Sacramento, CA - Comcast - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One empty channel 925, inhd2 will still be on 920. I take it to be CSN West will pre-empty INHD2 just like FSN Bay Area has been doing.

Hopefully they will juggle NFL, FSN Bay Area , & CSN West between 920 and 925 such that we never miss an HD presentation.

Troy
Troy J B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I remember reading that InHD2 is programmed specifically for this reason. During the primetime hours, it largely has 1/2 hour programs, repeats, nothing that is premiering, etc. This is the channel that cable companies across the country use to show their RSN's HD games, so we definitely not unique in that sense.
nightowl is offline  
post #183 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I did not realize CH920 is InHD2.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #184 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some good news today about the Kings. Wellz I just hope that we could see lots of KINGS in HD this season. I think this is how its gonna be with the HD lineup.

Channel 920 will serve as a primary for INHD2, but if a game happens to be shown, either FSN HD games, then channel 925 will be showing INHD2 contents. This is done so nothing is missed, as much as possible. BUT!! if a KINGS HD game is on at the same time, then I think that it will be on either 920 and/or 925, then a FSN HD game would be on the other. That way, we could watch both a Giant's / A's game while a KINGS HD game be on. BUT you have to take in account that baseball is ending soon. So there will be more room for the Warriors or Sharks, w/e. Then comes the KINGS in HD. I think its possible and it will run smoothly. So I guess everybody with basic cable $12.01 will be able to watch the pre-season games until NOV. 2. I cannot wait and do wonder when the first HD game will be. KXTV has the first home game, and said that they will do all of the KINGS home games in HD. Lets just see =) Now the only thing left is TNT-HD, come on Comcast!!! hehe.

PorscheT, your welcome. I guess every CSR is differ. Some are really nice, but some are jackasses, these are usually the ones that don't know as much as others.
wunautica is offline  
post #185 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
gtree10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wunautica
I cannot wait and do wonder when the first HD game will be. KXTV has the first home game, and said that they will do all of the KINGS home games in HD. Lets just see =) Now the only thing left is TNT-HD, come on Comcast!!! hehe.

Of course 3 of the 7 TNT games are also home games, so those would be in HD.
gtree10 is offline  
post #186 of 4174 Old 10-01-2004, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gtree10
Of course 3 of the 7 TNT games are also home games, so those would be in HD.

Ok, no rush for TNT-HD then..hehe messing. I really want this channel because of other things too. I think its a really great network, so to have it in HD would be awesome. I wannt watch other basketball games in HD as well, so its a win-win situation.
wunautica is offline  
post #187 of 4174 Old 10-04-2004, 01:55 AM
Member
 
strider209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the lineup as far as I know:

903 KCRA-3 (NBC Digital Simulcast)
910 KXTV-10 (ABC Digital Simulcast)
919 INDemand HD-1 (HDTV)
920 INDemand HD-2 (HDTV)
920 Fox Sports (HDTV)
922 Discovery Theater HD
923 ESPN (HDTV)
930 HBO (HDTV)
932 Cinemax (HDTV)
934 Starz! (HDTV)
936 Showtime (HDTV)

There's also a HDSE - High Def Special Events channel, not sure what channel it is on though.

Has anyone heard what/when new channels are coming? I would like to see CBS and FOX available soon!
strider209 is offline  
post #188 of 4174 Old 10-06-2004, 11:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rory Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did anyone watch "Lost" Wednesday night on Comcast and if so did you see several video and sometimes big as in loud audio glitches during the early part of the program?
The question is asked in an effort to make sure that the signal left the studio bad and was not a transmitter related problem. KXTV feeds Comcast via fiber so transmitter problems will not appear on Comcast.

Rory at KXTV

Rory
Rory Boyce is offline  
post #189 of 4174 Old 10-07-2004, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Slinky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I watched the whole program, only saw 2 or 3 breakups where the screen made like a pop sound and went black for a second.
Slinky11 is offline  
post #190 of 4174 Old 10-07-2004, 10:45 AM
Member
 
strider209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Rory Boyce
Did anyone watch "Lost" Wednesday night on Comcast and if so did you see several video and sometimes big as in loud audio glitches during the early part of the program?
The question is asked in an effort to make sure that the signal left the studio bad and was not a transmitter related problem. KXTV feeds Comcast via fiber so transmitter problems will not appear on Comcast.

Rory at KXTV

I had a similar problem when we were watching Desperate Housewives. There were a few audio glitches and at least once the video froze for about a minute. My wife was annoyed so shw watched the last 20 minutes of the show on regular SD. Is this a problem from Comcast or from the TV station or something else?
strider209 is offline  
post #191 of 4174 Old 10-07-2004, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
R. Boyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems to be a problem at KXTV and we are trying to figure out what is causing it.
R. Boyce is offline  
post #192 of 4174 Old 10-12-2004, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wunautica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sactown, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

Just wanted to post this, since its been slow, nothing really new with Comcast Sacramento. Today, with my bill, I received a full out introduction to Comcast Sportsnet. It was cool, it had a full Kings schedule as well, stating that all of the home games will be in HD =)

Other then this, I had called to cancel my service, because I wanted to switch to DSL/DISH. They are running this special that you could get both for like $57 bux or so. I had stated this to Comcast while canceling. Next thing you know, the CSR put me on hold for a few secs, and told me that she wanted me to stay with them and offered me a special promotion. Here is what I got =) $50 bux total per month for BOTH cable internet and cable tv =) My cable tv package is Digital Classic w/ PLUS and HBO. I got to keep what I had now. Other then that, its still $5 for the HD box. This promotion is for a full 12 months!!!! I'm happy now =) so a total of $55 + tax. To break it down, this would be $24.95 for HSI and $24.95 for Digital w/ Plus and HBO.

I guess I won't be considering DirecTV and DSL for a while.
wunautica is offline  
post #193 of 4174 Old 10-13-2004, 02:06 AM
Member
 
PorscheT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow... what a great deal. I would like to threaten to cancel my service as well to get a better deal but am worried they will take it seriously without a promotion.
PorscheT is offline  
post #194 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is something I will consider when my promotion ends in December. Right now only the promotions can keep me from leaving Comcast. The Dishnetwork DVR service is a must for the wife. If Comcast can bring out a good functional DVR, I wouldn't mind paying their regular prices and use cable as my sole provider.

At this time it costs me over $125 to keep both services including cable broadband, but $125 now does not even buy me any premium channels.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #195 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast will bring out a good functional DVR, the Moto6412. Whether it will be as good as Dish's I don't know. I don't know when in your area, but I'm hoping next month or December in the Baltimore area (I already have the single tuner 6208, which works.) If you have Scientific Atlanta equipment from Comcast I believe they already have a dual-tuner HD-DVR with SARA software that is quite acceptable.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #196 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 11:13 AM
Member
 
strider209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke to a comcast rep and they estimate DVR being available in Stockton area by end of year. I've asked about their HDTV lineup and I was told they don't know which channels will be offered next but they estimate more HD channels will be available by end of year.
strider209 is offline  
post #197 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Troy J B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by raidbuck
If you have Scientific Atlanta equipment from Comcast I believe they already have a dual-tuner HD-DVR with SARA software that is quite acceptable.

Comcast out here uses Motorola HW. The real question, is what guide software we get....

Troy
Troy J B is offline  
post #198 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most will get the IGuide, a definite improvement from the TVGuide the 6208 has, but nobody is claiming it is as good as HD-Tivo's. But it is a step in the right direction.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #199 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No one knows when Sacramento Comcast will offer HD DVRs, we were told DVRs would be available in 12/03, then 01/04 then 03/04, now by the end of year, I have learned not to hold my breath.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #200 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 03:40 PM
Member
 
strider209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed comcast about the new guide and they said the ETA for this in unknown. I hope it comes soon because the current guide sucks!

My comcast wishlist:
HD DVR service
More HD channels
New guide
More ONDemand programming
strider209 is offline  
post #201 of 4174 Old 10-14-2004, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Slinky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Comcast Wishlist:
Set a release date on something and stick to it.
Slinky11 is offline  
post #202 of 4174 Old 10-20-2004, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazing evening on Comcast - all channels had HD material!!

NBC, PBS, FOX, ABC, InHD1 and 2, DiscHD, and ESPNHD! 8-9pm ... very very cool.


Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #203 of 4174 Old 10-20-2004, 11:42 PM
Member
 
PorscheT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much are you guys paying for HDTV? I am paying $10 when i believe most of you are paying $5. I thought comcast corrected this weeks ago but when i got my bill today and the charge is still there. I call them and they tell me that since i dont have a digital package i am being charged an extra $5 for my HD box. So then in the end i am charged $10 for the box. I thought it must be a mistake but want to hear from you guys first.
PorscheT is offline  
post #204 of 4174 Old 10-21-2004, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccallana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Folsom (Sacramento) CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$5 for the box on top of Expanded Basic Analog cable ~43$ - for a total of around $48

Who is the more irrational, the man who believes in a God he does not see, or the man who is offended by the God he does not believe in? -Brad Stine
ccallana is offline  
post #205 of 4174 Old 10-21-2004, 02:46 PM
Member
 
PorscheT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems like you guys are getting away with one. I emailed them today and got this response:
Thank you for contacting Comcast Cable.

The HD converter is $5 per month if you subscribe to a digital package.
As you have standard service only, there is an additional fee.
I apologize for any confusion this has caused for you.
PorscheT is offline  
post #206 of 4174 Old 10-26-2004, 09:20 AM
Member
 
Slinky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have any info on DVR, iGuide, VOD? It sounds like iGuide just launched, i'm hoping we get that and the 6408 in November.
Slinky11 is offline  
post #207 of 4174 Old 10-26-2004, 12:17 PM
Member
 
strider209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Slinky11
Anyone have any info on DVR, iGuide, VOD? It sounds like iGuide just launched, i'm hoping we get that and the 6408 in November.

Stockton does not have iGuide and we have had VOD for a few months. DVR is SUPPOSED to be available by end of year. iGuide ETA is unknown according to comcast CSR.
strider209 is offline  
post #208 of 4174 Old 10-26-2004, 04:17 PM
Member
 
bclements3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey All I'm in Roseville and am on the Comcast Digital/HD package. I am also using the cablecard instead of the converter box. The disadvantage to this is that there is not preview guide.


Does anyone else use the cablecard? Anyone know if comcast plans on updating to two-way cable card which will include a preview guide?

I wouldn't mind NOT having the preview guide if it didn't take so damn long to flip the channels...
bclements3 is offline  
post #209 of 4174 Old 10-26-2004, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bclements3
Hey All I'm in Roseville and am on the Comcast Digital/HD package. I am also using the cablecard instead of the converter box. The disadvantage to this is that there is not preview guide.


Does anyone else use the cablecard? Anyone know if comcast plans on updating to two-way cable card which will include a preview guide?

I wouldn't mind NOT having the preview guide if it didn't take so damn long to flip the channels...

As far as I know, there isn't yet any 2-way cablecard out. I would imagine that as soon as they are available, Comcast will have them. You can't order VOD or PPV with the current one-way, nor any other enhanced services.
nightowl is offline  
post #210 of 4174 Old 10-27-2004, 12:58 AM
Member
 
PorscheT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure if existing tv sets with cable card can even read a future 2-way card.
PorscheT is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off