Corpus Christi, TX - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 954 Old 08-10-2004, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just talked to the lead engineer at KRIS, the NBC affliate in Corpus Christi, TX. They will start broadcasting a digital signal this week in time for the NBC Olympics programming on Friday.

All the equipment is in, they have completed all trheir testing and they are ready to go.
lnyoung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 954 Old 09-02-2004, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Boonton NJ
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi inyoung

I am in Port A - for the weekend. The house i'm staying at is full HDTV - We got an outdise antenna up today - receive 100% signal with a Mitts STB. But the audio level seems to change and there is breakup -

What are you seeing

CBS New York
rjross@cbs.com
BobRoss is offline  
post #3 of 954 Old 09-29-2004, 07:53 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Official Corpus Christi, TX thread.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #4 of 954 Old 01-21-2005, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gnj1958's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Me and the GF will be moving to CC some time the near future and I was wondering what HDTV is available through cable or sat? any help?
gnj1958 is offline  
post #5 of 954 Old 01-26-2005, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
bulldozer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im in Corpus Christi and just got digital cable with HD through Time Warner. They only offer PBS, NBC, TNT, and Discovery in HD. If you pay for a higher tier, you can get ESPN, and a couple of movie channels like HBO.

Anyone know, or have a way to find out, when more HD channels will be broadcast in Corpus? As in ABC, Fox, etc ? Not having the superbowl in HD here really sucks
bulldozer3 is offline  
post #6 of 954 Old 01-26-2005, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gnj1958's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
bulldozer thanks for the reply. It's mostly the networks I'm interested. According to CBS website KZTV 10 has HDTV in CC is this not part of the Warner lineup?
gnj1958 is offline  
post #7 of 954 Old 01-26-2005, 11:43 PM
Newbie
 
bulldozer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah i just checked cbs.com and the local station, and it says the have HD. I picked up the box from TW this week along with the JAN 2005 channel lineup, and it does not list CBS HD on it.
If you go to checkhd.com, it only list NBC as HD for zip code 78412... so who knows whats going on.... maybe TW just hasen't updated and added CBS HD to its lineup for whatever reason. Ill give them a call and ask
bulldozer3 is offline  
post #8 of 954 Old 04-23-2005, 11:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDNET TO BROADCAST GAMES 2-5 OF FIRST ROUND IN PLAYOFFS

For Immediate Release- April 23, 2005

DALLAS - The Dallas Mavericks and HDNet announced today that fans will
be able to watch Games 2 through 5 of the Mavs vs. Rockets Round 1
Playoff Series in high-definition on HDNet in Texas.

"There's nothing more exciting than playoff time, especially when you
have a match-up featuring two Texas teams," said Mavs owner Mark Cuban.
"HDNet and the Mavs want to give viewers at home an experience that is
almost as good as being there."

Co-founded by Cuban and General Manager Philip Garvin, HDNet provides
viewers with exciting and topical news, sports, music and entertainment
programming. The network features up to 20 hours of original
programming each week, all produced in the highest quality 1080i HDTV
format - more original high-definition programming than any other
network.

HDNet news and entertainment includes original series "HDNet World
Report," "Face 2 Face with Roy Firestone," "Art Mann Presents," "HDNet
Concert Series," and "True Music," as well as every episode of the
acclaimed Warner Bros. series "Smallville." Live sports productions
include NASCAR auto racing, National Hockey League and Major League
Soccer games.

HDNet Movies, the company's second network, shows a wide selection of
major studios' theatrical releases - all uncut, unedited, and appearing
in their original aspect ratio. The network also features movies
produced and finished in true 1080i high-definition, including movies
premiering day and date with their theatrical releases.

Fans can contact their cable or satellite providers or visit www.hd.net
for more information. Comcast does not currently carry HDNet and HDNet
Movies, so Mavs Playoff games in HD are not available to Comcast
customers. Comcast customers are asked to call their local office and
let them know they want HDNet and the Mavs in HD.

MAVERICKS 2005 PLAYOFF HDNET SCHEDULE
(All Times Listed CT)
Game 2 Mon., April 25 - Rockets @ Mavs 8:30 p.m.
Game 3 Thurs., April 28 - Mavs @ Rockets 8:30
p.m.
Game 4 Sat., April 30 - Mavs @ Rockets 4:30 p.m.
Game 5 Mon., May 2 - Rockets @ Mavs, if necessary TBD

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 954 Old 05-22-2005, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did a status check on HD in Corpus Christi.

KZTV-CBS-Channel 10 continues to broadcast a low power digital signal from their downtown studio on channel 18, with no HD. They are waiting for their corporate office to do an upgrade for all the corporate stations and are unwilling to even guess at a date when they would broadcast in HD or with a more powerful signal from there regular transmitter.

KIII-ABC-Channel 3 is not broadcasting any digital TV and is also awaiting corporate funding. When I pushed for when, the best response I got was before Aug 2006, when their FCC construction permit runs out. They do have an approved frequency change to channel 8 for their digital signal.

The Fox, WB, and UPN stations are all low power and have made zero plans to do anything HD.
lnyoung is offline  
post #10 of 954 Old 06-06-2005, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KIII - ABC. They are in the process of putting their digital transmitter out for bid. Estimating an install for late summer or fall of this year. Must be operational by 1 Nov 2005 or they need to go back to the FCC for an extension of their construction permit.

KZTV - CBS. The corporate office is looking at transmitters for their main transmission site, but there are still engineering issues and money issues. Best guess is an install during the 1st Qtr 2006. They expect to go HD shortly after the new transmitter is in place. Their FCC construction permit runs out in Aug 2006.
lnyoung is offline  
post #11 of 954 Old 06-08-2005, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
mtaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: corpus christi tx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info
mtaz is offline  
post #12 of 954 Old 06-13-2005, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
wxag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, thanks for the info. Please keep us updated!
wxag98 is offline  
post #13 of 954 Old 08-02-2005, 11:29 AM
Member
 
kappy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to see there is some interest here. The unfortunate circumstances of DTV in this area revolve around CBS affiliate while in digital rarely broadcasts in HD. NBC affiliate at vhf 13 is subject to wide variations in signal stength out here on the island. ABC when available on vhf 8 will be even more squirrely depending on transmitter strength. Local PBS is excellent and that's it. Local cable provider is a joke. I long ago passed on expectations for local solutions to DTV/HD and receive networks from BEV via satellite with east and west feeds along with other HD offerings from *E. Current setup includes a deep fringe UHF yagi for OTA dtv that has worked so far for grainy low band vhf and acceptable high vhf and uhf analog and excellent dtv reception with the transmission issues of KRIS the only problem.
kappy44 is offline  
post #14 of 954 Old 08-10-2005, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
wxag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyword on the status of when KIII(ABC) might be up? Thanks.
wxag98 is offline  
post #15 of 954 Old 08-12-2005, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Arcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KIII is owned my Mike McKinnon. He also owns my local ABC station in Beaumont, TX. KBMT.
I can get no information out of them as to when they will broadcast in HD.
Currently they broadcast from a tall pole on top of their business office but are in the process of movig out to a real tower. My many calls to the engineering department have done no good because all they can tell me is that it will happen when McKinnon decides to do it. If any of you in Corpus know how to get ahold of this person I would sure love to know what his plans are and why they are moving so slow.

I also noticed they do not have a web presence in Corpus either. They are the only staion in Beaumont that has no web page or email. I wonder if they have ball point pens at the office or do they still use ink wells?
Arcade is offline  
post #16 of 954 Old 09-05-2005, 11:25 AM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxag98 View Post

Anyword on the status of when KIII(ABC) might be up? Thanks.

K-III said late Oct or early Nov. Can't wait to see Katia in HD

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
post #17 of 954 Old 09-06-2005, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
mtaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: corpus christi tx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsr2002 View Post

K-III said late Oct or early Nov. Can't wait to see Katia in HD

thank's for the info
mtaz is offline  
post #18 of 954 Old 09-08-2005, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElectricLegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcade View Post

KIII is owned my Mike McKinnon. He also owns my local ABC station in Beaumont, TX. KBMT.
I can get no information out of them as to when they will broadcast in HD.
Currently they broadcast from a tall pole on top of their business office but are in the process of movig out to a real tower. My many calls to the engineering department have done no good because all they can tell me is that it will happen when McKinnon decides to do it. If any of you in Corpus know how to get ahold of this person I would sure love to know what his plans are and why they are moving so slow.

I also noticed they do not have a web presence in Corpus either. They are the only staion in Beaumont that has no web page or email. I wonder if they have ball point pens at the office or do they still use ink wells?

MMc is known to be the cheapest TV station owner around here. There's no nice way to say "skinflint". He's replaced many national broadcasts ($$) with cheap local crap over the years. You can guarantee he'll install the cheapest equipment and hire a $6/hr monkey to run it. So much for "serving the public".

Oh sure, I've been abducted. Heck, we've all been abducted.
The trick is to keep them from reading your thoughts.
Wear a hat and try to remain thoughtless at all times.
ElectricLegs is offline  
post #19 of 954 Old 09-08-2005, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Arcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricLegs View Post

MMc is known to be the cheapest TV station owner around here. There's no nice way to say "skinflint". He's replaced many national broadcasts ($$) with cheap local crap over the years. You can guarantee he'll install the cheapest equipment and hire a $6/hr monkey to run it. So much for "serving the public".

Yea. That is about what I gathered so far. I really wanted to see the Superbowl in HD this year, but I guess I will have to wait until next year when it is on CBS.
Our Local CBS here in Beaumont Has been HD for a long time now, but NBC, ABC and FOX are way behind the curve here.

How can these guys run a TV Station in the year 2005 with no web presence or email?
Arcade is offline  
post #20 of 954 Old 09-27-2005, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
nhallam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: texas
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of a good antenna installer in the corpus christi area. I am not looking forward to installing an antenna on my two story roof. thanks for any help.
nhallam is offline  
post #21 of 954 Old 09-30-2005, 02:52 AM
Newbie
 
wxag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info above on when KIII may begin broadcasting HD. I am keeping my fingers crossed for late Octover or early November.

Also, I inquired via email to when KZTV may begin and this is what I got: "I don't have an exact date for you, but it should be soon as the equipment is being purchased this quarter."
wxag98 is offline  
post #22 of 954 Old 10-08-2005, 07:57 AM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Late night News last night Joe Gazin said K-III is digital on Direct TV. Have scanned on OTA nothing yet

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
post #23 of 954 Old 11-12-2005, 10:08 AM
Member
 
hypaspazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what the status of HD using QAM on cable for Grande Communications?

I am using a QAM STB on TWC but it is only pulling in NBC, PBS and VOD. It does not appear to be feeding CBS even though they transmit OTA HD. If I am correct this actually constitutes an FCC violation for TWC since it is a federal mandate that the cable companies have to carry QAM-in-the-clear (unscrambled) for the local broadcasters.

I am in the process of doing OTA through an antenna but I am having trouble getting a good signal on North Padre..... I guess I will need to install a big-arse attic antenna.

As a side note, I am surprised that the locals are so slow to upgrade their broadcasting equipment. Sometimes living in Corpus feels like living in a time warp!
hypaspazz is offline  
post #24 of 954 Old 11-13-2005, 01:34 PM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypaspazz View Post

I am in the process of doing OTA through an antenna but I am having trouble getting a good signal on North Padre..... I guess I will need to install a big-arse attic antenna.

As a side note, I am surprised that the locals are so slow to upgrade their broadcasting equipment. Sometimes living in Corpus feels like living in a time warp!

Agreed, it's like living in the STYX.

Be sure to keep in mind that putting antenna in the attic will give you 50% signal loss. Best bet is outside and high with pre-amp and rotator.

Cheers

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
post #25 of 954 Old 11-18-2005, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lnyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypaspazz View Post

Anyone know what the status of HD using QAM on cable for Grande Communications?

I am using a QAM STB on TWC but it is only pulling in NBC, PBS and VOD. It does not appear to be feeding CBS even though they transmit OTA HD. If I am correct this actually constitutes an FCC violation for TWC since it is a federal mandate that the cable companies have to carry QAM-in-the-clear (unscrambled) for the local broadcasters.

CBS is broadcasting a very weak digital signal, but they are not broadcasting HD, only SD. Looks like sometime next year befopre they get the new transmitter in place and associated hardware/software and start broadcasting in HD.

Not sure what PBS is doing, they used to have great HD, but now it appears to be distorted.
lnyoung is offline  
post #26 of 954 Old 11-30-2005, 04:54 PM
Member
 
hypaspazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the LG LST-4200A STB and PBS works fine for me but NBC is distorted. My HDTV monitor is 4x3 (until I can afford a 16x9 Panasonic plasma). If you have a 16x9 it might explain why you are having the reverse problem. Fortunately, my STB has an array of "zoom" modes to make any signal diplay without distortion.
hypaspazz is offline  
post #27 of 954 Old 12-27-2005, 03:13 PM
Member
 
bsr2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like the last three Mondays in a row I've been picking up either Victoria or Houston stations, so I've been able to watch the monday night football games in true HD. Yay!!!! Don't know how long that will last though
It seems like they boost thier power for the game cause 15 min or so into the news I will lose the signal.
I'm using an Accurian HDTV Tuner from Radio Shak

eat right, excersise, die anyway
bsr2002 is offline  
post #28 of 954 Old 12-28-2005, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Jack Dotson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What have you guys heard about TWC not carrying ABC after Jan 1? Bad enough the crappy service we get, but now they can't even negotiate a contract and want us to pull it OTA. The Texas vs. USC game is to be broadcast on ABC if memory serves. Man, the FCC really needs to step up to the plate and get these guys to play ball. Still no ABC, CBS, Fox on HD. Now ESPNII is being broadcast in HD, but we continue to receive ony ESPN.

Jack Dotson
Jack Dotson is offline  
post #29 of 954 Old 01-12-2006, 02:02 AM
Member
 
no cigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so are we saying that even with an antenna, we can't get local HD??

my god, if i have learned anything, corpus is a s***hole town when it comes to anything relating to modernization. this town is stuck in the dark ages! the sad part is that most people around here don't mind it because they're either too old and small minded or too uneducated to care.
no cigar is offline  
post #30 of 954 Old 01-12-2006, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
bulldozer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ha, its sad but true...
even the quality of the radio stations suck... Try picking up an AM station inside. This place is a hole and the people want to keep it that way.
bulldozer3 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off