Sacramento, CA - Comcast - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4174 Old 01-28-2005, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know, there is no "locals only" package - you get all or nothing HD (minus the for pay channels, HBO, etc)

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4174 Old 01-28-2005, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or we can consider the $12.01 basic cable a local package because it will give you all the local SD stations plus a few others, and if you pay $5 to add an HD box, will get all the HD locals Comcast is carrying, plus yet a few more. Of course if you also get Comcast Internet the discount you get will practically make the "local package" free.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #543 of 4174 Old 01-28-2005, 08:07 PM
Member
 
techdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: (ka'.li.for.ni.a)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am also trying to get the best value for my money, but that seemed to take a back seat once i bought into my high-def monitor. i subscribe to all basic digital digital plus hi-def channels on sacramento's comcast including Internet, bought into the nba package (just finished the 4th and final installment), 1 regular hi-def box 1 6412 2 regular digital boxes, i also sub to dishnetwork to receive TNTHD, wpix, ktla. 1 monthly tivo box controlling one of the digital box. Total monthly bill combined...$260. i don't have any contract obligations so i'm able to change any given time. this setup seems to work great for me, but i do appreciate any ways i and many others can enjoy their TV for a cheaper price. i guess the only thing i can start doing for myself is to see if i qualify for discounts in bundling my services
techdood is offline  
post #544 of 4174 Old 01-28-2005, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
holy crap dude... 260 bucks to watch TV? seems a bit excessive.

I pay less than 50 to get everything I need - including a non-service Tivo (no HD recording)

I guess we all have our priorities

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #545 of 4174 Old 01-28-2005, 11:12 PM
Member
 
techdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: (ka'.li.for.ni.a)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i work for the industry so i feel i can pay that much. the nba package is what bites the most. before when i had NFL on direct, that was excessive. i will be able to sit down sometime to make my excessive monthly fee lower. but like i said, it does work for me and the whole family. i don't recommend anyone to pay that much, but sometimes you just have to let that TiVO or PVR get that show you like.
techdood is offline  
post #546 of 4174 Old 01-30-2005, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else have InHD 1/2 and HDSE (919, 920, 925) down this afternoon? Just noticed they are out...

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #547 of 4174 Old 01-30-2005, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Those three are also out here in Stockton.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #548 of 4174 Old 01-30-2005, 08:13 PM
Member
 
techdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: (ka'.li.for.ni.a)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, same here. Channel will be available shorty. Nothing much to miss tho. NBALP will do for now.
techdood is offline  
post #549 of 4174 Old 01-30-2005, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ccallana
Anybody else have InHD 1/2 and HDSE (919, 920, 925) down this afternoon? Just noticed they are out...

No problems in Fair Oaks at 7:40.
nightowl is offline  
post #550 of 4174 Old 01-31-2005, 12:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It came back at some point....

Dunno what was up.

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #551 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess no one cared to comment on the latest KINGS game that was on tonight. I noticed that they now have a "Maloof HD" transparent logo on the bottom left hand mid-corner now. I find this rather annoying. I guess they wanted to try something new out. This logo only appears on the main game shot, on the side.

Anyways, overall, the quality was good and excellent like the previous game in which they finally fixed the blur issue. My only concern is that I wish they would use more HD cams, most of the game was in main side view only, which really didn't make for a good presentation.
wunautica is offline  
post #552 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also found lack of replays. At least now the games are watchable.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #553 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 12:01 PM
Member
 
jhopman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have checked every source I can think of and cannot find a definite answer to this one.

Does anyone know for a fact whether CSN West is broadcasting 720p or 1080i? I figured it would be 720p since it is a sports network, but I saw threads stating (rightly or wrongly) that another CSN was running 1080i. I have not noticed any ready way to tell which signal the Motorola box is receiving. Should I have read the manual?

BTW, I did not find the "Maloof HD" logo too obnoxious because it is mostly overlaying the crowd sitting on the near side of the court. I noticed it during the game only when I thought to look. Frankly, I find the score graphic more annoying because it is a little larger than necessary. It and the new logo could both be a bit lower on the screen (at least shrink them and move the top down).
jhopman is offline  
post #554 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
rikx500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
720p....
rikx500 is offline  
post #555 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rikx500
720p....

I'm pretty sure that Comcast Sports Net HD broadcasts 1080i, at least that was in their press release when they announced the Kings deal. Kings games on News 10 will be 720p...
nightowl is offline  
post #556 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 10:47 PM
Member
 
techdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: (ka'.li.for.ni.a)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not to complain, the HD games are now as close to what the gen pop would expect. but last night, I had to opportunity to host at my house with a few close friends. this included the HD set plus several SD sets. The HD side of the game was very delayed compared to the SD. I had to utilize the TiVO just so I could get the screens to match. the duration of the main event was on cue once i got the times to match, but when the commercials came on they were not on time. There was a period between the halves when I had to redo the Tivo to cue it up. Overall, the night was a success except for the game's outcome. I guess the expenses i pay for was worth the entertainment value last night.
techdood is offline  
post #557 of 4174 Old 02-02-2005, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:


Originally posted by techdood
not to complain, the HD games are now as close to what the gen pop would expect. but last night, I had to opportunity to host at my house with a few close friends. this included the HD set plus several SD sets. The HD side of the game was very delayed compared to the SD. I had to utilize the TiVO just so I could get the screens to match. the duration of the main event was on cue once i got the times to match, but when the commercials came on they were not on time. There was a period between the halves when I had to redo the Tivo to cue it up. Overall, the night was a success except for the game's outcome. I guess the expenses i pay for was worth the entertainment value last night.

There will always be a delay between the SD & HD versions of the same show, it is due to the Mpeg compression and is unavoidable.
spwace is offline  
post #558 of 4174 Old 02-03-2005, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
gtree10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by techdood
not to complain, the HD games are now as close to what the gen pop would expect. but last night, I had to opportunity to host at my house with a few close friends. this included the HD set plus several SD sets. The HD side of the game was very delayed compared to the SD. I had to utilize the TiVO just so I could get the screens to match. the duration of the main event was on cue once i got the times to match, but when the commercials came on they were not on time. There was a period between the halves when I had to redo the Tivo to cue it up. Overall, the night was a success except for the game's outcome. I guess the expenses i pay for was worth the entertainment value last night.

This isn't a new issue. The same thing happend with the analog and digital (not HD) boxes. I'd have a TV on in the bedroom (with the old analog box) and in the living room (a digital box). The broadcasts were off by a second or so. Also, try listening to a Kings game on KHTK while watching it on TV, not exactly in sync.
gtree10 is offline  
post #559 of 4174 Old 02-06-2005, 09:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if you guys already knew this but the DVR I-GUIDE goes out for 2 weeks now versus 5 days before. I think this started on FEB 1st cause I noticed this a few days ago. KINGS in HD tomorrow, should be a good one.
wunautica is offline  
post #560 of 4174 Old 02-06-2005, 11:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When do the older boxes get updated to the new software? I'm tired of this old crappy interface

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #561 of 4174 Old 02-07-2005, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed severe mciroblocking on HBOHD and SHOHD channels during fast moving scenes. Haven't seen the same on the other HDs.

I am afraid Comcast has also started to compress the HD singals.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #562 of 4174 Old 02-07-2005, 09:36 AM
Newbie
 
rikx500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All Comcast HD games are broadcasted 720p format, for now. Then maybe 1080i. The M5 production truck is all set up for 720p (inside scoop). The delay is indeed from the MPEG processing, compression and then rate shaping/mapping. Plus the ddecoder side has delay/buffer as well.
rikx500 is offline  
post #563 of 4174 Old 02-07-2005, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI...in checking the guide on my 6412, it appears that Comcast Sacramento is now sending out the 15 day guide, at least for the PVRs...
nightowl is offline  
post #564 of 4174 Old 02-08-2005, 01:48 AM
Member
 
PorscheT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just recieved a message on my box at about 12:30 a.m that the new guide is here. I am waiting for it to update but nothings happening. Wonder if i gotta turn it off for it to update. I guess i'll turn it off and see in the morning.
PorscheT is offline  
post #565 of 4174 Old 02-08-2005, 03:12 PM
Member
 
jhopman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted the question about Kings HD being 720p or 1080i and saw conflicting replies. During the last game I experimented and decided that signal had to be 1080i.

My projector downscales to 480p, and I know from experimenting with other (known resolution) networks that I get the best picture when the Comcast box passes the native resolution and the projector does all the scaling. The Kings broadcast was quite fuzzy when I had the box sending 720p but much clearer when sending 1080i. So, 1080i must be native.

It will be interesting to compare the 720p signal on Ch. 10.
jhopman is offline  
post #566 of 4174 Old 02-08-2005, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:


Originally posted by jhopman
I posted the question about Kings HD being 720p or 1080i and saw conflicting replies. During the last game I experimented and decided that signal had to be 1080i.

My projector downscales to 480p, and I know from experimenting with other (known resolution) networks that I get the best picture when the Comcast box passes the native resolution and the projector does all the scaling. The Kings broadcast was quite fuzzy when I had the box sending 720p but much clearer when sending 1080i. So, 1080i must be native.

It will be interesting to compare the 720p signal on Ch. 10.

I have a set with built in QUAM tuner and it displays the format of the displayed image. It identifies Comcast Sports Net as 720p.
spwace is offline  
post #567 of 4174 Old 02-08-2005, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Lloyd Dobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm watching the Kings-Suns game right now, and what an improvement over the earler "high-def" games! Glad to see that they finally got all the issues worked out. BTW - my non-HD digital box got the new guide this morning, while my HD-digital box that I'm watching now still has the old guide. I got the message saying the new guide was available on both boxes today.
Lloyd Dobler is offline  
post #568 of 4174 Old 02-12-2005, 11:29 AM
Member
 
tomtnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOR new HD installs: are they bringing out the 6200 or the 5100? where do i go to exchasnge for the 6200 if they give me a 5100? I need the firewire

thx
tomtnt is offline  
post #569 of 4174 Old 02-12-2005, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tomtnt
FOR new HD installs: are they bringing out the 6200 or the 5100? where do i go to exchasnge for the 6200 if they give me a 5100? I need the firewire

thx

The only place you can go is the Comcast office on Pell Drive (Main at Northgate) out by Arco Arena. Assuming you are in the Sacramento area. Not sure about Roseville or other Comcast service areas.
nightowl is offline  
post #570 of 4174 Old 02-14-2005, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
sierrabob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Granite Bay, CA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Kings-Mavs game last Friday night was a marvelous broadcast, a local HD telecast in HD. However, at least one frame was corrupted, as the following attachment reveals.

Bob
LL
sierrabob is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off