.
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4131 of 4174 Old 08-10-2011, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 9:30pm on the 9th, the only channel I see missing from the Limited Basic is channel 20. Maybe overnight they bulk of the channels will be reclaimed?
Troy J B is offline  
post #4132 of 4174 Old 08-11-2011, 12:47 AM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah that's always a possibility. They usually do maintenance over night often around 2-4 am.

Anyways I decided to swap coax to my TV just to see myself. It looks like analogs are now completely gone in Roseville.


It appears the only channels left now are the HD locals versions in Clear QAM and one or two of the government access channels.
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4133 of 4174 Old 08-11-2011, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 7am in Antelope not getting that message yet, the channels are still active. You had said your notice was for July 9th, I wonder when in the past month they actually pulled them? Or what the situation is in the rest of Sacramento County? Eg they might be doing it neighborhood by neighborhood?

I was just reading a comcast forum post, about a notice for Aug 3rd(unclear what state/area the poster was from), but analog was still active. Got a follow to that thread saying on Aug 8th/9th (overnight) they were finally turned off.
Troy J B is offline  
post #4134 of 4174 Old 08-11-2011, 06:47 PM
Member
 
mrweirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hrm actually Roseville might still be a separate system from Sacramento Country. Haven't checked in awhile but our channel line ups used to be a bit different. I guess that could explain why your still getting analogs.

In our case I'm guessing they might have actually pulled them on August 9th as the press tribune announcement stated.
mrweirdo is offline  
post #4135 of 4174 Old 08-17-2011, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sacramento still has the analog channels active as of 7pm on the 17th of Aug, and no word on new channels.
Troy J B is offline  
post #4136 of 4174 Old 08-30-2011, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found on sacbee.com
Quote:


Comcast is staggering the switch from mid-September to mid-October, breaking up its Sacramento territory into four areas.

Read more: http://www.sacbee.com/2011/08/30/387...#ixzz1WXVyGsJf

Starts on Sept 13th with the north & east parts of the county.
Troy J B is offline  
post #4137 of 4174 Old 09-16-2011, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Antelope as of 8:50am on the 16th, overnight the analogs were replaced with the screen shown in the above post (though curiously, channel 13 is just blank).
Troy J B is offline  
post #4138 of 4174 Old 09-16-2011, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am seeing the same thing here in Fair Oaks. Now the question is how long before they get rid of the analog is dead message and use the now blank channels for something new.

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #4139 of 4174 Old 10-05-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed this press release over on Comcast California from Sept. 21st:
http://comcastcalifornia.mediaroom.c...?s=43&item=488

It's for some outlying areas like Grass Valley, but it seems like those are the 12 channels Comcast is adding consistently to areas, since there is also a PR about some areas around Santa Barbara getting the same twelve. So I would imagine we'll be getting them as soon as the transitions are complete. Really happy to see BBC America HD in that list, 'bout time!

Quote:


Sprout HD
Fox Soccer HD
Investigation Discovery HD
History International HD
BBC America HD
GMC HD
Galavision HD
Bloomberg HD
Game Show Network HD
The Hub HD
National Geographic Wild HD
Oxygen HD

SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #4140 of 4174 Old 10-05-2011, 11:46 AM
Member
 
B0R3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received these in El Doraldo County today. Some nice additions to the the lineup. The weird thing is they still haven't removed the analog channels with the message screens to call Comcast, so we had enough bandwidth here to add these channels a long time ago. I question some of the channel placement of some of these channels. They placed random channels in between the HD movie channels.

For instance:
801: HBOHW
803: FSCOCD
804: IDHD
805: H2 HD
806: WILDH
807: HBOZH
808: HBOLD
809: ENCHD
810: BBCAM
813: HUBHD
814: gmc
815: GALAH
816: SZHDw
817: SZEHD
818: SZCHD
819: SZKHD
821: BTVHD
822: GSNHD
825: SHOHD
826: SHO2H
838: MXHD
847: TMCW

I hope Comcast can correct this soon with a channel reorganization because I prefer to have channels in groups of similar channels. With this addition I only have two more HD channels I really want, HDNET and FliX.
B0R3D is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off