Richmond, VA - HDTV - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 8856 Old 10-06-2004, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
riffjim4069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Formerly Spotsylvania VA now Dallas TX Metroplex
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elroy_1666
What antenna configuration are you using brcobb?

I believe brcobb mentioned he is using a Channel Master 4228 UHF antenna and Channel Master 7777 UHF/VHF preamp. I am using similar equipment (2 CM-4228/CM-7775) and have experienced similar results...however, he lives at a higher elevation and experiences a little better reception. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...58#post4259558

Quote:


The FCC says they are transmitting at 1000 kW 244 meters off the ground (http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=WUPV)... although this is obviously not the case. Does anyone have a contact at WUPV?

I do, but I do not currently have access to that information. However, I'm sure there are a number of people who will reply long before I head home.

WUPV-DT has been granted temporary authorization to broadcast at low-power (9.2kW, 89 meters HAAT). Here is a link to the FCC site:

http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?state...&slon2=&size=9

Earlier this summer a manager from WUPV-DT told me they had no immediate plans to increase kW or raise/construct their DTV antenna, "Two or three years from now is a likely target...but that depends on a number of factors."

I don't watch much on UPN so it is not a major issue for me. Depending on where you live, you may try tuning into UPN in DC in the near future. WDCA-DT (UPN) out of DC is supposed to move to their new tower (the FOX5 tower) and broadcast at full-power later this year or early next year. You may wish to read the following post and/or follow the DC/Baltimore Area thread if you so desire.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...78#post3815078
riffjim4069 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 8856 Old 10-06-2004, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
mpark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bargain Alert: I picked up a 26" Samsung Widescreen HDTV floor model at the Midlothian Target today on clearance for $350!!! It even has a built-in ATSC tuner. If you are looking for an extra set for a bedroom, you may want to check your local Target to see if they have any more of these:
http://www.samsungusa.com/cgi-bin/na...P2670WHX%2fXAA

Michael Park
Creative Services Manager
WWBT NBC 12
mpark is offline  
post #423 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 03:28 AM
Senior Member
 
brcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


What antenna configuration are you using brcobb?

riffjim4069 is is correct. I am using the CM 4228 with the CM 7777 preamp on a rotor, mounted to the eaves of my roof. Also, as he pointed out, WUPV is currently operating at the 9.2KW at a height of 89 m HAAT. They will eventually operate up to the higher power and height.
brcobb is offline  
post #424 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Addicted2HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed last night that I also now have WTVR on 6-1 on my Samsung T151. I didn't have to rescan to get it either. Comes up with no delay. I feel better about doing a rescan now, but still not going to risk it unless I have to. Nice work Don.
Addicted2HD is offline  
post #425 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Richmond, VA.
Posts: 2,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mpark
Bargain Alert: I picked up a 26" Samsung Widescreen HDTV floor model at the Midlothian Target today on clearance for $350!!! It even has a built-in ATSC tuner. If you are looking for an extra set for a bedroom, you may want to check your local Target to see if they have any more of these:
http://www.samsungusa.com/cgi-bin/na...P2670WHX%2fXAA

Smoking deal!!! That's about $150 below my cost, so you made out like a bandit.

That's one heavy TV, isn't it??

Steve
Steve13 is offline  
post #426 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 12:29 PM
atg
Newbie
 
atg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Scottesville, Va
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Dish 921 receiver is now picking up WTVR on channel 6-1. Cheers to the channel 6 crew. Nice work.
atg is offline  
post #427 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 02:39 PM
Member
 
emonroe726's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mpark
Bargain Alert: I picked up a 26" Samsung Widescreen HDTV floor model at the Midlothian Target today on clearance for $350!!! It even has a built-in ATSC tuner. If you are looking for an extra set for a bedroom, you may want to check your local Target to see if they have any more of these:
http://www.samsungusa.com/cgi-bin/na...P2670WHX%2fXAA

I checked the Targets at Short Pump and Virginia Center Commons, neither store had one
emonroe726 is offline  
post #428 of 8856 Old 10-07-2004, 03:00 PM
Member
 
elroy_1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by riffjim4069
WUPV-DT has been granted temporary authorization to broadcast at low-power (9.2kW, 89 meters HAAT)... I don't watch much on UPN so it is not a major issue for me

Thanks to all for the info. I guess there is no Star Trek: Enterprise for me! Hopefully Richmond will be one of the cities DirecTV chooses for the first round of local HD stations next summer...
elroy_1666 is offline  
post #429 of 8856 Old 10-08-2004, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Mits mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got my HDTV set up last night and, being new in town, I thought I would give WRLH a call to see when they planned to start broadcasting HDTV.

I called (804) 358-3535 and asked for the engineering department. The guy in the engineering department (I think his name was Tom) responded to my question of when HD would be available by saying "my engineers told me that we started broadcasting HDTV last weekend."

I responded by saying that I'd seen quite a bit of HD in my day, but their signal wasn't close to being HDTV but rather was a poor 480i upconvert. He said he would go ask them again and I assured him that I would pay attention to the broadcast and let him know Monday if there was any HD this weekend.

If this guy is so clueless, I think more of us should give him a call. Be sure to ask for engineering, I'm not 100% sure on the name.
Mits mania is offline  
post #430 of 8856 Old 10-08-2004, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Richmond, VA.
Posts: 2,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just talked to Dennis Shelly (engineer at Fox35). He was walking out the door, so I only had time to ask him one question. "Dennis, HD for the Redskins game this weekend?"

His answer: "No, but maybe next weekend".

I suspect that they don't have the install of the splitter and/or the remote control of the transmitter complete yet.

I'll talk with Dennis mid-week and see if I can get another update.


Mits mania, I'm not sure who you talked to, but perhaps he meant that they started TESTING their HD capable digital channel last weekend. THey haven't shown any actually HD yet.


Of course, 35 has surprised us before, so HD could appear at anytime.

Steve
Steve13 is offline  
post #431 of 8856 Old 10-08-2004, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Mits mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Steve. The guy was clearly talking about broadcasting, not testing -- but he seemed VERY clueless and refused to give me his name again when I asked at the end of the call.

Of course, he's wrong about the Redskins game. It's on ESPN, so those of us with Comcast HD will see the Redskins in full HD Sunday night.

I just want HD to kick in before the ALCS starts.
Mits mania is offline  
post #432 of 8856 Old 10-08-2004, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Mits mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another thing , I just found out the Radio Shack has brought back their double-bowtie antenna ($14.95) and while the stores don't stock it, they can get it via special order. This had been discontinued in 2001.

Many people (including myself) swear by this antenna and I was kicking myself for selling it along with my tuner on eBay a few years ago.

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...id=930%2D0998#
Mits mania is offline  
post #433 of 8856 Old 10-08-2004, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mpark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Mits mania
I finally got my HDTV set up last night and, being new in town, I thought I would give WRLH a call to see when they planned to start broadcasting HDTV.

I called (804) 358-3535 and asked for the engineering department. The guy in the engineering department (I think his name was Tom) responded to my question of when HD would be available by saying "my engineers told me that we started broadcasting HDTV last weekend."

I responded by saying that I'd seen quite a bit of HD in my day, but their signal wasn't close to being HDTV but rather was a poor 480i upconvert. He said he would go ask them again and I assured him that I would pay attention to the broadcast and let him know Monday if there was any HD this weekend.

If this guy is so clueless, I think more of us should give him a call. Be sure to ask for engineering, I'm not 100% sure on the name.

I encourage you guys not call Fox at this time. You will not be helping your cause because they are still in the testing stage. The person you speak of, Tom, I believe is their Master Control Supervisor and may not be in the loop. Tom is correct that they are broadcasting 720p; however, there is no HD content coming down that 720p signal. It's all upconvert with a 16:9 stretch.
I used to work at Fox and know Dennis fairly well. I talked to him yesterday and can confirm everything Steve said above. They hopefully will have the HD pass through figured out next week. Again, Dennis is the only engineer at Fox currently (there used to be 3) and I know he would appreciate not having to answer HD questions from a ton of viewers right now.
BTW, we still do not have a working network HD receiver at NBC12. They sent us a replacement receiver that doesn't work, but hopefully we'll have one that will on the air Monday.
Thanks for your understanding in both these matters.

Michael Park
Creative Services Manager
WWBT NBC 12
mpark is offline  
post #434 of 8856 Old 10-09-2004, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mpark,

Will the broken receiver affect NASCAR Sunday? Last week's race looked great at upconverted 1080i in true 16:9.
wittangamo is offline  
post #435 of 8856 Old 10-09-2004, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Richmond, VA.
Posts: 2,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Mits mania
[B\\]

Of course, he's wrong about the Redskins game. It's on ESPN, so those of us with Comcast HD will see the Redskins in full HD Sunday night.

[/b]

Actually, it was me who mentioned the Skins, not Dennis. I forgot this weekend's game was a Sunday Nighter.

Steve
Steve13 is offline  
post #436 of 8856 Old 10-09-2004, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mpark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wittangamo
mpark,

Will the broken receiver affect NASCAR Sunday? Last week's race looked great at upconverted 1080i in true 16:9.

It would have but I just got word that we have gotten the replacement unit installed and it works!!! So anything HD tonight should be in HD. Let me know if you see any problems.

Michael Park
Creative Services Manager
WWBT NBC 12
mpark is offline  
post #437 of 8856 Old 10-10-2004, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by elroy_1666
Thanks to all for the info. I guess there is no Star Trek: Enterprise for me! Hopefully Richmond will be one of the cities DirecTV chooses for the first round of local HD stations next summer...

Stumbling onto 27-1 on Friday night, startrek enterprise was awesome full screen HD ,
docchak is offline  
post #438 of 8856 Old 10-10-2004, 06:34 AM
Member
 
elroy_1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by docchak
Stumbling onto 27-1 on Friday night, startrek enterprise was awesome full screen HD ,

Thanks for rubbing it in... I also ran into a guy at Radio Shack who claims to gets 65-1 from Hampton Park. Oh, how the HD Gods taunt me so!
elroy_1666 is offline  
post #439 of 8856 Old 10-10-2004, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by docchak
Stumbling onto 27-1 on Friday night, startrek enterprise was awesome full screen HD ,

You're not in a bad location to also get the Hampton Roads stations. Congrats... Can you also get FOX43? (UHF 29)

Robert F Corbin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 | Virginia Media News & Information


email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

linkedin:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

google+:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pinterest:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VARTV is offline  
post #440 of 8856 Old 10-10-2004, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]Originally posted by VARTV
You're not in a bad location to also get the Hampton Roads stations. Congrats... Can you also get FOX43? (UHF 29) [/QUOTE
docchak is offline  
post #441 of 8856 Old 10-10-2004, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by VARTV
You're not in a bad location to also get the Hampton Roads stations. Congrats... Can you also get FOX43? (UHF 29)

Not on a regular basis for 43-1, I am getting 3-1,10-1,13-1 ,15-1 along with the sub channels, 27-1 is very strong, 43-1 is a maybe, I wonder why?? aren't thet coming off the same tower in Suffolk??

Sorry for the blank post above, my mouse was running away.
docchak is offline  
post #442 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw a beautiful thing on Fox 35-1 this morning:

Pillar bars!

Unstretched SD PQ on 35-1 is outstanding. 35-2 is still soft 4:3.

Signal very strong. Looking like a very good addition to our OTA lineup.
wittangamo is offline  
post #443 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Mits mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any chance we'll see any of the ALCS in HD on Fox?
Mits mania is offline  
post #444 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glen Allen, Virginia
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wittangamo
Saw a beautiful thing on Fox 35-1 this morning:

Pillar bars!

Unstretched SD PQ on 35-1 is outstanding. 35-2 is still soft 4:3.

Signal very strong. Looking like a very good addition to our OTA lineup.

I'm with you. I was afraid we'd have to choose between blurry analog quality or the godawful stretch they've been "testing" lately for Fox SD shows.
Here's to hoping they join CBS and ABC in offering us a high quality OAR SD picture on the Digital channel.
Keller is offline  
post #445 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 10:29 AM
Member
 
gibbyscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bravo! I hate strech mode. Now if NBC could get with the program Any idea when HD will be showing on Fox? Also, anyone know if UPN will be HD anytime soon?
gibbyscott is offline  
post #446 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 11:39 AM
Member
 
elroy_1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gibbyscott
Bravo! I hate strech mode. Now if NBC could get with the program Any idea when HD will be showing on Fox? Also, anyone know if UPN will be HD anytime soon?

UPN is in HD... well they have one show, Star Trek:Enterprise that is HD. For more on UPN HD in Richmond, catch up on this thread from about here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...80#post4451380
elroy_1666 is offline  
post #447 of 8856 Old 10-11-2004, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
16:9 , please
docchak is offline  
post #448 of 8856 Old 10-12-2004, 02:56 AM
Member
 
emonroe726's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by docchak
16:9 , please

I agree with you, 16:9. I am not understanding what the purpose is of having a widescreen tv if folks don't want the screen filled up? What am I missing here?

Eric.
emonroe726 is offline  
post #449 of 8856 Old 10-12-2004, 04:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
riffjim4069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Formerly Spotsylvania VA now Dallas TX Metroplex
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by emonroe726
I agree with you, 16:9. I am not understanding what the purpose is of having a widescreen tv if folks don't want the screen filled up? What am I missing here?

Eric.

OAR! I say show everything OAR and purchase a TV/tuner that can be setup to display the picture in the format of your choice (full, zoom, wide zoom, stretch, squeeze, crop, whatever); let the viewer decide the method of viewing and not the broadcaster. Some stations do a good job at stretching 4:3 material, while others do not...same with TVs and tuners.

Personally, I want everything (1.78:1, 16:9, 4:3, 2.35:1) shown "as is" and preferably in HD, that's why I have VOOM, Cable HD and two OTA antennas. Most polls I have participated in support people wanting OAR 75% of the time. The more you know about DTV and HD, the less you will support stretch-o-vision.

"I am not understanding what the purpose is of having a widescreen tv if folks don't want the screen filled up?" Just because I have a widescreen TV that doesn't mean I want the unused area to display grotesquely stretched and distorted images. Likewise, just because I have a TV that certainly doesn't mean I want it turned on 24/7/365 nor do I watch it at every available opportunity. Anyway, this is just my personal opinion and others will certainly disagree. This debate will continue until more material is broadcast in anamorphic 16:9.
riffjim4069 is offline  
post #450 of 8856 Old 10-12-2004, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a sony wega HDTV, it has the wide options, or turn if off if you like , I will do exactly what you have just eluded to, but certain stations , will force you to watch the format that left the station, ie , I could not change to wide format of 12-1, 6-1 or 8-1. The broadcast should be 16:9 on HD channel, but if you are going to broadcast 4:3 or stretch, then,you should give the option to viewer in their own home to be able to adjust the screen to their preferrence.
docchak is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off