Sacramento, CA - Comcast - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 4174 Old 04-18-2005, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Do you know if the NBA will force a blackout of the Kings on ESPN HD if CSN shows the playoff games?
igreg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 4174 Old 04-18-2005, 11:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The game last week with the Lakers was not blacked out on ESPN, but without access to the actual contracts it's anybody's guess which games are blacked out.
spwace is offline  
post #723 of 4174 Old 04-19-2005, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I guess we will find out on Saturday, at least with regard to Channel 10. The Kings-Sonics will be on ESPN HD this Saturday, and I would think channel 10 will show the game, and show the game in SD. Thus if Channel 10 has exclusive rights, the scenario with the Phoenix game will repeat itself.
igreg is offline  
post #724 of 4174 Old 04-19-2005, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:


Originally posted by igreg
I guess we will find out on Saturday, at least with regard to Channel 10. The Kings-Sonics will be on ESPN HD this Saturday, and I would think channel 10 will show the game, and show the game in SD. Thus if Channel 10 has exclusive rights, the scenario with the Phoenix game will repeat itself.

I don't believe there is any local exclusivity for playoff games, so you should have a choice.
spwace is offline  
post #725 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
gmwedding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed various levels of compression used for ESPN and CSN HD baseball programming.

With baseball, the effects are most visible when camera shots contain movement and show lot's of grass or dirt infield (base paths) in the background. The movement can be panning or zooming-in or out. When the data is over-compressed you'll slowly become aware that these backgrounds sometimes look unnatural. Sometimes, the signals are being compressed too much, and the actual MPEG pixel tiling becomes visible to anyone who knows what to look for. Worse, the compression levels (and background detail) constantly changes during camera or lens movements!

Sometimes, I've actually been getting sick to my stomach (for a second or two) as I watch this occur onscreen. As soon as the movement stops, a less-compressed, more natural-looking version of the background grass and dirt re-appears, and my queasiness disappears.

I have noticed this in two or three games. Most recently it was very evident during the Chicago White Sox game of 4/19, which I think was broadcast on CSN (if I recall correctly). It is a very odd sensation. After awhile I could not keep watching, and turned off the White Sox game.

I wonder where the compression is occurring and who is controlling it?

Geo
gmwedding is offline  
post #726 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 12:23 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #727 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
coqui007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called Comcast about the Kings game in Hi Def and was told by Comcast that as of April 1 2005 no more Kings games in Hi Def.

I asked her how could that be since I got Comcast so I could see home games in Hi Def on 919. Her reply was that Comcast and the Maloofs could not agree on the contract.

I was a long time *D* man and things that this make me want to go back.
If only I had $999.00 for HD-250 with Tivo and HDTV I would go back in a second!!
coqui007 is offline  
post #728 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by coqui007
I called Comcast about the Kings game in Hi Def and was told by Comcast that as of April 1 2005 no more Kings games in Hi Def.

I asked her how could that be since I got Comcast so I could see home games in Hi Def on 919. Her reply was that Comcast and the Maloofs could not agree on the contract.

I was a long time *D* man and things that this make me want to go back.
If only I had $999.00 for HD-250 with Tivo and HDTV I would go back in a second!!

I don't think it has anything to do with a contract, but with it being the end of the season. Comcast Sportsnet has the rights to most Kings home games for several years...HD or SD.

We are in the playoffs now, and I don't believe CSN has rights to any of the playoff games. They are either on News10 or ESPN, or TNT.
nightowl is offline  
post #729 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
R. Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonights Kings game will be HD on KXTV and the Comcast KXTV HD channel.
R. Boyce is offline  
post #730 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nightowl
I don't think it has anything to do with a contract, but with it being the end of the season. Comcast Sportsnet has the rights to most Kings home games for several years...HD or SD.

We are in the playoffs now, and I don't believe CSN has rights to any of the playoff games. They are either on News10 or ESPN, or TNT.

Yes indeed I don't know why they even bother with CSRs answering any real questions, I have yet found any of them know the answers, worst yet, they seem to happily make up stories as they go along just to get you off their back.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #731 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jacmyoung
Yes indeed I don't know why they even bother with CSRs answering any real questions, I have yet found any of them know the answers, worst yet, they seem to happily make up stories as they go along just to get you off their back.

A Comcast CSR, make up stories just to get a customer off the phone? Surely you must be mistaken!

I would be curious as to how the "contract" issues come up when the games are broadcast on Comcast's very own network? How does a reason like that even come up? They have a multi-year contract with Maloof Sports to carry the Kings.

I would think the Kings would have a problem with Comcast CSRs telling customers who just got the Kings back on cable after a one year absence. Wasn't there bad enough PR last year when only a handful of games were available on Comcast?
nightowl is offline  
post #732 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 11:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody do comparisons between the ESPN and Channel 10 broadcasts tonite?

they both looked pretty good - but to my eye, ESPN had slightly better colors and pop - the purple was very vibrant.

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #733 of 4174 Old 04-20-2005, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:


Originally posted by R. Boyce
Tonights Kings game will be HD on KXTV and the Comcast KXTV HD channel.

Thanks. Do you know if all the Kings home playoff games will be in HD (except for those that may be broadcast nationally by ABC)?
igreg is offline  
post #734 of 4174 Old 04-21-2005, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know or anybody getting all the non-premium HD channels w/o the digital package of $14.95?? I want to get standard cable with the DVR and HDTV function, which will be $9.95 more. Do I really need the digital package just to get INHD, INHD2, etc??? I know I will get locals in HD, but I want my other HD channels as well w/o having to pay for the digital package.
wunautica is offline  
post #735 of 4174 Old 04-21-2005, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I have been told several times - you can not get the DVR without Digital Classic.

I have the full analog package, plus the $5/month HD box rental - I get:

NBC, PBS, FOX, ABC, CBS + INHD1/2, DiscHD, ESPN, and Comcast SE (special events) on the 5100 box. I've called several times to get the 6412 (which would be $4.95 more than I'm paying now) and they won't do it without me upgrading to Digital Classic for another $9.95/month

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #736 of 4174 Old 04-21-2005, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nightowl
A Comcast CSR, make up stories just to get a customer off the phone? Surely you must be mistaken!

I would be curious as to how the "contract" issues come up when the games are broadcast on Comcast's very own network? How does a reason like that even come up? They have a multi-year contract with Maloof Sports to carry the Kings.

I would think the Kings would have a problem with Comcast CSRs telling customers who just got the Kings back on cable after a one year absence. Wasn't there bad enough PR last year when only a handful of games were available on Comcast?

Ever heard a CSR insisting that InHDs were PPV channels? How about the 5100 DVI output was not working because the CSR claimed he had two 5100s (how about this as a story, a CSR had two HDTVs?) and he knew for a fact the DVIs did not work, when at the same time mine worked just fine? The fact was he did not even know what DVI was.

I seemed to recall someone mentioned there was a fire in the HD truck, afterwards we missed the last two Comcast HD games but they were on CH34. Judging from how much those CSRs know the difference between SD and HD, I doubt they actually knew there was a Comcast HD RSN channel, much less contractual details on the Kings HD games.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #737 of 4174 Old 04-21-2005, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 29
CSR's have told me that INHD is a PPV channel.
igreg is offline  
post #738 of 4174 Old 04-22-2005, 11:46 PM
Member
 
techdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: (ka'.li.for.ni.a)
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by igreg
CSR's have told me that INHD is a PPV channel.

I've seen a reply to this. I forgot the outcome. As for myself, looks like I'm going to have to go Limited Basic + Digital Classic in order to keep the HD's and my STB. If that is the minimum to keep them, then that's what I'll pay.
techdood is offline  
post #739 of 4174 Old 04-23-2005, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No TNT-HD yet for us??? Wellz, im sure most of you guys know, that Comcast just added TNT-HD to some of their markets. I guess we don't have it as of yet correct? I'm going to check out the guide in a bit. I hope that we do though, this would be really nice.
wunautica is offline  
post #740 of 4174 Old 04-23-2005, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wunautica
No TNT-HD yet for us??? Wellz, im sure most of you guys know, that Comcast just added TNT-HD to some of their markets. I guess we don't have it as of yet correct? I'm going to check out the guide in a bit. I hope that we do though, this would be really nice.

Per the regional VP in an email I recieved a few weeks ago, we won't get TNT-HD at launch, and likely not until "this summer". So, I'm not really expecting it until June sometime at the earliest.
nightowl is offline  
post #741 of 4174 Old 04-24-2005, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:


Originally posted by techdood
I've seen a reply to this. I forgot the outcome. As for myself, looks like I'm going to have to go Limited Basic + Digital Classic in order to keep the HD's and my STB. If that is the minimum to keep them, then that's what I'll pay.

So what does this translate into dollars per month? Thanks.
igreg is offline  
post #742 of 4174 Old 04-24-2005, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know the reasoning for not getting TNT-HD yet? It would seem we have the bandwidth (they just moved the premiums up to digital)

I don't really care much until July when a lot of the Nascar races are there well, that and Law and Order re-runs - although I think I've seen them all....

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #743 of 4174 Old 04-24-2005, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ccallana
Anybody know the reasoning for not getting TNT-HD yet? It would seem we have the bandwidth (they just moved the premiums up to digital)

I don't really care much until July when a lot of the Nascar races are there well, that and Law and Order re-runs - although I think I've seen them all....

It sounds like getting VOD up and running is taking a lot of effort (as evidenced by them not getting it running months and months ago). Check a few posts up in this thread for more info.
nightowl is offline  
post #744 of 4174 Old 04-25-2005, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
gtree10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the email response I received about TNT-HD being added:

"Thank you for contacting Comcast Cable.

Thank you for your inquiry. This is currently being beta tested in many
markets, and has not been released for all areas as of yet. This should be
completed in a few weeks and then added to the lineup.

If you need further assistance, please feel free to respond directly to this
email. We appreciate you taking the time to contact us. "

I didn't realize beta testing was required in order to add a channel.
gtree10 is offline  
post #745 of 4174 Old 04-25-2005, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did I tell you they often make up stories just to get you off their back?
jacmyoung is offline  
post #746 of 4174 Old 04-25-2005, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
gtree10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jacmyoung
Did I tell you they often make up stories just to get you off their back?

Yeah, I knew that (check out my post from page 35 of this thread). Though, I guess we should feel lucky that all the bugs will be caught by the beta testers (other local markets) before we get the opportunity to watch TNT-HD.
gtree10 is offline  
post #747 of 4174 Old 04-26-2005, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
deltaopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody in Sacramento (95826 area) getting VOD yet? I get channel 1 now, but just recieve the "this channel should be available shortly" message.
deltaopz is offline  
post #748 of 4174 Old 04-26-2005, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems to be working now. I just brought up Groundhog Day under the Free selection.

Well, if they still have BW available after all this VOD goo, we should be all set to add new
HD content. At least one can hope...

Troy
Troy J B is offline  
post #749 of 4174 Old 04-26-2005, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by deltaopz
Anybody in Sacramento (95826 area) getting VOD yet? I get channel 1 now, but just recieve the "this channel should be available shortly" message.

If you "see" channel 1, it should only be another week or so before you get VOD activated. At least that's how it was for me in Fair Oaks.
nightowl is offline  
post #750 of 4174 Old 04-26-2005, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have to have a PVR box for VOD? or just if you want to watch it later?

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off