Corpus Christi, TX - HDTV - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 954 Old 09-02-2006, 11:59 PM
Member
 
SL295's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of curiousity, what kind of setups do y'all have. Like your antenna setups, amps, tuners, and TV's.
SL295 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 954 Old 09-03-2006, 05:31 PM
Member
 
kandor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL295 View Post

I don't have cable. But I do have it at work. So what's with the watermark on KWDB 23? "CW premieres in September 2x (don't remember the date exactly...somebody with TW cable confirm please)".

Yeah, it's there (the 23rd). I think WB is running it to get people ready in case the agreement is signed, and if not, to get people mad enough to call TWC.
kandor is offline  
post #93 of 954 Old 09-04-2006, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
zamco17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, new to the forum. Man i all i want is fox and cbs in hd and ill never ask for anything else. Nothing like football in hd. I have 2 hdtvs and Time warner so im stuck with what little hd programming we have.
zamco17 is offline  
post #94 of 954 Old 09-05-2006, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SL295,
I have a 42" panasonic EDTV (model no. ?) w/ built-in ATSC tuner and rabbit ears w/UHF loop. And even on that you can see a big difference between HD and SD.
I don't receive any channels in dolby 5.1, only 2.0 surround. Is this what everybody else gets? One day close to New Years, I was able to tune Houston's ABC affiliate and that was the only time my receiver lit up as receiving 5.1. Haven't been able to get that channel again since.
gushin is offline  
post #95 of 954 Old 09-06-2006, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL295 View Post

Just out of curiousity, what kind of setups do y'all have. Like your antenna setups, amps, tuners, and TV's.

I have the HD DVR from Time Warner but I watch ABC HD OTA with a $20 amplified indoor antenna through my TV's tuner (Sharp DLP). I can also tune in PBS digital but nothing else. That's ok for now since I've got Corpus Chisti HD content covered! I just wish Fox and CBS HD were available--I thought KZTV would have been on board by now based on converstations I've had with their engineer and stuff posted here.

Dave Clary
Flour Bluff, USA
dclaryjr is offline  
post #96 of 954 Old 09-06-2006, 05:39 PM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL295 View Post

Just out of curiousity, what kind of setups do y'all have. Like your antenna setups, amps, tuners, and TV's.

Strictly OTA No Cable:

In the living room I use a Radio Shack Accurian STB In my 55" Mitsubishi CRT. Outside I use CM4228 UHF and a Antennacraft CS600 VHF running into a CM7777 pre-amp with Magnavox Rotator.

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
post #97 of 954 Old 09-06-2006, 11:43 PM
Member
 
SL295's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dclaryjr View Post

I thought KZTV would have been on board by now based on converstations I've had with their engineer and stuff posted here.

Any chance you (or maybe even Inyoung) can get Ch. 10's engineer to post here to the AVS forum? Perhaps he can keep us up on the progress they're making (or lack thereof). Also, he might be able to educate us a bit more about what's going on inside (technical, legal, or otherwise).
SL295 is offline  
post #98 of 954 Old 09-07-2006, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Picture was showing up on DT 6-2, the CW, last night but still that annoying tone. Looks like everything will shown in SD. The station logo that shows up on the bottom right says something like "CW in two weeks".
gushin is offline  
post #99 of 954 Old 09-08-2006, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else notice a difference in KEDT's programming lately? I watched two shows last night and neither one was using that stretched out crap that they had been using. It wasn't full screen but it looked great compared to what they have been broadcasting.
dclaryjr is offline  
post #100 of 954 Old 09-08-2006, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have not seen KEDT programming in a while due to the stretching.

How about last night's football game on KRIS. Just a lot of macroblocking. Sound was OK, but I wish the PQ was better.
gushin is offline  
post #101 of 954 Old 09-08-2006, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gushin View Post

Have not seen KEDT programming in a while due to the stretching.

How about last night's football game on KRIS. Just a lot of macroblocking. Sound was OK, but I wish the PQ was better.

Well these two programs (both on New Orleans and south Louisiana) were in letterbox but it took up most of my screen. They looked pretty good.

I thought the football game looked ok--I'm just hopin' my rabbit ears do a good job with the Texas-Ohio game tomorrow!!

I
dclaryjr is offline  
post #102 of 954 Old 09-08-2006, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL295 View Post

Any chance you (or maybe even Inyoung) can get Ch. 10's engineer to post here to the AVS forum? Perhaps he can keep us up on the progress they're making (or lack thereof). Also, he might be able to educate us a bit more about what's going on inside (technical, legal, or otherwise).

I don't know about getting him to post but we exchanged a couple of emails earlier in the year. I'm going try to get in touch next week and get an update. I really thought they'd be up and running in HD by now!
dclaryjr is offline  
post #103 of 954 Old 09-09-2006, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Texas-Ohio game looked great. No stuttering in the picture, and it looks fantastic. Wished Thursday's NFL game looked like this.
Too bad Texas lost.
gushin is offline  
post #104 of 954 Old 09-11-2006, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gushin View Post

Texas-Ohio game looked great. No stuttering in the picture, and it looks fantastic. Wished Thursday's NFL game looked like this.
Too bad Texas lost.

The problem now is that it's almost painful having to watch Fox and CBS NFL games after watching all that HD! I sure wish they would get onboard!!!

This definitely wasn't a weekend to have me as someone cheering for you. My losers included Texas, Dallas, Roddick (another HD broadcast we missed), & the Giants!!
dclaryjr is offline  
post #105 of 954 Old 09-14-2006, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last couple of nights KRIS has not been showing the late shows (Jay Leno, and Conan O'Brian) in HD. Did they just stopped transmitting all together?
I can only speculate that they're prepping for the CW premiere next week. But man after seeing how good HD can look, SD looks terrible.
gushin is offline  
post #106 of 954 Old 09-29-2006, 12:58 PM
Member
 
kappy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once in awhile I visit this thread regarding Corpus...depending on your finances and desire you can receive all the network content in HD and bypass the inadequacies of local cable and OTA locals.....I live on the Island and with a large Channel Master antenna along with satellite dishes and subscriptions to BEV and *E. At present I have access to over 75 HD channels from these sources.
kappy44 is offline  
post #107 of 954 Old 10-05-2006, 12:48 PM
Member
 
kandor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is KIII still broadcasting HD OTA?

And here's something interesting: no store in CC sells a set-top HD digital tuner. If I want one, I'm gonna have to go internet or Ebay.
kandor is offline  
post #108 of 954 Old 10-05-2006, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kandor View Post

Is KIII still broadcasting HD OTA?

Yes it is.

I emailed KEDT yestaerday about fixing their picture on 16-1. No response yet, but will update if I do get one.
gushin is offline  
post #109 of 954 Old 10-10-2006, 02:22 PM
Member
 
kappy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The contact person at KEDT is Cody Blount and his e-mail is codyblount@kedt.org.
kappy44 is offline  
post #110 of 954 Old 10-10-2006, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappy44 View Post

The contact person at KEDT is Cody Blount and his e-mail is codyblount@kedt.org.

That's whom my email went to. Still no response.
Does it seem that KRIS is looking a little worse lately? I seem to be seeing more macroblocking. I missed Sunday's NFL game, but the little I saw of the NASCAR race looked terrible.
gushin is offline  
post #111 of 954 Old 10-12-2006, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Outie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is CW in HD on channel 16-2? I noticed the channel showing up before it went live... Thanks
Outie is offline  
post #112 of 954 Old 10-12-2006, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outie View Post

Is CW in HD on channel 16-2? I noticed the channel showing up before it went live... Thanks

Nope, SD (480).
gushin is offline  
post #113 of 954 Old 10-27-2006, 04:38 PM
Member
 
kandor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who do I contact regarding getting FOX in HD? Maybe if we had several people call it might get their butts in gear.
kandor is offline  
post #114 of 954 Old 10-29-2006, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
zamco17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish that was true
zamco17 is offline  
post #115 of 954 Old 11-03-2006, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We're about halfway through NFL season. Does anybody now believe we'll have KZTV transmitting in HD in time for the Super Bowl?
gushin is offline  
post #116 of 954 Old 11-05-2006, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
dclaryjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gushin View Post

We're about halfway through NFL season. Does anybody now believe we'll have KZTV transmitting in HD in time for the Super Bowl?

I'm sure not counting on it.

On a different subject, I'm seriously considering getting Dish--I want to be able to see those NFL Network games. One thing I noticed is that they don't carry the NBC HD feed. I can get ABC with an indoor antenna in Flour Bluff--but not NBC. I wondering if I can get it with an attic mount or if I have to go outside?????

Dave
dclaryjr is offline  
post #117 of 954 Old 11-06-2006, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kandor View Post

Who do I contact regarding getting FOX in HD? Maybe if we had several people call it might get their butts in gear.

Fox is a low power station run out of the KRIS (NBC) studio. The last time I spoke to their engineer, they had no plans for going digital or HD. The real problem is their low power broadcast status. The signal they have is very weak (I cannot receive it clearly in Kings Cross) and they need a 2nd frequency to broadcast on for the digital signal. Both require FCC approval.

Given all of the above, we do need to bug them to get busy and make the investment.
lnyoung is offline  
post #118 of 954 Old 11-06-2006, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a Dish subscriber. They have by far the most HD channels available, but the Corpus Christi HD channels are not included and most likely never will be. We are too small a market. The same is true for Direct TV.

That leaves you with two options, cable or buying a bigger/better antenna. I have an attic antenna (I went to Radio Shack and bought a medium priced antenna) and live in Kings Crossing and get very good reception on all the digital channels.
lnyoung is offline  
post #119 of 954 Old 11-06-2006, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gigaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AustinTX
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in Austin but I'm helping out my sister who lives in CC. Can ABC HD be received in any way in CC? She says it can not, but it seems people here are posting that they can get it over the air antenna.

What HD channels can you get in CC over cable (TW or Grande) or OTA?
Thanks, I'm confused by what I'm reading at this forum for CC area HD.
A Personal Message would be fine too.
gigaguy is offline  
post #120 of 954 Old 11-06-2006, 02:55 PM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post

I'm in Austin but I'm helping out my sister who lives in CC. Can ABC HD be received in any way in CC? She says it can not, but it seems people here are posting that they can get it over the air antenna.

What HD channels can you get in CC over cable (TW or Grande) or OTA?
Thanks, I'm confused by what I'm reading at this forum for CC area HD.
A Personal Message would be fine too.

This is what I pick up OTA

3-1 K-III ABC HD
3-2 K-III ABC SD
6-1 KRIS NBC HD
6-2 CW SD
16-1 PBS KEDT HD
16-2 PBS KEDT Cr
18-1 CBS SD

Used to be able to get 27-1 a Spanish Channel but I haven't seen it on my scan in a couple of weeks.

Not alot of channels like Austin or S.A.

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off