Sacramento, CA - Comcast - Page 140 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 4174 Old 02-13-2014, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
When I moved to Stockton, Comcast gave me a triple play deal for 6 months. It included the Arris Telephony modem with built in Wifi. I had constant problems-
Wifi was weak. Could not even cover a 1000sqft rental I was in.
Reboots often. At least a few times a week without warning it would reboot.
No ability to setup reserved IP's for printers- So I had them turn off Wifi and put the modem in bridge mode so I could connect it to my own wifi router. It had major problems with my wifi router- constantly loosing WAN connection forcing me to default the router every few days and setup all over. I ended up buying a new wifi router and the problems went away.

I ended up cancelling the triple play, returning the Arris modem, and going back to using my own SB6121 which has worked flawless with 50Mbps service.

I don't have landline service at all. Cellphone works fine inside my house.
hammerdwn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 4174 Old 02-13-2014, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post

When I moved to Stockton, Comcast gave me a triple play deal for 6 months. It included the Arris Telephony modem with built in Wifi. I had constant problems-
Wifi was weak. Could not even cover a 1000sqft rental I was in.
Reboots often. At least a few times a week without warning it would reboot.
No ability to setup reserved IP's for printers- So I had them turn off Wifi and put the modem in bridge mode so I could connect it to my own wifi router. It had major problems with my wifi router- constantly loosing WAN connection forcing me to default the router every few days and setup all over. I ended up buying a new wifi router and the problems went away.

I ended up cancelling the triple play, returning the Arris modem, and going back to using my own SB6121 which has worked flawless with 50Mbps service.

I don't have landline service at all. Cellphone works fine inside my house.

I'm curious, do you have Xfinity TV?  I'm hesitant to cancel the triple play due to the deep discount that they appear to offer when you get all three.  

 

I was looking at the "Blast Plus" package deal for internet: http://www.comcast.com/internet-service2.html and was wondering if the 45 plus channels require a cableCARD and if any of them come in HD.  


Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #4173 of 4174 Old 02-13-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yes, comcast is encrypting all channels now so cable card is needed for everything.

Yes, I have comcast Tv & Internet.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #4174 of 4174 Old 05-29-2014, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 115

How's this for nostalgia. From the Stockton predecessor of years past. All 26 channels on Big Valley Cablevision.

Garrett Adams is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off