Comcast - Northern NJ: HD Soon? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 08-29-2001, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you in the Essex, Union, and Hudson County areas (Hi, Claude!), Comcast's July Channel Line Up and Rate Card lists: "High Definition Television (HDTV) Service . . $14.95 (not available in all areas)"

Of course, the local sales office knows nothing about it yet.
AlanS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 08-29-2001, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ClaudeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Short Hills, New Jersey
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Alan,

I called them. First they said it would be available in my town in September. Then, CSR said "hold on, let me double-check that." Came back and said "it was scheduled for September, but has been delayed until 2002."

It is still forward progress. Just to acknowledge HDTV in a Comcast pamphlet is a start.

It's obviously too early for HDTV over cable. When the trees that block my line-of-sight to satellite have all fallen down, and when my OTA antenna can reliably pick up NYC stations, then, and only then, will Comcast make it available over cable. I'd like to think that I'm just a pessimist, but I've seen this movie a few times before.

Here's hoping I'm wrong,
Claude



[This message has been edited by ClaudeD (edited 08-29-2001).]
ClaudeD is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 09-03-2001, 04:01 PM
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Despite the pessimism (which I share) that Comcast will do anything progressive, it is encouraging that they even acknowledge a plan for HDTV. I'll call tomorrow and see what response I get. 3 weeks ago they had "no plans for HDTV" in central NJ!

Keep the pressure on them!
hma is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 09-03-2001, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This post in the Digital Theater Forum may be of interest to you guys. Maybe we should invite that guy to post here.

------------------
Vic Ruiz
STOP HDCP/DFAST/5C
vruiz is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 09-03-2001, 08:20 PM
Member
 
donj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ.. USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, please,, don't tease us so.... I will be standing out on the street outside my house if this is true waiting for the truck to deliver my HDTV cable equipment. In fact, tell me where to go and I will get it myself... just please , please don't delay..

A Hopeful South Jersey Comcast customer-- who already has cable TV, cable modem and REPLAY... wants HDTV

Thanks for the info
donj is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 09-03-2001, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmaneyapanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: princeton,nj
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
consider me in, whenever you guys get to central jersey. I've recently been trying to figure out how to possibly get a dish installed, but maybe this will change my mind!

dinesh


------------------
DVI/HDCP sucks. DFAST sucks. Boycott JVC.
dmaneyapanda is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 06:28 AM
Member
 
DaveB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Clinton, CT
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cabletech,

1. Do you know if Connecticut is on the roll out schedule for HDTV? Specifically Clinton, Old Saybrook Comcast system? Any general time frame answer you can give me?

2. How do you get on the waiting list for the special HDTV Set top boxes?

DaveB99 is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cabletech:
Do I understand you that the equipment needed will be (a) a Scientific Atlanta STB (NOT the Motorola 2000 Series currently used for Comcast digital) plus (b) a Motorola 200 sidecar?

Whatever the equipment, is there any possibility that we can begin getting the signal by purchasing our own equipment before the official launch in our areas?

Finally, are you saying that the HD signals are already on my cable here in Livingston, but that I can't access them because I don't have the equipment?


Thanks.
AlanS is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm ready to test. I'm in Delaware so send me an e-mail.

Here is a link to the Mototola HDD200

[This message has been edited by Joe_R (edited 09-04-2001).]
Joe_R is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Rob.
I note that the Motorola 2000 Series that I have has a data output that is a female 9 pin connector, while the standard 200 sidecar, I believe, has a minijack input.

Do you have any idea how this will be handled?

and thanks again for providing reality re Comcast, my beloved provider!
AlanS is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Bither's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wilmington DE USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also in New Castle county so you can coun't me in on the test too. How do I sign up?


BTW - This is an unscientific survey but only 1 out of 6 Customer Service reps I've called in the past 2 weeks actually 1) knew what HDTV was, and 2) new that Comcast was going to offer it.
Dan Bither is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 09-04-2001, 09:08 PM
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news!

Rob:

Do you have any idea of the timetable for roll-out in central NJ (i.e. Westfield)?
hma is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 09-06-2001, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cabletech...your still here?
Joe_R is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 09-09-2001, 06:54 PM
Member
 
HD Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Cabletech! I know you've got a full-time job, too (in addition to helping us) but what about Comcast in NorthWEST NJ? (The old Storer Cable system with the head end in Port Murray.)

Any info you have would be appreciated.
HD Ken is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 09-09-2001, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Corey140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Edgewood, MD
Posts: 2,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about MD?

------------------
Directv Subscriber (oval dish+ sat c kit)
RCA UTV, Hughes 2 E25 and 1 Hughes E11

Directv Subscriber (oval dish+ sat c kit)
Corey140 is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 09-09-2001, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CableTech...If I call the customer service line, will they have any idea what I'm talking about? Is there a waiting list? Thanks for getting back to us.
Joe_R is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 09-10-2001, 09:05 AM
Member
 
JeffP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Willow Grove, PA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cut off digital cable because the local channels were still in (really lousy) analog - put HD channels in the lineup, and I'll be back on board in a heartbeat!

I'm located in Willow Grove PA - count me as a volunteer for a pilot/beta program there is one.

Jeff
JeffP is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 09-10-2001, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
bbordner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lincroft, NJ
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the major problems holding up HD on cable has been the cable box supply - is SA or Motorola expanding production of their boxes, or will this be a long-term problem? With any luck (the wife willing), I should have an HD-capable (projector) setup by Christmas, and I'm willing to wait for Comcast IF this is realistic. If tuner supplies will slow deployment to a trickle, there should at least be a sign-up list! The Comcast website is pushing Digital service hard; please try to have them include at least an interest survey for HD service. I am also concerned about the price - I already spend $129/mo (with internet service). I got digital (very nice here, BTW) for $10 for the tuner, then found that it needed another $5 for the expanded channnels - it's infuriating to keep getting into "one more upgrade"; I hate the way Comcast is so coy about their pricing! Nontheless, I (obviously) will pay for real service improvements; I'd just like to know the whole package price up front.

Many people have been spending kilobux on HD-ready TVs, and the local stores say "cable won't have it for years - buy satellite from us!" If Comcast can even provide a hint that HDTV will be available within a year, they will retain many more customers.
bbordner is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 09-11-2001, 12:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cabletech, here's another question: According to a press release from CEDIA posted in another thread, Mitsubishi is introducing new HDTVs in the fall that are compatable with QAM demodulation. Are the HD network signals (as opposed to PPV) going to be scrambled or not so that these TV can be used without a STB?

Here's the link to the press release:
http://www.tvinsite.com/twice/index....y=breakingNews
link
AlanS is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 09-15-2001, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! It's terrific having you around!
AlanS is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 09-15-2001, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ClaudeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Short Hills, New Jersey
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CableTech, I join the others in thanking you for a) getting Comcast going, and b) posting on this forum. Does the recent catastrophe in NYC mean that we won't have even the limited NBC, ABC, etc. HD available to us? Any chance of getting HDNet? Sorry to be getting greedy, but my multipath problems have starved me for HD.

AlanS, I will be thrilled when it turns out that my cynicism and pessimism were misplaced. I would just love to be wrong this once... and it's starting to look like I might well have been. YES!

Claude
ClaudeD is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 09-15-2001, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AlanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston,NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Claude, I'll remain hopeful. Comcast's At Home internet service is the best.
AlanS is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 09-16-2001, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Greg G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I dropped Comcast to go to Dish I told them that they'd not get me back until they offered HDTV. If they can get me HD NY Ranger games then they'll be getting my cash once again for sure!

-Greg
Greg G is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 09-18-2001, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Cable Dude1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chester Springs, PA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You will all need to be patient with Comcast. They are committed to HDTV, and the limited roll out should occur end of October, first part of November. The deployment will become easier when the Motorola 5000 series set top box is available first quarter ’02. While their Digital Cable package uses 64 QAM and gets sometimes 10 channels in a 6 MHz space, HDTV will use 256 QAM and maximum of 2 channels in a single 6 MHz channel. The Mpeg compression rates that Comcast use for their standard channels are much more robust than the satellite people. Some of the Direct TV programming on a large screen looks awful. 19.2 MBPS is the minimum bandwidth needed for HD; HDTV will not work at less. This equals two HD channels per one 6 MHz space and will put pressure on system bandwidth. You should never see any softness in those pictures.

This is a complex roll out that involves digital must carry regulatory issues, system bandwidth, set top box compatibility, CSR and installer tech training, to name a few.

I can tell you that Comcast is committed to this service and it will eventually be offered to their upgraded (750 MHz.) properties. Try and work with them, and understand they are sailing into new territory. I will be constructive in my comments to them regarding this new service, and I can’t wait to sign up for it.

Tom
Cable Dude1122 is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 09-18-2001, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Bither's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wilmington DE USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rob,

While you are checking on the Mitsubishi, can you also check with Hauppauge? Their Win-TV HD tuner card can also receive 256 QAM.
Dan Bither is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 09-18-2001, 08:24 PM
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rob:

Do all areas served by Comcast@Home in Central New Jersey have the upgraded wiring needed for HDTV once the STBs become available? If not, could you tell us which systems ARE ready (since I presume these will be the first to get HDTV). We're all anxiously awaiting HDTV from Comcast. I'd be happy to scrap my Directv system (no HDTV due to trees) when Comcast steps up.

Thanks, HMA.
hma is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 09-18-2001, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supposed to be hearing from CableTech soon about this. I'll let you know what transpires.
Joe_R is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 09-19-2001, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Bither's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wilmington DE USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*Bump*

Any word if and QAM 256 capable converter will work (such as Mitsubishi, Sony's announced Fire Wire STB, Hauppauge's WinTV-HD card) ?

Dan Bither is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 09-20-2001, 06:00 PM
Member
 
tedp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a copy of the Comcast rate card effective November 1st. It lists a "Installation of HDTV Equipment, separate trip" for $20.59.

I am too skeptical to believe that they will actually deliver HDTV.

Is it real or only an illusion?
tedp is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 04-11-2002, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what's the lastest on HDTV in Westfield, NJ/Union County? I'm moving there next month and want to get setup. What are people using out there?

Thanks.
rblnr is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off